More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.39

Awesome60.78%
Worth A Look: 25.49%
Average: 9.8%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 3.92%

1 review, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Luxor by Peter Sobczynski

Wander by Peter Sobczynski

Love, Weddings & Other Disasters by Peter Sobczynski

Black Bear by Peter Sobczynski

Poison Rose, The by Jack Sommersby

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom by Jay Seaver

Fat Man and Little Boy by Jack Sommersby

Harry & Son by Jack Sommersby

Shattered by Jack Sommersby

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"My brain hurts. And I like it."
4 stars

What do you get when you mix Shakespeare, Tim Roth, Richard Dreyfuss and Gary Oldman? A mess, but a damn amusing one.

Updating shakespeare is always a risky business, but infusing it with an absurdist sense of humor and a surreal sense of direction makes it even edgier.

But the proof is in the pudding, and indeed in the acting. Roth and Oldman as the aforementioned Rosencrantz and Guildenstern, two bumble-headed boobies (to quote Doctor Smith) who don't know where they are, why they are there or what the hell is going on exactly. As they try to make head or tails of it all, their linguistic acrobatics are a source of humor and amazement. this film is less compelling and more intriguing. Less adventure and more achievement.

It's a film you really need to sit down in a quiet room with no distractions and watch intently, or you'll just not get it. I barely got it, but that's down to people making me get up every five minutes and make popcorn.

In all, RAGAR is one of those films you see so you know what the hell people are talking about - maybe even to feel a little superior to the yutz's watching Varsity Blues this weekend.

It's not for everyone. And that's the point.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1490&reviewer=1
originally posted: 01/27/99 11:06:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/12/12 Cheryl Very amusing at times 3 stars
4/07/09 Qwilleran This film made it possible for me to laugh at Hamlet; a singular acheivement 5 stars
1/02/07 Jessica an intelligent movie.great wordplay! gets you thinking!Roth is AMAZING in this movie! 5 stars
1/12/06 Springa After watching this movie, I felt the compelling urge to find a tall building and jump off 1 stars
12/10/05 havthat This is really great if you're into this sort of thing. 5 stars
11/19/05 DM Bizarre. Not sure if I'd call it a comedy like some others do, but it's intriguing. 4 stars
6/09/05 Jeanne Hilarious, keeps you off balance - anyone want to play "Questions" with me? I'll serve! 5 stars
5/23/05 Yousid It's too short 3 stars
8/05/04 Stacy the most interesting interpretation of "Hamlet" I've ever seen 5 stars
3/21/04 ruth ordinary 3 stars
3/12/04 KingNeutron Highly enjoyable. 5 stars
1/31/04 tatum English majors might get the biggest kick out of this 5 stars
7/23/02 Sommer You either hate or love it. It love it. 5 stars
2/06/02 cghoover8 brilliant 5 stars
1/14/02 caroline the best movie ever done. 5 stars
1/10/02 Bootlace It's fucking BRILLIANTLY awsome - when DVD?? 5 stars
1/05/02 LIAM JACKSON THIS FILM IS FUCKING GREAT!IT TOTALLY KICK ARSE!OUTSTANDING! 5 stars
12/31/01 Dan N Very thought provoking. 5 stars
12/07/01 decemberx brilliantly dark humor 5 stars
12/04/01 Richard Barbieri Runs Hot & Cold 3 stars
11/01/01 Nadir One of my top 5 of all time...this movie is exceptional. 5 stars
9/29/01 Kurt Incredible movie, too bad it's not on DVD 5 stars
8/16/01 Mikkel Hundewadt-Jensen Fantastic in a mindboggling sort of way! 5 stars
4/24/01 Terri P Incredible the first time, and even moreso now after another decade of life :) 5 stars
4/05/01 Jim Christoffersen NO POINT TO IT 1 stars
4/02/01 Liz Kicks ass! 5 stars
1/06/01 Robert Schneider Film lacks the pace, immediacy and vital energy of the play. Some good scenes, though. 4 stars
12/05/00 judah Ivy great movie, bad ending. makes ya think, if ya like that kind of thing... 5 stars
10/25/00 Jess I love that movie! :)It is also one of Oldman´s best performances. 5 stars
7/15/00 Candy great film, although i haven't seen or read the play, fast-moving and witty dialogue 4 stars
5/13/00 Will It might have worked better as a play, but still - damn that was good 5 stars
4/25/00 johnny c styles this film is ass backwards from start to finish- a valid signia of true theatre. 5 stars
4/01/00 Michael Tressler The movie is best the second time 4 stars
3/29/00 Will Skinner Simply great 5 stars
3/02/00 Henry (compwiz@southwind.net) It throbbed with satiric humor; Its profundity in theology surpasses all. 5 stars
1/27/00 John Cryptic, intriguing, & dripping with wit. A cult classic for lovers of the unusual. 4 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie Weird as bananas! Gary and Timmy- what a team. I laughed my arse off! 5 stars
10/18/99 Zeelod Funny as hell. 5 stars
9/24/99 Mary Bonifield Delightful. Definitely more than you might think it is at first. Epistemological musings 5 stars
9/02/99 Smoothe Lacks sense, yet is entertaining. Excellent acting from Gary Oldman, Tim Roth, and Dreyfuss 3 stars
8/12/99 Merry Witty and inspired 5 stars
7/30/99 Fart Knocker Ebert gave this zero stars. He must be punished. Gary Oldman rules. 4 stars
6/24/99 Constantine The Best! 5 stars
3/04/99 Czarina This is my favourite movie and I'll kill anyone who says it sucks. 5 stars
1/20/99 {{{OZ}}} Well acted. A tough script to make happen, but Roth and Oldman handle it well. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1991 (PG)
  DVD: 22-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast