More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.43

Awesome: 20.59%
Worth A Look36.27%
Average: 19.61%
Pretty Bad: 12.75%
Total Crap: 10.78%

9 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Red Eye
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by William Goss

"Strangers On A Plane"
4 stars

Director Wes Craven takes a rare departure from his typical horror fare to create the efficient and exciting thriller 'Red Eye.'

Lisa Reisert (a relentlessly attractive Rachel McAdams) is a hotel manager headed home to Miami who begins to hit it off with Jackson Rippner (a relentlessly creepy Cillian Murphy), a fellow passenger awaiting the much-delayed titular flight. However, jet fret sets in once the plane takes off and Jackson reveals his true motives: if Lisa doesn’t obey his orders, her father will be murdered.

Craven and screenwriter Carl Ellsworth take this claustrophobic premise and form a tangible tension that turns the movie into compelling viewing, both mean and lean, with emphasis on the latter. The film only runs about eighty minutes without credits, thus streamlining the plot to the bare essentials. (This may also explain why Brian Cox, who appears as Lisa’s father, has lost so much weight.) There is no time to ask questions that remain unanswered or actions that require severe disbelief on behalf of the viewer. For the second time this summer, both McAdams (Wedding Crashers) and Murphy (Batman Begins) have proven themselves to be capable young actors on the rise. Murphy never goes too over-the-top in his villainous portrayal, and McAdams strikes just the right chords of initial fear, then determination.

Things get shaky when the plane lands and the third act commences. Once the characters make it back on terra firma, Craven regresses to his old ways and creates a killer-in-the-house game out of the climax. While not entirely unsatisfying, the detour into Scream territory is a bit out of tone with the rest of the film.

A pleasant surprise in the same vein as last year’s underrated 'Cellular,' 'Red Eye' is a highly enjoyable B-movie thrill ride that ends the summer movie season on a higher note than usual.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12749&reviewer=409
originally posted: 10/25/05 15:18:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell tight & tense 4 stars
9/20/15 James Doesn't deserve a star. Waste of talent. 1 stars
10/01/12 Mike grant Terrible. I can't believe how stupid this film becomes at the end. 1 stars
6/20/12 Turd Ferguson Murphy is amazing, McAdams is gorgeous, the rest of the movie is a disaster 1 stars
10/07/10 LKim This crap deserves 2 stars at most, but I'm giving it 3 cause Murphy did incredible with it 3 stars
8/02/10 PAUL SHORTT TENSE, EXCITING AND GRIPPING 4 stars
11/24/09 Albert Valentin Cillian Murphy is great in this! Very disturbing role and great movie! 5 stars
8/03/09 Rachel Wow..you never knew what to expect next! 5 stars
8/21/08 Shaun Wallner The storyline is well made! 4 stars
4/27/07 Total Crap I'm giving it 2 stars cuz of suspense, But the story is bland and redundant. It sucks. 2 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday By itself, it was pretty good. Compared to Cursed, it was a masterpiece. 4 stars
2/10/07 MP Bartley It gets in, it gets out, it gets the job done with panache. Murphy is great. 4 stars
1/30/07 Matt Don't try and read too much into it. Instantly forgettable, but perfectly watchable. 4 stars
1/10/07 Anthony Feor It's like gravol before a plane flight 2 stars
10/03/06 bullit16 Best thing I can say about this? McAdams sure is pretty 2 stars
9/28/06 MMB We were very disappointed. Was pretty good until the plane landed, then got cheesy. 2 stars
8/28/06 Ryan_A Murphy's nice and creepy, and McAdams is good. The movie, not so much. 2 stars
8/26/06 Stanley Thai It's an average thriller with great acting. 3 stars
8/16/06 xxx A great thriller...I highly recommend it! 5 stars
6/02/06 Danny Very suspensful - I liked it a lot. 4 stars
5/31/06 Bryan McAllister one of the best movies ive seen in a long time 5 stars
4/05/06 Alison Not necessarily a scary movies...it's more like a thriller. I loved it. 5 stars
3/16/06 chris f very entertaining film 5 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Rachel McAdams is great, but the movie usually didnt work 3 stars
2/17/06 Indrid Cold Solid but uninspired. I think Craven's only good movie ever (Scream) was sort of a fluke. 3 stars
2/07/06 Anthony This movie was 1hr and 10 min and was boring 3 stars
2/05/06 Shawn Gadberry Sorry...Put me to sleep. Was this supposed to be a TV movie? Seemed like it was... 2 stars
2/02/06 Gary Mitchell Not bad....very entertaining! 4 stars
1/29/06 Zaharin Bin Abdul Razak Pretty much the same as "Nick of Time". So what's the point? 2 stars
1/20/06 Mike Pulido Predictable.over too quickly seemed like something was missing 3 stars
1/18/06 DARIJA VAN HOUTEN KEEP ME ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT 4 stars
1/15/06 Quigley One can basically sum of this movie's awesomeness in two words: Cillian Murphy. 5 stars
1/15/06 Jeremy Fassler (the artist formerly known as JFas) This film was extremely overrated. Never had any suspense for me. 1 stars
1/13/06 Perry Mason idiotic, dull, witless thriller 1 stars
11/09/05 Priscilla Posthlethwaite Uncommonly original, tense thriller. More evidence of Rachel McAdams as a serious talent. 5 stars
10/26/05 Katie Evridge Red Eye is definatly a great thriller. 4 stars
10/18/05 Agent Sands Cillian Murphy steals---and saves---this otherwise dull thriller. 4 stars
10/08/05 Frenzy Ending was to HAPPY 3 stars
10/05/05 Naewar Loved it! Can't wait to see it again! 5 stars
9/25/05 Josh Standlee This movie kicks more ass than anyone could possibly imagine! Brilliant!!!! 5 stars
9/07/05 bentable just a great movie 5 stars
9/05/05 marge a real a hitchcock 4 stars
9/04/05 Quigley Cillian Murphy ruled so much! McAdams wasn't bad either. This movie is full of awesomeness. 5 stars
8/26/05 S Davis Wes Craven is back from that "Curses" mess. Outstanding performances...great plot. GREAT! 5 stars
8/25/05 ES A suspenseful, fun ride, McAdams gives her best performance, ending completely satisfies 4 stars
8/24/05 Brandy Harrington Check it out, this is better than Scream and Elm Street. 5 stars
8/22/05 Seymore great 5 stars
8/20/05 Hockeytown A heroine in heels wielding a field hockey stick? I miss the NHL SOOOO bad! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Aug-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 10-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Sep-2005


Directed by
  Wes Craven

Written by
  Carl Ellsworth

Cast
  Rachel McAdams
  Cillian Murphy
  Brian Cox
  Jayma Mays
  Jack Scalia
  Colby Donaldson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast