More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.26

Awesome65.96%
Worth A Look: 12.77%
Average: 6.38%
Pretty Bad: 10.64%
Total Crap: 4.26%

1 review, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

Freaks (2019) by Jay Seaver

Official Secrets by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Paris, Texas
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"I call it 'americana noir'. But then I'm a prat."
5 stars

When a man comes from out of the desert, tired, thirsty, sickly and mute, having been walking aimlessly for the last few years, not remembering much of anything, not wanting to, what or who can bring him back?

This film was Wim Wenders big debut on the directorial scene and it was as original as anything you're likely to see. Startling imagery, beatiful vistas, uniformly great cast and a storyline that doesn't necessarily go anywhere - it more just wanders until it finds where it's supposed to end.

It's a superbly framed film. Every shot is art in itself. Every image is one you could frame. Every scene just rolls along. You find yourself being taken on a journey that leaves you just as confused and aimless as the characters within, and when all becomes clearer it seems like the natural progression. Harry Dean Stanton never can and never will find himself in a role that fits him as well as this one did. He is the wandering man and always will be. This was also Nastassja Kinski's follow-up after playing Susie The Bear in Hotel New Hampshire, so it's anyone's guess as to how her career ended up in the toilet after those two..

Paris, Texas is a masterpiece about the inability of humans to communicate. The characters almost never have a face-to-face conversation and while this is at once frustrating, it's also intriguing. The film took out the Golden Palm at Cannes, as well as a Golden Globe and BAFTA awards - why? Because it's damn good.

To say anything more about Paris, Texas would be pointless, as this film can't be aptly explained. It's just something that every person should see at least once. At least.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1263&reviewer=1
originally posted: 07/31/99 22:46:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/05/16 FireWithFire Sam Shepard is A PRETENTIOUS FRAUD 2 stars
1/03/14 PAUL SHORTT FASCINATING AND COMPELLING 4 stars
3/08/13 Sia Sharif Such a great movie 5 stars
7/11/11 eraser script - dire; plot - half-baked; HDS:a great actor, wasted - all looked pretty though 2 stars
11/05/10 Beanz1148 The desert. The man. The woman. The Redemption. very therapeutic film 4 stars
10/15/07 fools♫gold Amazing, with a VERY weird ending! 5 stars
7/17/06 mark great--just great 5 stars
2/12/06 steve it's the anticipation, from nothing to everything 5 stars
12/19/04 Eric Uh, VERY slow, weird ending, not very good 3 stars
11/19/04 David Cameron The movie is utter rubbish. Far too long - every scene could be reduced by half 1 stars
10/03/04 Windseeker Deeply moving ... I don't know how they did it. Classic Wenders. 5 stars
11/25/03 amit excellent movie!! Possibly Wender's best. 5 stars
10/06/03 Jack Sommersby Another overdeliberate Wenders wank-fest. Nice to see Stanton is starring role, though. 2 stars
8/12/03 Pinkline Jones Overrated - Kinski does some great acting though 4 stars
7/05/03 R.W. Welch Incisive slice of southwest life, deliberately paced. 4 stars
5/17/03 Mo sublime and poignant masterpiece by Wenders 5 stars
9/02/02 Roulazan It demonstrated the decadance of American consumer society well, but is a tad slow at times 4 stars
6/27/02 simon bull 'empty' 5 stars
2/12/02 john james one of my all time favorites. touching and powerful. 5 stars
1/02/02 Foufie BRILLIANT ! Cinema at its very best. 5 stars
9/11/01 Sarah Bates it sucked and it was slow 2 stars
8/18/01 Arkanteos A monument to melancholy, really a great movie, not for action maniacs 5 stars
7/24/01 Eggy Joe It's like swimming the sea, watching the boats go past 5 stars
6/02/01 jake stockton I never believe remembering how great this movie is, until I see it again 5 stars
6/01/01 Vahid Parsa An excellent explanation of the new human tragedy and its solitude 5 stars
3/04/01 jefu a brilliant film 5 stars
2/03/01 b.t. one of Wenders finest and most evocative efforts. With Shepard dialogue it approaches perfe 5 stars
12/10/00 RSH I've revisited this film every few years since I first saw it in 1985 - it just gets better 5 stars
10/22/00 Samuel Beginning is slow, conclusion is awesome 5 stars
5/14/00 V2 Absolutely the best movie about human communicatin I Have ever seen 5 stars
2/07/00 class critics This could be the worst movie I've had to sit through. 1 stars
12/07/99 Bill Maas I loved this movie. 5 stars
12/06/99 j.a .richards Frustrating to watch,noy pleasurable. 2 stars
12/05/99 Julie I felt it was very well put together and directed. I would recomend it! 3 stars
10/30/99 Jim Newsom I have seen this movie a dozen times or so and still get a lump in my throat. 5 stars
8/02/99 The Bomb 69 too slow to develop 3 stars
1/29/99 James E. Laczkowski A brilliant character study propelled by emotion rather than plot mechanics 5 stars
1/10/99 twisted barbie great story, but very slow 4 stars
12/08/98 Binky Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Whee! 5 stars
11/17/98 Jeff C. Fantastic movie, Harry Dean Stanton is wonderful. I wish he had more leading roles 5 stars
11/08/98 Nancy Collins a profoundly powerful film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1984 (R)
  DVD: 26-Jan-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1985 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast