More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.51

Awesome: 20.79%
Worth A Look40.59%
Average: 13.86%
Pretty Bad: 18.81%
Total Crap: 5.94%

10 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Secret Garden, The (2020) by Peter Sobczynski

Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker by Jay Seaver

Force of Nature by Rob Gonsalves

Greyhound by Rob Gonsalves

Undercover Vice: Strapped for Danger Part II by Rob Gonsalves

Painted Bird, The by Rob Gonsalves

Relativity by Jay Seaver

Amulet by Jay Seaver

Secret, The: Dare to Dream by Peter Sobczynski

She Dies Tomorrow by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Constant Gardener, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Wilson

"Garden fresh filming goodness!"
5 stars

I love movies. Thatís why I truly enjoy writing about them. Yes, there are many very bad movies out there. But part of what I love is that every once in a while, a film so utterly astounding comes along that it lets me forget the rest of the crap released by Hollywood and reinvigorates my love of movies as both entertainment and art. Right now that film is The Constant Gardner.

The story centers around Justin Quayle (Ralph Fiennes) and his relationship with a woman named Tessa (Rachel Weisz). It also involves countless deaths in Africa, pharmaceutical companies and government cover ups. Itís a romantic drama, a thriller and a social commentary all in one. And they all work here. Each branches seamlessly into the other, not from writing necessity but from reason. The romance leads to the thriller which leads to the social conscience.

Really it reminded me most of Casablanca. Both concentrate on a very personal and somewhat tragic love story set amid an involving political backdrop. While The Constant Gardner came out amid the explosions and chest shaving jokes of summer, it isnít your typical summer blockbuster fair. The film relies on emotion and visuals to keep its story propelling forward. I would go so far as to call it a mainstream high art film, one of the most pleasing oxymorons I can think of.

I usually shy away from talking about technical parts of movies but The Constant Gardner has some of the best cinematography Iíve seen recently. The use of different camera styles for different locations has been done before (most notably in Traffic) but never have I seen it implemented so fluidly. Beyond that, there are simply countless shots that would be right at home in a photography magazine. And the musicÖ incredible! Sorry, Iím getting carried away. Have I given the film enough of a proverbial hand job yet?

One thing to note is that the style of The Constant Gardner is a bit disorienting at first. Eventually however, it gives the film a sort of lyrical flow. There are many flashbacks and disruptions of time but they all serve the purpose of eliciting certain feelings. They become more of a storytelling tool than a crutch (coughÖ Quentin Tarantino). This also means a second viewing is fairly necessary.

When writing reviews, I try to find the good parts even in truly terrible movies. I also try to point out the shortcomings of great films. I like to be fair. But I donít know what bad parts there are to point out here. If thereís something not to like about The Constant Gardner I donít see it. I apologize for not being very good at subtly right now. I just need to get this off my chest: The Constant Gardner is one of the best films Iíve seen in a long time.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12868&reviewer=400
originally posted: 01/27/06 19:42:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell gripping good film 4 stars
3/13/16 roberta wiener compelling, gripping,a smart person's film.. Fiennes" acting is amazing and subtle. 5 stars
4/26/12 tan hongtao a movie about a crasy bitch who lost her mind, 1 stars
8/08/10 PAUL SHORTT TENSE, INVOLVING THRILLER WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
3/18/09 Chaka Khan I dont understand the rave about this movie, not believable in any way and brutally boring 2 stars
11/09/08 mr.mike The central mystery isn't all that compelling, Fiennes and a satisfying ending compensate 4 stars
5/21/07 action movie fan BORING STORY COMSTANTLY DULL 1 stars
5/15/07 mb Excellent Movie ... useless ending. 4 stars
5/11/07 R.W. Welch A shade overdone, but still intriguing conspiracy flick. B- 4 stars
3/29/07 fools♫gold been-done-before-and-better "drama/action", like Bulletproof Monk, but more boring. 2 stars
2/11/07 Mystic Dark, brooding and will haunt for along time. The story of our times.... 5 stars
11/14/06 Ryan_A Fiennes is fantastic. 4 stars
11/05/06 zaw WTF! This movie is for people who like to complicate their lives! Real life is not!!! 1 stars
11/02/06 Patsyc A good movie. It has a very good storyline. 4 stars
9/01/06 MP Bartley Angry, and the emotion of it creeps up on you. Fiennes is brilliant. 4 stars
8/01/06 Eden Despite the storyline, its a kinda bland film; completely forgetable 2 stars
5/19/06 Simon Doesn't quite have a knockout punch as a moviegoer would like, but its sincerity is legit 4 stars
5/06/06 daveyt enjoyable, didn't mind the time lapse plot, jerky cinematography and slow pace! 4 stars
4/29/06 millersxing A well-intentioned, overbearing snoozer. 2 stars
4/23/06 Phil M. Aficionado In a few days it will blend into a dozen others I've seen, full of incongruous twists 3 stars
4/01/06 Nobody BORING BORING BORING BORING BORING BORING!!!! 1 stars
3/11/06 Josh Standlee Fact: Ralph Feinnes is an emotionless android. 2 stars
3/07/06 Annie G Interesting overall, but seriously do people think drug companies have this much power? 4 stars
2/27/06 Serious Critic !0 Osrcar noms but still this is ciold war propaganda 4 stars
2/25/06 Indrid Cold A leisurely-paced thriller with more intimate romantic scenes than actual thrills. 4 stars
2/09/06 helen bradley A story that lingers well after leaving the flick, great acting all round and photograohy 5 stars
1/26/06 john bale Timely and disturbing thriller which must raise concern about the ethics of some Companies. 5 stars
1/22/06 Simon Very-very well done. Well-developed characters, unforced social awareness, smart dialogue 5 stars
1/17/06 Agent Sands Intelligent, well-directed film. 4 stars
1/13/06 middle earth characters with soul, but film event driven, who are these people? 4 stars
12/14/05 What's the matter with you people? What a complete waste of time! Weisz and Fiennes should be shot down for this! 1 stars
10/06/05 Taylor Fladgate Can you say "Oscar!"? This film will get at least 5 nods. 5 stars
9/29/05 Olga Reprintseva awakening and beautiful 4 stars
9/17/05 Suzz excellent performances but just your average thriller otherwise 3 stars
9/15/05 Jake I walked into this film expecting a great movie. An hour later, I walked disappointed. 2 stars
9/13/05 susan great 5 stars
9/08/05 Koitus Didn't care for "out of time" sequencing; many "false" leads provided, too... 2 stars
9/05/05 Ionicera great performances and love story 4 stars
9/05/05 Melina remembering the movie, brings tears to my eyes again - definitely worth seeing! 5 stars
9/04/05 Bob Siesholtz This was a horrible movie. It was slow moving and boring. Drug companies are evil. Thanks 1 stars
9/01/05 B.Blackbrain It was like a documentary by Alfred Hitchcock. Best movie I've seen all year. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Aug-2005 (R)
  DVD: 10-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Nov-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast