More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.59

Awesome: 23.11%
Worth A Look37.33%
Average: 22.67%
Pretty Bad: 9.33%
Total Crap: 7.56%

15 reviews, 135 user ratings



Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Doug Bentin

"Chocolate? Of course. Kisses? Not hardly."
4 stars

There’s a problematic snippet of dialogue in “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” when Willie Wonka (Johnny Depp) is taking two of the children who have won tours of his fabulous manufactory on a ride in the glass elevator.

Wonka is the world’s greatest inventor of candy variations. He sponsors a contest, the five winners of which will be allowed to spend a whole day seeing the wonders of the Wonka factory. Each winner is asked to bring along one family member to watch out for him or her.

We see early on that Wonka is not fond of children. Actually, his distain for them is about on a par with that he feels for their parents. He even has trouble enunciating the word “parent.” Roald Dahl, who wrote the kids’ novel on which the movie is based, was famously uncomfortable around other people’s children. As Dr. Seuss once told an interviewer, you don’t have to like them in order to write for them.

Through the course of the day, four of the children, as they give in to the unpleasantness of their basic natures, are consumed by the factory. Kids in the audience love these come-uppances.

Much has been made of the fates of the four kids who tour the factory with Charlie, but the truth of the matter is that they’re not kids at all but miniature versions of the adults they will soon become, i.e., their parents. Wonka is not a man who is a child at heart. He may be eccentric, but he has no desire to become the very thing he doesn’t trust. Charlie and his Grandpa Joe (Freddie Highmore and David Kelly) not only demonstrate an ability to marvel at the wonders along their journey, but also the bonds of mutual love and respect that form in the best families.

Tim Burton has demonstrated a sardonic philosophy of life in almost every film he’s ever directed, but only once before has he been creatively involved in a picture so obviously aimed at a particular demographic that so subversively undermined expectations of what that demographic expects. In the other case (“The Nightmare Before Christmas”), too, the audience was children.

But here’s the catch—it’s adult expectations that Burton skewers in “Nightmare” and “Charlie.” You know, grown-ups think that movies for kids are going to be, mostly, sweetness and light, butterflies and puppies. Either that or, from the bottom of the barrel, fart jokes and shots to the groin.

What they don’t expect is rotten kids treated rottenly by an adult who doesn’t like kids in the first place. It seems, in “Charlie,” that the main reason Willie Wonka invites the little booger-eaters into the chocolate factory is so he can reassure himself that, yes, that are greedy, mean-spirited little swine so dispatching them in ways that make the punishment fit the crime is a reasonable thing to do.

Children who read Dahl are used to thinking like that from an adult. Maybe all children are.

And think about the name “Willie Wonka” for a minute. “Willie” is British slang for a penis, and “Wonka” isn’t that far removed from “wanker,” Brit-talk for masturbation. So what would a “willy wanka” be? You think kids are too innocent to figure this stuff out? In a Sunday School, maybe.

Depp, Burton and screenwriter John August have created a film for everyone, even—or perhaps especially—the next generation of willy wankas. Little kids, sophisticated and otherwise, were laughing when I saw it, along with teens and adults (I being one of them). Depp is terrific as an ambiguous man, a sort of modified Scrooge who finally sees the light. Big kudos also to Deep Roy, who plays all of the Oompa Loompas and is brilliant.

Don’t let the early buzz that the movie was going to be a darker version of the story keep you away. It’s Burton’s frothiest film to date, and definitely not death by chocolate.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12582&reviewer=405
originally posted: 08/04/05 06:44:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/29/17 stephen a giant pos 1 stars
6/22/15 David Hollingsworth gives remakes a bad name 2 stars
1/02/15 Catherine H zzzzz ... worthless remake, stick to Wilder version 1 stars
12/24/13 Michelle O any excuse for Depp to don COPIOUS amounts of makeup= he's no Wilder! 3 stars
9/08/11 Robin Awful adaptation that bastardizes the book while wrapping itself in a flag of faithfulness 1 stars
7/15/11 art an Adequate remake of the 1971 classic. 3 stars
6/06/11 Jeff Wilder Good for what it is. The Gene Wilder one is still the best though. 4 stars
1/30/11 Linda J A great remake of Willy Wonka. But then, what movie isn't great with Johnny Depp? 5 stars
7/01/09 orion Good for kids but overall farily blah 2 stars
6/06/09 Pokejedservo Not bad but I admit I too preferred the first film. 3 stars
3/27/09 Stevo Um... why, in England, are people paying in American dollars? 1 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. another freakish performance by depp :D 4 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner Depp is so funny!! 5 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT FINE ART DIRECTION, NICE SPECIAL EFFECTS, GOOD PERFORMANCES AND OVERALL A DECENT FILM 3 stars
5/11/08 drydock54321 why does johnny depp always play such strange dark characters 4 stars
4/24/08 art A GRIM REHASH OF THE 1971 VERISON 3 stars
2/17/08 SamanthaP the 1st time it was creepy and the 2nd time i loved it! sooo funny! 4 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia Lets the sugar speak for itself and concentrates on the tale's underlying menace. 4 stars
6/05/07 katy great filim 4 stars
5/04/07 johnnyfog The first one sucked ass, and so does this one. Why do people like either? 2 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK ''Willy Wanker and the sack of shit''. Is that a better title? 1 stars
4/02/07 jo sing it boring for some part 4 stars
3/17/07 cleofus jones can't stand the songs..but love burton//depp//movie 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Burton is the Willy Wonka of Hollywood. 4 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai A feast for the eyes, this film is filled with great sets and visuals! Great film! 4 stars
11/09/06 becky very good the chocolate was so yummy 5 stars
9/04/06 David Pollastrini Darker than original. 4 stars
9/01/06 kate tasker it sucked 1 stars
7/26/06 Mrs. Robinson sorry, but it just cant compare to the old one 1 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen Who would have thought Burton and Depp could make an unappealing combo 3 stars
7/06/06 Tom Groholski Sticks closely to the book and entertaining 4 stars
6/14/06 Poopsy Fartworthy I love the new Charlie and the chocolate Fcatory film! 5 stars
5/15/06 Diane P love johnny depp but unfortunately for me this remake didn't compare to the first. 3 stars
5/01/06 dinesh kumar Dahl, Depp and Burton, all my favorites and what an amazing movie. 5 stars
4/27/06 lala depp looked freay, hated the songs, but it was ok but the original was WAY WAY better 3 stars
4/16/06 JoJo betta than da original, but I agree w/ emily, he looked like Michael Jackson. 2 stars
4/03/06 Quigley better the 2nd time. Johnny Depp was great, and the look of the movie is visually stunning 5 stars
3/24/06 jesika wtf? total ripoff of the original- i almost shot someone after i cn this pos movie 1 stars
3/21/06 Rebecca I loved the movie, it's great for kids and enjoyable for everyone. 5 stars
3/18/06 Elizabeth An entertaining movie but it can't beat the original. 3 stars
3/13/06 Roderick Cromar Too short. Songs irritating rather than entertaining. 2 stars
2/05/06 Shawn Gadberry Interesting, different, but the original is the better movie by FAR! 3 stars
2/04/06 Michele why do people like this story? 2 stars
1/30/06 the laughing man Not better than the original, but it is a more faithful adapation of Dahl's classic. 4 stars
1/20/06 emily thought Depp looked like a creepy version of Michael Jackson, but overall it was very good 4 stars
1/18/06 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Just when you thought Johnny Depp couldn't get any gayer 3 stars
1/17/06 terry Liked johnny depp - didnt like the movie over all - I was disappointed with this movie 3 stars
1/16/06 Alexis Edgy, dark and closer to the original story than the Wilder version. Depp is wonderful. 4 stars
1/13/06 sammy BIG PIECE OF UGLY, BORING CRAP 1 stars
1/10/06 Indrid Cold Depp tries to command the screen a la Jim Carrey, but he just isn't that great of an actor. 4 stars
12/24/05 Quigley the movie has great acting and incredible visuals, computer and set design. hail, Burton! 4 stars
12/24/05 S Gray Freddie Highmore is excellent but this movie was garbage. 1 stars
12/22/05 Ethan M. A classical film remade, but Depp could not live up to the standards of Wilder. 3 stars
12/22/05 tina mateer first won was better,yet this was good and did you see all the chocolate? heaven 4 stars
12/19/05 Bree Can't be compared to original. So dont! Excellent film. Good fun. Very close to the book! 5 stars
12/05/05 Sean D. Sheridan Not as good as original with Gene Wilder!! The Oompa-Loompas in current movie disappoint! 3 stars
12/05/05 stickman Silly movie, avoid it. 3 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. Very enjoyable remake of a classic. 4 stars
12/02/05 George Depp was great as usual,but I hated this remake. 2 stars
11/27/05 ods Funny and weird 5 stars
11/25/05 Idiot_for_LMP pass on this film. ruined a great classic 2 stars
11/24/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble Deep Roy should have won best supporting actor. 3 stars
11/13/05 Del Pretty crappy remake of an all-time classic, the oompa-loompas just sucked ass 1 stars
11/13/05 Quigley johnny depp looks gay and pale, but his performance was as superb as the set design and CG 4 stars
11/11/05 Steve A great disappointment. Both from Burton and Depp 2 stars
11/10/05 natalie one of the best movies that tim burton has directed and johnny depp was awsome in it 5 stars
11/01/05 missjie86 Endearing, annoying, creepy and bizarre, but a Depp portrayal is always interesting. 4 stars
10/14/05 BoB A bit wierd and strange- but its meant 2 b, right? 3 stars
10/08/05 brittany boring and had no differences than the original movie 1 stars
9/22/05 Sugar Depp's performance, outstanding. Elfman's music, inpiring. Overall movie, I am in awe of. 5 stars
9/05/05 Green Gremlin Makes the original version look like an episode of "HR Puf'stuff" !!! 5 stars
9/05/05 Daryl Walker This flim was very funny at times. Johnny Depp was fantastic and it was just a fun time. 5 stars
9/03/05 littlefishy pretty good (not!) suked shit.......... 2 stars
9/02/05 Danielle I thought it was funny and I like the charecters in the movie 5 stars
9/01/05 WWW.FALLOUTWEAR.TRIPOD.COM/ great skate t-shirts and funny t-shirts. 5 stars
8/28/05 LittlePenguin FUCKING BLOWS, AND BURTON/ DEPP ARE MY ALL TIME FAVES, SORRY 1 stars
8/28/05 Tom Burns I loved this movie. Johnny Depp is hilarious. 5 stars
8/26/05 Nick Better then the original. REAL lessons to learn here. 5 stars
8/25/05 Eden Suffers from crap musical numbers and a tacked-on back story 3 stars
8/18/05 Littlepurch Not a patch on the original but still great.Music was great, kids were funny. Depp just ok. 4 stars
8/15/05 Snickerdoodle Really good, Johnny Depp is a riot and the songs are catchy 5 stars
8/13/05 Lynn Taylor cracking film loved it so much went bk to see it. Johnny depp is just brill 5 stars
8/10/05 bigfish reviewed by a cultural moron 1 stars
8/09/05 joy best movie ever! 5 stars
8/09/05 jada ok family movie 3 stars
8/08/05 joeysquids the original rrules-this is the best "remake" of all time 5 stars
8/07/05 tammi i is worth taking the family out 4 stars
8/06/05 ellziopscilly super! 5 stars
8/06/05 G Rosenberg Inventive, non-pandering fun 5 stars
8/06/05 Zack A million times better than the SHITTY Mel Stuart film from 1971! 5 stars
8/05/05 ron abrams just okay. looked great. not wild about deep. 3 stars
8/04/05 Christian The original was darker, and the "musical' features were just horrible. Still, enjoyable. 4 stars
8/04/05 Me Better than the original! 5 stars
8/02/05 C Vega More Loyal to the Book than Gene Wilders version and Perhaps dare I say it..... even better 5 stars
8/02/05 Wolfwhisper I seen it 4 times, Johnny Depp put a new edge on Willy Wonka! 5 stars
8/01/05 michaelb14 Depp was great as usual but Wilder still has the #1 in my book 4 stars
8/01/05 Beth Kerrick Good for kids; it wasn't as sinister as the original and obviously had better effects. 4 stars
8/01/05 R maybe sometimes taking liberties with a story is okay.. 2 stars
7/31/05 Matt Weak on nearly every single level. A failure for Burton and Depp. 2 stars
7/30/05 PK Charlie and the Chocolate Fatory proves what a genious Gene Wilder was in Willie Wonka... 3 stars
7/29/05 StuBot Burton lays a fools' golden egg. This movie, like his other recent attempts, fall far short 2 stars
7/29/05 sbpat21 very funny and exhilarating (***** 1/2 stars ) 5 stars
7/27/05 pym excellent movie, great adaptation of Dahl's book, very fine acting . I'll see it again 5 stars
7/27/05 John Our kids loved the movie!! 4 stars
7/27/05 Mike Olson Somewhat tedious. 2 stars
7/27/05 Mahogany Dear Hollywood, Stop remaking movies and just let them rest in peace! PLEASE!! 1 stars
7/26/05 Ty Spiceland Great movie, one of the best I've seen this summer 5 stars
7/25/05 Farrah I love Tim Burton films and Johnny Depp. This film was great and I can't wait to buy th DVD 5 stars
7/23/05 sully oompa loompa creepy,creepy,creepy,creepy, creepy 4 stars
7/23/05 Dan Just doesn't capture the essence of the original. 2 stars
7/22/05 Lily TERRIBLE TERRIBLE ACTING 3 stars
7/22/05 Kankasaur if you're a teenager with headgear, this entire movie will make you want to kill yourself 5 stars
7/22/05 WilderFan71 Will not be remebered for decades! Depp's "Wonka" = "WackoJacko" 1 stars
7/22/05 Artic i loved this movie, but i love any movie with johnny depp in it 5 stars
7/22/05 TROGDOR the entire movie made me want to fucking kill myself 1 stars
7/22/05 RockyS Depp's performance is perfectly smart and creepy 4 stars
7/22/05 Nessus More fun than I thought it would be, fantastic visuals, quirky 5 stars
7/21/05 Ken Great update (the original is one of my all-time favorites). Depp is perfectly creepy. 5 stars
7/21/05 William Vollmer not quite as good as '71 version 4 stars
7/20/05 Danny Burton-esque through and through, but missing the "magic" or the '71 film adaptation. 4 stars
7/20/05 Ole Man Bourbon Lots of good stuff 4 stars
7/19/05 orpament weirdly enjoyable except for the oompah loompahs 4 stars
7/19/05 jcjs easily as wow as the original, better even...Depp great, clever, fun, wonderful 5 stars
7/19/05 SmackDown Depp was terrible as Wonka, Jim Carry please! It felt rushed out, painfull to watch. Sorry! 3 stars
7/19/05 darkone silly makes no real sense 3 stars
7/18/05 Rick Burton creates a GREAT world...however, justifying Willy's candy obsession...odd 4 stars
7/18/05 Jeff Wilder Great film with a weak ending 4 stars
7/18/05 Charlie Not as good as the original. Watch Big Fish, directed by Burton as well, and is better. 3 stars
7/18/05 Nicole Creepier/darker feel than the 70's version and slightly altered story 4 stars
7/17/05 cpbjr extremely interesting. lagged in parts, with some poor execution. 4 stars
7/17/05 ReboValence This is how the last adaptation of the book should have gone. 5 stars
7/16/05 KingNeutron 3 1/2 *s; good in-jokes and music. Depp's Wonka doesnt compare to Wilder tho 3 stars
7/16/05 Jim The Movie Freak The boat ride was scarier in the original. Oompa Loompa songs lame! Still very entertainin 3 stars
7/16/05 Titus Soo o . . . cool. 5 stars
7/15/05 Body odor. Finally a guy in makeup,who has a kid styled home, that doesn't molest children. Brillant. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jul-2005 (PG)
  DVD: 08-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Sep-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast