More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome78.28%
Worth A Look: 11.07%
Average: 2.46%
Pretty Bad: 4.92%
Total Crap: 3.28%

7 reviews, 202 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Shining, The (1980)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"'Stay away from the miniseries, Mrs. Torrance. SKCUS TI , SKCUS TI'"
5 stars

I recently caught "Stephen King's : The Shining" miniseries when it re-ran on the Sci-Fi channel. I had either forgotten or overlooked how awful it was the first time around. Then, I caught Stanley Kubrick's masterpiece the other night on cable, and was reminded of its greatness. Kubrick was the fucking master. Let me tell you why.

The main thing you notice in comparing the two is that Kubrick creates an atmosphere of dread from the opening credits, one that continues to build throughout the film. Jack Nicholson's portrayal of Jack Torrance makes us uneasy from the start, and we quickly realize during the scene where the family rides up to the hotel that things are only going to get worse. Many complain that Nicholson was too over the top, but that is precisely why it works. It makes his character that much more unnerving and upredictable. Meanwhile, Danny Lloyd in the role of Danny Torrance is so quiet and indrawn that he is equally disturbing, especially when he lets the finger do the talking. The supporting cast of ghouls, from Lloyd the Bartender to Grady the old caretaker, are both unsettling and charming in an odd way, as they represent the hotel exercising it's seductive power on Jack. The only weak link is the cast is Shelley Duvall, whose mousy whining, while not bad enough to drag the picture down, certainly gets tedious after a while.

In contrast, Steven Weber and Rebecca De Mornay are competent in the roles of Jack and Wendy for the miniseries, especially De Mornay's portrayal of Wendy, who comes off as the strong, if slightly insecure, woman that King envisioned. But it's all downhill from there. The kid who plays Danny is the Shelly Duvall of this piece, and comes off as a whiny, annoying little shit. I almost want Jack to bash his brains in at the end. Likewise, the Grady and Horace Derwent characters are generic and fail to convey the aura of malevolence that their Kubrick counterparts did so effortlessly.

The real star of Kubrick's film is the hotel itself. As we follow Danny's big wheel ride down vast, empty corridors, we get a sense of just how huge, and creepy, the place really is. The miniseries gets points for its attention to detail, showing snippets of murders and other unsavory deeds in the Overlook's past that may be the cause, or merely the result, of it's being haunted. However, when it comes right down to it, all the back history is just gravy, not essential to the plot. Kubrick strips it away, getting us right to the meat of things. The hotel in his film is one of the characters itself, and its looming presence requires no CGI hedge lions or firehose snakes to be scary. The problem with the miniseries is that, while King took a minimalist approach to some of the scariest scenes in the book, he inexplicably felt the need to over-embellish when writing the teleplay. And some of the scenes and dialouge that worked well in the novel simply did not translate well to the screen. The entire thing feels hamfisted, and there is little suspense as the miniseries goes through it's paces. Bottom line, its just really not that scary, and it's kinda stupid in places.

The beauty of Kubrick's film is the ambiguity of it all. We know some wierd shit is going on in the hotel, but we're not sure what or why. Everything isn't spelled out for us in big bold letters. Instead, we have to work to put the pieces together. Is what happens to the Torrance family the result of a genuine haunting, or is it just a case of cabin fever combined with mass hallucination? When Jack walks into the ballroom and is surrounded by people in 1920's costume, is the hotel really full of ghosts, or has he just finally gone over the edge?

While both the film and novel clearly have their strengths and weaknesses, both are far superior to the miniseries. The film certainly makes the most lasting impression, however, especially that final scene before end credits roll, which will leave the gears turning long after the credits stop.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1383&reviewer=258
originally posted: 07/22/01 05:34:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/10/18 Christopher Howley The best horror film I have seen. This film is as deep as the ocean. 5 stars
10/29/16 morris campbell no its not faithfull 2 the book but its still great 5 stars
3/31/15 stanley welles a spellbinding horror epic 5 stars
12/11/12 Jilly Wildly overrated. Nothing happens, just camera operators walking around. 1 stars
6/06/11 the truth kubrick does horror. a hallmark of the genre 5 stars
2/20/11 Ark Saw it at age 19 and scary as hell! 5 stars
11/17/10 ant and rich (In film studies) Classic film! Not quite what Stephen King envisioned, But a masterpiece never the less! 5 stars
11/15/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Great film from a great film maker 5 stars
11/10/10 Steve Benkin i have never understood the high acclaim this gets. Left me cold. 2 stars
1/13/10 Jeff Wilder Ridiculous and changes A LOT from the book. But still good. 4 stars
1/08/10 BOB THE BEST! 5 stars
10/03/09 art OVERRATED!,NICHOLSON IS SO HAMMY! 1 stars
10/01/09 brian The perfect horror film. Bone-chilling. 5 stars
9/21/09 Aaron Direction and acting are great, but pacing and script are uneven. 3 stars
7/29/09 Knightfox21 CLASSIC!!!! A true representation of what a horror film should be! 5 stars
7/23/09 Steven M The best horror ever made! good eerie creepy music!! jack nicholson at his best!! great! 5 stars
7/14/09 faiche13 Creepy kids, axe wielding psycho, anorexic Shelley Duvall - what more could you ask for? 5 stars
7/14/09 FrankNFurter A clausterphobic, pervasively creepy masterpiece.Goosebumps galore! 5 stars
7/09/09 art A SICKO MOVIE! 1 stars
2/26/09 PAUL SHORTT GRANDIOSE GHOST STORY, BRILLIANTLY MADE 4 stars
9/22/08 don Great 5 stars
5/14/08 John Jack Nicholson is the shit and this movie is the balls 5 stars
11/03/07 jake My favorite horror movie, one of the scarriest films ever made, great cinematography 5 stars
6/13/07 al smith very scary nicholson gives the greatest performance ever 5 stars
5/19/07 fools♫gold Thegreatesthorrorflick, indeed (that'snottosay manydon't matchuptoit). Bttr thn the "Dr." 5 stars
4/14/07 zenshark It's horror for the brain... and it works. 5 stars
4/04/07 LoveShining Absolutely the best horror ever made. Goes directly to your psyhce and not to your stomach. 5 stars
2/24/07 George Enjoyed the sense something was going to go awfully wrong and the build up towards it. 5 stars
2/06/07 David Pollastrini brilliant, frightening 5 stars
12/22/06 Quigley didn't scare me, but it was pretty creepy. music ruined it sometimes. Nicholson was amazing 4 stars
11/20/06 chris. duvall SUCKS. lloyd is okay (his only movie, he's just a kid). nicholson is phenomenal. 5 stars
11/11/06 Bill Hi all 2 stars
10/30/06 Homer J. Fong about as scary as a fluffy orange kitten 2 stars
8/18/06 Nix the music makes the movie scary as hell 5 stars
7/14/06 David Cohen Actually improved on the book in my opinion 5 stars
6/25/06 George Scared the hell out of me 5 stars
6/22/06 TB Nicholson was the best 4 stars
6/19/06 marysue great!!!!! 5 stars
6/16/06 Josh Racine The best horror movie ever! 5 stars
6/11/06 Billy So good it scares the hell out of me 5 stars
4/30/06 John So scary I shit my self.......LITERALLY!!!!! 5 stars
4/29/06 TERRY AWESOME AND SCARY 5 stars
4/22/06 Jack This is an Awesome horror film 5 stars
3/13/06 Joshua W. Great thriller, a classic 5 stars
12/22/05 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Still one of the Greatest horror movies ever 5 stars
12/22/05 Ethan M. "Here's Jonny!" A classical horro film. 4 stars
12/21/05 Carolyn Rathburn Classic Nicholson, eerie, good movie 5 stars
12/11/05 chris brilliant movie nicholson actually made me beleive he was mad thats how good he played it!! 5 stars
11/20/05 John Dog "Here's Johnny!!!" 5 stars
11/11/05 zeitgeist Kubrick owns King 5 stars
11/06/05 Ben Best horror movie ever! 5 stars
11/05/05 farnqwo aler 5 stars
11/04/05 Meryl read the book... it's much scarier. Even the remake is much scarier. 1 stars
10/16/05 Moctezuma A true horror classic 5 stars
9/29/05 Ape It is a masterpiece, this movie is a must see if you haven't already, 5 stars
9/26/05 The Overlooker Scary as hell! 5 stars
9/13/05 Total Crap Oh My GOD. The Little Girls, the Crazy Lady in Room 217, Scary Shit. Nightmarish! 5 stars
9/02/05 Tom Burns Very creepy, and very good. 5 stars
8/26/05 Michael no no no 1 stars
8/23/05 Isaac Baranoff Of course, it's not faithful to the book, but it's a great Stanley Kubrick film! 5 stars
8/23/05 Martin a true masterpiece of eeire, inexplicable terror! brilliant! 5 stars
8/20/05 ES The saving grace of this movie is jack's dementia, his ghostly conversations are hilarious 4 stars
8/06/05 Pierre Masterpiece! 5 stars
6/22/05 rachel schauer its totaly creepy 5 stars
6/12/05 Manu Ginobli woot 5 stars
6/11/05 Anthony G Masterpiece, its jack nicholson for fucks sake! 5 stars
5/26/05 Jake A Horror movie masterpiece 5 stars
2/23/05 robin de loxley great film 4 stars
2/16/05 Wilt Chamberlin Heeeeeeere's Stephen King! 5 stars
12/15/04 kelly! adair! wohoooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Jack fucking Nicholson 5 stars
10/30/04 HL So Bizarre and Nicholsen Too. Not for Everyone. 4 stars
10/26/04 some guy My favorite horror movie, just the atmosphere makes you want to crap your pants 5 stars
10/24/04 UMER jack is at his sinister best and the movie really SCARES 5 stars
9/05/04 henro wonderful 5 stars
9/03/04 T.B. This Movie make me laugh 4 stars
7/03/04 nortika great horror flik. 5 stars
6/28/04 john bale Manic Jack with unnerving soundtrack and disturbing visuals. One of few great Horror movies 5 stars
6/27/04 FIN A Classic. Good Horror, Brilliant Screenplay, Jack Nicholson's performance is amazing! 5 stars
6/19/04 J HERES JOHNNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/13/04 Monster W. Kung Unbeatable for atmosphere, good not great as a story. Way better than King's crapola, tho. 4 stars
4/27/04 Ryan The best horror flick ever made 5 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart fantastic film one of the best and creepiest fils ever made!!!! 5 stars
4/07/04 Sig "Here's Johnny!" - Jack Nicholson, 1980 "The Shining" 5 stars
4/02/04 re a great film 5 stars
3/31/04 American Slasher Goddess Excellent horror classic. 5 stars
3/24/04 Lord Haw Haw Brilliant psychological horror. Excellent all around. 5 stars
3/23/04 Trannon Goble One of My Favorite 10 Films 5 stars
3/21/04 movieguy a great film 5 stars
2/24/04 Dr.Lecter So chilling it's nearly hypothermic 4 stars
1/31/04 gretchen gamey Have watched it many times,Really creepy 5 stars
1/28/04 Helios Those morons who love "The Ring" so much need to stop by and feel the true power. 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric Olive oil almost ruined this movie.I would have rather seen Pam Grier.Thank God For Jack. 4 stars
12/03/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Jack Nicholson at his best. Makes you wanna bash the f*** in somebodys head! 5 stars
12/02/03 Pin Steadycam + The Arbus Twins 5 stars
11/27/03 John a bit long winded perhaps but the good parts are some of the best you'll ever see 5 stars
11/07/03 Samuel One of the greatest films of all time... 5 stars
11/06/03 American Slasher Goddess One scary rollercoaster ride. 5 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee When you are in the mood for a good horror fest, look no further, my friend. 5 stars
9/22/03 Darryl Best adaption of a King story. A classic. 5 stars
8/25/03 Allison H. This is an awesome movie, SCARY!! 5 stars
7/12/03 Indrid Cold I love Stan the Man, but it's thoroughly unscary. (He's IN THE PICTURE, gasp!) 3 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Good movie, although Stephen King's mini-series (1997) was far superior! 4 stars
6/19/03 Francisco Lombo much more than a horror movie, a master piece on the problem of evil, thoroughly excellent 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice One of the greatest 5 stars
4/20/03 defranco71 Not only one of the best horror movies, but one of the best movies ever. 5 stars
4/19/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Here's Johnny! 5 stars
4/18/03 Andrew Carden Nicholson Is Over-The-Top, The Film Is Overlong...but Still Pretty Scary. Duvall Is Good. 3 stars
4/05/03 Zach Jack Sommersby: You're an idiot. 5 stars
2/15/03 Hi there Here's Johnny!!! 5 stars
2/05/03 TheChronic fucking fantastic 5 stars
1/24/03 Almira Gandhi Really good. Jack Nicholson adds a lot of comic relief. 5 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby Never boring, but nonsensical and clunky as hell. Nicholson is a disgrace. 2 stars
12/15/02 R.W. Welch One of the few really spooky movies out there. Top drawer direction. 4 stars
12/14/02 the Grinch Overrated, but still a great watch. Not Kubrick's best, though... 4 stars
12/04/02 Aaron I love the freezer scene. Nicholson is nuts!!! 5 stars
11/24/02 Kyle Nicholson rules! Seriously, this is one of the best horror films ever! 5 stars
11/11/02 ricky charlesworth an excellent film 5 stars
11/09/02 Michael Bolton Nicholson kicks ass. 5 stars
11/04/02 Del Why does the bitchslap have so many fucking pop-ups. Now that sucks all ass. 5 stars
11/02/02 T Boring 2 stars
11/01/02 H.A.G I did not write that previous comment. It was just one of my "friends" being an asshole. 5 stars
9/19/02 Joe Angelucci What the fuck is in room 237??? 4 stars
7/11/02 .Choadushouse. One of the true classic horror films. And an example of a GOOD horror film, unlike Scream. 5 stars
7/10/02 Henry Ginsberg HAG I get boners from watching this film. OH YEAH. HARDER PLEASE. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi all work and no play makes jack a dull boy.... 4 stars
5/19/02 john waite check out the close up on jacks face in front of the fire...proper horror film 5 stars
5/16/02 Dark Baron Nicholson is the horror flick himself 5 stars
5/15/02 Brandon :D No TV and no beer make Homer something something... 5 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Aaaaah...nothing like sex with a corpse...What? (read: this movie rocks). 5 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum Bloated and dull- like Kubrick himself 2 stars
4/07/02 Film Dude Whoa. See this, all of you. 5 stars
4/05/02 Imaginer Worth seeing only for its art direction. Don't believe the hype. It didn't scare me a bit. 3 stars
4/03/02 Ellisa Rhodes On The Edge of my seat 5 stars
3/17/02 K y L e One of the best horror movies ever made. 5 stars
2/25/02 Cat Creepy Fun! 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Nicholson was great. Duvall's shrieking was tiring. The book is better. 3 stars
2/16/02 murat Kubrick's only good film.Jack gives the role of his life. 5 stars
1/15/02 maja a film that you've got to see......the music is undescribable 4 stars
12/23/01 karlisha monday chillingly frightening to the soul no matter how many times you see it 5 stars
11/01/01 Tam A classic. The "Here's Johnny" scene really sticks in the mind. 5 stars
10/23/01 glenn rinker Best horror movie of all time. Kubrick was a genius. This movie plays with your mind. 5 stars
9/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Great music.Jack Nickolsen is the definitive psycho. 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith NICHOLSON....Scared Shelly Duvall's wits out of her! 5 stars
9/23/01 Matthew Bartley took me 4 attempts to watch this all the way through.I've seen it scare grown men still 5 stars
8/30/01 I love movies if you see only one horror movie in your life... 5 stars
8/30/01 Gary Nicholson gets too hammy, but it doesn't spoil this tense, artistic and very creepy horror. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Kubrick and Nicholson are both fucking briliant...don't miss this. 5 stars
8/04/01 Matt The only movie that can still scare the shit out of me after multiple viewings! 5 stars
7/05/01 Connoisseur actually is is quite funny (and also very scary... best horror film i've ever seen) 5 stars
6/23/01 JON so well done... simply a classic 5 stars
6/14/01 Bada Bing Crosby Opening scenes ALONE better than most full-length movies 5 stars
6/13/01 King Jackass j. mortell WHO SAID THIS MOVIE WAS FUNNY?! THE ONLY THING THATS FUNNY IS HOW DUMB YOU ARE!! 5 stars
5/10/01 the scarecrow J.MORTELL it isnt supposed to be funny retard 5 stars
4/29/01 Dom Corleone a masterpiece 5 stars
4/24/01 BGuha It's a Sunday Afternoon Movie 3 stars
4/04/01 j.mortell i didnt think this movie was that funny at all 1 stars
3/31/01 Erik North An epic horror film from Stanley Kubrick, a master. 5 stars
3/30/01 Scoogy My favorite motherfucking movie of all time 5 stars
3/23/01 TNT-6 Not Kubrick's best, but still very good. 4 stars
3/21/01 bterry Gotta love Nicholson! 5 stars
3/18/01 Beetlejuice Well...It's very.....homey. 5 stars
2/26/01 skye not my favorite kubrick, but loads of fun. 4 stars
2/18/01 Soggy Bottom Boy No, I'm not gonna hurtcha... I'm just gonna bash your fuckin brains in! 5 stars
2/17/01 Michael Nicholls Kubrick reworks King's haunted hotel novel as a very dark sitcom 5 stars
2/10/01 Golbez Simply the greatest horror movies of all time. 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog A Kubrick classic. Nicholson is awesome. 5 stars
1/22/01 scorekeeper words can not express how good this is. Trust me, you'll have a pillow over your eyes. 5 stars
1/15/01 Skip excellent 5 stars
1/13/01 A. Riopel Not scary at all, even if it's well done 4 stars
12/16/00 Winky YOIUSUCWK~ 1 stars
11/24/00 The EVIL Penguin My favorite horror film; Kubrick RULES! The mini series sucked. 5 stars
11/18/00 salvo Well done Stan, well done 5 stars
8/01/00 KLS One of the best pictures in history!! 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley If you're not scared...you're dead 5 stars
5/10/00 charlie harrison a cult horror classic, Kubrick and Nicholson at their best!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/12/00 kohawk scariest film to date 5 stars
4/06/00 PSUshorti This movie is the epitome of what a horror film should be. Kubrick keeps our hearts racing. 5 stars
1/02/00 Nice Guy Eddie One of the best horror movies of all time, incredible acting, directing and camera work. 5 stars
12/18/99 Zeitgeist I first saw this movie when I was 5. Bad Idea. The twins still scare the shit out of me. 5 stars
12/18/99 Dick Laurent In my opinion this film is the scariest horror film currently in existense!! 5 stars
12/17/99 Fenris The dead, naked, fat lady frightens me. 5 stars
12/12/99 Tyson Stewart Just a fine, well-acted (Jack), and entertaining film, with a few unforgettable scenes! 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Scariest movie ever. King disowns it, but I disown anything with a script written by King. 5 stars
10/24/99 Matthew White Awesome. Excellent film. 5 stars
9/17/99 strike Not one of kubrick's best, but still...IT'S KUBRICK!! 4 stars
9/13/99 K Pillsbury the twins!!nothing more needs to be said 5 stars
9/07/99 Glitter Berry A disgrace to anything and everything that made the book a classic. T-O-P-I-A-R-Y 1 stars
7/17/99 soccer_mum Classic Kubrik. Scared the bejesus outta me...Scarey in a good way...leave a nightlight on! 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria This movie scared me shitless. And I'm not scared easily at all... 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Some people don't like this but I think it's a masterpiece in horror. Eerie and disturbing. 5 stars
6/28/99 Chris Gianaras Greatest horror movie ever made. Nicholson's over the top performance is dead on. 5 stars
6/22/99 Elizaveta eerieness... 5 stars
6/07/99 Elizaveta Kubrick strikes again!!! 4 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam REDRUM---Rent me 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Pretty classic, a little tedious, snoozer ending. 4 stars
4/07/99 tom scary, disturbing, fun for the whole family 5 stars
3/10/99 Go Swans Heeeeeerrrrrrreeeeeeee's Johnny! The late Kubrick's greatest. 5 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley Pisses all over the Exorcist 5 stars
12/09/98 little jerry Feels like we're trapped in those rooms at the end of 2001.These two are Kubrick's greatest 5 stars
11/28/98 Mr.Pink Kubrick's worst movie AND it's still GOOD!! 4 stars
11/27/98 Lord Of The Dunce A seriously fucked up movie. Nicholson was awesome. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-May-1980 (R)
  DVD: 12-Jun-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Nov-1980 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast