More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.33

Awesome: 23.91%
Worth A Look: 26.09%
Average: 13.04%
Pretty Bad32.61%
Total Crap: 4.35%

3 reviews, 28 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Wild Goose Lake, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Things to Do in Denver when You're Dead
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Can Garcia play any other kind of character? Does he need to?"
4 stars

Jimmy The Saint is a nice guy. That's possibly why he has the nickname he has. Ya think? Well, the Saint (Andy Garcia) has gone straight. No more mob-play, he's legit. That is, until a sickly looking Godfather-type, The Man With The Plan (Christopher Walken) calls him back into play for one small job.

That small job calls for the recruitment of some old friends from back in the day. But when those old friends kind of screw up royally, the vengeful Walken decides they must pay for their transgressions. In a big way.

Jimmy can walk away from it all, but he's got a new girl - *the* girl - and his nice-guy nature means he thinks primarily of anyone and everyone else before himself. Oh-oh.

Let it be said, this movie isn't a piece of shit. Andy Garcia is smooth in every role he plays, but here he's the mackest of daddys. Walken is funny, though not quite intentionally so. The other cast are all perfect for their roles.. with one bonus..

THE RETURN OF RADIO RAHIM!!! That's right, baby. The greatest character of all time, Do The Right Thing's Radio Rahim is back. Well not Rahim himself, but the actor who plays him. In itself, this is enough for me to get a woody for this film.

On the downside, there's Steve Buscemi too. Yeah, Buscemi. He's playing the king of all assassins, although he's playing him really badly. It's the one downside of what's a mostly intriguing flick.

I never looked away for a minute... when Buscemi was off-screen anyway. Go see.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1578&reviewer=1
originally posted: 02/20/99 12:45:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell overrated imo sorry 1 stars
9/24/15 mr.mike I found it to be worth watching on YouTube. 3 stars
5/05/14 Concern A simple metaphore eloquently explored. Thematically engaging. Pay attention! 5 stars
1/28/14 NotBrickTamland Clever dialogue, cool nicknames & story 5 stars
3/01/11 PAUL SHORTT VIOLENT BUT INTERESTING AND STYLISH 3 stars
10/19/04 Daniel Cecil Brilliant modern film noir. The language is worthy of Shakespeare on the skids. 5 stars
8/16/04 Odessa Excellent, Andy Garcia is great!!! 5 stars
4/06/04 Agent Sands Yes, please stop the Tarantino shit. But, either way, this is deeply flawed but enjoyable. 3 stars
9/29/03 JC A very special movie with deep meanings and again Andy Garcia gave a wonderful performance 5 stars
8/24/03 Mike The characters have character. 5 stars
5/22/03 carrie saw this when it came out and loved it 4 stars
4/19/03 Doug Nicely acted and on the bizarre side but interesting 4 stars
1/13/03 Stevo A bit schlocky but entertaing with pretty memorable characters 4 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Derivative but colorfully entertaining. Garcia is aces! 4 stars
12/28/02 fg fgfgg 5 stars
11/25/02 Charles Tatum Overblown hooha 1 stars
10/22/02 not needed Nice language 5 stars
7/06/02 Marko Lazarevic Great versatile movie. Not just another ganster movie. 5 stars
2/12/02 Monday Morning The blackest of comedies, which is fine with me. GREAT characters. 5 stars
5/31/01 BrainPan Any movie with a BHTM song is ok by me. Too bad is was . . . 3 stars
3/14/01 The Bomb 69 I liked it, Buscemi's character was not believable though 4 stars
2/25/01 jeroen Just look for the tatoos on Forsythe, 2thumbs up for make up. 3 stars
2/09/01 Bodhi What Tarantino might be like if he had a heart.Mr.Ssh.Cool... 4 stars
7/07/00 Terrie Smith About as exciting as root canal work; Walken as slimy as ever. Buscemi good as "Mr. Shhh". 2 stars
11/07/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster I'd imagine a trip to the cemetery would be near the top of the list , great review Hawkboy 2 stars
4/25/99 mkitterman Your reputation far excedes your skills, Mammy Rammer! 5 stars
3/08/99 Ben Timms Great Cameo from Jenny McCarthy--well, not really, but it's the most interesting thing you 3 stars
2/18/99 Bishop more writers sucking Tarantino's cock. this sucked. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Dec-1995 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1996 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast