More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.07

Awesome51.14%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 11.36%
Pretty Bad: 4.55%
Total Crap: 7.95%

2 reviews, 76 user ratings


Latest Reviews

One Child Nation (aka Born in China) by Jay Seaver

Kingdom (2019) by Jay Seaver

Chained for Life by Rob Gonsalves

Ready or Not by Peter Sobczynski

Nightingale, The by Jay Seaver

Line Walker 2: Invisible Spy by Jay Seaver

Death of Dick Long, The by Jay Seaver

Blinded By the Light by Lybarger

Blinded By the Light by Peter Sobczynski

Good Boys by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Rocky Horror Picture Show, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Derek

"A cult icon dead and gone - more's the pity."
3 stars

During my senior year of college, the only theatre nearby still showing ROCKY HORROR at midnight every saturday ceased to do so.

Of course, this is pretty much what happened to the ultimate cult movie all over the country at that time. It now seems like a hell of a long time ago that there were raucous gatherings at theatres of garishly made-up and costumed young people throwing rice, singing, doing the time warp, acting out the parts in the movie in front of the screen, and causing older generations to wonder if the world was going to hell in a handbasket. If it all seems pretty quaint nowadays...I guess it should.

What's ROCKY HORROR itself about? To be honest, I couldn't really tell ya, even though I saw it several times. It was sort of a musical spoof on the old haunted-castle type of horror movie. You know, "Oh, a flat tire. Where are we? Well, maybe we can use the phone at that old scary-looking castle." It was campy as hell; in fact, I think it may have been the subject that the word 'campy' was invented to define. The later sections of the movie get so tripped out and weird that I usually just chalked it up to a full descent into surrealism. Of course, by that time of night I was usually getting groggy; it was 2am or so. Plus, I always had sucked up a decent amount of secondhand pot smoke, so that may have contributed to my haziness as well.

The cast is a point of historical interest. The young couple with the flat were played by Barry Bostwick and Susan Sarandon. Barry Bostwick is now better known as the Mayor on "Spin City," and Susan Sarandon is now well known as Susan Sarandon. Then there's Tim Curry, who unforgettably played Dr. Frank N. Furter, the leader of the wildly costumed clan who inhabited the castle. He turns up from time to time in various movies and TV shows; some people recognize him as the guy behind the desk at the Plaza Hotel in HOME ALONE 2, the one in New York. But to those of us old enough to know, he will never be anything but, as his song goes, a "Sweet transvetite/Transsexual from/Transylvaniaaaa huh-ha!" Also in the cast was Meat Loaf, whose entrance crashing through a bathroom wall was celebrated in the audience by a cascade of thrown toilet paper rolls.

The audience participation was the real entertainment. There was a pretty kickin' 70s rock score to the show, written by Richard O'Brien (who appears in the movie in the role of Riffraff). In fact, the best soundtrack available of the movie was one that was recorded live in New York, which included the audience's lines. The lines that the audience would yell at the screen changed over time, to fit current events.

Of course, the audience's lines were funnier than any of the lines in the movie itself. Some were just simple insults (Brad and Janet, the young couple, were respectively referred to by the crowd as "Asshole" and "Slut"), and others were clever plays on the words or actions of the characters (MAGENTA: "He's happy, she's happy, [straddles the bannister and slides down] we're all happy! CROWD: THE BANNISTER'S HAPPY!!!). The sung line, "There's a light..." was the cue for a sea of cigarette lighters to be flicked and held aloft. At the dinner table scene, Frank's line "I propose - a toast!" was the precursor to a hail of pieces of toast thrown in the theatre. Maybe it seems like a dumb joke, but the sight of that much flying bread is pretty impressive.

A few years after the ROCKY HORROR culture was dead, I visited a friend at her home in Switzerland. She had been with us in California for one of our fully-costumed ROCKY HORROR outings, and had always told her parents about it. Next thing I knew, these parents of hers who didn't speak any English, plunked me down in front of their TV and fired up ROCKY HORROR in the VCR. It made me sad, and worse yet, I couldn't communicate that this wasn't the kind of movie you could appreciate on video. I ended up claiming jetlag. I sure as hell wasn't going to yell "Asshole!" at the screen in these nice people's house.

Sometime, someone will probably stage a big ROCKY HORROR reunion and get a big crowd. I might even go, at the risk of seeming old.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1616&reviewer=71
originally posted: 02/26/99 11:47:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/24/17 Louise It's BRILLO! 5 stars
2/09/12 stanley welles if you ever want to torture me, make me watch this again 1 stars
7/11/10 art A DRUG-ADDICT"S FILM,if there ever was ONE! 1 stars
4/18/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY, FLAT AND OUTRAGEOUS 2 stars
1/22/10 art THIS 'MOVIE" IS FOR SICKO"S! 1 stars
10/19/09 auzzie chickie gotta love it! this movie will live forever, right up there with grease. All time fav! 5 stars
1/07/09 Bethany Cox One of my favourite films. Tim curry has a great voice. Lets Do The Time Warp Again! 4 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White not my cup of tea creepy cast 2 stars
2/09/07 David Pollastrini best viewed while stoned 3 stars
10/27/06 Isaac Baranoff The "cult film" in its truest form. Get your ass to the theater and do the Time Warp. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist To sum it up, RHPS IS THE GOD OF ALL CULT CLASSICS!!!! 5 stars
2/14/06 e Give yourself over to absolute pleasure. 4 stars
10/02/05 Nicole Really bizarre 4 stars
7/24/05 C Vega One of the most bizarre movies i have ever seen but still the best musical's i've seen 5 stars
6/15/05 R yeah, it IS a dumb joke. 1 stars
6/08/05 Indrid Cold Despite the look and concept, it really is a surprisingly boring movie. 3 stars
6/01/05 coy truman THE BEST MUSICAL/HORROR MOVIE EVER!! 5 stars
4/01/05 failingloser this movie owns 5 stars
2/17/05 Daveman Sags after the first hour, but its unabashed decadence is irresistable, so bad yet so good. 4 stars
12/02/04 Green Gremlin The best B-grade film ever made !!! 5 stars
6/08/04 Ryan Clark Loses impact after so many viewings, but still a lot of fun and an immortal midnight movie. 4 stars
5/26/04 Lord Durvok 2 "Let's do the time warp again!!" 5 stars
4/14/04 Janet Wiise I love the movie, anyone who doesnt is just to simple minded to understand and it 5 stars
1/25/04 Elena This film just takes a dump on all moral or societal standards. That's why it rules. 5 stars
11/21/03 DM Deliciously demented, what a wonderful midnight movie 4 stars
9/28/03 Kyle Saw it 20+ times at the "midnight movie" as a teen. Let's do the timewarp again! Yeah agai 5 stars
7/24/03 Kit It's lasted all these years with an ever growing audience..and what's not to love about it? 5 stars
6/18/03 jim this movie is so goddamn ridicuously stupid i cant beleive it 2 stars
2/19/03 Morgan My Favorite Movie, a true classic 5 stars
11/05/02 Daniel Worth seeing if only for the "Sweet Transvestite" number! 4 stars
10/24/02 em the most clever movie of all time! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Geez, Tim Curry, what the hell happened to you? 4 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi t-t-t-t-t-t-t-touch me! 4 stars
4/04/02 cat What the Hell?! I'm surprised Susan Sarandon't career took off after this...what??? 2 stars
3/13/02 Meaghan Scott this is my favorite movie, i'm glad to see you like it too!!! 4 stars
3/04/02 Frances Lets do the timewarp again... 5 stars
12/30/01 sarafina rape my goat and call me sally 5 stars
12/08/01 Sara Randell this movie is absolutely fabulous.. it pokes fun at all B movies, all sci-fi movies :) 5 stars
11/25/01 viking the greatest schlock film ever made !!!! 5 stars
11/07/01 Cera (the biggest RHPS fan) this is the best most original movie ever created-i want to marry franknfurter 5 stars
11/06/01 Missy Walks Let yourself go, and play- that's how I've come to love RHPS 4 stars
10/29/01 Gary Very weak narrative, but a lot of fun with great performances (esp. Tim Curry). 3 stars
9/30/01 Mohammad J. Let there be lips 5 stars
9/20/01 Butterbean Dr. Frankenfurtur kicks ass! The movie is a riot up to the shitty ending. 4 stars
8/18/01 Dakamus As Francis Ottoman says... "Gayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy." 1 stars
8/01/01 Vixor the best cult classic- Dr. Frank kicks ass 5 stars
7/21/01 Hawkeye Think MST3K on crack and accompanied by a heaping dose of transsexuality. 5 stars
6/30/01 Marijan Srdic Its VERY VERY ORIGINAL! 4 stars
5/26/01 stop-the-rock Total B.S., you got to be into "alternative lifestyle" to like this f@#$** up movie 1 stars
5/10/01 J Sadly its not THE BEST CULT CLASSIC but its pretty close. 4 stars
5/09/01 Lovesushi Kitsch, Kamp, Kicks ass!! 5 stars
4/30/01 Steph Williams EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!! Is even better when u dress up! 5 stars
4/25/01 viking you've obviously missed the point, Rex Chou. This is the BEST camp film ever made !!! 5 stars
3/17/01 Rex Chou SUCKED 1 stars
3/16/01 GeorgE McCaul wonderful movie, wonderful cast, wonderful experience in the theatre or at home 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Fun and campy 5 stars
2/14/01 Frank-n-Fresno "Maddness takes its toll.." Ohhhh ROCKY!!!! 5 stars
1/16/01 Aurora 26 years and we are still "corrupting" people. (We turned a mormon last week) 5 stars
10/24/00 Rebecca Swope Great Movie, especially in the theaters! Worth seeing every Halloween! 5 stars
9/17/00 JAKE This is the absolute best movie.... youll never get sick of this one. 5 stars
7/10/00 **~**Persnickety**~** This movie will never die, NOTHING will ever out do this movie! long live Rocky Horror! 5 stars
6/08/00 Michael Stypulkoski Rocky Horror is the greatest musical ever! 5 stars
4/24/00 Ryan OK... this is the BEST film... TIM CURRY is yummy... 5 stars
3/25/00 TJ St John LET'S DO THE TIMEWARP AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/11/00 Amy This is truly a movie to go see with friends to get a taste of the "flip side." 4 stars
1/05/00 Luke Reasor I think that this is one of the coolest movies ive ever seen in my whole life!! 5 stars
12/17/99 Fenris Tim Curry and Susan Sarandon will never live this down. 5 stars
11/01/99 Patricia DeLeeuw Best movie I've seen!! I highly reccommend it!! 5 stars
10/30/99 leslie the best movie yet...tim curry is the best!! 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Lots of fun, and great songs. My favorite is the nostalgic Science Fiction, Double Feature. 4 stars
10/01/99 Lisa Gooding Great fun!! 5 stars
8/15/99 Mana what's not to love about RHPS, everyone should see Shock Treatment too, almost as good! 5 stars
7/17/99 soccer_mum Lets do the time warp again......and again. Should be seen at a midnight show! Classic! 5 stars
3/13/99 jennifer newsome one of the best movies of all time, this is a must see for all!!! 5 stars
3/07/99 CYaniDERuSH the best musical of all time(it was origonally) one of my faves 5 stars
2/20/99 Kooky Sal Considering this was a 70's movie, it was pretty damn open minded, but it ain't all that. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Sep-1975 (R)
  DVD: 05-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1976 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast