More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.72

Awesome: 11.99%
Worth A Look: 22.6%
Average: 20.55%
Pretty Bad: 15.41%
Total Crap29.45%

13 reviews, 214 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Luxor by Peter Sobczynski

Wander by Peter Sobczynski

Love, Weddings & Other Disasters by Peter Sobczynski

Black Bear by Peter Sobczynski

Poison Rose, The by Jack Sommersby

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom by Jay Seaver

Fat Man and Little Boy by Jack Sommersby

Harry & Son by Jack Sommersby

Shattered by Jack Sommersby

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Mission: Impossible 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Utter wankery, but pretty wankery."
1 stars

Yep, the bells and whistles are out in force in MI2. Tom Cruise has unleashed the world's biggest vanity project on the people of the world and the punters have lined up six deep to make it pay off. But is MI2 worth the cash or is it unadulterated stupidity? Well that depends on your outlook. If you look at this as a film, it's one of the stinkier exercises into brain damage via celluloid that you'll ever see. But if you look at it purely as a movie (as opposed to a film), then you might find a couple of chuckles keeping your from leaving early.

Perhaps the most startling thing about MI2 is just how low script legend Robert Towne has sunk and just how chauvanistic the old fella has become. Actually, he was always a woman-hater, but some of the dialogue in this thing is just icky, treating women like absolute scum. Thandie Newton's role is underdone to the point of still-frozen, she's relegated to "down-the-cleavage" shots and doe-eyed longing after Tom. Or anyone who looks at her, it would seem. But the dialogue of some of the other characters ("all she has to do is sleep with a man and lie. She's a woman. She's qualified.") is the kind of stuff that would see you fired from your job. Somehow, Cruise, his producer Paula Wagner and director John Woo didn't see this before they went to shoot. How could this happen? Well, they started shooting with no script to speak of, that's how. And Woo barely speaks English anyway. I'm waiting for the time when someone submits a shopping list to Woo and he sets it to a grinding techno beat riddled bullet ballet.

Chow Yun Fat: Buy 2lbs of ground beef! (Fires gun and backflips)
Chris Tucker: Say what?
Chow Yun Fat: Paul Newman's Salad Dressing! (Defuses bomb with toes)
Chris Tucker: O....k.
Chow Yun Fat: Porks chops and apple sauce! (has sex with three women)

Most action flicks don't depend too heavily on script and you shrug and avoid them. This one had the man behind Chinatown scripting it! Robert fucking Towne! What gives?! In fact, this film is full of big name people who do nothing more than stay awake. Why use Brendan Gleeson, a fine, talented actor, in a role as boring and useless as this one, an evil businessman planning to release a virus on the public for profit? He has about eight lines in the film, is never portrayed as anything more than a businessman who could lose some pounds, and frankly I could have pulled this role off myself. Ditto Anthony Hopkins. Did they really need to spend $3m to get Anthony Hopkins to appear for two 20 second scenes? Could they not have used Tony Randall and not have affected ticket sales by one dollar? Did the fact Thandie Newton was in the movie make anyone in the entire world decide to see this film? No. So why use such an accomplished actress in a role so devoid of anything remotely requiring acting ability? For the love of God, all they needed was some bimbo with big cans to fill these shoes. Or cups. Don't get me wrong, I love a boob as much as the next lad, but there's a time and place for 'down-shirt' shots, and it's not in the opening sequence of a $120m movie.

And then there's the Australians. Two steps forward, one step back. Jon Polson, the helicopter pilot Billy Baird, plays the kind of hapless unfunny Australian we see in beer commercials, only not nearly as convincingly. If you're going to whore yourself out to the studio system, try not to offend your homeland in the process, eh John? The other Australian of note, Richard Roxburgh, who plays the 'Seth Efrican' henchman of Dougray Scott's evil genius, at least decides to put on a shambolic accent of another country, rather than offend his own. At least I think it was South African. It could have been Russian. Or Irish. In fact, there was a time when I seriously thought he was doing some kind of riff on Sean Connery. I dunno, I'd fallen asleep for a bit and was catching up. Don't judge me.

And that's another point. Okay, so the simpletons among us had trouble figuring out what was going on in the first Mission Impossible flick. Well fear not, kids, because you can even bring your retarded cousin to this flick and make him sit through the thing blindfolded. He'll understand what's going on from start to finish.

Retarded cousin: Wibble... Hokey dialogue. Mmmmaaa... Overt sexism. Gnnnnn... Plotholes. Pfffffft!

What cousin Petey wouldn't detect is the input of Mr John Woo into this equation. Under Woo's helming, Ethan Hunt has gone from smooth euro-techno-spy to rock-climbing martial arts superhero. He doesn't just desperately hang on to choppers anymore, now he performs stunts on motorbikes that require years of training and a hefty assortment of wires. I half expected to see Hunt climb aboard the space shuttle and fly the nasty virus test-tubes into the sun. He can do it. He can do anything. If Ving Rhames ever dies, I think Ethan Hunt will fly around the world really fast over and over until the earth starts to spin backwards and time reverses. Keep that damn Kryptonite away from him, you gormless fools!

HAving slated MI2 to the above extent, it should be said that all the signature Woo moves are present. The slo-mo action bits. The fluttering doves through walls of flame. The rolling, double-fisted pistol-play. When a gun is fired in a Woo flick, it doesn't go BANG BANG, it goes KA-CHUNK KA-CHUNK. It's the bullet as an art-form. It's power, not firepower. But it's also out of place. Mission Impossible is about trickery and technology, not raw power and flying kicks. Cruise and his cronies have lost the plot. It might as well be called Die Hard 5, rather than Mission Impossible, as there is nothing left of the original film or characters at all.

I was on the edge of my seat many times, mainly when I drifted off to sleep and slid down it. As much as a film this size is an event, the money is not on the screen, the actors sleepier than I was and the script drifts from pathetic to repulsive. Good for heckling. Not good for anything else.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1643&reviewer=1
originally posted: 06/13/00 13:29:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

1/29/19 Bob Dog My favorite of the Mission Impossible movies - - Woo! 5 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell great action 4 stars
8/26/13 DB Better than the first 4 stars
12/12/09 Jeff Wilder Better than the original or the third. Similar to Notorious. Woo's an action master. 4 stars
12/02/09 Kev If I want voice changers and fake masks I'll watch star wars - this movie was utter crap! 1 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J Crapaholic 1 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight 2 hours of John Woo wanking off 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT SEEMS SO AFRAID OF CONFUSING PEOPLE THAT IT DUMPS DOWN THE PLOT TO AN INSULTING LEVEL 1 stars
11/12/07 Chris The directing is so stupid it makes the movie funny, go home Woo. 3 stars
11/10/07 Hepe This movie sucks my brain... 1 stars
6/16/07 Sonse This movie is a cinematic fart 1 stars
6/16/07 Charles Tatum Sound and fury signifying nothing 3 stars
5/25/07 Sugarfoot Prior to this, Woo had made the mediocre Blackjack, which was way better than this 1 stars
3/09/07 johnnyfog Awful crap 1 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Good for action buffs. 3 stars
5/28/06 Sambadi Bahahahahah... retarded movie, absolutely atrocious crap, ahahah... horrible. 1 stars
5/10/06 San Lamar better than the first 4 stars
2/14/06 Anthony Feor It does not match the first one 3 stars
10/22/05 Tarheelfan The music was the GAYEST music i've ever heard!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
10/05/05 Indrid Cold Somber and poorly-paced. Still not that bad though. 3 stars
9/26/05 Jonathon Holmes so good, it almost redddms MI:1... ALMOST! 5 stars
9/06/05 ian the first movie is my all time fav. so i just about hit an old lady w/ a crowbar after this 1 stars
8/30/05 ES Woo you suck! check out the switching tires on the motor cycle scene & other worse things 1 stars
7/20/05 Chris The motorcycle scene still makes me laugh 1 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Position Impossible II far superior 1 stars
5/26/05 tony Storyline is very slow most parts. Some scenes unbeliveable. We found our speed 2 of 2000 3 stars
9/27/04 Archanist_101 It's not John Woo's fault... It's Tom Cruise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody First one was MUCH better. 1 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean First movie was better. Newton is beautiful. Action is over the top. 3 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot lighten up.its a bare-faced a action romance thing and it is visually pleasing. 4 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. WHATTHEFUCK! TOM CRUISE... YOU'RE SO UP YOURSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/10/04 Monster W. Kung So lame it's funny. Recommended for people who wanna laugh at the badness of this trash. 1 stars
12/06/03 john it's really a love story with lots of action - 5 stars
11/29/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) After the 1st half-hour it gets better, action getting less fake & plot more engrossing. 4 stars
11/01/03 Mrs Karina Fitzgerald Enjoyed in a way only Scottish people can pull off 5 stars
10/21/03 Charlie Harrington Yawn! 1 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert Very bad compared to the original movie. 2 stars
7/06/03 Jack Sommersby Better than the first, but it's still a mess. A couple of good action scenes. 2 stars
5/16/03 mr. Pink Along with Hard Target, Woo's worst film. 1 stars
4/22/03 Angolmois Not an original idea in Woo's head. Even MI 1 was better than this... 1 stars
1/17/03 RAJA SHAH amazingly mind blowing! 5 stars
11/25/02 Matt Thiel I never got the impression that the filmmakers were not even trying to make a good film! 1 stars
11/23/02 Croweater This movie takes itself WAY too seriously, its utter crap. 1 stars
9/30/02 R.W. Welch Same ol' secret agent schtick; first half too slow, finale overdone. 2 stars
8/20/02 Monster W. Kung The mere fact that this drivel got many good reviews from mainstream critics makes me puke. 1 stars
5/23/02 Piz farscical and choppy but a good action flick. straight entertainment value. 4 stars
5/21/02 The Chronic Mastubator Barf, vomit, shit on a stick...perfect adjectives for this crap and far more appealing too. 2 stars
3/01/02 Butterbean This shouldn't have been directed by John Woo. The action scenes were silly 3 stars
1/16/02 David A. This movie is just a dream. I will NEVER accept Peter Graves as a bad guy! It just ain't so 4 stars
1/10/02 Magnum Craphole Boring, predictable and totally ridiculous. Bathroom-inducingly bad. 1 stars
12/23/01 Andrew Carden Nothing Could Save This Helpless Sequel. 1 stars
12/15/01 Cracked head This 'movie' was so bad, I couldn't even finish it -- this movie PLAIN FUCKING SUCKS! 1 stars
12/12/01 Dr. Jagdish K. Sharma Good movie 4 stars
12/04/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Jon Woo as director and Limp Bizkit as theme song?! 2 stars
11/30/01 Cookie Cutter I paid attention, and I almost couldn't believe how dumb and shitty it was. 1 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 Pay attention, and you'll like it, fantastic action scenes! 4 stars
11/12/01 daniboy incredibly bad 1 stars
10/20/01 Tam Pathetic storyline, wooden acting - big disappointment. I was bored out of my brain! 1 stars
9/06/01 Butterbean Newton is beautiful, Cruise is always watchable, but the directing was a bit over the top 3 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Thandie Newton is fucking perfect, Tom Cruise is cool. 5 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat So many fake things in this movie, you can't even count 'em. 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Good John Woo film...bad Mission Impossible film. 3 stars
8/06/01 badfish Stupid!! I'm beginning to not like Cruise anymore. I'm cringing just thinking about it. 1 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones Thr first one was better, this stunk 1 stars
7/28/01 Steve It was a Woo movie, I expected unrealism, but not like this! Was still pretty fun though. 4 stars
7/28/01 Crisis Management Pathetic excuse for explosions and slow-mo fake martial arts. Plot crap. A waste of money. 1 stars
7/20/01 Rolling Thunder A ridiculous piece of trash 1 stars
7/20/01 Tom Cruise I only make intelligent people sick, Birgit I want my $3.99 pay per view back. 1 stars
7/19/01 Hobbes This is a sign of the apocolypse... 1 stars
7/15/01 Birgit TOM CRUISE DOESN´T MAKE ANYBODY SICK, CALIGULA. HE´S THE MOST WONDERFUL ACTOR IN THE WORLD 5 stars
7/08/01 Caligula TOM CRUISE MAKES ME SICK, WATCHING THIS MOVIE IS LIKE TAKING A DUMP IN SLOW MOTION, FUCK! 1 stars
6/26/01 Lars Pettersson It's good, but could have been much better! Tom Cruise & Thandie Newton are good ! 3 stars
6/22/01 Dave can you say BULLLLLLLLSHIT!! 1 stars
5/23/01 Dean How this crap made a lot of money is beyond me. It's nearly unwatchable. 1 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One cheesy as fuck 3 stars
5/01/01 Jonathan Garro Luckily they didn't need to hand you a little explanitory booklet upon entering the Theater 3 stars
4/23/01 Luke Take a look at thi 4 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung People involved in this tripe should be shot in slow motion. 1 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 One of the worst movies of the year. They must have spent five dollars on the script. 2 stars
3/06/01 Shams Huque What the hell happened to John Woo. Someone gave him a budget that was too big! 2 stars
2/15/01 jk too predictable I could ges wot woz gonna happen...boring 1 stars
2/14/01 Jake This is a movie not a film. Typical Woo. 1 stars
2/11/01 Thomas Johnsen Thrilling,superb effects,good story and a brilliant Cruise 5 stars
2/07/01 Mike Bowers the story is even more complicated then the first one, action scenes are good, story is shi 4 stars
2/03/01 Ben Stechmann For the shit movies coming out now, it is definitely worth watching 4 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Made me want to watch North by Northwest again. 3 stars
1/30/01 rubber Complete and utter fucking SHIT! John Woo & Tom Cruise should be shot! 1 stars
1/09/01 Jake Not a great film, but certainly not as bad as some have said 4 stars
1/08/01 Eric Best action scenes in years (love the motorcycle chase), M:I-2 is a lot of fun 5 stars
1/06/01 Bruce It is slow getting started but the lab shootout and the 10 minute motorcycle chase awesome 4 stars
1/05/01 GTC Shite. Takes an hour to get going, and the references to Aussie Blokes are sickening. 1 stars
12/31/00 Msitrab Better than the first 4 stars
12/25/00 mer err...yeah....no.....mmmm....it's OK 3 stars
12/16/00 Birgit The best film I´ve ever seen, Tom Cruise was (and still is) amazing :-) 5 stars
12/13/00 Mr. ZmoXz the best action movie in years... no brains, no story, just fun, fun... 5 stars
12/12/00 PhilmPhreak Didn't like it in the theater, but it works on DVD. Go figure. 4 stars
12/12/00 Amy's Bitch what the fuck is wrong with people? I laughed, I cried, I shit my pants. 1 stars
12/11/00 Y.E.S. The best action movie of the year. The motorcycle chase is a masterpiece. 5 stars
12/08/00 Arielle Nicholas 15 minutes of Story, rest of the film fighting on that stupid motor cycles. 1 stars
12/03/00 Maestro A Shit 1 stars
12/03/00 scott wahls Public enemy was right, DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE! tom? how could you?! 1 stars
11/14/00 Monday Morning Schtick a fork in it, the "action" is overdone. 3 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin To my opinion: The first one is better 3 stars
11/10/00 The Bomb 69 could see the supposed "plot twists" a mile away, I long for Hong Kong's Woo 2 stars
10/28/00 Miss Hunt THE BEST MOVIE I EVER SEEN. TOM WAS SO AMAZING. GO AND WATCH M-I2. 5 stars
10/21/00 joe the action was super 4 stars
10/08/00 The Rock Great Action. Great Fun. 5 stars
9/22/00 White Rabbit What it lacks in story it makes up for in action 4 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero watch the first MI 3 stars
9/06/00 Croweater GOD I HATE THIS MOVIE!! AWFUL AWFUL!! 1 stars
8/25/00 Eric Great action scenes, better story than the 1st M:I and one hot chick! 4 stars
7/28/00 Eran Crap,nothing but crap.(liked the line of Roman!) 1 stars
7/19/00 Goldfinger The cinematic equivalent of Chinese food- tastes good, but you're on the can all night. 2 stars
7/19/00 SuzVoy Funniest damn movie I've seen all year - so up it's on ass that you can't help but laugh 4 stars
7/18/00 John Chu the worst movie I saw this summer -- well, maybe not as bad as Battlefield earth 1 stars
7/16/00 Roman Woo you whore!!! 1 stars
7/13/00 Edzel Rubite It could be Better to be Than James Bond Movies 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley It's an above average blockbuster 4 stars
7/06/00 Marcus West After watching this crap it's clear - we aussies don't need imports to make good movies 1 stars
7/01/00 Ayesha Cross Comparied to MI1 this was fucked!!!! 1 stars
7/01/00 Overflow Bitch Gimme a break K-Dog.. You say the same thing ALL OF THE TIME !! 5 stars
6/29/00 PJ Not the best of Woo, but any Woo is better than no Woo, ending kicked ass 3 stars
6/29/00 burton miller slow, predictable, silly fight scenes - kinda like xena, warrior princess 2 stars
6/29/00 Bruce Decent enough 4 stars
6/28/00 Rue the Whirl what a steaming pile 2 stars
6/27/00 Paige Tom Cruise looks good, that's about it. 2 stars
6/26/00 Bubby Should've been titled, SH:T 2 stars
6/25/00 Purple Monster Better than the original 4 stars
6/19/00 Tim Woo by numbers. Sydney looks great but the movie was overall disappointing. 3 stars
6/14/00 AnotherAnotherReviewe Last 40 minutes didn't make up for the first hour 3 stars
6/13/00 Overflow Bitch {{{OZ}}} is such a tool. 5 stars
6/13/00 JonnyA relax 4 stars
6/13/00 PJ I still love the ARTIST John Woo, this movie had some good stuff, and alot of bad stuff 3 stars
6/13/00 bob i fell asleep, that shouldn't happen 1 stars
6/12/00 FilmStar Better than the first,,,a pretty cool movie 4 stars
6/09/00 wfo600 m.i.2 is as bad as m.i.1 is good 1 stars
6/08/00 Jim J Nonbelevable story ... but who cares lots of great action fun movie to watch very entertain 5 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez CRAP, CRAP! 1 stars
6/07/00 jimbob more people were un-masked then a bad Scooby Doo episode. Zoinks! 2 stars
6/07/00 Greg Harris I went to be entertained, and I was. Not meant to be a boring foreign film. Tom's great. 4 stars
6/07/00 MKillroy Lived up to my expectations, plenty of action 4 stars
6/07/00 Taylor It delivers what the first film should have. 4 stars
6/06/00 13th warrior stupid eye candy for teens. Woo is not an artist, Cruise loves himself. 3 stars
6/06/00 Bob Wombat CAN John Woo make a good American film? Ever? Very average stuff. 3 stars
6/04/00 natasha beautifully choreographed, well-crafted, worth the time 4 stars
6/03/00 Kelvin Iverson somewhere between average to shit. 3 stars
6/03/00 bornslippy I don't think horrid can cover how bad this movie is..total disappointment 1 stars
6/03/00 Urbanwarrior woo and 'did they really do that?' action sequences...newton was eye candy 4 stars
6/03/00 Loki This movie made me laugh a lot. Unfortunately, I was laughing at it, not with it. 2 stars
6/03/00 Mantik0re I've never felt like I've been mugged by Tom Cruise for $7.50 until now. 1 stars
6/03/00 Xalt John Woo. Nuff said. 4 stars
6/02/00 Dasha Who would have thought that Woo & Cruise combo could result in such staggering mediocrity?? 1 stars
6/02/00 M.C.(WATCHOUT) You just can't imagine what's instore for all of you viewers out there!! NEXT TIME TOM&WOO 5 stars
6/02/00 PJ The Killer, Hardboiled, Bullet in the Head, Better Tomorrow 1&2, this ain't, Woo come back 3 stars
6/02/00 Alex How could it suck so bad without hurting someone! 1 stars
6/02/00 Dirk Pitt Woo needs to watch his movies of old with Chow Yun Fat, that's how we like to the Woo. 3 stars
6/01/00 Cam I shoulda taken my girlfriend, would have given me something todo 2 stars
6/01/00 Zaw Pointless stunts.. Slow Mo's 2 stars
6/01/00 Tim "Weapon" Groves Not Nearly the Movie it could have been!! 3 stars
6/01/00 arnold fucking boring,greatest motorcycle chase ever 3 stars
6/01/00 Aaron Richardson Shite on a stick. 1 stars
6/01/00 malcolm chinese style action w/good actors -- i loved it 4 stars
6/01/00 Overflow Bitch Cruise was very good. Entertaining summer blockbuster with good story. 5 stars
5/31/00 13th warrior cruise is in love with himself 3 stars
5/31/00 Peter Smith I left the theater with a new respect for "Ronin" 3 stars
5/31/00 i king it was the shit! 4 stars
5/31/00 JussMatt At least it had more action than the first one!! 4 stars
5/31/00 ladislau see it twice...on rented video, from your neighbour.don't spend money on it!! 3 stars
5/31/00 matt brody it's total crap 1 stars
5/30/00 Kootchy Cruise was great,the action was electric-better than the boring recent Bond films 4 stars
5/30/00 Heywood Jablowme It sucked 1 stars
5/30/00 Zatoichi Jones John Woo can do action. Unfortunately, plot and characters are irrelevant to him. 4 stars
5/30/00 Metrazol So, uhm...was that a joke? 2 stars
5/30/00 Stevie Mac I was expecting way, way better! What I got was a Bond rip off with only 30 mins of "Woo"! 3 stars
5/30/00 RossBond M:I2 Rules! Apart from a lazy script M:I2 is grade A+ all the way! See it twice! 5 stars
5/30/00 Tim It needed less romance and more plot 2 stars
5/29/00 Decent story, great action, Tom does a great job. Woo is the best ! Silly at times, but definately has its moments. On the whole a good, fun film. B+ 4 stars
5/29/00 Bueller Great action sequences. Interesting, though very predictable story line. M:I1 was better. 3 stars
5/29/00 Krystal I can definitely live without seeing it again 3 stars
5/29/00 Captain Highcrime Note to Tom: You are NOT Keanu and this is NOT "The Matrix," so knock it off dipshit. 3 stars
5/29/00 JonnyJ Thandie is a hottie 5 stars
5/29/00 Ian Pound Written to appeal to 14 year old boys 1 stars
5/29/00 koHawk Nolan's head needs to be removed from his ass...Good movie 4 stars
5/28/00 swan this sucked all ass. 1 stars
5/28/00 Vampyre9mm Typical Woo flick, a little hard to swallow at points. Very dumbed down. 3 stars
5/28/00 DatherFrawdad better than shanghai noon.. 5 stars
5/28/00 cinesuerte pg-13 woo movie is like porno w/o penatration & money shots 2 stars
5/27/00 eatphlegm The most fun I've had in a movie. I never want to see it again 1 stars
5/27/00 Jaime N. Christley A two-hour screen saver. (Thandie Newton, mmmmm...) 1 stars
5/27/00 Chartsy Some bad edits, weird symbols (the dove?) and horrible continuity. 2 stars
5/27/00 Louis This movie was good, and the girl is HOT!! OH MY GOD! 5 stars
5/27/00 NTWRAGE They took a good movie, put a pice of shit on it, added explosions and called it part II 2 stars
5/27/00 PhilmPhreak I can't believe I didn't like a John Woo movie! 2 stars
5/27/00 Kenosha Kid The otrcyle scene was fanfuckingtastic. 5 stars
5/26/00 gwalla Wretched excess. Too much filler. Almost a parody of John Woo movies. 2 stars
5/26/00 Makaveli the Don Slow Motion Garbage 1 stars
5/26/00 Dennis Kablinger ridiculous 1 stars
5/26/00 Sarah O'Hara You can have action AND a good story/dialogue, but they're not in this movie. 3 stars
5/26/00 Maclay01 I so enjoy big screen woo-action & raw emotion-not his best but still best action around 4 stars
5/26/00 elfpunkt too much slo-mo fighting, other than that not bad for eyecandy. 4 stars
5/26/00 Mr. X A bit slow until the last third. I agree with David Seah. 3 stars
5/26/00 DatherFrawdad i shit my pants 5 stars
5/26/00 paul rovella john woo and tom cruise masturbating each other in the editing room. 3 stars
5/26/00 gezick WTF is with the pigeons... I want my 126 min back. 1 stars
5/25/00 Kipster Definitely a John Woo film. All Eye candy. But still very good. 4 stars
5/25/00 strider most of the fights are ripped straight out of street fighter, fun to watch though 4 stars
5/25/00 Agent Browne Lame catchphrases, illogical action, boring villain. But Tom & Thandie rock, & cool scenery 5 stars
5/25/00 David Seah Pretty production, good stunts, dull plotting. John Woo commoditized into McAction. 3 stars
5/25/00 The Rock the last 45 min were awesome 4 stars
5/25/00 Greyjack This movie's soo Woo I was expecting subtitles. Bigtime over-the-top fun. 4 stars
5/25/00 Jason Cooke If you love John Woo, You'll love this movie like me. 5 stars
5/25/00 Jason Kallelis Pretty good, not as bad as some are probably expecting. Great action, a few corny lines. 4 stars
5/25/00 Maclay01 Erik the MM forgets Dr. No- Bond falls in love, she's killed & thus Bond womanizes evermore 4 stars
2/26/00 Pamela Chickenleg BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOF ! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-May-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 11-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jun-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast