More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.81

Awesome: 10.89%
Worth A Look: 21.78%
Average27.72%
Pretty Bad: 16.83%
Total Crap: 22.77%

8 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Harry & Son by Jack Sommersby

Shattered by Jack Sommersby

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

Ambition by Jack Sommersby

Blackout by Jack Sommersby

Backfire by Jack Sommersby

Hit List, The (1993) by Jack Sommersby

Banker, The by Jack Sommersby

Boogey Man/The Devonsville Terror, The by Jack Sommersby

Truck Stop Women/Stunts by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


200 Cigarettes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Patchy as all hell, but a few great performances therein."
3 stars

What do you get when you let one if the premier casting execs around finally direct his own flick? An ensemble piece filled to the brim with burgeoning talent working for food, and a story almost not worth trying to follow.

A bunch of lives of different folks all meandering through a New York New Years Eve in the early 80's, finding their way to a party that might never happen.

Explaining all the stories in this flick would be silly. There's just too many, and they really don't matter. What does matter is the acting line-up on offer. This is basically a chance for them all to have a bit of fun, try to extend themselves with limited material and pay off a few favours to the director.

The run down:

Courtney Love - decent, again playing herself, but you can't imagine her doing Shakespeare, can you?

Paul Rudd - blossoming as an actor with every new flick he does. Courtney's off-sider and no let down.

Christina Ricci - as bad as you'd hope she could ever get. If she has worse than this role in her then she ought to quit. Abominable doesn't quite describe how bad she is, though it's not all her fault. She should never have been cast in such a gormless role.

Martha Plimpton - never realised before how many times she's been a good support player in other films. Here, she's grandiose. An actress and a half.

Dave Chapelle - Hilarious. His character was dumb as all hell, and a woeful attempt to tie everyone else together, but he was hilarious regardless.

Janeane Garofalo - Small part, big laughs. Should be the first person picked to play and female comedic role.

The Affleck Brothers - Ben = fucking funny. You can see he's having fun making an ass of himself, and you can see he's adding a lot of ad-libs to the mix. When Affleck is having fun and not trying to fit into the studio cookie-cutter, he's a pleasure to watch. Casey = trying hard. Not his fault. Not a great character. No chance to really bust out. Sorry, Case.

Others - a mix of good, bad and horrific. This film was always going to be an excuse to get a lot of big names together and let them try to out-do each other, and the one thing it shows is that some actors can really act, and others are marketed *really* well despite their lack of talent.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1488&reviewer=1
originally posted: 04/08/99 16:52:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell watchable nothing more 2 stars
9/22/09 art ONLY FOR NEW YORKERS! 3 stars
10/04/07 The Film Maker Luvs the music. Great indie. 4 stars
1/14/07 JM Synth Kind of fun. The soundtrack, as often is the case with these things, is the star 3 stars
6/14/04 Justin Dennis wtf is wrong with you people this movie owned and courtney love ROCKS! 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant The movie blows. Kate Hudson swallows. And the audience gets the shaft. 1 stars
5/27/02 Nicole I really didn't get the point of this movie 2 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Love's performance here makes horseshit look talented. 1 stars
2/03/02 Andrew Carden Good For Those Times When You Get High and Have A 6-Pack. 5 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean A fairly funny flick. Ricci finally doesn't play a weirdo and was cute with her accent. 3 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Casey is a no-talent hack - just like his brother 1 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer Unfunny, Weak Comedy; Only Joke.......Ben Affleck Drops a Beer Bottle! BWAH-HAH-HAH!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/16/00 JDC I liked it. Not funny, but I liked the characters enough. 4 stars
3/17/00 Cristy Casey Affleck will you marry me?!?!?!? I loved this movie, I thought it was great. 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Good acting, good concept, yet somehow strangely generic. 3 stars
11/08/99 hum dull 2 stars
11/02/99 Bozo it wasn't that bad-liked rudd, love & ricci's 'lawn guyland' accent 4 stars
4/27/99 Angie it was decent, Ben looked hot as always =) 4 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam It was good. Mind candy! 4 stars
4/17/99 Spic Made by your friends at Phillip Morris!! 2 stars
4/14/99 Michelle Some good performances (Affleckx2, Rudd) in an otherwise boring flick. 2 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn blink, you miss Ben.. Courtney is still as shitty as always.. someone stop this nasty bitch 4 stars
4/10/99 mara blah except for some pretty faces 2 stars
4/10/99 Copey Great soundtrack, better film than I expected 4 stars
4/09/99 Ami the Wonderbread fantastic 5 stars
4/08/99 Brian M nice trip back to 81 3 stars
4/06/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne Hightops and flourescents are not COOL, no matter how hard MTV trys. 2 stars
4/02/99 Powrhug Hey! I'd spend another $6.50 to see Ben dance! 3 stars
4/02/99 MAD Elvis Costello is a necropheliac. I have proof. 3 stars
3/20/99 Steven D This movie was bad from the MTV label. David Chappelle gave the only good performance 2 stars
3/16/99 agsmith Good movie to see when you're drunk... 4 stars
3/16/99 sonia awesome movie, really funny casey affleck and courtney were great 5 stars
3/14/99 Dharma I loved it!! I just wanna lick Casey Affleck!!!!!! 5 stars
3/13/99 Karen Learned some new funny lines but suggest waiting until cable. 3 stars
3/11/99 Negative Creep Thought it was the best film Affleck's been involved with 5 stars
3/10/99 Kristen I LOVED IT! 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie Good cast, especially Casey and Ben Affleck and Kate Hudson, but a disappointing movie. 3 stars
3/08/99 Shanandler Bong I mostly saw it for Casey and Ben. They were the only goods except for Kate Hudson. 4 stars
3/08/99 M Cocolis my friends thought it sucked, I liked it.... 4 stars
3/05/99 Angelic CaSeY AfFlEcK! 4 stars
3/04/99 benjamin lesbian Fun....not great. One of those guilty pleasure movies. Catch it at the $1.50 theater. 4 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz Terrific performances and a horde of hotties enliven this irresistibly boisterous comedy. 4 stars
3/03/99 Christina A really fun and funny movie 5 stars
3/03/99 Kenda Funny, but pretty pointless. Casey Affleck and Kate Hudson make it worthwile. 3 stars
3/02/99 Dave Good soundtrack, some nice hair, but pointless, meandering, and seems to last forever. 2 stars
3/02/99 slimshady paul rudd was too funny. courtney love (who i usually hate) was totally likable in this mov 5 stars
3/02/99 EmmetOtter Too many characters, too few laughs. Not worth $7.50. 2 stars
3/02/99 Rachel kicked ass! Gotta see it again! 5 stars
3/01/99 Blythe It's not a movie that has you on your ass, but its funny and the costuming is hilarious. 4 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Insanely disappointed because I didn't get to see Chritina Ricci's tits 1 stars
2/24/99 Happy D. Why do you have Ben Affleck listed first on Cast when he really only has a cameo in the pic 4 stars
2/08/99 Mr Film Very cool. 4 stars
1/25/99 Dark Horizons full of lame acting and weak storylines that you don't give a fuck about. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Feb-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast