More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.37

Awesome62.11%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 12.63%
Pretty Bad: 3.16%
Total Crap: 2.11%

4 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Secret Garden, The (2020) by Peter Sobczynski

Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker by Jay Seaver

Force of Nature by Rob Gonsalves

Greyhound by Rob Gonsalves

Undercover Vice: Strapped for Danger Part II by Rob Gonsalves

Painted Bird, The by Rob Gonsalves

Relativity by Jay Seaver

Amulet by Jay Seaver

Secret, The: Dare to Dream by Peter Sobczynski

She Dies Tomorrow by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


S.L.C. Punk!
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Wilson

"Sell out? Buy in? If the film doesn't even know what's going on, who cares?"
3 stars

SLC Punk is like that little puppy that's so amusing and fun that you want nothing but to love it. The only thing is, every once in a while it pees on your furniture.

The movie felt a lot like Dazed and Confused, which should have been a really good thing. Both feature zany characters, extreme situations and little to no plot. Dazed and Confused is about growing up as teenage partier in the 70s; SLC Punk is about growing up as an anarchist punk in the 80s. Matthew “Shaggy” Lillard is surprising good as protagonist Stevo and even more impressive is Michael A. Goorjian as his partner in anarchy, Heroin Bob (who has an irrational fear of drugs and needles).

So far this sounds very amusing and fun. The furniture peeing comes from the framework of the movie. SLC Punk is way too scattered. The majority of the film’s minor characters are around in the first third but aren’t really introduced until later, so we’re forced to reevaluate how and why they exist in this strange punk culture.

The “plot” also has way too many flashbacks and imagined scenes. In the course of a two minute scene at a party we get at least 10 minutes of anecdotal flashbacks. I completely forgot about the party and when exactly the present was for most of it. You might argue that this is a movie about punks and that randomness fits the personality of the film. I think it’s just lazy. Dazed and Confused never left its meandering story and therefore never lost my attention. With so little to hold onto, SLC Punk should have stayed in the present and let the narrative wander around this fascinating Utah punk underworld instead of jumping around it like a ballerina on speed.

The worst part for me was how change came about for Stevo (spoiler warning... though very vague). Seeing his punk world fall apart and some of the negative affects it was having on people should have been enough. There was even a love interest who helped him question some of his choices. But just to make sure, the writer killed off one of the characters. Because seeing someone you know die (accidentally and pointlessly) is the only reason people change. I thought it was contrived. I wanted to know what would have happened if the character would have lived. Would Stevo still have changed? Or was he waiting for someone to die before he had permission?

All in all, the movie was definitely diverting and had some really amusing parts, such as Stevo ranting at his parents about their fascist lifestyle. It’s worth a look and comes highly recommended by many a teenager and college student. Just watch out for the yellow stains.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1315&reviewer=400
originally posted: 04/13/05 03:12:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/21/10 CC PUNK But where the fuck was Scooby Doo? 4 stars
6/13/07 Christina This Movie is one of the best things ever to hit screens...It has always been my personal F 5 stars
4/18/07 Andrew Crow The best part of it is how they WERE poseurs, and how most "punks" really ARE poseurs. 4 stars
2/22/07 Lexicondevil In the 80's in small cities, punks were poseurs, and the scenes I knew were just like this. 5 stars
11/30/06 Bobby Brown No... having a guy from SLC Punk play a guy from Scooby Doo.. 5 stars
10/04/06 jon kv this movie is a bloody insult , having a guy from scooby doo play a "punk" .thats bullocks 1 stars
9/15/06 God Perfect portrayal of what Alt Lake is about if you are outside the More-Money faith 5 stars
6/23/06 gage this movie was so awsome life changes deal with it 5 stars
6/13/06 Jillian Calderon Stevo couldn't have rebelled against a Morman household because his father is Jewish. 5 stars
2/16/06 David His hair was blue not green 5 stars
9/13/05 steve-o o man it really shows what punk life realy is like 5 stars
5/22/05 Cham Not sure if it's an accurate portrayal of the punk scene, but it's great fun to watch. 5 stars
4/15/05 Jeff Gilliland Captures life in the area quite well-bleak, but entertaining. 4 stars
3/27/05 Amy Ashley damn it was so good but i dont like the part where bob dies. Sad really whats the morral? 5 stars
3/20/05 Lisa It had a couple unique moments, but overall it stunk. Nice soundtrack. 2 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson A THOUGHTFUL, INSIGHTFUL MASTERPIECE THAT ROCKS! Forget Shaggy, this is Lillard's best work 5 stars
12/13/04 meg BEST MOVIE EVER MADE 5 stars
11/22/04 Jamie Lee A memorable, catching, totaly method masterpiece 5 stars
6/08/04 foobario S and HB are real people. Bob never died, he's still in SLC; Stevo joined Descendents/All 4 stars
5/01/04 Anna Movie that makes you think and laugh! 5 stars
4/17/04 Kate Mhm 5 stars
2/11/04 Sunnie I fucken luv this movie 5 stars
2/02/04 stacey KIcks ass man Chemicals they'll fuck you up! 5 stars
11/17/03 Willy from Wyoming Good film. Gave me hope for the future of good 'ol punk rock in WHYoming 5 stars
11/12/03 jessica it was an awsome video 5 stars
11/09/03 Jon Spengle that movie is awsome it is spiffy. 5 stars
10/30/03 Laura it's a great movie if you haven't seen it, you really should. 5 stars
10/27/03 amy an amazing cultural analysis, but the ending seems to perpetuate anti-anarchist ideals 5 stars
10/03/03 ivy this is my favorite movie ever! 5 stars
9/28/03 Biltz This movie kicked ass, those mofo's who said it sucked should jumb off a cliff. 5 stars
8/12/03 VicSTEEZ Satan is in the house he killed my mom and turned her into a bull 5 stars
6/02/03 Taryn Didn't show how punks really live.....funny at some parts....over all its just not good! 2 stars
5/14/03 donnie "anarchy" miller this movie kick ass its a real punk movie if you are a real punk not a poser u will likeit 5 stars
4/12/03 piss ilike how the film shows a shitty town with no scene,like mine.but kinda fashiony 4 stars
3/23/03 Jeremy Amazing themes, 5 stars
3/13/03 kelley jewell awesom movie 5 stars
3/04/03 Emolee ..good. 4 stars
11/22/02 Spaz a look into the life of a real punk none of this poser shit 5 stars
10/12/02 kelsey robinson ha ha ha i think the movie is way funny 5 stars
10/11/02 Miri Ladenburger I love this movie 5 stars
10/09/02 Liz It was the best movie I had ever seen 5 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound Kicks ass! Makes me wanna beat up some rednecks. 5 stars
6/26/02 The Sorcerer's Snatch Not just a wannabe punk trip, it's deeper than it seems. Mad props to Lillard 5 stars
6/24/02 the Grinch Lillard can actually carry a movie when given the chance, world to end at 11. 5 stars
4/19/02 Hyacynth Filippi Best Movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
4/16/02 Sam This movie couldn't have been any better! 5 stars
2/05/02 Jeromy Feltersnatch I thought this film was an inisightful piece and left me wondering whether I was a poseur! 5 stars
7/21/01 Puggy D I can't believe some people don't appreciate this original and insightful film.. 5 stars
6/27/01 Meks Well written, brilliantly directed, best movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
5/31/01 Matt Dorsey Being in to punk rock, I felt pretty embarassed by this movie. Film at its most insipid. 1 stars
5/30/01 tinsley7 This is the coolest movie! If you haven't seen it, then rent it today! 5 stars
4/23/01 Binder This movie really moved me, everyone should see it. 5 stars
3/15/01 GrimKitten This film really embodied what I feel kids go through when they are trying to find themself 5 stars
2/17/01 kerri my favorite movie!! 5 stars
1/13/01 wink incredible! great writing, awesome acting! 5 stars
7/26/00 Basil Sooooo funny. 5 stars
6/26/00 Disillusioned Teen Matthew Lillard is the best actor in the universe. See this movie for proof 5 stars
4/12/00 katey exactly what i wanted & desparately needed! 5 stars
3/28/00 Jenna I loved it.....Devon Sawa did a really great job....as did the rest of the cast!!!! 5 stars
12/22/99 Fork An outstanding movie. Profoundly affecting and akin to dead poets society. 5 stars
12/22/99 Popdukis Deeper than I expecy 4 stars
12/19/99 Christia the best movie i ve seen in a really long time! 5 stars
11/29/99 Katie Chasteen THis movie kicks ASS!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/22/99 justin boden fuck yeah! 5 stars
11/17/99 Suzanne This is the best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
9/19/99 Ben Dover KICKS ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/29/99 Tristynn I thought it was great.. very creative and Matt's performance is amazing.. 5 stars
5/20/99 Carisa I thought it would be better. 2 stars
5/02/99 Ian Nathanson WATCH THIS GREAT MOVIE AND GIVE A PUNK A HUG! 5 stars
5/02/99 Whitney Great Cast! 5 stars
4/14/99 Michelle Incredibly funny, amazing cast, a sense of realism. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast