More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.41

Awesome56.1%
Worth A Look: 34.15%
Average: 7.32%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 2.44%

2 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Captain, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Jojo Rabbit by Peter Sobczynski

Human Lost by Jay Seaver

Tammy and the T-Rex by Jay Seaver

Extra Ordinary by Jay Seaver

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Fearless (1994)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"If there's any doubt that Peter Weir can direct..."
4 stars

I can't recall the last time I saw Jeff Bridges in a film that was God-awful. In Big Lebowski he was quietly funny, in Fisher King he was perfect, and in Fearless he's quite superb again.

As "The Samaritan", a man who faces death in a plane crash and in surviving finds he has no fear, or even belief in death, Bridges underplays it like he has in no other role. His wife, Isabella Rosselini, doesn't understand his weird new outlook on life, but a fellow crash survivor, played by Rosie Perez, knows far better where he's coming from. They try to find a point to their lives as the rest of the world fights over court settlements and other 'less important' worldy events.

This film certainly isn't what you'd call fast-paced, in fact it fairly dawdles, but for a spiritual quest you wouldn't really have it any other way. Perez is a lot less annoying than she's historically reknowned for, with only an occasional high pitched moment where you fear she's going to start screaming "MOOKIE!".

The one problem with the film seems to be that it loses direction occasionally, but hidden by the slow pace it's often tough to notice the slips. The last act of the film is where it's true brilliance lies, but to go into it would be to give it all away. Suffice it to say that after a smiling start the film enters sadness and then inspiration.

Mixed messages and the fact that small attention spans will be yawning early stop Fearless from getting the highest honor in my eyes, but it's certainly something that everyone should try on a rainy Saturday night, especially if spiritual exploration is your thing.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1296&reviewer=1
originally posted: 02/02/99 11:07:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/26/11 art BRIDGES was GRAND,but ROSIE PEREZ was NOT CHOPPED LIVER,with her CARLA character! 4 stars
8/22/07 Glenn G This movie still haunts me after 10 years. I will never forget it. 5 stars
5/01/07 Mr wipy i loved how peter used flash backs in the film beautiful 4 stars
1/24/06 Josh Intense, moving. GREAT performances, tho Bridges character IS quite annoying 4 stars
10/01/05 merp This was a 4-star film when I first saw it, but dropped to 3 on a repeat viewing 3 stars
9/07/05 Jill Stimulating and thought-provoking, but not lacking in emotion-stirring moments either. 5 stars
8/26/05 ES No one would know how to deal with that kind of situation, which is why this film was great 4 stars
3/08/05 Mike Keller Terrible 1 stars
12/11/04 Lucas Stensland I always wanted to love this movie, but I just can't. 3 stars
11/22/04 Kurt Without doubt an absolute masterpiece 5 stars
10/16/04 Allen King It is nothing less than Brilliant. A tear wells to the eye just thinking about the film as 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Overlong and unfocused, but it's affecting and Bridges is (again) sensational. 4 stars
9/11/02 Phil M. Aficionado Definitely a keeper. It's few flaws are blown away by imagery,acting,insight, emotions. 4 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim WOW! This is a great movie! Jeff & Rosie have unlimited talent/chemistry 5 stars
1/17/02 T M Nunley Jeff Bridges IS under-rated. Check this film out. It has some memorable moments. 4 stars
3/13/01 R.W. Welch Intriguing pretext but somewhat far-fetched. 4 stars
2/19/01 Rony OVERWHELMING 5 stars
5/13/00 Elvisfan Completely amazing and I thank Weir, Jeff & Rosie for showing m 5 stars
12/04/99 Nicholas Heier Moving 5 stars
11/08/99 Max Kline This is one of the best films of the 90s! Brilliant and devastating! Bridges is the king! 5 stars
10/11/99 Eran (erancoo7@hotmail.com) An amazing film,one of the greatest that touched me in the deepest way. 5 stars
6/22/99 Tim Gerchmez Excellent! 5 stars
4/20/99 Renato Doho A masterpiece! Peter Weir and Jeff Bridges teamed up for the work of their lives!!!! 5 stars
1/12/99 Brunetta Cliched up the yinghang! 3 stars
12/29/98 demon_shredder This movie was really something. Excellent all the way. Peter Weir rocks. 5 stars
12/20/98 Johny Better than both PICNIC AT HANGING ROCK and TRUMAN SHOW 5 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink The ending gives me goosebumps and Im ean that as a compliment. 5 stars
11/15/98 Barrie The best film I have ever seen. Devistating and powerful. Peter Weir is a GOD. 5 stars
11/14/98 Jules A movie that lets you think. GREAT acting, one of the most intensely human movies I've seen 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1994 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1995 (M)


Directed by
  Peter Weir

Written by
  Rafael Yglesias

Cast
  Jeff Bridges
  Isabella Rosellini
  Rosie Perez
  Tom Hulce
  John Turturro



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast