More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.81

Awesome: 13.33%
Worth A Look56.67%
Average: 27.78%
Pretty Bad: 2.22%
Total Crap: 0%

9 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

We Are Not Princesses by Jay Seaver

Hustlers by Jay Seaver

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Negotiator, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"The thinking man's action movie"
4 stars

Action movies bite my hairy ass. So why does The Negotiator, a film with great dialogue, storyline and acting, call itself an action movie?

Well, because this drama/thriller involves a fair amount of gunplay, a lot of cops and a little bit of suspension of disbelief, I guess.

But let's make it clear. This is not a cop/buddy/let's blow everything to shit - movie. It's a fucking good thriller.

Sam Jackson, who I have grown steadily tired of lately, is shit-hot. Spacey, as always, is out of this world.

This film has humor, but it's not "I'm getting too old for this shit" style frat humor, it's smart. The Negotiator doesn't treat the watcher like a pre-schooler and that wins big points with me. It's a whodunnit, it's a thriller, it's a drama and yes, it's an action movie.

And it's so surprisingly good that, like me, you may go see it again.

Sam Jackson is back. Spacey never left. JT Walsh however...

The annoying thing about The Negotiator is that JT Walsh, a man who has played the non descript character for years, finally broke through with a big role... and died right after wrap.

But as JT's last stand, this is worthy.

If action movies leave you cold, go see the Negotiator. Expect better than what you expect. You won't be dissappointed.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/13/98 06:45:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/20/14 PAUL SHORTT SLICK, FAST-PACED THRILLER, WITH A GOOD CAST 3 stars
5/11/06 Agent Sands Overrated, I think. Good, though. 4 stars
10/01/05 Indrid Cold I suppose the acting elevates it somewhat above average, but nothing to write home about. 4 stars
12/13/03 R.W. Welch A tad overdone and overlong but nicely acted. 3 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Hey, look -- it's a lame-brained rip-off of "The Fugitive"!! 2 stars
2/06/03 123 despite predictable outcome, this movie rocks, my personal fave 5 stars
9/18/02 palaboy101 This is the movie the Pasay City police should've seen! 5 stars
9/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Very clever,but it had a really dumb ending. 4 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Better than I thought it would be! Wonderfully directed by "Friday"'s director. 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Surprisingly good film with a great cast revolving around an interesting story. So...yeah. 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright ZZZ. Uninspired actioner,notable only for wasting its excellent cast.Next time, try harder. 3 stars
8/29/00 Chris Drake Formulaic plot, difficult to endure even with Jackson & Spacey 2 stars
7/06/00 Bruce Superb acting and directing, this is an action thriller that delivers 5 stars
2/16/00 Neil Austin Lovley Jubbly 4 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler suspenseful 5 stars
1/12/00 paul smart and savvy 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d tense and taut 5 stars
12/29/99 Pitt Very good suspense. Good dialogue. Liked it alot! 4 stars
7/30/99 Matthew Bartley If it wasnt for Kev and Sam Id probably have switched off 4 stars
7/09/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Great cast makes up for fairly horrid script. Good comic relief from that male hostage. 4 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 Jackson. Spacey. Need I say more? 5 stars
12/01/98 Kirgo Excellent action flik! 5 stars
11/13/98 chi-fan It kept me interested throughout 5 stars
11/02/98 skylar i love the dialogues between kevin and sam. :) 5 stars
10/27/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Sam Jackson/Kev Spacey hit it off !,plots a bit exaggerated though,"1 HOT MOVIE!" 4 stars
10/24/98 Ash This film kicks ass, its not the usual action flick,RECOMMENDED,the bad guys bite though 4 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Go see it just to watch Sam Jackson curse. Now Motherfucker¡ 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor The actors mostly make this film what it is. 4 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein This movie was so much better than I expected. SO much better. 5 stars
8/26/98 Chuck-D Much like strange days, this film needs to have a different ending 3 stars
8/25/98 Puppy78 (You know who i am) spacey made a deal with the devil never to be in a bad film 4 stars
8/23/98 {{{OZ}}} I can't fault this film after a summer of shite. Spacey rocks. I loved it. 5 stars
8/20/98 Johny I would have given it a better rating if the ending was more effective 3 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress any movie where 90% of the audience comes out yawning can't be good 3 stars
8/12/98 Pumpkin Great film. Superb acting. Better than I thought 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Oct-1998 (MA)


Directed by
  F. Gary Gray

Written by
  James DeMonaco
  Kevin Foxx

Cast
  Samuel L.Jackson
  Kevin Spacey
  David Morse
  Ron Rifkin
  John Spencer
  J.T. Walsh



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast