More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.47

Awesome34.67%
Worth A Look: 25.33%
Average: 9.33%
Pretty Bad: 13.33%
Total Crap: 17.33%

3 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Executioner's Song, The by Jack Sommersby

Come Play by Peter Sobczynski

Blind Fury by Jack Sommersby

Craft, The: Legacy by Peter Sobczynski

Forbidden World by Jack Sommersby

Joysticks by Jack Sommersby

Exterminator/Exterminator 2, The by Jack Sommersby

Doorman, The (2020) by Jay Seaver

Postmortem by Jack Sommersby

Warrior and the Sorceress, The by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Popeye (1980)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Cute and whimsical live action cartoon."
4 stars

I'm a huge fan of Popeye and Robin Williams so this movie was perfect for me. It was underrated and met with critical snubbery but I thought it was cute, colorful and clever and pre-dated Jim Carrey trying to be a cartoon by a decade. I can still sit through the whole thing, loving every moment.

The movie is just like the cartoon. Dark and dangerous but cute and funny at the same time. Popeye mumbles, Olive Oyl frets and Bluto bulleys. Spinach cans pop open and Swee' Pea crawls on telephone lines. Its great. There are few characters in the movie that aren't in the cartoon but they embody the spirit of the cartoon so they seem more like forgotten characters than add-ons.

The physical stunts are very impressive. Shelley Duvall cranes her neck in every scene and Robin Williams keeps one shut and a pipe tucked firmly into the crook of his mouth.

Olive Oyl is the best. Every dress she owns is exactly the same and still she can't decide what to wear.

Thats funny, right?

A familiar slice of Americana given a new life on the big screen. I used to watch Popeye cartoons before church on Sunday. A two hour program on Channel 5 (KTLA) in Los Angeles just before the Family Film Festival which would feature classics like Ma and Pa Kettle, Pippi Longstocking and Sinbad, the Sailor. So as a seasoned fan I can say that if you like the cartoon, you'll like the movie. Whatever happened to programming like that?

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1418&reviewer=67
originally posted: 03/06/01 20:01:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/12/20 Jack Sommersby Appallingly photographed, crushingly unfunny. A real stinker. 1 stars
7/27/13 Fire With Fire Where Altman proved he had no talent for live action-cartoon-musicals. 1 stars
4/09/13 Jerod Freitag My mother and I saw this in the theater multiple times. Loved it then, love it today. 5 stars
10/22/12 Der Olli This movie is a beautiful mess! 5 stars
7/15/12 G Washington It has a terribly annoying sensibility. That's why people hate it. Robin repels. 1 stars
2/20/11 Ark Still have guilty pleasures watching this-I'm supposed to be grown up! 4 stars
5/02/10 Amy Green If James Lipton likes it, why not? Robin Williams and Shelley Duvall are perfect. 4 stars
3/23/10 PAUL SHORTT UNEVEN AND UNFUNNY 1 stars
3/03/10 Richard Brandt That cast, that director, that fidelity to Fleischer...should have been perfect! 3 stars
3/02/10 Nicole Yarbrough I saw this as a child & recently viewed it on Youtube & had to buy a copy for my kids! 5 stars
2/17/10 Darryl I had to write a paper on this movie, after watching it 2 times, i love it 4 stars
6/25/09 art THIS AND FLASH GORDON we're A DOUBLE FEATURE,when i saw this in 1980,DON"T ASK! 1 stars
3/03/09 Jack Sommersby Unwatcahble and grating and boring to boot. 1 stars
2/19/09 Elaine It was the most boring, stupid waste of film that I have ever seen. Thank god there is no 2 1 stars
7/20/08 John Millheim Its a little quacky, kids might like it 3 stars
1/23/08 Ruth B Horrid: boring music, annoying characters. They wrecked Popeye. 1 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen More like the comic than the cartoon, never got the respect it deserved, very well cast! 4 stars
5/08/06 mr.mike bizarre 4 stars
2/26/06 Rocky Unwatchable garbage. Boring, inane, cheap-looking, amatuerish crap. 1 stars
2/23/06 William Hill Yeah its a little cheezy,but its still one one my favorite movies! 5 stars
1/25/06 LP Quagmire A tremendously sexy romp. 5 stars
12/04/05 Bas Definately worth seeing, if only for the mixed feelings it delivers. You have to love RW! 4 stars
8/06/05 Keisha I absolutely love this movie. I always try to make time to watch it when it comes on! 5 stars
1/30/05 Jeff Anderson I saw this on a drive-in double bill with CADDYSHACK. Robin Williams is a perfect Popeye! 5 stars
11/14/04 Charles W Cook Saw it on TV years ago, then the tape, now the dvd 5 stars
7/23/04 guyver 4 love the move 3 stars
6/22/04 Joe In true Popeye accent: "I likes this movink' pikture. It representinks Popeye very well!" 5 stars
6/03/04 Angel A bit slow, very strange, but visually perfect. I like. 3 stars
5/18/04 Idiot's Mouth you must be kidding. irritating, slow, boring, and grotesque. NOT a good time frolic. 2 stars
5/17/04 Roy Chapman jr. Robin Williams is okay but I frown on musicals 2 stars
5/17/04 y2mckay sorry Scott, the one time 20 years ago was enough. Altman is such a fucking bore. 1 stars
11/24/03 Dick Riker One of my under-rated favorites! 4 stars
7/31/03 mickey not bad, but an acquired taste 3 stars
7/29/03 Dick Metafora Re-release Popeye! Nilsson's score is genius! 5 stars
6/12/03 Ken Haraldson Great Classic with Robin Williams!! 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Boy do I love this movie... 5 stars
4/16/03 Marisa Monroe WOW! 5 stars
4/13/03 Jesse Parsells bizarre but great... lots of fun 4 stars
4/12/03 Richard Eckman Terrific movie---great childhood memories, but still watchable and enjoyable adult fare! 5 stars
12/19/02 katsat I loved this movie, too, for the same quirky reasons as Jon. 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum God, Altman is such a hack 2 stars
7/09/02 Larry Page This has been one of my favorite films since it came out. I love the songs. 5 stars
6/02/02 Scott Weinberg I'll delete this rating if I ever write a review, but I LOVE this movie! 5 stars
2/21/02 Xaver Williams did a great job! 4 stars
1/01/02 Monster W. Kung Unwatchable crap. 1 stars
12/06/01 KMG This movie is pretty damn good 4 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean A shitty movie that I liked as a kid. Serves for childhood memories purpose. 3 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat This movie sucks donkey balls. 1 stars
8/09/01 officer 412/l WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU GUYS ON. ONE OF THE WORST BIG BUDGET FILMS OF ALL TIME. ITS BULLSHIT. 1 stars
8/04/01 Matt I admit, it is awful, but for some reason I can't stop watching it. 5 stars
5/06/01 Geoff Kushnick A classic -- not everyone knows that yet, though. Perfect casting, enchanting music. 5 stars
4/03/01 Andrew Carden It depends on if you think that Robin is a children's entertainer. 4 stars
12/26/00 Turtle An adaption that lives up to what it adapts. Funny and great! 4 stars
6/24/00 Aaron White Brilliant design, but Altman's trademark atmosphere steps on Feiffer's clever script. 3 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan I LOVE it, don't ask me why. I just love it not as a fun bad movie but as a truly good one. 5 stars
12/12/98 Miss Stress hey, this may not be much of a movie but it's got a song about a guy being LARGE, haha 4 stars
12/08/98 PirateGirl Shelley Duval was born to play this part 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Dec-1980 (PG)
  DVD: 24-Jun-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1981 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast