More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.13

Awesome50%
Worth A Look: 31.25%
Average: 7.81%
Pretty Bad: 3.91%
Total Crap: 7.03%

4 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Gentlemen, The by Peter Sobczynski

Chiwawa by Jay Seaver

Joker by Rob Gonsalves

Dreamland (2019) by Jay Seaver

Hit-and-Run Squad by Jay Seaver

Shoot to Kill by Jack Sommersby

Day of the Jackal, The by Jack Sommersby

Weathering With You by Jay Seaver

Wonderland, The by Jay Seaver

Crypto by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Clueless
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Supercute remake of Jane Austen's 'Emma'"
4 stars

Alicia Silverstones leads as the well meaning but clueless heroine in this modern interpretation of Jane Austen's novel, Emma.

Cher, played by Alicia Silverstone, she of the bitten lip, lives in the tony city of Beverly Hills in some super posh digs. Her concept of how the world works is summed up in the line, "Why learn how to parallell park when everywhere you go has Valet Parking."

She has an ex-step-brother, Josh (Paul Rudd), who is a law student, generally PC kind of guy, intellectual, idealistic who acts as the foil to Cher's rather limited conception of the world.

This, however, is a love story, not a moral tale.

The growth of the love story centers around Cher's attention to a new student, Tai, who is not from the shallow, yet monied background that Cher is from.
Cher wants to turn tai from geek to chic and introduce Tai to the privelege of prowling with the sophisticated, popular crowd. Of course, there are clothes to be bought, rules to learn, words to use, etc.

Things get wacky when Tai goes for the guy she wants naturally but is deemed "unacceptable" by the code of popularity that Cher acts as guardian of. All the while Josh looks on that pathetic, vain, shallow and utterly selfish efforts of Cher from his high moral ground. But he too, gets sucked in to Cher's ineffible, innocent, charm.

There are many sub-adventures and hilarity. Cher falls for a guy that everyone but her can see is gay. Jane Austen did not write about gay folks. But this is all just another step to her realizing that the person she is falling in love with is her ex-step-brother.

She grows up a little bit, Cher and Josh discover their attraction to each other, and the movie ends with the promise of what comes next for them. Even if she's 15 and he's in college. And her dad doesn't seem to mind.

This movie is super cute. Its full of fun outfits. The same designer designed the clothes for Romy and Michelle's High School Reunion. The story itself is sound and there is some wisdom underneath all the foppery. The characters are pleasing to the eye, the dialogue engaging, all the subplots are charming.

This is a bubble-gum movie with flavor that lasts and lasts. It carefully hides its substance much the same way Cher's substance is clouded by her apparent shallowness, which it turns out is more lack of self-knowledge or a wider perspective (a clue) than it is her natural disposition.

Lots of funny scenes, endearing moments. If you like cute love stories that find a way into your romantic sentimentality, you'll like this movie.

I can't say it enough. This movie is cute, cute, cute. Whats good for you in an easily digestible form. Fun outfits, charming characters, cutesy feeling good scenes. Read "Emma" or watch the Paltrow version just before or after if you want to see how it translates Jane Austen into the 90's.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1531&reviewer=67
originally posted: 07/13/99 08:51:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/03/18 Suzanne Who knew his would be the apex for Alicia and Brittany? 4 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell dated but fun 4 stars
11/05/15 David Hollingsworth Still ahead of its time 5 stars
11/11/12 unknown very funny 4 stars
11/10/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE, WITTY COMEDY WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
8/27/10 Boyd Definitive 90s teen comedy, insanely quotable; a true classic! 5 stars
4/24/10 doremimi Fun movie. By the way, Muskewitz, Dionne is played by Stacey Dash, not Rachel True. 4 stars
10/19/09 The Lurchprong Splitter Modernization of "Emma" works better than supposed non-modernization w/ Gwyneth Paltrow. 4 stars
10/09/09 Jeff Wilder Doesn't hold together as a movie. But has heart and some great lines. 3 stars
7/23/09 Cal Loved it when it first came out, LOVE it 14 years later. Truly a brilliant take on "Emma" 5 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. i wonder if jane austen would have liked this. 4 stars
6/28/07 gr117 I'm butt-crazy in love with this movie. /quote whore 5 stars
5/06/07 mb An empty headed movie for American teens to aspire to, which many do. 2 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca A lot of fun. Classic high school comedy. 4 stars
2/03/07 David Pollastrini Alicia looks hot in this movie! 4 stars
10/06/06 Jay is not good 1 stars
5/06/06 dionwr Wonderful re-do of Austen 4 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Sorry, I dug it. A lot. 4 stars
5/02/06 William Goss Like, totally! 3 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius As if. 2 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH the version you HAVE seen 4 stars
4/02/06 JRE funny 4 stars
11/25/05 cr a great teeny bopper and sexy alisa sliverstone, fun and entertaining 3 stars
5/03/05 Indrid Cold OK, but it's popularity has mainly to do with AS's charisma. 3 stars
3/22/05 jessica this is the best movie and has awsome clothes!!!! "you a virgin and you cant drive!" 5 stars
3/13/05 Ronin As much as I despise teen flicks I really liked clueless. Greg you are blind dude. 4 stars
3/08/05 Holly MIller I love it 5 stars
2/17/05 Daveman The film, fittingly enough, is more than meets the eye, one of the best of its kind. 4 stars
12/06/04 Grace Elizabeth Worth A very entertaining film however room for improvement 3 stars
10/24/04 Sammie J yea Yea !!!!!! Dis film rocks mi socks !!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Clever and sweet; one of the best teen movies ever 5 stars
6/05/04 Dean Rapp Not bad 4 stars
5/03/04 Franky this is the best movie my boyfriend and i just luv it 5 stars
4/22/04 sylvia awesome 5 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody I can't believe that Cher n' co are meant to be 15! Jeezus - very funny-Paul Rudd rocks! 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel Silly, but in a good way... 3 stars
11/23/03 k LOVE IT 5 stars
10/13/03 Nikki Nelson GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
9/21/03 Darryl VERY funny movie! Shame that Alicia's career has gone downhill ever since. 4 stars
9/11/03 SUck My Balls you are a homosexual!!! fucin faggg 5 stars
8/11/03 Nicole One of my guilty pleasures 4 stars
7/23/03 Jovan This was one of the funniest and coolest movies Ive ever seen 5 stars
7/17/03 Emily I know every line in the movie!This is truely how the early 90's will be remembered! 5 stars
7/08/03 laura just an averaage teen movie with out any real change or any real dialogue 3 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby The satire stuff is tired, but its got heart and a sensational Silverstone. 4 stars
3/04/03 Clint awesome 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Best Teen Film. Ever. 5 stars
10/09/02 marta i loved this movie it was awsome and the part with JOSH KISSING CHER omgggggg 5 stars
7/22/02 Guy Fagerton This is my favorite movie ever! And I'm a guy! No, I'm not a homosexual. Fuck you, asshole! 5 stars
7/10/02 R.W. Welch Incisively scripted for a teen flick; engaging performances. 4 stars
7/07/02 hilarydsur awesome 5 stars
5/27/02 Nicole Great low-brow humor 4 stars
5/15/02 Blake This movie was a real good chick flick. 5 stars
4/30/02 CAT This is a fuckin great film, and its more of a teen film then a chick flick.. 5 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia The vernacular's nowhere near a hilarious as they seem to think it is. 3 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden Beyond What You'd Think A Chick Flick Could Hold As Being Annoying. 2 stars
11/24/01 tennille this is a great movie and i am glad to have studied it at school 5 stars
11/16/01 John Much better than I expected 5 stars
10/22/01 Tam Sets the standard for bubblegum teen-comedies. Very memorable. 5 stars
9/06/01 Gary Occasionally way too perky, but this remains a funny and always enjoyable modern comedy. 4 stars
9/04/01 Henry Ginsberg Oh good,i'm not the only persion here who liked this film. 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Thankfully remained high spirited, unlike Fast Times at Ridgemont High. 5 stars
4/25/01 Rachel Toler whatEVER if you didn't like this movie...quotable, made my parents laugh, good tunes(bowie) 5 stars
3/31/01 4 Skin One of the most wonderfully lighthearted movies ever. Alicia is perfection. =^) 5 stars
3/13/01 Kari Lee Nothing could be better than valley-girl idocy with a twist of charity. 5 stars
2/16/01 Jake Rudd was cool. Freeway scene was funny 5 stars
2/05/01 Ciara I really, really admire Cher not just for her sense of style but for her attitude! 5 stars
1/03/01 Jacqueline it was a really cute movies with a good plot 5 stars
11/27/00 hk truly captures the "valley girl" air 4 stars
11/05/00 Jon I thought it would suck but it blew me away... a great high school fantisy movie :-) 5 stars
11/02/00 stardust it was k 4 stars
10/22/00 Jed I have to agree with steve layne-sorry. 2 stars
9/20/00 Greg N. Weinstein Kinda funny... 3 stars
7/19/00 Tandi funny 5 stars
6/26/00 Baldwin One of best written movies in years. Alicia is sensationally beautiful and talented. Wow 5 stars
5/21/00 mellemel I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. 5 stars
4/08/00 Gremlin As hot as she is, Alicia Silverstone could not save this asswhip of a movie 1 stars
3/27/00 Lollie brilliantly funny and charming 5 stars
3/19/00 Lame-Oh better than that putrid Jawbreaker movie 5 stars
2/17/00 Bozo Kyle, you're a genius-these arseholes don't know what they're talking about 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Pleasant surprise. They were SUPPOSED to be shallow & self-absorbed; DUH!!!! 5 stars
2/06/00 Steve Layne One of the most overrated movies of the 90's 2 stars
12/10/99 Paull Better then what I thought it would be. A funny movie for today, not another teen flick 4 stars
12/07/99 jill broderick alicia is dazzling; the Emma of the 90's 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Surprisingly okay, well it beats her other trash by a long way at least. 4 stars
10/08/99 bec best movie ever! 5 stars
10/07/99 Anne Morrissey This film is so cool!! If you feel like watching something totally predictable, watch this 5 stars
10/07/99 Amanda I loved the movie! It was a ton of fun and portrayed the teens of today. 5 stars
8/22/99 sugarstar cult teen flick 5 stars
8/11/99 Japtalian Great teenager flick. Love that Stacy Dash! 5 stars
7/24/99 Larry Flynt Alicia's such a babe. I want to hose her right now!!!! 5 stars
7/07/99 Duck Not too bad.... 3 stars
4/16/99 Brad I couldn't sit though all the way. it was so bad I had to take breaks. 1 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson pretty funny, kinda dumb 4 stars
4/12/99 Jennifer Brown Paul Rudd is so cute!!!!! 5 stars
4/12/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Pretty good, until the end. Not your average dumbed down high school flick 5 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder Alicia Silverstone's only good movie. Very witty and smartly written. 5 stars
4/08/99 Daun Harner This movie is totally rockin'!!! 5 stars
4/07/99 Michael Grimm pretty good 4 stars
3/18/99 AMANDA I LOVE IT! 5 stars
3/10/99 Ah Dooey Loved the movie and the TV series. Hilarious indeed. 5 stars
3/06/99 Mike Rotch Truly awesome! 5 stars
1/28/99 donkey_dew Very, very funny. 5 stars
1/26/99 {{{OZ}}} Avoided seeing this for a long time... but it was damn funny. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Jul-1995 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Aug-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Sep-1995 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast