More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.49

Awesome: 24.66%
Worth A Look: 26.03%
Average34.25%
Pretty Bad: 4.11%
Total Crap: 10.96%

8 reviews, 25 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Anywhere but Here
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Promise unfulfilled, but don't blame the leads."
3 stars

Portman=perfection. Sarandon=perfection. Script=abomination. Well, two out of three ain't a bad start. If the words "chick flick" have you runnning for the exits, you might want to use the search link above and find Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo. Now that the guys who think Bruce Willis is a great actor are gone, let's get on with the review. Good stuff. You have two of the best actresses this coming decade will ever set eyes upon and they're both given ample room by the filmmakers to just show it. Unfortunately, that's a one-two punch that the script has a lot of trouble following up.

Sarandon is a smalltown mom with stars in her eyes. She's going to move out to Beverly Hills with her daughter, where said daughter will be an actress and rich dentists will sweep her off her feet. Now, you know and I know, and quite frankly her daughter knows, that this ain't gonna happen. At least not all of it. Cue much mother/daughter jousting as the straight thinking but hen-pecked Portman weeps and weaves her way through the K-Mart wearing mom's lame viewpoint on family life.

Where does Anywhere But Here come unstuck? Well, just as Susan Sarandon's character makes a big deal about where she's going and inevitably finds that when she gets there nothing has changed, this film does the exact same thing. Nothing is achieved, nothing is changed, we just live through the drudgery, get to watch two acclaimed gals of film giving their all and in the end we wonder why it didn't go either all out teary or all out funny.

Not an awful movie at all, but perhaps it should have been. By the leads clawing back some dignity for the piece, it kind of serves to remind you just how good this tearjerker could have been had they really turned on the waterworks. Take a date.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1550&reviewer=1
originally posted: 02/13/00 16:29:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/08/10 PAUL SHORTT POOR, OLD-FASHIONED COMEDY-DRAMA 1 stars
11/03/04 Dinulinuu I loved this movie, and the way natalie portman and that boy hug in the end is fantastic 5 stars
8/11/03 I Would Makes you wonder if the director ever was a teenager. 2 stars
7/08/03 Zelemont Flawless acting by Portman and Sarandon, but flawed script. Still, Portman rules. 4 stars
6/15/03 Jack Sommersby Sharply written, sensitively directed, anf flawlessly acted. One of 1999's 10-best. 5 stars
1/28/03 Jon C. Ericson Natalie Portman denied the Golden Globe due to name value ( Jolie (Voight)) 4 stars
11/28/02 Kelli Weston Great movie, made me cry 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Where was Natalie Portman's Oscar nod? 4 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick movie of the week-type nonsense. 2 stars
8/29/01 Gary Portman and Sarandon bode well in this slushy, run-of-the-mill, mechanical drama. 2 stars
8/24/01 eka saputra awesome, natalie is great 5 stars
6/26/01 Tzila Seewald CUTE! 4 stars
5/21/01 tnt a good movie....fabulous performances....a little slow at times 3 stars
3/27/01 so and so it was really good 5 stars
2/11/01 kwekwak a great movie! natalie portman is cool! 5 stars
6/08/00 Cole Jennett Natalie Portman is the reason I went to see this movie, but I would have liked it anyway. 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman mr.showbiz tells it like it is.(see below) i liked it. 4 stars
2/02/00 Joel Harwood Well i have seen it now and they cut things from it that were in the preview 4 stars
1/07/00 Joel Harwood WHAT A FILM 5 stars
11/30/99 Ryan Phillipe gets hit by a car and it Rules!!! Hello I am Mr. Sensitive 90's movie. Let me into your house for dinner so you can get laid. 5 stars
11/18/99 The Furtive Ventriliquist Gawd, do I ever want that Portman! 5 stars
11/15/99 John This movie is great....Natalie Portman is amazing. 5 stars
11/14/99 Jonathan Pinkerton The only way this movie is snubbed for Oscars, is if the Acedemy is blind 5 stars
11/14/99 K. Amidala Sarandon is always good & Portman is a surprise, but stay the fuck away from this movie 1 stars
11/14/99 MrShowbiz Familiar tale of mother-daughter bonding doesn't break much new ground. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Nov-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Feb-2000 (PG)


Directed by
  Wayne Wang

Written by
  Alvin Sargent
  Mona Simpson

Cast
  Natalie Portman
  Hart Bochner
  Bonnie Bodelia
  Ashley Johnson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast