More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome51.52%
Worth A Look: 22.22%
Average: 7.07%
Pretty Bad: 4.04%
Total Crap: 15.15%

1 review, 192 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Allan Quartermain and the Lost City of Gold by Jack Sommersby

12 Hour Shift by Jay Seaver

Firewalker by Jack Sommersby

Death Wish V: The Face of Death by Jack Sommersby

Police Academy 2: Their First Assignment by Jack Sommersby

Vibes by Jack Sommersby

White of the Eye by Jack Sommersby

Chasing Dream by Jay Seaver

Airplane II: The Sequel by Jack Sommersby

Tuff Turf by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Outsiders, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"New American Cinema meets New American Novelist"
4 stars

S.E. Hinton's classic buddy novel about adolescence on the wrong side of the tracks is translated beautifully by Francis Ford Coppola in this early '80s film.

The Outsiders came out in 1983 when I was the same age as the protagonists (14) so I identified with it more than if I was any older or younger. At the time, I did live on the "other" side of town. And yes, when Pretty in Pink came out the next year, I was right there riding the "identify with protagonist" train on a first class ticket to paradise. But that was then.

Today I'm riding high on the dot com hog and weathering
astronomical dips in the stock market like a coconut in the South Pacific. Avast ye scurvy dogs, and all that one-eyed, peg-legged trap. I still, however, have this little soft spot, very very little, in my heart for the lost and disaffected who started
out life with the odds stacked against them and still, little wildflowers that they are, find a way to root and grow.

The boyhood to manhood rite of passage thrust on Pony Boy (C. Thomas Howell) and Johnny (Ralph Macchio) is memorable and poignant. I know poignancy is an overused element of so many films and books featured on Oprah and starring Robin Williams, but in this case, it is good poignancy that doesn't feel manipulative because it emerges from the story as it unfolds rather than being pointed to like a cuecard at a live studio recording instructing the audience to: "Respond to Poignant Moment Now". If you ever wondered when childhood ends and adulthood begins, ask Pony. I look into the crystal ball, I see you staring at the sky and yelling, "Why, God, Why?"

The conflict is thus:

The Greasers live on one side of town. The side where
self-respecting people, ie, those with money to spend, don't go. The Socs (pronounced "So-Shiz") live on the other side of town. Somewhere in the middle these two rival groups meet to contest social boundaries with tragic results.

Think Capulets and Montagues, and whatever those two rival gangs in West Side Story were - the Whites and the Hispanics.

This begins a coming of age buddy tale about two young fugitives trying to understand themselves and their life and the mess they are in. Are they innocent victims of circumstance or are they inherently bad for being poor and subject to parents and living standards that require a hard edge and the ability to take a fall?

The most memorable moment for me is the end, when , after being engulfed in flames while trying to rescue his best friend, Pony Boy finally understands the meaning of the phrase "Thats golden".

The book was written for a teenager that wasn't quite ready
for the "fuck you and fuck all this crap" Catcher in the Rye, but rather the teenager who wants to be accepted for who he is.

The Legend of Billy Jean owes a big debt to this book, as much as S.E. Hinton owes a big debt to Shakespeare, and who knows who Shakespeare owes credit to, probably the Devil.

Watching this film now would be like revisiting the history of Tiger Beat for the past 30 years.

The Outsiders stars C. Thomas Howell, Ralph Macchio (The Karate KId), Matt Dillon, Patrick Swayze, Rob Lowe, Emilio Estevez, (and I was all Emilioooooo..) as the Greasers. A hearthrob from the 70's, Leif Garrett, plays a Soc. The last of the beatniks, TOM WAITS (!) who also starred in another S.E Hinton adaptation, Rumble Fish, that same year, plays an adult friend of Darrel Curtis (Patrick Swayze). Darrel Curtis is the well-meaning rough-under-the- collar older brother who is left to raise his two brothers, Pony Boy and Soda Pop (a post-porn Rob Lowe) after their parents die in a car accident.

This movie had an unbelievable cast and direction for the time. And I would have to say that many of the cast could and still do throw their weight around. Hell, Tom Waits is a living legend.

Half of these actors were hot shit brat packers or other highly marketable names at the time. Matt Dillon was like Ben Affleck of the '80s. (Even though that guy in Sixteen Candles, Michael Schoeffling who kind of looked like Matt Dillon was sexier and fortunately for us, he showed up again as the hunk who makes it with Winona Ryder in Mermaids, a movie that should have been called "Barely Legal". That movie also starred Cher. Who seems to have traded all her talent for plastic features. She's a great actress. Even better at playing herself. Man, can you believe using Cher as a way to expose a young actress like Winona to the masses. And Mermaids was a good movie to boot.)

A word of caution to the feminists, who, I hope, is anyone under the age of 60 reading this.
You may be turned off by all the male bonding and "women as incidental to men, but gentle mothers of all men - literally men" but dammit if Patrick Swayze doesn't look good in tight jeans.

A word of joy and wonder to the budding homos.
Give your hormonal imbalance a depth charge and check this movie out! Besides all the young, muscular, macho studs in tight jeans that accentuate in all the right places, it shows the possibility of intimacy, understanding and an unbreakable bond between two teenage boys, just short of sex, but you can read that part into the story yourself.

Thanks the power of your imagination, in spite of the countless hours watching eMpTV drooling over Carson Dailey, you now have the ultimate teenage homo love story with a hidden object lesson that mirrors the tragedy of the AIDS epidemic. Someone needs to remake this film. You heard it here first. And then read Catcher in the Rye. You'll need to draw on Holden Caulfield to pull you through the depression after the shock of reality. Got any black turtlenecks?

This is a good movie that hits in all the right places and the script follows the original novel close enough so that you can choose your media and not miss anything.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1649&reviewer=67
originally posted: 04/18/00 09:31:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/06/17 Ken Along with "Rumble Fish", a great adaptation to the S.E. Hinton novel. 5 stars
10/01/15 Ryan This is great film i could watch it 1000 times before getting sick of it i coiuld relate. 4 stars
4/16/13 timmykeepit3hunna its a good film and story overall the outsiders gets a 4 out of 5 4 stars
9/26/10 the dork knight Retro movie is retro. Loved Macchio and Howell. 4 stars
3/09/10 Chris Peacock shittest film ive ever seen 1 stars
10/14/09 art once again,THIS IS PEANUTS COMPARED TO THE MUCH BETTER RUMBLE FISH! 1 stars
8/09/09 art this is garbage!,rumble fish WAS 5 time"s beTter! 1 stars
4/30/09 Karissa Curtis [Sodapop Curtis<3] This movie was the best, SODAPOP WAS SO HO!T & so were the others in the gang! 5 stars
5/20/08 MAD !! it was pretty crap! the book was alright thow 2 stars
1/16/08 Dani This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. And I can relate! 5 stars
1/11/08 Anna Bailey it was pretty good but it missed masted of the exciting parts in the book 4 stars
12/14/07 jamies beers i liked the movie better hthan the book 3 stars
12/01/07 ponyboy curtis The movie was exceptional but there is a down fall. It was one of the shortest movies I hav 3 stars
11/21/07 john sucked hairy balls 1 stars
10/07/07 Lorie-Ann Johnstone I love the movie and Soda is real cute!!!!! 5 stars
10/05/07 tarabithian queen eater im from de and im reading the book go Kirk go Kirk this is 2007 october 4 5 stars
6/02/07 haley i thought it was a sad and touching film 5 stars
5/02/07 Jeff Hump This movie sucked balls..... It could go suck balls...... 1 stars
4/30/07 Karine Voyer it wa awsome but it cut some partys from the book witch was ok Soda was hot fro the 1983. 4 stars
4/26/07 renee bunch well i only read the book so great book e.e. hinton u r fabulouse u r my insperation hinton 5 stars
4/25/07 Hessa the novel was so much better than the movie and their acting wasn't that good... 3 stars
4/20/07 Carol Gatlin i love this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/17/07 Ashley It was crap and so boring i hated it 1 stars
3/30/07 Kimberly This movie was great. just love it. 5 stars
2/11/07 Kristin Sodapop is so hot, watchit to see him 4 stars
12/14/06 Zoe I thought it was touching and sad 5 stars
11/27/06 anonymous the book is much better, it has way more detail. You can connect with the char. much better 3 stars
10/27/06 amany this was a n ausome movie. and i mean it 5 stars
10/04/06 outsider lvr the movie was realy good!!! i loved this drama, probably one of my favorite movies ever. th 5 stars
8/24/06 Cory AMAIZING, i like it so much that i am wrighting a play version of it 5 stars
7/13/06 suspect Hey Dono did u see the same movie all iof us saw 4 stars
5/11/06 Melissa it was sad but i liked it and i keep watching it over and over again. It was a great movie! 5 stars
4/30/06 barbara bush i loved it it was a very good movie thats why i'm trying to find it so i can buy it 5 stars
4/12/06 katie i love it 5 stars
1/04/06 cody a good based on book with look cool actors ,good story of course plus a great ending, **** 4 stars
11/06/05 dono bad acting bad music brutal movie 1 stars
10/28/05 kristy best movie ever 4 stars
10/21/05 Gisela Chavez Best movie ever 5 stars
10/05/05 jersey it was awsome! I loved it! 5 stars
7/27/05 Krissy Peterssen It was an amazing movie. It was powereful without being corny. The books even better! 5 stars
6/11/05 savannah ~*~i think that the book was much better then the movie....the book had much more detail~*~ 3 stars
6/07/05 Bri GREAT BOOK AND MOVIE....i've seen the movie 10 times and read the book twice. 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake Not as good as the book but still good. 4 stars
4/29/05 alan smith I loved it but the book was better 4 stars
4/11/05 t.b it was awsome 5 stars
3/14/05 Jeff Anderson Great acting aside, this was a really disappointing film & too laid-back for it's own good! 3 stars
12/28/04 mjoc VAstly underrated Coppola film. Gripping story. 4 stars
11/19/04 Sara Awesome!! Great Book, Great Movie! 5 stars
11/17/04 Sydney Smith this was the best movie of the 80's. Ralph Macchio is so cute in it.you should check it out 5 stars
9/12/04 Holly I love this Movie and the guys are HOT! 5 stars
7/20/04 Renuka The movie was amazing. And Soda Pop was so cute. 5 stars
7/15/04 Darry's Girl OMG! My friends and I are obsessed with this movie! The guys are so hott! It's the best!!!! 5 stars
7/09/04 Tabatha hughes I oved this movie sooo much and all the stars were hot!!! 5 stars
6/08/04 Rani Mukerjee I love it! I love Matt Dillon! The message is great but the boys are even better!! 5 stars
6/01/04 amoona (iman) this is da best movie/novel ever! im in love with this movie/novel! oh sodaPop,dally hottys 5 stars
5/28/04 johnvg16 the guys in the movie were to close to each other 4 stars
4/24/04 Kelsey Mesecher I loved and and it can really open your eyes and show you how life is and was. 4 stars
4/15/04 Dhawn It was an interesting film but does put you to sleep! 3 stars
4/07/04 moonie i am in love with this movie thank you so much for ralph macchio as johnny 5 stars
3/30/04 Cynthia This movie is one of my favorites! I LOVE Ponyboy Curtis, he's my favorite character! 5 stars
3/25/04 Me it was OK but the film was better 4 stars
3/22/04 Sam The Movie was good but the book is way better! 4 stars
2/09/04 pat hated it should go die! 1 stars
1/22/04 Your mom losers 1 stars
12/14/03 soda i realy love this film!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
11/28/03 greg hjgjfgjsfh 1 stars
11/28/03 greg hgdhfg 1 stars
11/28/03 greg fghfdjhhgvfdgd 1 stars
11/28/03 pat hghjjgfh 1 stars
11/28/03 pat losers 1 stars
11/28/03 steve 5454 1 stars
11/28/03 matt moncher 1 stars
11/28/03 kyle 5 1 stars
11/28/03 mike 333 1 stars
11/28/03 mike 212 1 stars
11/28/03 mike bites 1 stars
11/28/03 nick walton it really sucks ass 1 stars
11/08/03 jaylene chamorro its cool 5 stars
10/27/03 Nick This movie was really good, i really liked the rumble scene 5 stars
10/20/03 mflan has that hot mom from unfaithful in it!(no nude scenes) 5 stars
10/08/03 r A testa,ment to the times 5 stars
10/08/03 Double G good movie, see the movie before reading the book! 4 stars
9/22/03 kill quacky this movie is a must see its a classic, teaches you how white people lived. 5 stars
9/08/03 Shannon Walters I loved the movie C.Thomas Howell and Rob Lowe looked so good in this flim 5 stars
5/26/03 Kay Best movie ever 5 stars
5/20/03 Steph Cukier The book was so much better 4 stars
4/17/03 jillybear great movie plus the cast were pretty damn hot 5 stars
4/14/03 Benjamin AMAZING, SUPERB MOVIE! 5 stars
4/08/03 mark it rules 5 stars
3/25/03 judester awww!!! i cried... 5 stars
3/14/03 fred deuft crap, book better 2pac rules smoke weed 1 stars
2/25/03 lisa great film for students. Think outside the world you live in. 5 stars
2/17/03 Trisha Hoelscher it was an awsome movie i loved it 5 stars
1/19/03 Mandy The book is Better!If it had a lot less editing done,it would have been better than it is!! 5 stars
1/17/03 Andrea The book was way better then the movie. The movie wasnt as good as i thought it would be 3 stars
1/16/03 Jessica THE BEST MOVIE EVER. THE CAST IS SO HOTT. EVEN THOAMS HOWEILL SO HOT.KILL ME HE IS DIEDSEXY 5 stars
11/24/02 baller girl PONYBOY WAS HOT!! the movie was great 5 stars
11/11/02 bethany linekar the book was better than the movie but the moive was still great 4 stars
10/18/02 Allie I thought it was alright i guess 4 stars
10/16/02 marc hug great movie. 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum 16 Magazine finally makes it to the big screen 4 stars
9/01/02 movie guy great 5 stars
8/29/02 Nadia it's real good but some parts r so fake 4 stars
7/31/02 Lily If you haven't read the book, this movie can be confusing. Otherwise, very close to awesome 5 stars
7/21/02 KMG ARGHH!!! Too much 1985 "Seventeen" magazine material! 3 stars
6/22/02 Zoe Read the book! 2 stars
5/21/02 jack cock wwwwwwwwwwooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwww 5 stars
5/11/02 Butterbean I solely liked it for the poem and Tom Cruise's fucked up "before they were famous" teeth 3 stars
4/06/02 Justin Read the book first, then watch the movie. 5 stars
3/21/02 Kristina It was great 5 stars
3/18/02 Krissy Soda is hot!.... but i would reccomend that you JUST READ THE BOOK! 2 stars
2/08/02 Shane Good plot, bad writing, bad acting 2 stars
2/01/02 Amanda It was really really good 5 stars
1/24/02 someone you suck 1 stars
1/19/02 ash read the book 4 stars
1/13/02 Kristen White I absolutely loved this movie and book. It was a great inspiration to me. 5 stars
1/09/02 T. O'Shea read the book dont watch the movie 2 stars
12/22/01 Catalina It was a pimpen moive 5 stars
12/05/01 Julie Dover LOVE IT!!!! 5 stars
11/29/01 crispy breher i thought it was cool 5 stars
11/12/01 Sakura0223 The book is way more moving than the movie. 3 stars
11/04/01 Petra Masterpiece 5 stars
11/01/01 hi ccrraapp 1 stars
10/31/01 Paul bayer crap 2 stars
10/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) This piece of shit is just a piece of shit!Matt belongs in "There's Something About Mary"!! 1 stars
10/09/01 mark hammer don't see the movie, read the book!!! 2 stars
9/19/01 Moreena its grate 4 stars
9/06/01 Butterbean a very emotional guy flick. I loved the poem 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk One of the only good 'post-godfather' films for Coppola. 4 stars
6/26/01 reece duckett i enjoyed vigourous masturbation about this hardcore porno 4 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Only tough guys in movie history that cry all the time. Book is 1000 times better 3 stars
5/27/01 B.B Excellent 5 stars
5/20/01 Caterina It waz the best film iv seen in a long time Pony boy and Johnny rule 5 stars
5/18/01 Michael Stachowiak Good adaptation by Coppola 4 stars
5/18/01 as s 5 stars
4/19/01 Stef Bailey This is the best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
4/13/01 Brittany Although this movie was emotional it really made you stop and think. I Loved It!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/09/01 James hey "shut up", you little grade school punk, quit your bitching about the book 5 stars
4/03/01 sean ferguson pretty solid 4 stars
3/29/01 jordan c at middle school east it's pretty good 4 stars
3/21/01 Emma McCubin Absolutely Amazing Adaptation and the book was just as good 5 stars
3/21/01 khaled ggf 3 stars
3/02/01 Emma Cool! Not bad 4 stars
2/09/01 Jenny Scott I thought it was an awesome and touching film, I enjoyed it quite a bit 5 stars
2/06/01 nichole and mike we have to do a project on it and we like the movie... not the book! 4 stars
1/24/01 shut up thsi was the gayest book ever 1 stars
1/22/01 jill jankowski the book and movie was great the best i ever read her other books and movise are great to 5 stars
1/18/01 skylynn i loved the movie 5 stars
1/04/01 Natalie its an awesome movie and its my favorite now 5 stars
1/04/01 Shawn Excellent. Explains the book good. 5 stars
12/21/00 Andrew Ralph Maccio is the man!! 5 stars
12/19/00 Beau This was great book and movie 5 stars
12/04/00 Paul Schoch I think it licked the bag, and you should get rid of that shitty movie burn the fuckin book 1 stars
11/22/00 SANDRA I HONESTLY HAVE TO SAY IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN. 5 stars
11/15/00 Beckie ******* this movie was awasome! 5 stars
11/02/00 gabriel gomez awesome, phat as hell 5 stars
10/31/00 justine McNeice great, most movies are very far off from the basis of the book. 5 stars
10/28/00 Nicole Adams I thought that the book was great! It was the best book I've ever read.I love it!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/23/00 Brett Domeyer It was a very great and intense movie. 5 stars
10/20/00 Maren Excellent 5 stars
10/16/00 Joe rosano i think the movie is a very good but sad movie. 5 stars
10/06/00 Julie Tabacsko it was very good! 5 stars
10/04/00 Maddux good, two-bit was funny 4 stars
9/26/00 Sam Dimarco i love it man 5 stars
9/25/00 Kristine It was wonderful done and worth watching 5 stars
9/15/00 Carola good movie and good looking guys 5 stars
9/15/00 Diana Ithink it was a great movie because not only did it have an awesome story but it also had g 5 stars
9/14/00 Tanya Small Mest movie ever seen. Now its my favorite. I t can be sad though in the movie. 5 stars
9/11/00 Chasity Hoffman it was great!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/30/00 Amanda This movie was awesome! I couldn't turn it off! 5 stars
7/27/00 fyodor d. clay beautifully portrays the classic conflict between working class and the upper class 5 stars
7/26/00 Joseph great info 5 stars
7/25/00 Tyler Peterson Mindless novel by Hinton, Mindless movie by Coppola. It sucked. 1 stars
7/18/00 hello kitty hello kitty 5 stars
7/13/00 me its a touching story 5 stars
6/15/00 killerace100 alright but i mis a bit 1 stars
6/10/00 Julia Really good 5 stars
5/25/00 barry bruner greatest film 5 stars
5/24/00 krissy I thought it was thrilling,exciting,emotional,and very good. 5 stars
5/16/00 Bender Entertining movie I haven't seen it a long time, I need to watch it again. 4 stars
5/08/00 Bear Legendary cast. These guys must have played for Switzer at Redneck U. 4 stars
4/29/00 Mike sucky 1 stars
4/26/00 Elvis Jesus Wasn't Tom Cruise in it? And don't you mean "pre-porn" Lowe? 4 stars
4/25/00 Tilea Green it will take your breath away 5 stars
4/15/00 Elvisfan Nvr saw teenage boys cry so much! Read the book instead & stay gold 2 stars
3/17/00 David Rogers I'm not a big fan of dramas, but this is one of my few exepyions. 4 stars
7/17/99 soccer_mum Great cast, wonderful story....still well up at the end. See it! 5 stars
7/09/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ** (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Film moved me when I was little. Now, it just seems like it's missing something. 3 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 My favorite movie in the world. Great Cast and very emotional storyline 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn my fav movie of all time...beyond brilliant... cast is unreal... story is so touching.. 5 stars
3/02/99 THE Juicester Awesome Cast....Great Movie 80's Flick 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1983 (PG)
  DVD: 20-Sep-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1983 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast