More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.81

Awesome: 13.33%
Worth A Look56.67%
Average: 27.78%
Pretty Bad: 2.22%
Total Crap: 0%

9 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

Freaks (2019) by Jay Seaver

Official Secrets by Jay Seaver

Balloon by Jay Seaver

Satanic Panic by Jay Seaver

Ms. Purple by Jay Seaver

It: Chapter 2 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Negotiator, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by sean

"Nominated for the AFI's top 100 'Cheesiest Tagline's"
4 stars

Let's just say, it's great.

That being said, it shouldn't be. It really shouldn't be. I mean, it has soooooo much against it. A stupid plot (god it's stupid). It's got every stereotyped character in there somewhere, but they're all with twists. And that's why it was great. Well, that, and the amazing acting.
Just see it. I mean, it's better than any other action movie out there, and, for my money, better than any other movie this month period (see my review of "Private Ryan").
J.T. Walsh was perfectly used, too. Can't wait for "pleasantville". Tis a shame. He died too soon. Too soon. Too soon. "Swing low, sweet chariot" and all that.
Everywhere where "Snake Eyes" failed (basically everywhere), this movie succeeded. Trust me. Just see it.

Spacey. Jackson. and Pig Vomit. What more can you want?

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12&reviewer=18
originally posted: 08/14/98 15:07:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/20/14 PAUL SHORTT SLICK, FAST-PACED THRILLER, WITH A GOOD CAST 3 stars
5/11/06 Agent Sands Overrated, I think. Good, though. 4 stars
10/01/05 Indrid Cold I suppose the acting elevates it somewhat above average, but nothing to write home about. 4 stars
12/13/03 R.W. Welch A tad overdone and overlong but nicely acted. 3 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Hey, look -- it's a lame-brained rip-off of "The Fugitive"!! 2 stars
2/06/03 123 despite predictable outcome, this movie rocks, my personal fave 5 stars
9/18/02 palaboy101 This is the movie the Pasay City police should've seen! 5 stars
9/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Very clever,but it had a really dumb ending. 4 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Better than I thought it would be! Wonderfully directed by "Friday"'s director. 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Surprisingly good film with a great cast revolving around an interesting story. So...yeah. 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright ZZZ. Uninspired actioner,notable only for wasting its excellent cast.Next time, try harder. 3 stars
8/29/00 Chris Drake Formulaic plot, difficult to endure even with Jackson & Spacey 2 stars
7/06/00 Bruce Superb acting and directing, this is an action thriller that delivers 5 stars
2/16/00 Neil Austin Lovley Jubbly 4 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler suspenseful 5 stars
1/12/00 paul smart and savvy 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d tense and taut 5 stars
12/29/99 Pitt Very good suspense. Good dialogue. Liked it alot! 4 stars
7/30/99 Matthew Bartley If it wasnt for Kev and Sam Id probably have switched off 4 stars
7/09/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Great cast makes up for fairly horrid script. Good comic relief from that male hostage. 4 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 Jackson. Spacey. Need I say more? 5 stars
12/01/98 Kirgo Excellent action flik! 5 stars
11/13/98 chi-fan It kept me interested throughout 5 stars
11/02/98 skylar i love the dialogues between kevin and sam. :) 5 stars
10/27/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Sam Jackson/Kev Spacey hit it off !,plots a bit exaggerated though,"1 HOT MOVIE!" 4 stars
10/24/98 Ash This film kicks ass, its not the usual action flick,RECOMMENDED,the bad guys bite though 4 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Go see it just to watch Sam Jackson curse. Now Motherfucker¡ 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor The actors mostly make this film what it is. 4 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein This movie was so much better than I expected. SO much better. 5 stars
8/26/98 Chuck-D Much like strange days, this film needs to have a different ending 3 stars
8/25/98 Puppy78 (You know who i am) spacey made a deal with the devil never to be in a bad film 4 stars
8/23/98 {{{OZ}}} I can't fault this film after a summer of shite. Spacey rocks. I loved it. 5 stars
8/20/98 Johny I would have given it a better rating if the ending was more effective 3 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress any movie where 90% of the audience comes out yawning can't be good 3 stars
8/12/98 Pumpkin Great film. Superb acting. Better than I thought 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Oct-1998 (MA)


Directed by
  F. Gary Gray

Written by
  James DeMonaco
  Kevin Foxx

Cast
  Samuel L.Jackson
  Kevin Spacey
  David Morse
  Ron Rifkin
  John Spencer
  J.T. Walsh



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast