More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.32

Awesome51.67%
Worth A Look: 38.33%
Average: 3.33%
Pretty Bad: 3.33%
Total Crap: 3.33%

3 reviews, 42 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Wall Street
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Greed.. for want of a better word.. is good. So is chocolate."
5 stars

The movie that encapsulates the 80's. And Charlie Sheen's lack of talent.

If Michael Douglas ever plays a role more suited to him than this, I'll eat my hat. And Fondi's hat, which would truly be awful because he has nits.

So The Doug is Gordon Gecko, high flying Wall Street honch who suckers young Sheen (a meager trader) into a big ass inside trader deal that goes all sorts of ape shit.

What's good about it? It's well written, based on the amount of quoting the movie inspired for the next ten years.

It's also well acted. Little Sheen (and Papa Sheen) are both well and good, fine for what was required, but next to Douglas they looked like kids in the Christmas pageant dressed like Jesus - just not pulling it off.

The story is engaging, the thing is pretty much flawless all around, and still sits well amongst the current crop. Da bad boy has legs.

Pity Douglas got all caught up in the applause and decided to never do another character differently again.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1425&reviewer=1
originally posted: 12/10/98 16:09:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/24/17 Ken Michael Douglas' performance is better than the film itself. Very good, though. 4 stars
4/20/10 Nick G I really enjoyed watching the movie. It really opened my eyes when it comes to deceit. 5 stars
3/14/10 PAUL SHORTT ABSORBING DRAMA WITH A BRILLIANT STAR PERFORMANCE 4 stars
5/01/09 Josh Lyman Douglas was excellent. Martin Sheen stole every scene he was in, as usual. 5 stars
3/22/08 Pamela White drama ambition and greed all make a great movie 4 stars
11/19/07 hayway the movie was boroing and i sleept half through the hole shit man im tellin u it suckball 1 stars
10/31/07 yellowrose an ok movie.... da best part is da antagonist 3 stars
8/25/07 belma michael douglas is sooooo good, there's no word to describe it, that's his movie 5 stars
7/12/07 Lilly It's really a good movie but I don't like the fact that I have to watch this again for exam 4 stars
9/27/06 Playette_0918 It's a great movie i had to do a summary on it for economics.(that sucked) 4 stars
8/19/05 ALDO I don't get it. This movie sucks bad. 2 stars
11/19/04 screb douglas good but movie needed an hour trimmed 2 stars
5/30/04 garry taulu great movie, did it for english 5 stars
4/14/04 David Forbes Brilliant, a mater-piece 5 stars
12/09/03 john one of Oliver Stone's good films - intense and truthful 5 stars
5/23/03 mr. Pink Entertaining and Douglas is great in this. 4 stars
1/04/03 Jack Sommersby Imperfect but mammothly entertaining. Douglas is aces! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Douglas puts this film in his vest pocket and carries it 4 stars
8/22/02 Sully this movie just plain ROCKS. Douglas was OUTSTANDING. 5 stars
7/21/02 KMG It's neat to see what was considered "high living" in the 80s 4 stars
6/02/02 Phil M. Aficionado Phony script and unlikely plot devices do not a great movie make. Douglas is excellent. 3 stars
4/16/02 Dave not great but has a good moral message 4 stars
3/26/02 Alan OUTSTANDING FILM, KICKS ASS 5 stars
3/25/02 Jimmy Great Movie !!! 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Douglas is great! A fine film. 4 stars
12/29/01 Andrew Carden Wonderful Polictical Drama With A Great Sense Of Humor. 5 stars
12/10/01 Peter_24601 This movie is evidence that Stone actually knows what he's doing. It's amazing! 5 stars
11/20/01 R.W. Welch Strong performance by Douglas carries otherwise rather routine pic. 4 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Michael Douglas is the grand fuckin' Puba in this one...Killer film! 5 stars
7/27/01 TLsmooth Stone you fuckface. Watch this movie again and make more like this. Fuck Any Given Sunday. 5 stars
7/03/01 Chris Drake Plot too obvious;all acting weak except Douglas.Enjoyed NYC scenery 4 stars
4/30/01 Henk-Jan Vinke Fantastic 5 stars
4/11/01 Tucker Sechrest Good Movie 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Can we stop mistaking heavy handed cliches for plots, and expect more 1 stars
2/16/01 Ray McCoy Best Oliver Stone film next to JFK. Michael Douglas is awesome and deserved his only Oscar 5 stars
11/13/00 Jason im in grade 10 and i watched this movie in class, it was great! 5 stars
10/04/00 malcolm if u like "WS," check out "Glengarry Glen Ross" and "Boiler Room" 4 stars
8/04/00 Bruce Another Oliver Stone great 5 stars
7/19/00 Elvisfan very solid drama & douglas is good for a change 4 stars
2/27/00 JonnyAngel Love that greezy hair Mikey 4 stars
11/14/99 Parrissa Question:What do you mean by your last sentance. Please e-mail me at: betamaz@hotmail.com 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1987 (R)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1988 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast