More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 19.2%
Worth A Look39.2%
Average: 20.8%
Pretty Bad: 8%
Total Crap: 12.8%

8 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

When Lambs Become Lions by Jay Seaver

We Are Not Princesses by Jay Seaver

Hustlers by Jay Seaver

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wedding Crashers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Bore Weddings and a Funeral . . . for comedy"
2 stars

As I still try to pull myself out of a mind-numbing stupor from watching what I thought would be a much more hilarious movie, I can only say thank God for Vince Vaughn and his over-the-top obnoxiousness. While it may have become so unbearable that it dragged down a film like MADE, it was the only thing that managed to strangle any laughter at all out of this lethargic, contrived, formulaic, bloated, overly-sentimental to the point of being maudlin, dull, and only sporadically amusing piece of shit.

I don't know what I was expecting from THE WEDDING CRASHERS - perhaps somethin akin to the bastard offspring of THE WEDDING SINGER and OLD SCHOOL. Unfortunately, it wasn't nearly as good as either of those movies (and although I had fun with both of them, they were 3 star efforts at best). The script is weak, the dialogue trite, and literally the only thing that saves it from completely tanking is the ferociousness that Vaughn tackles every line with.

John Beckwith (Owen Wilson) and Jeremy Grey (Vince Vaughn) are a pair of divorce mediators who, ironically I suppose, crash weddings in order to meet horny single women and get laid. After a summer of crashing weddings and being the life of the party, they decide to crash the wedding of a politician's daughter (witht he part of dad being phoned in by Christopher Walken - and you know there's something wrong with a movie when Christopher Walken doesn't get, or give, even one goddamn funny line of dialogue). As fortune would have it, the bride has two hot sisters, one a raving nymphomaniac Gloria (Isla Fisher) who is instantly smitten with Jeremy, the other a level-headed save-the-world idealist (Rachel McAdams), who John falls for. The two end up being invited out to the family's island estate for the weekend, where all kinds of formulaic and predictable hijinks can ensue. As John tries every trick at his disposal to woo Claire away from her obnoxious asshole boyfriend (aren't they always in movies like this? and yet the girl always has to go through some big long bout of soul searching before she realizes her boyfriend is a worthless cocksucker and settles on the protagonist), Jeremy tries to wriggle out of his relationship with the crazy-ass (but sexually hot) Gloria.

Although there are some laugh out loud moments (again, 90 percent of these are because of Vaughn, while Wilson manages to pull out a funny moment or two of slop), the film quickly meanders into romantic-comedy territory, spending far too much time on John and Claire's courtship with eternal and unbearably sappy scenes of them riding bikes and walking on the beach and laughing and smiling and blah blah fucktitty blah. If I wanted to see that shit, I'd go to a Kate Hudson or Gwyneth Paltrow movie. I came to see a lowbrow but clever raunch comedy, and at least half of the film's two hour running time is anything but.

Yes, you heard me. Two hours. For the love of God, is there any concievable reason why a formulaic comedy like this has to go on for TWO HOURS? Maybe I wouldn't have minded if I hadn't felt nearly every minute of it passing like syrup through a coffee stirrer. But the biggest annoyance is just how contrived and implausible EVERYTHING about this movie is. Granted that it's a comedy, and a certain suspension of disbelief is par for the course, but are we seriously expected to believe that a guy like Will Farrell (yes, he's in it too) can go pick up hot women at their boyfriends' funeral by acting like . . . well, like Will Farrell?

I hope they have a WEDDING CRASHERS: SPECIAL EDITION DVD. It should be about 15-20 minutes long, and only show Vince Vaughn going on a string of rants. That's really all that's worth seeing in this movie. Well, that and all the breasts they show in the first act.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12583&reviewer=258
originally posted: 07/27/05 12:10:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/15/15 stanley welles sloppy and endless and endlessly sloppy 1 stars
4/12/10 art AN EXCELLENT SATIRE!,don't let this one get away! 5 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight About as overrated as Something About mary, and not as funny. 3 stars
10/20/08 RYAN GILBEY Dan Burns should have gotten a nomination for Creating Wedding Crashers the best Comedy eve 5 stars
10/17/08 BIG FAN DAN BURNS THE CREATOR OF 2005 #1 COMEDY "WEDDING CRASHERS" HIT A HOME RUN AGAIN, BEST FILM 5 stars
7/30/08 the dork knight It gets funnier toward the end, but not by much 3 stars
6/21/08 PAUL SHORTT BY MY COUNT, IT DOESNT JUST CRASH, IT BURNS 1 stars
6/25/07 johnnyfog Overrated. Vaughn's scenes are funny, but the rest is blah. 3 stars
5/13/07 Claude Tyson Claudelicous so delicious gecko bags 1 stars
4/18/07 David Pollastrini lots of hot women in this! 3 stars
2/25/07 AJ Muller Funny as all hell; Vaughn and Wilson lock it up, Walken rocks, McAdams is perfect. 4 stars
12/30/06 DavidWebber Good not great, but fun. 4 stars
12/13/06 Dude Very Funny 4 stars
11/11/06 Jamethon At last! A COMPLETELY laugh-free comedy! How bold and original! 1 stars
10/20/06 LaWRY I BASHED UP THEO pardoen 1 stars
10/14/06 Eric It was alright... overrated though. Some funny scenes, but lots of gaps in between them. 3 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard YUCK! I got up and left the theater after 30 minutes. Stupid & idiodic. 1 stars
9/14/06 Travis Barker this movie was a good funny laugh, my homeboys and i comment the jokes all the time 5 stars
8/01/06 drydock54321 nice funny movie 4 stars
7/31/06 Mike Brian McKay is an ignorant jack ass 5 stars
7/31/06 Lawrence Sabadi Lawry Kix Ass 1 stars
6/08/06 Ashley Hinz Rent or buy the Unrated Version, just to see the grandma some more. 5 stars
6/04/06 millersxing Definitely not on my all-time list of funniest comedies. Ho-hum. 3 stars
5/23/06 Lawrence Sabadi very funny movie...................lawry rules 2006 4 stars
3/12/06 Chris Wilbik Pretty lame, not many funny scenes and rather boring. 2 stars
3/07/06 Steven Lewis hilarious, a must own 5 stars
1/24/06 Phil M. Aficionado Just read EricDSnider's review. Spot on. Cute flick but nothing special 3 stars
1/23/06 Del Very few funny parts. Turned the DVD off halfway through. 1 stars
1/18/06 Ole Man Bourbon Nothing even happens during the first hour. Meh. 2 stars
1/16/06 Jim Cute but overly long. Like a wedding reception. 4 stars
1/15/06 chris f really funny film 5 stars
1/09/06 Anthony Feor It loses a star for Bore and stupid crude humor that was not needed, But still funny 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Okay but too many romcom cliches, not enough laughs, overated 3 stars
1/02/06 Jeff Anderson Hilarious & refreshingly alive! Vaughn & Wilson are great, but Fisher is an absolute scream 5 stars
12/25/05 emre kaplan very very very sweat girl claire cleary.... 5 stars
11/01/05 TESSA A. EBARRETE TEH BEST COMEDY FILM I'VE SEEN IN YEARS. THE TEAM UP OF OWEN AND RACHEL IS GREAT. HOPE THEY 5 stars
10/27/05 Michael Kondo this movie was actually quite funny, i had my doubts when i first got there but it was good 5 stars
10/27/05 venty Hi-o 5 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz The begining was slow and repetitive, after that a decent flick. 3 stars
10/25/05 The EZ1 Best Comedy of the Year...so far. 4 stars
10/18/05 Agent Sands 1st 45 minutes: Hilarious pretend-con flick. After that: A ridiculous, uneven mess. 3 stars
10/11/05 Adrienne Absolutely hilarious, laughed so hard, I started to cough, I'll wanna learn every line 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod absolutely an insult to human intelligence the lowest of the low 1 stars
9/06/05 Frenzy Really good comedi 4 stars
8/25/05 Tom Benton One of the best comedies of the last decade. Wilson, Vaughn and Jane Seymour are excellent. 4 stars
8/22/05 deeza Pathetic, not funny, poor script - a mess. 1 stars
8/14/05 Zephyr J Hideous. Awful Directing sinks good cast. 1 stars
8/12/05 Sully Isla Fisher can tie me up any night....she's on fire...!!!! 4 stars
8/11/05 Christian This movie was very unfunny. Just watch for the great chemistry between Wilson & Vaughn. 2 stars
8/09/05 Taylor Fladgate A very fun romp...as a comedy, it's the best this year 5 stars
8/07/05 sbpat21 very funny, but way too long 4 stars
8/07/05 Roy Smith I liked Will Farrel. The End Times are Here! 5 stars
8/06/05 Will S Nice, funny movie - yes its an unoriginal plot, but the script and acting are brilliant! 4 stars
8/06/05 Christopher Jones This movie was a very funny movie. This is the most laughs I've had in a while. 5 stars
8/04/05 orpy worst movie I've seen in a while 1 stars
8/03/05 Dan Great first half, crappy second half 3 stars
8/02/05 Clatz Laughed hard at times, but what was up with Walken? He looked half asleep in this film. 4 stars
8/01/05 Greg This is what the older comedy audience has been waiting for since American Wedding. 5 stars
8/01/05 R clarance, autumn, i don't want to criticize you, i just want to understand you.. 1 stars
7/30/05 Zandalee There has been too much hype for this mediocre movie. 2 stars
7/29/05 Autumn This was an awesome film. I haven't laughed so hard in a longtime. My stomach hurt aftwrd 5 stars
7/28/05 JoH2O I loved it, Miss _h fuck you 5 stars
7/26/05 Laura Lee Macleod stupid, boring not funny movie, big let-down 1 stars
7/26/05 miss_h how bmuch more BAD FILMS & BAD ACTORS playing stoopid parts for way too much money? 1 stars
7/26/05 Indrid Cold All the romantic comedy cliches are forgivable because it's actually funny. 4 stars
7/25/05 ClaranceTheCobra 2hrs of laughs ++ Hilarious dialogue, and priceless scenes 5 stars
7/23/05 Dan Too much off a romntic comedy. Would have been better if it were more like "Old School" 3 stars
7/21/05 jcjs fun, funny, light hearted, good time, laughs 4 stars
7/21/05 Vince An AWESOME FILM. Better second time viewing cuz u actually catch hidden jokes. 5 stars
7/18/05 kerry Too much language and sexual stuff 1 stars
7/17/05 cpbjr did drag, but owen and vaughn were TREMENDOUS! 5 stars
7/17/05 KCobain Vaughn elevates this. 4 stars
7/17/05 8=====D so sexy 8=======D *fap* *fap* *fap* 5 stars
7/17/05 ajay was laughing out loud for the first 3/4, the last bit kept it from being fuckin' awesome 4 stars
7/17/05 astrotart Edited down to 90 min, this movie would have been awesome. Vaughn was absolutely precious! 4 stars
7/16/05 Jim The Movie Freak Reasonably entertaining. Special cameo steals the show. Vaughn was hysterical 3 stars
7/08/05 Ray Average 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jul-2005 (R)
  DVD: 03-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Aug-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast