More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome47.06%
Worth A Look: 2.94%
Average: 5.88%
Pretty Bad: 5.88%
Total Crap: 38.24%

1 review, 28 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Godzilla 1985
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"'Maybe it's nature's way of telling us...' *BLURGH* Shut up, Ray!"
1 stars

Back in the 50's, the huge Japanese hit Gojira was released for an American audience under the name Godzilla. In order to make the film palatable for Americans (who surely don't really need such mollycoddling), Raymond Burr was edited into the film as an American newsman in a few tacked on scenes designed to give the film star-power.

Decades later, for some reason the producers of Godzilla 1985 decided to bring Burr back for another outing, and the results are as ordinary as in the first effort.

So far as Godzilla movies go, this is fairly tame fare. No sign of Gamera or Mothra or Mechzilla or any of the other monsters that have tested themsleves on Godzilla over the last forty years. All we have is Godzilla, and experimental jet and a couple of moronic US jarheads.

Burr serves no other purpose than lecture us on being a big bad world hellbent on messing with nature, the effects are as staged and cheap as ever, the story is a study in lameness, the acting stony.

Usually Godzilla films run this path of mediocrity yet still manage to make you smile, if not feel sorry for the beast who is wrongly feared by man. In this story, the entire thing seems just an excuse to kill Godzilla off. He's just a clumsy oaf who's rampaging through Tokyo for no reason, being chased by clueless army folks.

It seems the Asian cut of this film has no sign of Raymond Burr, not to mention the Dr Pepper product placement overkill, so perhaps it's wise to track that version down as neither have any real reason to be in this film.

Like it's recent redeux, Godzilla 1985 is a total and utter waste of time, even on video. A pointless exercise that will leave you worse off for having seen it.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1546&reviewer=1
originally posted: 01/26/99 22:05:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/16/15 Tash2555 One of the BEST! 5 stars
11/06/10 Sugarfoot Disappointingly dull entry. 1 stars
7/03/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess When do you think both versions will be realesed on DVD? 4 stars
2/24/08 Dave This movie IS the 1980's 5 stars
2/02/07 tye scalf this is the greatest film ever how drare you saying bad about the art of this film 5 stars
11/23/06 Billy Backstabber I LOVE Godzilla, and loathe this one. Only the american hack job is worse from all theflix 1 stars
7/24/05 Kieran Friend Godzilla The World's International Movie Monster is Back! 5 stars
7/05/05 Matt Sutton Hail To The King Of The Monsters 5 stars
6/07/05 Mark Radburn Grow up people and Critics, Godzilla is Back, Bigger and much Better than ever 5 stars
4/01/05 Luke Blackadder Wow is all you have to say kim, nice choice words dumb shit, Godzilla 1985 rocks 5 stars
12/05/04 Km Pbl wow is all i have to say 2 stars
11/20/04 Mark Godzilla 1985 is better than King Kong Lives 5 stars
8/06/04 Pat Decent. 2 stars
6/16/04 franknutz ok movie but good thing it was made or else it all could have just stopped with terror 5 stars
2/19/04 jack decker This movie is da bomb if you think it sucks you are officialy my enemy 5 stars
10/19/03 MAHACKAMAMAIME BORF 5 stars
8/08/03 3man Absolutely horrible 1 stars
6/23/03 Jack Sommersby Fucking enough of this cheesy-looking cinematic dogshit! 1 stars
6/09/03 Christian Harding Bad, but not as bad as F**kzilla. 3 stars
4/01/03 Godzillafan54 this movie kicked ass! I cried when i saw this when i was a kid because i thought he died! 5 stars
1/01/03 Sam Morrison -3 1/2 Stars!! ABSOLUTE Filmic THIEVARY, of the ORIGINAL 1954 Godzilla, CLASSIC!! 1 stars
10/22/02 andy farkas godzilla viva godzilla (ms maybe) stop that train I want to find godzilla... ((BUS))? 5 stars
1/04/02 Andrew Carden A Rare Godzilla Film In Which About Everything Goes Right. 5 stars
11/06/01 Driver One of the few 'zilla films that's suspenseful and not just a slugfest 5 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Lots of errors in this movie. Looks like a bad editing job...done by a high-school student. 1 stars
3/08/00 David Rogers This is the best Godzilla movie, not to metion the best movie ever. 5 stars
5/13/99 ras_jose@yahoo.com the close-up on Burrs' face is SCAREY! 3 stars
3/13/99 Ah Dooey I think I miss the Japanese. No, seriously, I mean it. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Aug-1985 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1986 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast