More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.27

Awesome62.5%
Worth A Look: 23.44%
Average: 3.13%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 10.94%

1 review, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

Ambition by Jack Sommersby

Blackout by Jack Sommersby

Backfire by Jack Sommersby

Hit List, The (1993) by Jack Sommersby

Banker, The by Jack Sommersby

Boogey Man/The Devonsville Terror, The by Jack Sommersby

Truck Stop Women/Stunts by Jack Sommersby

Competition, The by Jack Sommersby

Hollywood Harry by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


On Golden Pond
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"And the Oscar goes to .... Henry Fonda"
4 stars

Real life father and daughter, Jane and Henry Fonda, team up as onscreen father and daughter with screen legend Katherine Hepburn in this moving portrayal of family life during their traditional summer on Golden Pond.

The Thayers spend each summer at their home on Golden Pond. And each year, in a ritual reenactment, the sheets come off, the windows are washed, the yard is trimmed and they settle in for another vacation.

This year has been one of particular conflict and they spend the summer looking at themselves, each other and their lives to settle old conflicts, deal with new ones and find the strength to rekindle the familial bonds and carry on into the future.

Henry Fonda won the oscar for Best Actor for his portrayal Norman Thayer.

It is a lovely, quiet film that deals with the then queasy topic of divorce and fractured families. A time when the words post and modern had never been uttered in rapid succession. This is the world still recovering from the Viet Nam war and the boomers coming into their own as the first generation of kids to have grown up in the suburbs raising their own children in the confusing world of a slumping economy and a bitterly fractured and demoralized society. In fact, this was the dawn of the Reagen Era when people wanted to believe there was a way to restructure to bring hope and prosperity to the many.

Intergenerational miscommunication and social rebellion were pretty heady topics back then and the more radical students of the Countercultural revolution who had joined the mainstream were still ideologically opposed to the world of their forebears but they had no models on which to build the world they felt was more ideal.

This is how the movie struck home with American Audiences in 1981.

You never felt tension run so deep and quiet. In a time when people did not "Talk about things", this movie opened up the possibility of questioning pain and begin healing what was sometimes a lifetime of "keeping it in". Touching film, tremendous acting.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1500&reviewer=67
originally posted: 12/11/99 07:20:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/07/20 Ed Riddick Incredible actors overcome some weaknesses in screenplay to spectacular effect 5 stars
9/14/17 morris campbell warm & entertaing 4 stars
2/09/10 PAUL SHORTT WARM, UPLIFTING AND WELL ACTED 4 stars
12/06/09 art DEPRESSING AND BORING! 1 stars
6/08/09 art PURE CONTRIVED TRIPE! 1 stars
7/09/08 art RATED O FOR OVERRATED 1 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White Henry has great range in this movie and Katherine is spectacular 5 stars
6/22/07 Ron loved the movie, and i'm so far from being a Henry Fonda fan, lol 5 stars
12/09/06 JN I would very recommend it !!!!!! It's very loving and touching!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/27/06 Ashley Hinz Not boring in most areas, in less you don't appreciate older actors 4 stars
2/28/06 KM I loved this movie! 5 stars
8/23/05 ES What's the point of having dwarves if they don't do chores? 5 stars
10/24/04 UMER literally beautiful movie experience and superlative performances 5 stars
5/15/04 Pete Moving story about ordinary people coping with life's challenges 5 stars
4/03/04 Donald L Weimer Plan to visit the movie site this year - I'm a old gezzer too 5 stars
4/02/04 Johannah MacPherson This was a very touching film 5 stars
12/18/03 Paul Johnson This movie blows and should never have been released 1 stars
12/18/03 George Hansen ghansenwis@earthlink.net What did Henry Fonda call the fish he was always after?? 5 stars
11/30/03 john one of the most honestly moving films ever made - a great farewell for Henry Fonda 5 stars
10/18/03 ashley its boring 3 stars
7/01/03 jerome morrow A rare classic - stirs many real emotions, in my top 10. 5 stars
6/21/03 Mark Great , warm movie with memorable characters and some classic lines. 5 stars
4/27/03 Kim See it for the acting of Henry and Kate. 5 stars
3/18/03 Shadaan Felfeli Sentimental films exist as well...this is a great film. 5 stars
2/27/03 Eric Quintana This movie rocks! 5 stars
2/27/03 Kristin Wickens Excellent movie! 4 stars
1/28/03 Jack MeoffandSuckmahdick Henry Fonda plays a silly old cunt who keeps getting lost in the woods and bags katherine H 1 stars
1/24/03 Pinkline Jones Silly Old Bugger "Sucks Face" and Falls out of Boat 1 stars
1/14/03 Heywood Jewblowme -- A.K.A. - Sizaints Touching film, tremendous acting. You never felt tension run so deep and quiet. 5 stars
11/01/02 Boehm Beautiful story of reconciliation and the purity of a child's love. 5 stars
10/23/02 Anne Fraser The film is about life and its aging process...people, issues, families, nature... 5 stars
10/23/02 Mary K. Anooshian This is my all-time favorite movie. It was funny, touching, just beautiful in every way. 5 stars
8/16/02 I Can't Swim Kate & Hank have undeniable charm; if you hate it, its you and not them 5 stars
6/25/02 Charles Tatum Kate and Henry show 'em how it's done 5 stars
4/22/02 Lisa Cook Henry Fonda at his best 4 stars
4/12/02 Dina Lorence an excellent movie. 5 stars
3/12/02 Jennifer Koutouzos This was one of the best movies I had seen at that time 5 stars
2/17/02 shakira touching movie that really hit home with the issues at hand and how to attempt to solve hem 5 stars
1/14/02 F.M. Awesome!!!! 5 stars
1/01/02 vivek good 3 stars
10/25/01 Jessica Blevins I am 20 years old and one of the best movies I have ever seen! Even the young will enjoy it 5 stars
7/21/01 Wanda Favorite movie of all time. Henry, Katharine and Jane are excellent. 5 stars
5/02/01 Greg Schoonaker great film 5 stars
4/24/01 Jake A true gem. One of the most emotionally powerful films I've seen. Funny too 5 stars
4/05/01 Richard A. Steel Excellent' way above average 5 stars
2/28/01 Nathan The old man is awesome! 5 stars
1/13/01 Stacey Rogerson Good 5 stars
11/26/00 Ley excellent 5 stars
11/13/00 martin i didn't like it 1 stars
11/01/00 Greg Morrissey Beautiful. 5 stars
9/29/00 Jennifer Shewfelt good movie, nice setting 4 stars
9/17/00 Colin Murphy A brutally honest and riveting film. It did not stray from showing joy and the pain 5 stars
9/13/00 Chelsea Smith wonderfully composed 4 stars
7/13/00 Mindy Really enjoyted this flick! 4 stars
5/23/00 Anne D. I have this movie I can't count how many times I,ve seen it even before I owned it. 5 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Swan song of a Legend and just enough salt to keep the diabetes at bay. 5 stars
1/20/99 Vick Di Brecci Good for a teary sitcom. Henry Fonda did shine, no question. 4 stars
1/20/99 {{{OZ}}} Fonda was amazing and deserved his Oscar fully. Superb. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Dec-1981 (PG)
  DVD: 16-Dec-2003

UK
  N/A (PG)

Australia
  02-Feb-1982




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast