More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.23

Awesome: 13.95%
Worth A Look: 18.6%
Average44.19%
Pretty Bad: 23.26%
Total Crap: 0%

3 reviews, 25 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Day of the Jackal, The by Jack Sommersby

Weathering With You by Jay Seaver

Wonderland, The by Jay Seaver

Crypto by Jack Sommersby

Rambo: Last Blood by Jack Sommersby

Parasite (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Lighthouse, The by Rob Gonsalves

Almost a Miracle by Jay Seaver

Bad Boys for Life by Peter Sobczynski

Cunningham by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Tea With Mussolini
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Man On The Street

"What happens to art in the hands of the Barbaric"
3 stars

Middle of the road film about Middle Age (To elderly) women and the boys in their lives. Makes for a nice afternoon tea break.

I saw this movie as a Matinee and it cost me six bucks. I think that it is good for a bad weather afternoon, but not much else.
Franco leaves you thinking that the war was just a nuisance for some people. The film failed to engage me. There where moments in the homage to Florence and San Gimignano lit memories of these beautiful places. The most annoying thing in this film was Luca, talk about a boring character and appaling acting. The Eldery ladies certainly did their bit to give life to this tedious meandering. Judi Dench was brilliant as the art obsessed failure, and Lily Tomlins' lesbian provided truly funny appearances that were a relief from the dire feeling.
I think Cher was also perfect as the ostentatious serial marriage artist. She had the only depth in the film and the only interesting part. She was at once detestable and admirable. More time spent in script development would have been an extremely good thing.
The only poignent period was when we saw the men of Il Duce and later the Nazi soldiers and their treatment of art. The disrespect shown by these barbaians is criminal. You wonder if they were just on orders or ignorant. Thankfully many works of art survived the war and live on for us today, though not some thanks to the Earth Quake that struck the Uffizi.

Entertaining in a relaxing sense. Not challenging for the viewer and I dare say not a stretch for any of those involved in its making.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1468&reviewer=185
originally posted: 11/10/99 19:06:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Palm Springs Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Palm Springs Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/06/07 martina i love the movie it gives us set back to history great acting by all these people 5 stars
6/11/03 Shadaan Felfeli Room with a viewish . Slow . Yet i enjoyed watching it through once. 4 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Small epic w/a distaff cast has more going for it than you might think 5 stars
4/02/02 Steve Mackey Pleasant film featuring the grand old ladies of the screen. 3 stars
4/01/02 R.W. Welch Clueless expatriates muddle through WWII in Italy; nicely done. 4 stars
1/20/02 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Bland Movie. Can't Tell Whether It's A Drama or Comedy. 2 stars
12/03/01 Hum pleasant but could have been much more 3 stars
12/02/01 Mike Russell The whole cast is flawless, especially Cher! Great film!!! 5 stars
8/01/00 Elvisfan You're all bananas, it was terrific 5 stars
1/09/00 Linda Bryan Historic settings, funky expatriots in Italy, courage & responsibility 4 stars
12/04/99 Peter T no challenge, but a pleasant escape 3 stars
12/01/99 Karen Nice to look at until you fall asleep. 3 stars
11/02/99 libby funny and beautiful 4 stars
9/23/99 Robert H A completely implausible load of genteel claptrap...Enough to make one side with Fascists 2 stars
7/31/99 Geoff F. Bit of a wank 2 stars
7/25/99 David Stein Maggie Smith has never played a truthful moment in her whole hammy career 3 stars
7/22/99 Suzz good story and performances; laugh out loud funny 4 stars
7/19/99 Joe Smaltz A good movie, somewhat of a cross between a Neil Simon and Sienfield. A basically true sto 4 stars
7/18/99 Hoku Although the script was a little off, the movie as a whole was interesting and full of good 4 stars
6/27/99 kate c. it was wonderful 5 stars
6/15/99 David The grand old dames of acting make this entertaining, but it's oh so empty. 3 stars
6/07/99 Janet Acting--good; Plot--stunk! I kept waiting for the point of this flick 2 stars
5/28/99 pipeman Great flick. Beautifully done. A bit sappy, but wonderful. 5 stars
5/17/99 Mr Showbiz This occasionally corny, irresistably charming comedy is bristling with acting talent. 4 stars
5/10/99 Popcorn Never really convinces as a drama, but it's easy to watch. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-May-1999 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Aug-1999 (PG)


Directed by
  Franco Zeffirelli

Written by
  John Mortimer

Cast
  Cher
  Charlie Lucas
  Maggie Smith
  Claudio Spadaro
  Lily Tomlin



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast