More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome28.41%
Worth A Look: 14.77%
Average: 9.09%
Pretty Bad: 19.32%
Total Crap28.41%

6 reviews, 52 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Idle Hands
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Since when has 'gooey' been considered a plot?"
1 stars

What the hell is Idle Hands? Is it a stoner-slanted comedy? Well, there's stoners in it, but it's not very funny. Is it a slasher flick? Hardly, there's not a scare in the thing. A Gen X teen romance? Well, if the romance here lights your candle you probably get a buzz pressing yourself against the spin-cycle. No, there's just one object this flick has in mind... to be gross. End.

And to that end it succeeds. It's disgusting enough to chase at least six people out of the tiny audience that shared the screen with this reviewer and frankly I don't blame them. Who the hell wants to feel their lunch coming up when we paid for entertainment?

The story goes that a stoner jerk suddenly finds his hand has a life of its own. An eville life. When he discovers his parents butchered and his errant hand kills his two best buds (who like to smoke best buds) he figures things are awry. Ya think?

In the midst of this comes the gorgeous gal across the road who decides to date stoner guy despite the fact that his hand keeps coming at her with knives. And then the dead buds come to life as zombies. And then Vivica A. Fox does the most disgusting thing of all. She takes a cameo. My God, even in a movie where everything involved is disgusting and stupid, Vivica somehow manages to overact, undertime and generally make the audience do that funny sideways titled head thing that a puppy does when you tell him "roll over and breakdance." As a tough-as-nails high priestess on the hunt for the hand in a campervan with a heavy-metal-kid in tow, Fox makes Bunny Breckenridge of Plan 9 From Outer Space fame look like Larry fucking Olivier.

Okay. So someone took a lot of time working the kinks out of this epic, huh?

IT'S A PIECE OF SHIT! I know, I know, such vulgarity doesn't sit nicely, BUT IT IS! It's crap. Utter waste of time and money. Did I miss something? Was this an attempt at schlock? No. This was a rushed, ill-conceived, ill-considered bucket of ill. Avoid like Satan.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1482&reviewer=1
originally posted: 12/19/99 23:27:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell minor but fun 3 stars
7/30/13 PAUL SHORTT CRUDE, BLOOD-SOAKED TASTELESS FOLLY 1 stars
8/16/11 Machine Gun Tom My hands weren't "IDLE" when jessica Alba's hot body appeared on screen. 5 stars
11/26/08 Shaun Wallner Seth Green is Hilarious! 5 stars
4/08/07 fools♫gold Plays with .".ignorance.". 2 stars
3/20/07 matthew totally idiotic but entertainingly gory, tit-filled, stoner comedy 5 stars
1/28/07 Jeff Anderson As dumb teen horror-comedies go, its actually funny. Green & Henson have the best moments!! 4 stars
8/15/06 Anastasia Beaverhausen Doesn't make much sense, but still entertains...like your mom 3 stars
9/15/05 Gray dumb fun 5 stars
2/06/05 clinger26 couldn't stop laughing 5 stars
12/23/04 Jason Kaul You don't even get to see fine assed Jessica Alba's tits. Really really bad flick. 2 stars
10/04/04 Josh Standlee Devon Sawa is one hell of an actor, and Jessica Alba is very hot! Buy it now! 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G If I ever see jessica albe, im gonna give her P.C.P. then fuck her in the eye 1 stars
7/28/04 Mike Devans BORING 1 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II I wanna ram my huge cock in and out of Jessica Alba's ass. 3 stars
12/13/03 latch pen really funny it kicks ass 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Pretty funny! 3 stars
9/15/03 Collin Stupid, Mindless, Ascinine, Pointless, Mindless, Poorly Concieved Garbage with no style 1 stars
1/09/03 dopplegangers it is great and sexy 5 stars
12/15/02 me i would fuck her so hard.... 4 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Mediocore at best, but man I want to put my cock up Jessica Alba's ass. 3 stars
4/16/02 daniel ending rubbish 5 stars
3/20/02 Jay I couldn't help but jerk off looking at jessica,God I wish I could fuck and suck her tits 3 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee I enjoyed it. Seth Green was hilarious, and Jessica Alba was very sexy. 4 stars
1/24/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Funny, sick, eroitic & twisted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/12/02 rb one of my favorites 5 stars
9/26/01 Eric Jordan I want to put my cock up her ass 3 stars
9/06/01 Jim Amusing nonsense 4 stars
6/16/01 The Man Dude, Jessica Alba's ass MADE the movie, that one scene made it a great movie. 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a very funny movie. It's a dark comedy. Great Sawa flick. 4 stars
3/02/01 Seth Green Has no semblance of coherent filmmaking, but damn I wanna fuck Jessica Alba's tight lil ass 5 stars
2/18/01 Flora A post-modern horror laugh-fest, just don't take it too seriously... 4 stars
1/28/01 Harvey If for nothing else, see this film for deliciously dark angel alba, in short shorts no less 4 stars
1/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Pleasantly suprised; listen to DVD commentary, a lot of good behind-the-scenes stuff there. 4 stars
6/07/00 Bender Pretty good, and amusing Horror-Comedy 4 stars
3/20/00 Steve Layne Campy, funny and very bloody! 4 stars
2/09/00 MarshyMan Violence for violence sake. Crap story, crap acting. 2 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski "So if you don't rate, just overcompensate...the world needs wanna-bes..." etc 1 stars
1/11/00 Suzanne Briscoe A waste of time. 1 stars
12/13/99 Tyson Stewart some good parts, but all around the film is stupid! 2 stars
12/11/99 Jack Donovan I went in for Seth Green and was suprised as all hell that I actually got my money's worth. 5 stars
10/19/99 Alexander damn funny and pretty scare. I love Alba... alot 5 stars
9/18/99 Buford "Mad Dog" Tannen Hilarious; great sets; Green, Sawa, and Hensen rule, & an unbelievably fine Jessica Alba 5 stars
6/28/99 Stephen Bashakus Devon, Seth, and Elden show talent, but the movie is an exercise in creative diarreha. 2 stars
6/26/99 David It's really funny, reminds me of "The Frighteners" in many positive ways 4 stars
5/10/99 Diptherio This movie needs bruce campbell to make it work 1 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey Great... and I hate horror movies! 5 stars
5/02/99 Eddie okay funny,but a kid kills people? Bad message! 3 stars
5/02/99 CYaniDERuSH most of the gags where derived from evil dead2, but it was still a piss 5 stars
4/29/99 The Graduate Dumb premise, nice execution. Some genuinely funny moments. 4 stars
4/03/99 the DUDE I was so funny-And gross at the same time 5 stars
1/25/99 Dark Horizons Idle Hands isn't a great film, but it's very fun to say the least. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Dec-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Rodman Flender

Written by
  Terri Hughes
  Ron Milbauer

Cast
  Devon Sawa
  Seth Green
  Elden Henson
  Fred Willard
  Connie Ray



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast