More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.54

Awesome72.61%
Worth A Look: 18.47%
Average: 2.55%
Pretty Bad: 3.18%
Total Crap: 3.18%

5 reviews, 127 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Guns, thugs, humor and incredible style. Hunt this down."
4 stars

This film has been so badly misrepresented by so many people. "It's a Tarantino rip off" say some. "It's not so funny" say others. "Used tricks from Scorcese and Coppola" say others. Well screw all that. All you need to know is this is a damn fine, damn well shot, damn funny, damn cool movie that will not be a waste of your oxford scholars. (AKA: Dollars)

Four likely London lads bite off a bit more than they can chew when they enter a high stakes poker game and end up half a million knicker down to a loan shark.

Question: How do they get the loan paid off without losing fingers (or worse)? Well, as luck would have it, a gang of local crooks lives nextdoor and they're planning a big drug robbery. All our heroes need to do is rob the robbers of the stuff they robbed. Got it?

Problem is, everyone of these lads is a moron. And so are the crooks. And the loan sharks. And anyone else within shouting distance, including the cops.

So is Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels all guns and gonads and raw language? Well.. yes and no. It contains all those factors, but doesn't rely on them to keep your interest. It's a convoluted tale, an ensemble cast, funny enough when it needs to be, but mostly it's just incredibly well shot, incredibly well-performed, inventive, action-packed, and intelligently cast like few films of the last fifty years.

Where deficiencies arise in the story, you almost don't care - it just looks too damn good. The cast are all perfect, right down to stereotypical nice guy songster Sting as a hard-ass pub owner, and reknowned English football hard man Vinny Jones as the local enforcer, Big Chris.

This is no simple "thugs chase nice guys" flick. There's so many different groups of people after the cash/drugs/guns on offer that it's almost like "It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World" in that every time you think you know who is winning, someone else comes along and snafus everyone else.

If the language and jargon in The Full Monty bamboozled you to the point where you didn't know what was happening, don't bother with LS&TSB, you're just not worldly enough for it. But if you love seeing style on screen, some great 'hard man' performances, stolen scenes from every great director and mobster film of the last twenty years, a plot that twists without turning itself into stupidity and some damn funny moments, this is the movie for you.

At times it dots a few too many I's and crosses too many T's, and some of the writing just yells 'first timer', but overall this is worthwhile viewing, especially for the lads.

Just see the damn movie. Oh yeah. Great soundtrack. Buy it.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1378&reviewer=1
originally posted: 11/27/98 18:49:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/11/14 PAUL SHORTT STYLISH, OVERBLOWN, TWISTED BLACK FARCE 2 stars
10/09/12 Golden J. Williams Jr. To my me this movie had good laughs, much violence and mayhem. All done well! ENJOYABLE!! 5 stars
8/18/09 Emily Snatch was way better. I couldn't even get halfway through this crap...it was just boring. 2 stars
8/17/09 Quigley One of the most insanely overrated films of recent memory. 2 stars
4/14/09 R.W. Welch Amusing characters, but rather familiar plot line. B- 4 stars
4/09/07 fools♫gold A wittily worded story bout a cheating underground boss who gets what's comin' to him. 5 stars
2/13/07 Booksworm I LOVE Tarantino and I don't give a shit what anyone says,this is NOT derivative! 5 stars
10/17/06 Terence Very entertaining movie. 5 stars
10/12/06 Gautam Arora Fuckin Awesome.... 5 stars
9/22/06 Wallace N. Gromit Like an aged gorgonzola...I loved it! 5 stars
9/18/05 philip best movie ever made and those who disagree can go to hell... 5 stars
8/26/05 ES This movie was a revelation, Vinnie is at his best 5 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington I hate these fucking southern faries... 4 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Good British fun!!!! 5 stars
7/02/05 Rich Pemberton Second only to Snatch 5 stars
6/09/05 Agent Sands Quentin doesn't deserve all the kudos 4 influence. This has influenced enough films itself! 5 stars
2/13/05 Alice Colwell great movie 5 stars
1/08/05 Lucas Stenz Strictly for boys who are afraid of girls 1 stars
11/21/04 Harry Williamson It was The Best Moive I Have Ever Seen 5 stars
11/07/04 Shams Huque Awesome film. 5 stars
11/06/04 Chris Ireland A gem I never knew existed 3 stars
10/03/04 Daveman Pompous, mockney piece of crap that is easily outdone even by the overrated Sexy Beast. 1 stars
9/05/04 DM Fucking crazy movie 4 stars
7/25/04 psychotic black dwarf w/ an afro here's to more notorious names in showbiz. "Growing up Gotti" will be bloody BRILLIANT! j/k 4 stars
5/10/04 Mitch Let's hope Richie gets back on track. Great, great fun. 5 stars
4/01/04 john surprisingly effective and at times very funny - holds your interesst all the way through 4 stars
2/01/04 I Would Fuck off all of you 3 stars
11/29/03 chris. mmmmm...lock, stock and two smoking barrels. [drool] 5 stars
5/11/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'fos!!!) "Lock, Stock" is one of the top 3 greatest movies ever made EVER!! Ritchie is a master!!!!! 5 stars
4/30/03 Zel Yay guy! 5 stars
12/31/02 Bob Hardcore Very cool movie 5 stars
10/30/02 spacecowboy HAHAHAHHAHAHA, along with Snatch these two make an amazing pair 5 stars
10/25/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) What the fuck? Did I say that?! It's just as good as "Snatch"! A classic badass comedy!!!!! 5 stars
9/04/02 Joe Zappa Immortal Guy Ritchie's 1st movie isn't as good as "Snatch," but still great! 4 stars
8/28/02 Nevz Fuckin' smart. what more can I say? 5 stars
8/26/02 Turkish one of ritchies best films 5 stars
6/02/02 sdjfsdkjf fuck the need to compare. Love British cockney and love this film. 5 stars
5/23/02 Butterbean Ritchie ridesTarrantino's coattails with unintelligible dialogue. I do like the soundtrack 2 stars
5/13/02 bob Wehadababyitsaboy great movie, but what is that sport's car at the very end of the movie? 5 stars
2/27/02 Shrike I'll smash you fu@#er! 4 stars
2/17/02 Leonard Snatch was a bit more funny, But this is still DOPE! 5 stars
10/31/01 Henry Ginsberg Very funny. Very clever. Very bloody. 5 stars
8/28/01 That Guy I saw Snatch first and liked it better, but Lock's still one of the best films I've seen. 5 stars
7/21/01 billy badass i hate brits but fuckin a 5 stars
6/11/01 Mulie Fun to watch. Great acting. Love the ending. Bring it. 5 stars
6/05/01 Psyko Doug Funny, smart, kick ass. 5 stars
5/31/01 Yaltanchop If there where no chliches in this world - this film woudn't be done. It totally sucks ass! 1 stars
5/21/01 Monster W. Kung Very overrated. Some fun, but overall not much to recommend. 3 stars
5/13/01 The Moorhen Buy or rent this....then buy or rent Snatch. Awesome stuff! 5 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright I could watch this film every week, it's nearly flawless and one of the best I've seen. 5 stars
3/09/01 Nelson PC Totally different, I wish to be rich for produce films like this... 5 stars
3/01/01 Chris Very cool movie! must see! 5 stars
2/22/01 trashstar Hmmm, not much tto say. Not fantastic 3 stars
2/19/01 Soap Terintino is dead, long live Guy! All wankers must die! 5 stars
2/18/01 Mark Taylor Amazing, the way it all comes together. Excellent camera work and use of musical cues. 5 stars
2/18/01 Josh Tybur Those who started as badasses died as dumbasses 5 stars
2/15/01 LOOBER Great storytelling and really suprising twists,really funny and the ending is great. 5 stars
2/10/01 Axe Murderer Fuck you movie man ...i loved the movie and English i am not 5 stars
12/20/00 Angus moorehead Americans beware.....you are being outfilmed! 5 stars
11/24/00 Justin McAleece everyone steals ideas from everyone stop bitching 5 stars
11/20/00 Finity this is one of my favorite movies of all time. GO SEE IT NOW! 5 stars
11/18/00 Croweater Gritty, violent, darkly funny, interesting storyline. Excelllent stuff! ;-) 5 stars
10/29/00 steven hargreaves best british film ever ..........in fact one of the all time best anywhere 5 stars
9/08/00 Patrick Buckley Awesome 5 stars
6/15/00 loki the best film to come out of the UK, and one of the best reasons not to be a traffic warden 5 stars
3/21/00 Wafer Brilliant movie and great soundtrack. a must see 5 stars
3/14/00 Richard Wright Superb crime comedy with riveting twists and appealing black humour. Great soundtrack too. 5 stars
1/25/00 Neil Austin Well I am English so , I ain't going to say it's crap am I 5 stars
1/24/00 arnold funny as hell and the best ending i've ever seen 5 stars
1/06/00 Richard Foster Almost as good as goodfellas, best one liners of all time. It's cheap, like the budgie! 5 stars
11/13/99 Jarod This sucked! Are you kidding? Tarantino front to back. Thoroughly overrated. 1 stars
10/16/99 The Bomb 69 took about 30 minutes to get going but afterward: WOW!!! 5 stars
10/04/99 Zed excellant movie 4 stars
9/21/99 Troy Brown F*ckin Great movie 5 stars
9/16/99 strike One of the most surprising movies i have seen in a long time. 5 stars
9/11/99 Glitter Berry Best goddamn ending since Carrie...great actrors, fabulous character...a MUST SEE 5 stars
8/01/99 andrew s thomson the best independent british movie ever,this will never be surpast 5 stars
7/27/99 emperor great soundtrack 5 stars
6/22/99 Dean B Cornish Clumsy character development at the beginning, but after that it faarking rocked 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Fucking marvellous. Even Vinnie Jones is great (a slight bit typecast there though!). 5 stars
6/07/99 Alan Dunne The best British film of the 90's 5 stars
5/26/99 iyu Boring at first, but really picks up about a 1/2 hour in. 4 stars
5/15/99 J_Cosmic This movie was WAY above average! 5 stars
5/01/99 Nasar Abich one of the best films from UK this year 5 stars
4/30/99 Thomas Rees Its a deal, its a steal, its the sale of the fucking century, in fact i'll think i'll keep 5 stars
4/30/99 Trevor Skinner It's up there with Pulp Fiction & Resevoir Dogs! A must see! Best film of the year! 5 stars
4/29/99 steve kelly best movie of the '90s - no f@*king doubt! 5 stars
4/29/99 The Graduate Convoluted plot, but a very high coolness factor. Big Chris rules! 4 stars
4/29/99 dirt very good 5 stars
4/25/99 Duck Cool! 4 stars
4/18/99 Meg Cinematic Artistry -- loved it! 5 stars
4/17/99 T. Riley excellent film 5 stars
4/16/99 lucas jackson this the best fucking movie of the year so far go see it 5 stars
4/13/99 Go Swans So this is what you get when you cross Boyle and Tarantino? 4 stars
4/13/99 Jon Jackson Don't listen to all the Tarintino comparisons, Pulp Fiction was almost as good as LS&TSB 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo I was expecting a Trainspotting retread, but this movie was good 4 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder This movie was hilarious, entertaining, and smart. It even had an awesome soundtrack. 5 stars
4/09/99 simon fellowes absolutely bloody brilliant!!! way ahead of usual hollywood crap 5 stars
4/09/99 Marjorie Fantastic Movie 5 stars
4/09/99 sara fuckin hilarious 5 stars
4/09/99 Meepos When this movie gets to your town, be there. Hilarious stuff. 5 stars
4/08/99 Brian M hip Brits cool plot 4 stars
4/08/99 Travis Fraser While it had elements of pulp fiction within it, it can rest on its own laurels as dope 5 stars
4/06/99 evil buffy this film is the best i've seen this year. good story, cinematography, FUNNY 5 stars
4/05/99 Cool Thing A refreshing sense of irony and a whole lot of fun. Fabulous film. 5 stars
4/03/99 Lily This is supposed to be fast-paced and funny? My Great Pop is faster 2 stars
4/01/99 mark this was the biggest piece of pointless shit i have ever spent money on. 1 stars
4/01/99 Bill Hartman This movie was so refreshing. Good camera work, good humor, good acting, good twists. 4 stars
3/31/99 mohd haadef@hotmail.com 5 stars
3/29/99 jvt It just rocks, see it twice 5 stars
3/29/99 Meg Miller HOLY SHIT, THIS MOVIE IS GREAT, YOU GOTTA FUCKIN' SEE IT!! 5 stars
3/27/99 toby it was the best film i have seen for quite some time, mixes gangster roles with comedy, ex 5 stars
3/27/99 Rob Mckechnie Everyone owns a copy over here, and its watched every day! 5 stars
3/25/99 Heather Loved it! 5 stars
3/24/99 Lisa This Rules!!! 5 stars
3/17/99 davebo Trainspotting meets an episode of Three's Company, good fun 5 stars
3/14/99 Ah Dooey Awesome. 'Nuff said. 5 stars
3/13/99 Paste I haven't seen a funnier movie ever! 5 stars
3/11/99 Cool Thing Be there opening day. Fantastic fun. 5 stars
3/09/99 Kirgo1 ending wortht eh price of admission...a little hard to take in the middle 4 stars
3/08/99 the_machine Finally!! I saw this months ago in England, and I've been raving about since. Go now. 5 stars
3/06/99 Debbi very funny film !!!!!! 5 stars
2/25/99 Bruce Hedge Big hit in Australia-great performances'SENSATIONAL ending 4 stars
2/19/99 Binky A great looking flick. Some excellent characters and performances. Awesome all over. 5 stars
2/16/99 Miss Stress if thee is only 1 reason you go to see this film, make it for the massive amounts of weed! 5 stars
2/08/99 Nibby7 YES YES YES YES YES YES YES 5 stars
1/27/99 Kooky Sal This is a damn great movie. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Mar-1999 (R)
  DVD: 03-Oct-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Nov-1998 (MA)


Directed by
  Guy Ritchie

Written by
  Guy Ritchie

Cast
  Jason Flemyng
  Dexter Fletcher
  Nick Moran
  Jason Statham
  Steven Mackintosh
  Vinnie Jones



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast