More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome36.84%
Worth A Look: 28.95%
Average: 19.3%
Pretty Bad: 7.02%
Total Crap: 7.89%

5 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

Riot Girls by Rob Gonsalves

Crawl by Rob Gonsalves

Wallflower by Rob Gonsalves

Parts You Lose, The by Jay Seaver

Dilili in Paris by Jay Seaver

First Love by Jay Seaver

Dolemite Is My Name by Peter Sobczynski

Monos by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


BASEketball
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Jenny McCarthy sucking the chrome off a bumper. Are you HEARING me?!"
3 stars

Two suburban boobs (Matt Stone and Trey Parker), who know more about beer than bench-presses, start up their own sport – a mix of psych-outs, bar-room skills, basketball and baseball – and it becomes the biggest sport on the planet. When the game becomes a smash, the twosome that began it all create fan-friendly rules, like not allowing any team to change cities and ensuring that everyone gets the same pay. But these rules don’t sit well with everyone, and some of the richer fellows in the league would like to get rid of the spiritual heart of the game by any means necessary.

No, this ain't South Park, but it ain't Mr Deeds either, and that can only be good. Like a good Norm McDonald straight to video flick, this is the kind of thing that will make you chuckle, make you blush once or twice, show you plenty of women in tight clothing and have you trying to convince your work-mates that they should really give it a shot. BASEketball is about fart jokes, dick jokes, mysoginism, sports, bad cameos and generally forgetting you're a civilized human being for an hour and a half. And don't we all need that?

To be fair, BASEketball does push the envelope but not always for the best result. Some of the jokes are lame, but some are pretty fucking funny. The storyline? Forget that. It's immaterial. You rent something like this to laugh and be grossed out, not think.

Imagine the type of visuals that would be created if Adam Corolla and Jimmy Kimmel were to make The Man Show: The Movie. Many breasts, many many breasts and, hey, maybe some breasts on top of that, but with one catch – they’re all behind cloth. That’s BASEketball; a silly story starring loveable schlubs and co-starring lots of cheerleaders in thongs. And Jenny McCarthy sucking the chrome off a bumper bar.

Sadly, Yasmine Bleeth makes a co-starring appearance and completely botches things. She’s always either being serious or funny, but it’s very hard to figure out which is which.

If not for her continual presence, this would have been a Happy Gilmore type guilty pleasure, and very much one to own. As it is, BASEketball is a fair way to spend a lazy afternoon with a one dollar rental, and that still puts it ahead of 75% of what’s currently in release.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/26/98 15:11:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/27/12 Marty I liked it but a lot of the gags tried too hard. Funny moments. Love trey and matt 3 stars
1/08/12 d fuckin awesome 5 stars
5/12/11 RLan I gave this a one because I can't go any lower. One of the worst movies ever made!! 1 stars
6/06/10 matt flying human pineapple 5 stars
5/21/09 jon trash bullshit 1 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
12/22/07 George a cult classic already 5 stars
11/04/07 William Goss Seriously sophomoric and yet still so very amusing. 4 stars
3/29/07 fools♫gold Why do ppl thnk My Boss's Daughter = less funny? Tiseasytomakemelaugh; all I did was smile. 2 stars
1/06/07 Sugarfoot So much funnier than Team America, but not as funny as South Park:BLU. Really funny still. 4 stars
12/01/05 Arran Fishothy this is a work of art and jake this film is so good it makes ur mum look like shes fat 5 stars
12/01/05 Sam R BASEketball is the best comedy ever made 5 stars
7/06/05 Dm this film rocks its totally bad 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake Make's My Boss's Daughter look like a masterpiece! 1 stars
1/21/05 Jason Kaul When you have a whole conversation only using the word "dude", you know it's funny. 4 stars
1/19/05 Jeff Anderson THE FUNNIEST SPORTS COMEDY EVER MADE, PERIOD!! Take that you snobs. SQUEAK SCOLARI RULES IT 5 stars
10/30/04 HL A bit retarded.. Like the Stooges, you'll like this. 4 stars
8/17/04 Anthony G fucking so funny I jizzed 4 times 5 stars
6/20/04 Dan R. Very Underated... a cult classic 5 stars
4/17/04 BaztarD_101 Jenny McCarthy is HOT! 5 stars
4/13/04 Mr X This movie was okay regardless of what Stan and Kenny said 4 stars
4/07/04 Sig 'sd'... You're horseshit! and all the cheerleaders were HOT! 5 stars
4/01/04 sd horseshit! 1 stars
1/08/04 A F Can't....Stop....Laughing.....It's a sad day for me. 5 stars
11/09/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. THE SOUTH PARK CREATORS CAME UP WITH AMOVIE THAT'S CRUDE, LEWD, & NOT FOR 4 stars
10/06/03 tatum The Farrelly Brothers should take notes 5 stars
9/21/03 Jonathan Nicholas Amasing, Funny as hell. 5 stars
7/03/03 Jack Sommersby Not as barbed as one would like, but it's passable. 3 stars
5/14/03 Joel DeJong this is the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
4/28/03 Vitality1 I don't know why I love this movie more - b/c it's hilarious or b/c Reel Big Fish is in it! 5 stars
1/21/03 tina AWESOME 5 stars
9/23/02 syrius Bob Costas- "U're excited?! Feel how hard my nipples are!" 4 stars
8/07/02 Jon Will you sign my chicken please sir? 5 stars
7/29/02 Claire You'd never admit that you like this movie. Such a guilty pleasure! 5 stars
6/22/02 The Bomb69 the best "Airplane" and "South Park" any questions??? 5 stars
4/02/02 Film Guy Fucking Funny 5 stars
3/05/02 Julia Cox Never a good sign when Jenny McCarthy doesn't know whether she farted or not! 2 stars
3/04/02 Marcia Lartz Excellent beginning. Too bad it runs out of steam and gets dull. 3 stars
11/28/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is so funny as!!!!! it is KICK ASS, SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/24/01 Andrew Carden Very Predictible and Unfunny Movie With Tons Of Mis-Fire Gags. 2 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean I love the locker scene with the dicks swingin around 4 stars
8/17/01 Dakamus "1, 2, 3... fuck the Mexicans!" 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Very funny and great to watch. The mix of "Airplane!" and "South Park" is the best of mixes 4 stars
6/14/01 King Jackass Funny at times, but overdoes its only funny jokes. 4 stars
5/23/01 Bada Bing Crosby As funny as slamming your hand in the car door 1 stars
4/22/01 Luke Funny the first time .... 4 stars
1/22/01 jmr surprisingly funny. a delight 5 stars
12/09/00 SwatchDog Hehe - So hilarious, especially the "milking" scenes. What was with that gross kiss? 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin pretty dang hilarious 4 stars
8/04/00 Bender Sometimes it doesn't work, but there are some truly hilarious jokes in this movie. 4 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Not quite the dog-shit taco I thought it would be. 3 stars
2/04/00 arnold the funniest movie i've seen in a while 5 stars
10/19/99 Knight of the Rose This movie is real f#$@king hilarious. You have got to see it. 5 stars
10/15/99 GiantSlug Crazy shit! Gotta See! 5 stars
9/30/99 Physh One of the worst movies I have ever seen....but laughed 5 pounds off my ass 5 stars
9/05/99 Elizaveta Somehow this was pretty funny... 3 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK This movie is really stupid, but still better than Cannibal. Stick 2 SouthPark, for now. 2 stars
5/12/99 The Bomb 69 just take it for what it is for: stupid comedy done well 4 stars
4/20/99 Tim This movie is poor. I thought that the creators of a funny show South Park would do better 2 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Did I miss something? This movie retched. Go see Orgazmo that's a movie. 1 stars
1/29/99 Scott Stipe Really FUCKING Funny, Matt and Trey rule HELL 5 stars
11/29/98 d`d` In-your-face, twisted humor, gut wrenchingly funny 5 stars
11/19/98 josh m I can't believe these are the same people that created South Park 1 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce They went for cult tackiness, and they got it. Bleeth, McCarthy, Borgnine and Vaughan! Yay. 4 stars
10/29/98 Bad Kosh Woooohooo! Loads of hyped-out fun for any South Park fan! 5 stars
10/24/98 I'm Alfred Packer kick ass. 5 stars
10/17/98 eric sin-chan Hey, Trey Parker and Matt Stone rules! It sounds like fun, but well worth it. 4 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis If you thought this was good, South Park has gone to yer head, i wanted to like it. 2 stars
9/28/98 Heather Fun! Not the greatest movie of all time, but very enjoyable! 4 stars
9/19/98 Chip Taylor Great FFFFFFFUUUUCCCCKKKKKIIIIIINNNNNNGGGGGGGG FILM. 5 stars
9/18/98 {{{OZ}}} Some great moments, but not as good as the hype suggested. 3 stars
9/18/98 Christian I hate movies that all the funny parts are used up in the trailor...I did like Little Bitch 3 stars
9/12/98 Bart Barton horrible film 1 stars
9/08/98 toaster none 5 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein Don't read anything into this movie going in. It's just stupid fun. 3 stars
9/05/98 Mike Lancaster Ernest Borgnine humiliates himself. 2 stars
9/02/98 Bly How Could this movie ever be good? 1 stars
8/30/98 Matt i liked it more than the person who dragged me to go see it. trailers don't do it justice 4 stars
8/23/98 Superfly It's a shame it bombed so terribly like Barb Wire. 4 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Dude, it's fun shit. and there's butts. 4 stars
8/18/98 zubilicious it was okay, not as bad as i thought. i saw it in a shitty porn theater in canada. 3 stars
8/15/98 Schmeekins It wasn't totally awful. But it was kinda. 2 stars
8/14/98 Ryan_A Plot? It was funny as hell, though. 4 stars
8/12/98 Pumpkin Jenny McCarthy sucking the chrome off a bumper. Ya gotta love it. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 21-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast