More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.48

Awesome72.73%
Worth A Look: 15.58%
Average: 3.9%
Pretty Bad: 2.6%
Total Crap: 5.19%

2 reviews, 65 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Ad Astra by Jay Seaver

When Lambs Become Lions by Jay Seaver

We Are Not Princesses by Jay Seaver

Hustlers by Jay Seaver

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Derek

"'Just what this country needs - a cock in a frock, on a rock.'"
5 stars

Relax. You don't have to be a flaming queen to enjoy PRISCILLA.

Does it help? Well...sure, I guess it could. But that doesn't mean this is one of those gay-"niche" movies that the straight community can't get into for shits and giggles, plus a little touch of heart.

What we have here is a road movie in the Australian outback. Three drag queens bail Sydney in favor of a gig for their, um, highly stylized lip-sync act in a faraway Oasis. One (Hugo Weaving) is clearly the stabilizing force between the other two, and there seems to be more to him than meets the eye. The second is an aging transvestite whose partner has just died suddenly. He is played unforgettably by Terence Stamp, whom I mainly remember as bad-ass General Zod in SUPERMAN II. Given Stamp's steely presence, authoritative bass voice, and reputation in his native England for being quite handy with the ladies, he may not have been an obvious casting choice. But let me tell you, his performance is thorough, often hilarious, and totally free of self-consciousness. He truly was robbed of a supporting actor nomination.

The third queen is a young, sassy thing played by Guy Pearce, who later showed Terence Stamp-like range by playing the straight-arrow cop with glasses in L.A. CONFIDENTIAL. Naturally, his character and the jaded one played by Stamp engage in quite a bit of dishy verbal sniping and sparring. "All right, bitches, back in your kennels," admonishes Weaving from the driver's seat.

PRISCILLA does contain touches of gay issues (AIDS, discrimination, gay-bashing, etc), but these are really incidental; the emphasis is on character, and indeed we come to sympathize with each.

Most memorable, though, are the lip-sync routines themselves. I believe the film did win the Oscar for costume design, and it earned it. The "frocks" that the trio don in their acts are malleable works of art, allowing them to become dinosaurs, fish, and famous architectural structures. To say may would be to spoil some great sight gags. So see it for funny costumes, choreography, and some damn good dialogue spoken well.

Atop a bus with the train of your frock trailing behind, mouthing a Verdi aria cranked up to 11 - now that's puttin' it out there!

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1504&reviewer=71
originally posted: 02/20/99 09:28:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

4/20/19 Anne liked it yet excuse the pun dragged in places 3 stars
8/17/10 the dork knight QuaiNothing too exciting. Terrance Stamp is great as transsexual Obi-Wan. 4 stars
4/21/10 brian Some nice moments and fascinating characters ruined by the worst taste EVER. 2 stars
10/19/09 auzzie chickie loved it and will be loving it forever! cannot fault it! 5 stars
3/01/07 Louise Colourful and witty! I never get tired of watching it! 5 stars
7/14/06 David Cohen Very entertaining, a funny and moving look at a distinct subculture 5 stars
5/24/06 Sarah Hah! Hah! Hah! Very Funny! 2 stars
5/20/06 chienne Is Bill Hunter one of our best actors or what? 5 stars
6/20/05 Jeanne Agent Smith, Ed Exley and The Collector in more makeup than I'll ever wear! Oh, SNAP! 5 stars
2/17/05 Daveman Pretty empty stuff although it does have charm and some of the gags are corkers. 3 stars
4/18/04 Al-Antony Moody Funny, witty, daring, great dancing and great costumes. I thought the ending sucked! 4 stars
10/24/03 laurabetty So so so so so Funny 5 stars
10/04/03 Sarah This is so good and i feel sorry for all you people out there who have a problem with homos 5 stars
9/04/03 eddie a movie for queers and faggots - may you all be victims of a hate crime in the near future. 1 stars
8/28/03 kahla bloody greatest aussie movie ever produced! i love guy peirce 5 stars
5/28/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Wow! Whodathunkit! A'ain't no queer, but this flick was great! Enjoy! 5 stars
4/22/03 mr. Pink Wonderful performances and some great dialogue and music make up for weak scenario. 4 stars
4/13/03 Bob McConnaughey very sweet & funny, sorry i waited so long to see it! 5 stars
3/10/03 Stacie I love this movie, i have watched it so many times i know every single word of it, 5 stars
1/28/03 Pinkline Jones Putrid - ABBA should sue 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano The worst film of all time. 1 stars
8/23/02 Jess Rediculous 4 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia Only Fred Phelps could dislike this--intelligent, charming, vulgar, and riotously funny. 5 stars
3/14/02 becc brilliant! guy was amazing 5 stars
3/01/02 Andrew Carden Unfunny, Totally Forgettable "Adult Farce". 1 stars
3/01/02 Chad Petersen LOVED IT!!! 5 stars
2/18/02 jennifer timms th4e funniest movie, youll remember the witty lines for ages 5 stars
1/19/02 Kizza a desert holiday lets pack the drg away i'll take the lunch and tea you take the extacy 5 stars
12/10/01 Tina Pranger great movie - a scream, a riot! 5 stars
11/23/01 franco terrific 5 stars
11/03/01 Damien Thia movie is unreal, heaps of laughs 5 stars
10/30/01 BRAD mCKAY FANTASTIC MOVIE 5 stars
10/15/01 briony cool, great movie!!! 5 stars
9/30/01 the cool guys we thought this movie rocked!! it was a bit weird at first but, well yeah!!! 4 stars
9/07/01 Emily it rocked i loved it so much 5 stars
9/05/01 miggit funny 4 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Wow! That was General Zod?!? Anyway, I loved the ping-pong ball scene the most. 4 stars
8/23/01 Stonedog Fabulously fruity frolics...and not just for 'family'. 5 stars
8/20/01 Rebecca Connolly The Best Movie 5 stars
8/09/01 porcha giggles what a pisser! ive seen it so many times. 5 stars
7/10/01 Elvisfan anyone for ping pong? 5 stars
5/18/01 skye it is sick 5 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Very funny and poignant at the same time...I enjoyed myself completely. 5 stars
3/07/01 Benjamin I loved it!!!!!!!!!It was awsome !!!!!!!! I liked the bit were the mans wife dose the act w 5 stars
2/05/01 Mitchell Rodges I thought it was a very funny and enjoyable movie and easily watch it again 4 stars
2/04/01 Shirley Bennett watched it 20 times 5 stars
1/13/01 Paula One of the best I've seen in a long time.. - its FUN! 5 stars
1/09/01 dryti tyityikgh 4 stars
12/11/00 Maude Not Bad. 3 stars
11/24/00 John Crawford Wonderful film. I'm in love with Guy Perarce, and Terence Stamp is so damn good. 5 stars
11/03/00 Nina Harris This is the funniest movie ever, the stupid but clever slag saying, It's Awsome!! 5 stars
10/23/00 Jodi Lancaster my favourite movie ever.........I love it 5 stars
10/21/00 Ally This is the sickest movie on the planet if you havent seen it trust me you are missing out. 5 stars
8/31/00 sally the best bit was mum was at golf, so the dirty old fuck was stuck there for four hours! 5 stars
5/30/00 perverted pixie "Where are you guys from?"- "Uranus". Utterly wonderful! 5 stars
4/10/00 Jane i absolutely loved it. it is so creative and fun and it's all australian 5 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski My favorite gulity pleasure...with my favorite drag-queen friend, of course...:-) 5 stars
12/06/99 Samantha Scott One of my most favorite movies in the whole world. Wonderfully understated romance, too! 5 stars
11/11/99 robert streit funny as hell. not a classic by any stretch of the imagination, but very funny. 4 stars
10/07/99 strike Thin stories and thin characters. But, its still very entertaining I have to admitt. 4 stars
10/01/99 Lisa Gooding Purely entertaining!! 5 stars
9/14/99 Ealasaid I love this movie. Hugo Weaving rocks beyond belief (compare Priscilla to The Matrix). 5 stars
9/11/99 Hogs FUNNY 5 stars
2/20/99 Cool Thing Completely unexpected. Funny, fast, laugh with the gays, not at them (a la Birdcage). 4 stars
2/19/99 Bruce Hedge GREAT Australian movie- totally different from anything you've seen before! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1994 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1994 (M)


Directed by
  Stephan Elliott

Written by
  Stephan Elliott

Cast
  Hugo Weaving
  Guy Pearce
  Terence Stamp
  Bill Hunter
  Alan Dargin
  Rebel Russell



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast