More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.63

Awesome: 32.14%
Worth A Look: 16.07%
Average35.71%
Pretty Bad: 14.29%
Total Crap: 1.79%

4 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

Freaks (2019) by Jay Seaver

Official Secrets by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Still Crazy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by sean

"I saw it stoned and I still didn't laugh very much."
2 stars

I love British humor. I love rock 'n' roll comedies. I did not love this movie.

Quite the contrary, I found it failed in almost every way that a classic like SPINAL TAP succeeded. Beneath the jokes -- of which there are painfully few, though the ones there are are quite funny -- it's just another movie about guys getting old, forgiving the past, and trying to find love again.
And let me use this format to vent a little bit. What is it about British comedies lately? They used to be quite funny. There are still very funny British people (aside from the people in Python who still make movies, you got Eddie Izzard and Rowan Atkinson head and shoulders above any American comedians). And yet, look at recent British comedies that are always praised by the critics as great ... "Four Weddings and a Funeral", quite possibly the worst movie to be nominated for Best picture ever; "The Full Monty", not funny enough to be a comedy and not dramatic enough to be taken seriously; "Waking Ned Devine" ... I didn't see it, but I haven't heard much good about it (I love the annoying song from the ad, though); and now this.
Oh well ... I'll think twice before I see another British comedy that doesn't involve the six people listed above ... scratch that, even Eric Idle and Terry Jones have lost a lot of their steam.

The narrator was really, really, really funny though.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1472&reviewer=18
originally posted: 02/12/99 17:29:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/25/16 woody Brian Mckay clearly wouldn't know a good film if it bit him on the ass.. 5 stars
9/09/15 Loll Great film, not supposed to be Almost Famous so why compare?? 5 stars
2/19/11 PAUL SHORTT WELL OBSERVED, AMIABLE COMEDY WITH ENJOYABLE PERFORMANCES 4 stars
1/21/09 Cassie Best fil ever the music (especially the flame still burns) are brilliant! WATCH IT! 5 stars
11/25/07 vojie loved it. the flame still burns. gives hope. 5 stars
2/04/07 rhi2me my favourite film. this film puts me in a good mood, it makes me cry and makes me laugh. 5 stars
12/03/06 Carl Superb, 3 thumbs up, funny and the music is brilliant, WATCH IT!!! Curse those who disagree 5 stars
6/06/06 Zork Unlike the reviewer, I enjoyed it a lot. "God likes that 70's stuff after all!" 4 stars
9/09/05 Tom Bull the ultimate film to own if your a rocker, great cast great story lines, favourite film 5 stars
3/30/05 tatum Funny enough, but no "Almost Famous" 4 stars
2/08/05 karen richardson a nice little film about middle aged rockers 4 stars
7/19/04 Suzy This is a pretty damn good movie..no need to compare to other movies of this genre..i'm wet 5 stars
6/18/04 ERIC Many of the detractors of this film are unnecessarily ungracious. I, for one, was charmed. 5 stars
3/15/04 Andy Russell Superb - watched it twice in 24 hrs 4 stars
3/04/04 Shane Real good movie. The music is Brilliant 5 stars
1/21/04 rederikus very, very funny movie. watch it 5 stars
12/05/03 Alan Lobley Bloody Fantantstic - What do croitics Know 5 stars
7/02/03 Heather Amazing, the sadest and yet happiest film ive seen 5 stars
12/31/01 ravenhaired beauty Really good - brilliant performances, great humor - and not bad music either ! 4 stars
3/02/01 viking A very underrated movie. 5 stars
3/12/00 CONRAD funny 5 stars
3/11/00 Will that wasn't so bad. 4 stars
11/04/99 hum pretty dull 2 stars
9/23/99 John Roberson Too gentle--doesn't know whether to be funny or tragic & ends up neither. 3 stars
9/22/99 EllerZ34 I just turned 50.Those guys were me! Loved it. 5 stars
5/25/99 Steve G Twee but some funny performances 2 stars
3/12/99 Chuckeye Spinal Tap with a more human touch 5 stars
3/09/99 hisham his 5 stars
2/04/99 grunter A Hollywood first (I think): all the jokes are in the RADIO commercials 3 stars
1/25/99 Meepos. IF you have the ability to appreciate UK humor, this shouldn't disappoint. 4 stars
1/21/99 Kirgo1 GOD AWFUL! 1 stars
1/19/99 Heather I liked this movie, plenty of laughs and Brit humor 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Jan-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Apr-1999 (M)


Directed by
  Brian Gibson

Written by
  Dick Clement
  Ian La Frenais

Cast
  Stephen Rea
  Billy Connolly
  Jimmy Nail
  Timothy Spall
  Bill Nighy



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast