More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.37

Awesome62.11%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 12.63%
Pretty Bad: 3.16%
Total Crap: 2.11%

4 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doorman, The (2020) by Jay Seaver

Postmortem by Jack Sommersby

Warrior and the Sorceress, The by Jack Sommersby

Come True by Jay Seaver

Prisoners of the Lost Universe by Jack Sommersby

Stand Alone by Jack Sommersby

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm by Rob Gonsalves

Playing with Fire by Jack Sommersby

Dragnet by Jack Sommersby

Keep the Change by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


S.L.C. Punk!
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"New Wave breaks on the shore of time"
4 stars

During the first few minutes, I thought SLC Punk was going to be some cheezy poseurish romp through the various anarchic, or subvervise subcultures of 1985. You won't find any Tiffany fans or day-glo Duran Duran inspired mallwear in this flick that is strictly core. Or so it would seem

1985 was one those years where every kind of teen rebellion was overlapping. Heavy Metal had succeeded rock, New Wave was in mid-breath, punk rock was on its last legs (until its recent reincarnation), and the sixties were still winding their way through the consciousness of a nation.

SLC Punk hits the nail with its tour of life on the inside of people who thought they were taking a stand.

Aside from the frighteningly accurate portrayal of the varieties of the bohemian experience during those years, Matthew Lillard (HACKERS) as the frenetic yet thoughtful anarchist, Stevo and Michael A. Goorjian as his lifelong compatriate in crime are gorgeous to watch.

The camera likes to move, the editing is intentionally choppy in parts and it all comes together to realize a montage of not just what was happening outside them, but what was happening inside them as well.

And the dialogue is smart and makes you think about being so compeletely one-sided about anything especially when it comes to things like how to either change or fuck up "the system".

I don't want to say this is the Easy Rider for the Class of 1987 (or thereabouts) but it is an accurate portrayal of not only the various styles of the time but what people actually talked about and did and how they felt about their relationship to such abstract things as "The World". You'll be taken back, maybe too far back, if you were there and knew first hand the ass-kicking chain of command, "...and rockers beat up New Wavers who just took it because they were the new hippies." You'll be taken into a world of young people who didn't see any light at the end of the tunnel and tried to carry on anyway and now, the film implies at the end, here they are, all grown up: doctors, lawyers, politicians and screenwriters.

James Merendino wrote more than a movie. He also wrote what passes as social history in the form of a film. Better than a documentary, SLC Punk plays like the collective consciousness of the post-punk, new wave, artsy bohemian scene of the '80s and what happened to them as shit got weird and they wound their way into the future that was never supposed to happen.

If the grandchildren of the '60s had filtered out the essence of countercultural ideology and either tripped out or thought too hard in the '80s, in the '90s they started to realize how and why their parents seemingly sold out their ideals to become a part of what they were at one time resisting. In SLC Punk you get the sense though, that each generation of people coming into power have come into that power with a different perspective then the generation before and so it will go with successive generations and the world will be a different place. Or maybe not. Maybe you just make money and die. But it doesn't hurt to be a little idealistic.

Who was a poseur and who wasn't. What anarchy was and what it wasn't. Who hated who and why and if there was an ideology underneath the agression towards society what was it and why did it matter? SLC Punk takes it all in, and lays it all out gently like figures on a chessboard to replay the losing match and savor each move and contemplate not only the meaning of the choices made, but the meaning of the choices not made as well.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1315&reviewer=67
originally posted: 12/20/99 20:30:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/21/10 CC PUNK But where the fuck was Scooby Doo? 4 stars
6/13/07 Christina This Movie is one of the best things ever to hit screens...It has always been my personal F 5 stars
4/18/07 Andrew Crow The best part of it is how they WERE poseurs, and how most "punks" really ARE poseurs. 4 stars
2/22/07 Lexicondevil In the 80's in small cities, punks were poseurs, and the scenes I knew were just like this. 5 stars
11/30/06 Bobby Brown No... having a guy from SLC Punk play a guy from Scooby Doo.. 5 stars
10/04/06 jon kv this movie is a bloody insult , having a guy from scooby doo play a "punk" .thats bullocks 1 stars
9/15/06 God Perfect portrayal of what Alt Lake is about if you are outside the More-Money faith 5 stars
6/23/06 gage this movie was so awsome life changes deal with it 5 stars
6/13/06 Jillian Calderon Stevo couldn't have rebelled against a Morman household because his father is Jewish. 5 stars
2/16/06 David His hair was blue not green 5 stars
9/13/05 steve-o o man it really shows what punk life realy is like 5 stars
5/22/05 Cham Not sure if it's an accurate portrayal of the punk scene, but it's great fun to watch. 5 stars
4/15/05 Jeff Gilliland Captures life in the area quite well-bleak, but entertaining. 4 stars
3/27/05 Amy Ashley damn it was so good but i dont like the part where bob dies. Sad really whats the morral? 5 stars
3/20/05 Lisa It had a couple unique moments, but overall it stunk. Nice soundtrack. 2 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson A THOUGHTFUL, INSIGHTFUL MASTERPIECE THAT ROCKS! Forget Shaggy, this is Lillard's best work 5 stars
12/13/04 meg BEST MOVIE EVER MADE 5 stars
11/22/04 Jamie Lee A memorable, catching, totaly method masterpiece 5 stars
6/08/04 foobario S and HB are real people. Bob never died, he's still in SLC; Stevo joined Descendents/All 4 stars
5/01/04 Anna Movie that makes you think and laugh! 5 stars
4/17/04 Kate Mhm 5 stars
2/11/04 Sunnie I fucken luv this movie 5 stars
2/02/04 stacey KIcks ass man Chemicals they'll fuck you up! 5 stars
11/17/03 Willy from Wyoming Good film. Gave me hope for the future of good 'ol punk rock in WHYoming 5 stars
11/12/03 jessica it was an awsome video 5 stars
11/09/03 Jon Spengle that movie is awsome it is spiffy. 5 stars
10/30/03 Laura it's a great movie if you haven't seen it, you really should. 5 stars
10/27/03 amy an amazing cultural analysis, but the ending seems to perpetuate anti-anarchist ideals 5 stars
10/03/03 ivy this is my favorite movie ever! 5 stars
9/28/03 Biltz This movie kicked ass, those mofo's who said it sucked should jumb off a cliff. 5 stars
8/12/03 VicSTEEZ Satan is in the house he killed my mom and turned her into a bull 5 stars
6/02/03 Taryn Didn't show how punks really live.....funny at some parts....over all its just not good! 2 stars
5/14/03 donnie "anarchy" miller this movie kick ass its a real punk movie if you are a real punk not a poser u will likeit 5 stars
4/12/03 piss ilike how the film shows a shitty town with no scene,like mine.but kinda fashiony 4 stars
3/23/03 Jeremy Amazing themes, 5 stars
3/13/03 kelley jewell awesom movie 5 stars
3/04/03 Emolee ..good. 4 stars
11/22/02 Spaz a look into the life of a real punk none of this poser shit 5 stars
10/12/02 kelsey robinson ha ha ha i think the movie is way funny 5 stars
10/11/02 Miri Ladenburger I love this movie 5 stars
10/09/02 Liz It was the best movie I had ever seen 5 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound Kicks ass! Makes me wanna beat up some rednecks. 5 stars
6/26/02 The Sorcerer's Snatch Not just a wannabe punk trip, it's deeper than it seems. Mad props to Lillard 5 stars
6/24/02 the Grinch Lillard can actually carry a movie when given the chance, world to end at 11. 5 stars
4/19/02 Hyacynth Filippi Best Movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
4/16/02 Sam This movie couldn't have been any better! 5 stars
2/05/02 Jeromy Feltersnatch I thought this film was an inisightful piece and left me wondering whether I was a poseur! 5 stars
7/21/01 Puggy D I can't believe some people don't appreciate this original and insightful film.. 5 stars
6/27/01 Meks Well written, brilliantly directed, best movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
5/31/01 Matt Dorsey Being in to punk rock, I felt pretty embarassed by this movie. Film at its most insipid. 1 stars
5/30/01 tinsley7 This is the coolest movie! If you haven't seen it, then rent it today! 5 stars
4/23/01 Binder This movie really moved me, everyone should see it. 5 stars
3/15/01 GrimKitten This film really embodied what I feel kids go through when they are trying to find themself 5 stars
2/17/01 kerri my favorite movie!! 5 stars
1/13/01 wink incredible! great writing, awesome acting! 5 stars
7/26/00 Basil Sooooo funny. 5 stars
6/26/00 Disillusioned Teen Matthew Lillard is the best actor in the universe. See this movie for proof 5 stars
4/12/00 katey exactly what i wanted & desparately needed! 5 stars
3/28/00 Jenna I loved it.....Devon Sawa did a really great job....as did the rest of the cast!!!! 5 stars
12/22/99 Fork An outstanding movie. Profoundly affecting and akin to dead poets society. 5 stars
12/22/99 Popdukis Deeper than I expecy 4 stars
12/19/99 Christia the best movie i ve seen in a really long time! 5 stars
11/29/99 Katie Chasteen THis movie kicks ASS!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/22/99 justin boden fuck yeah! 5 stars
11/17/99 Suzanne This is the best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
9/19/99 Ben Dover KICKS ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/29/99 Tristynn I thought it was great.. very creative and Matt's performance is amazing.. 5 stars
5/20/99 Carisa I thought it would be better. 2 stars
5/02/99 Ian Nathanson WATCH THIS GREAT MOVIE AND GIVE A PUNK A HUG! 5 stars
5/02/99 Whitney Great Cast! 5 stars
4/14/99 Michelle Incredibly funny, amazing cast, a sense of realism. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast