More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.55

Awesome71.93%
Worth A Look: 18.42%
Average: 5.26%
Pretty Bad: 1.75%
Total Crap: 2.63%

7 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

Ambition by Jack Sommersby

Blackout by Jack Sommersby

Backfire by Jack Sommersby

Hit List, The (1993) by Jack Sommersby

Banker, The by Jack Sommersby

Boogey Man/The Devonsville Terror, The by Jack Sommersby

Truck Stop Women/Stunts by Jack Sommersby

Competition, The by Jack Sommersby

Hollywood Harry by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Legend of Drunken Master, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"If you can't have fun with a drunk Jackie Chan, you ain't trying."
5 stars

A while back I reviewed a little known martial arts movie that I'd managed to catch on video and had never quite convinced anyone, no matter how hard I tried and how many guarantees I made that it was top stuff, to go see. That movie was Drunken Master II, and it's with great satisfaction that I see the movie repackaged, freshly dubbed and released widely for a new audience. Quite simply, this film is as good as martial arts movies can get. It's action-packed, tremendously funny and even if you traditionally wouldn't be caught dead at a martial arts flick, I'm telling you now you will have a fantastic time watching this puppy.

The story is fairly base stuff. Chan is a great exponent of the Drunken Master fighting style, but his cranky old father doesnt like him to fight because he needs to be legless drunk to draw on the bobbing and weaving techniques drunken fighting uses.

But when his family accidentally find themselves in possession of stolen jewels, Chan finds himself in a situation where he needs to get totally, motherless, ripsnorting drunk and fight his way out of the jam. and in usual Chan style, that means twenty minute long fight sequences that include hundreds of opponents, lots of stunts and a complete lack of respect for his own body.

Sounds like you usual dumb action crud? If the story was all you went on, then yeah, it is. But this is extremely non-story-dependant stuff, and the longer it goes the less you care. Added to chan's special blend of skill is the grace, humor and skill of the actress playing his mother, Anita Mui. She's over the top hilarious and goes toe to toe with Chan in the action department.

If you're a fan of Chan, or not really had a good look at martial arts movies from Asia, give this one a look. It's a genuinely funny film and the action is top notch - even above top notch (if that's possible). I guarantee you will laugh so hard you snort, and if the big fight finale doesn't seriously leave you gasping, check your pulse.

and if you want to save some bucks, just go rent Drunken Master 2. It's the same flick (minus the dubbing), and though it'll feel silly renting a movie with such a title, trust me. It's very, very much worth the effort.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1436&reviewer=1
originally posted: 01/19/99 22:01:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Intense Action!!! 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Great! But the First Drunken Master is BEST ACTION MOVIE EVER!!!! 5 stars
12/10/05 noops another gr8 movie frm chan 5 stars
10/12/05 Tom Burns great jackie chan action and comedy. 5 stars
7/28/05 Quigley The fights were pure movie magic. Chan rules as always; story was incredibly lame 5 stars
4/25/05 DM The action is so exciting you completely forget about anything else. 5 stars
3/15/05 Ronin Drunken boxing is the most spectacular style IMO. Awesome 4 stars
2/05/05 bongeezer Jackie is great, Story is not. 3 stars
2/02/05 Rodney Stephens DESCENT MOVIE BUT NOT PERFECT 3 stars
2/02/05 Carolyn Rathburn Hillariously funny, only Jackie Chan could do these stunts. Enjoyed it. 5 stars
1/24/05 keithers.. This is Chans way of Saying "I'm still the king of action!" 5 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz Funny 4 stars
7/17/04 Raymond Lee Great fights and action 5 stars
4/05/04 Stephen Crancher Brilliant film 5 stars
11/21/03 rony this movie was da bomb!!!! Jackie Chan kicks ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!^_^ 5 stars
7/05/03 Zargo wierd... how everyone loves this but me... and I've seen 34 of chans so I'm hardly ignorant 3 stars
6/05/03 Maurice "The Predator" This movie is fucking sweet!! Jackie rulez like god 5 stars
2/09/03 cinkcool great 5 stars
1/06/03 Thomas Saylor this movie is the best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
1/21/02 keith langman This is Jackie chans big!!!!1 movie it's legendary 5 stars
12/28/01 Waylon Roundtree Saw long ago, and I never get tired of watching it! 5 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 THE reason why Jacki Chan is my hero...Amazing, I hope to watch with my kids one day! 5 stars
10/19/01 Daniel Paz Awesome Kick Ass!!! 5 stars
9/26/01 joe awesome 5 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert I am proud to be of the same species as Jackie Chan 5 stars
7/23/01 Thor-Leo Nothing to add, just doing my part to boost the rating of a brilliant film. 5 stars
6/22/01 Tommy Wyvern Wonderful, that's the least you can say about this magnificent action movie!! 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart LOVED IT...Demonstrates perfectly the prestige class of drunken master in D&D 5 stars
4/25/01 Ben Gonzales Truly Awesome! The fights are the best Jackie Chan has done. Definitely Top 10 material. 5 stars
4/05/01 Breadpie This film belongs in my all-time Top 10. That's saying a lot. 5 stars
3/21/01 fifu wow!!! i give it a 5 out of 6 one of my favorite movies the best forien film i've ever seen 5 stars
3/06/01 Aytim Contains some of the best action scenes ever filmed 5 stars
1/13/01 Jake The best time at had at the movies in 2000 5 stars
1/05/01 Msitrab AMAZING!! The final fight in this movie will make your jaw drop 5 stars
12/29/00 Bruce The most amazing hand to hand fights I have seen 5 stars
12/19/00 John Palombo Dubbing was TERRIBLE, but these things happen. Makes you want to learn Drunken Boxing. 4 stars
11/23/00 T.F.M. The Best Jackie Chan Movie 5 stars
11/17/00 DJ Cones The Best Kung-Fu Movie Of All Time! 5 stars
11/16/00 Dane Jackson Great fun! 5 stars
11/16/00 Heather One of the best action movies you'll see this year 5 stars
11/05/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Saw this flick with some mates, they hated it. I was too drunk to care! 3 stars
10/30/00 thebigguy WEEEEEE! 5 stars
10/30/00 fishie Movements so fast it will make your head spin. An absolute must-see. Loved it! 5 stars
10/30/00 dennis bergkamp No action film beats it 5 stars
10/28/00 danh excellent - one of the alltime best 5 stars
10/25/00 Victoria OMFG NOT ANOTHER JACKIN CHAN MOVIE! 1 stars
10/25/00 Bob One of the best J. Chan movies I've ever seen. Fantastic action. 5 stars
10/25/00 chuckmfh Just like any other Kung-Foo movie with English dubbed in 2 stars
10/25/00 ljohnston@yrsd-dcd.org.uk fuckin' swats 2 stars
10/24/00 Clarance Ban this bitch from making movies! 1 stars
10/23/00 Doughy Holy fucking shit! Extraordinary in every way. Pretty goddamn funny too 5 stars
10/23/00 Greyjack Un-fricking-believable. Probably Jackie's best movie. Excellent slapstick farce, too! 5 stars
10/22/00 Klute If action is what you're after, it gets no better than this. But the humour makes it a 5'er 5 stars
10/22/00 PJ The Greatest Kung Fu movie ever, period!!!!!!!!!!!!!! * * * * * stars 5 stars
10/19/00 angel the bomb ass kick ass jackie chan movie 5 stars
10/18/00 James Eldred This movie is the best Kung Fu flick of all time...period 5 stars
8/03/00 Bryan Wyatt Chan seems to be in the prime of his career and totaly kicks arse while totally drunk. 5 stars
6/29/00 Aiken Drum This and The Young Master are my two favourite Jackie Films, and I am a BIG fan 5 stars
5/21/00 Cinesuerte Awesome 5 stars
3/25/00 mrenwick All Jackie, all the time!! Great scene-stealing by (Chan's ex-girlfriend) Anita Mui too... 5 stars
3/08/00 Viper Greatest Jackie Chan film of the 90s 5 stars
12/20/99 Eric S. A bit overrated Jackie Chan film. The stunts are there, but the setting is terrible. 3 stars
11/11/99 Foxdvd One of the Best Jackie Movies. The action is equal to even Jet Li's best 5 stars
10/27/99 Ford Fuck Rush Hour, this is the ALL TIME Jackie chan film. Awe inspiring drunken boxing style. 5 stars
10/17/99 Kris Richardson Amazing action from the absolute King!!! 5 stars
9/02/99 Elman makes "matrix kung fu scenes"look like a Billie Blanks Tai-Bo workout 5 stars
7/02/99 Cris Morales Amazing, incredible, and satisfying 5 stars
7/01/99 Mike Lowrey INCREDIBLE! CHAN IS THE MAN! 5 stars
6/28/99 Steve Bashakus Not for pussy amateurs or poor readers (ie. subtitles) - amazing, simply amazing. 5 stars
4/11/99 sebo wrong wrong wrong wrong 1 stars
4/04/99 Albert Someone was drunk when they ranked this. 3 stars
1/18/99 Marcello Pietrantonio This is Jackie Chan's best ever movie. Great stunts, jokes, humor and Kung Fu action. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Oct-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1994 (M)


Directed by
  Lau Ka Leung

Written by
  Edward Tang
  Tong Man Ming
  Yuen Chieh Chi

Cast
  Jackie Chan
  Ti Lung
  Anita Mui
  Lau Ka Leung
  Andy Lau
  Wing-Fong Ho



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast