More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.94

Awesome42.25%
Worth A Look: 35.21%
Average: 2.82%
Pretty Bad: 14.08%
Total Crap: 5.63%

6 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, A by Peter Sobczynski

Waves (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Bulworth
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"As close to flawless as any movie I have seen in the last year."
5 stars

Twenty nine years of disrespecting Warren Beatty have just flown out the window. Somehow, he has directed, written and starred in a film that's not only smart, but funny, opinionated and thoroughly worthwhile all over. Dammit. Who will I hate now?

There's always Madonna.

So Jake Bulworth is a suicidal senator. He decides to get a big ass life insurance policy and then pay someone to shoot him dead. But, staring death in the face, Bulworth starts telling the truth - why not? Got nothing to lose - and finds a new lease on life.

Of course, gettin' some fine black booty forty years his younger also adds to the sudden thirst for life, but let's not get too cynical.

Let's be absolutely clear - this movie should have been a poxy 'white man rapping' gimmick flick that would have extracted yawns from most and chuckles from a few braindead Wedding Singer fans. It wasn't. It was so far from a crap gimmicky flick that it was scaring me to watch. How the hell could an old schmo like Warren Beatty be this good? Where is the emotionless goon of yesteryear? Where is the blow-dried, self important icon that had directors living in fear and churned out a string of crappy flicks just a few short years ago? Could a tasty wife and a house full of kids have actually not only made Warren a real man, but also started him thinking real thoughts?

Smalls digs this movie like no other. Go read his review. I concur on all points. This film kicks almighty ass in every area, from soundtrack to cast to story to theme. If you missed it thus far, go find it.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=165&reviewer=1
originally posted: 03/17/99 04:34:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/17 morris campbell truthful but boring 2 stars
5/29/15 PAUL SHORTT SHARP, WELL WRITTEN POLITICAL SATIRE 4 stars
8/17/14 Jeff WIlder Satirically hits its targets well. 4 stars
4/20/09 Phineas Take your self-loathing,White Guilt and shove it up your RICH Marxist ass,WARREN 1 stars
2/17/09 Angelique Its hilarious you gotta love it! 5 stars
6/24/07 fools♫gold The "Network" of the ninety's; one of the greatest soundtracks for THE greatest movie. 5 stars
5/16/06 Josh Standlee What does this film teach us? Hip-hop is for criminals. Fuck rap!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/12/05 Total Crap Miss? Be honest and don't spare my feelings, have any more of those crispy crabcakes? 5 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Hilarious and heart-wrenching, while a little heavy on the PCness. 5 stars
6/06/05 John Aster Habig Warren Beatty played up to my expectations but the script tho funny is uneven 4 stars
11/09/04 Stephanie AWESOME 5 stars
11/29/03 john wonderful 5 stars
10/09/02 Kitfo quirky, funny, and politically in-your-face. most underrated hollywood comedy ever? 5 stars
1/11/02 Andrew Carden Interesting Movie, but Very Bland and Unlikeable. 3 stars
11/16/01 John Best film of 98 5 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat The is a great movie. It's funny in every way possible. 5 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Obviously too deep for alot of people. Very good movie, good message. 5 stars
6/27/00 David Duke Warren Beatty rapping made me want to pull out my eyes with a fork. 1 stars
6/06/00 Bender Uneven, but enjoyable 4 stars
5/18/00 Elvisfan God I hate the people that post at this site...this movie was great 5 stars
10/15/99 Pam Matthews Damn good! This is a wake up call for AMERICA!! Warren you're great! 5 stars
9/04/99 godsdog Maybe ONE funny moment in the entire film. How did this SUCK? Let me count the ways... 1 stars
8/04/99 Dave There is something wrong if you didn't like this movie. Part comedy, part thought provoking 5 stars
5/13/99 ras_jose@yahoo.com ridiculous, and racist, too! 2 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Blah, blah, blah...it shhtank! 2 stars
4/05/99 Cool Thing Mega respect to old man Beatty. He done good. 5 stars
3/09/99 Bruce Hedge Great film --uncanny parallels with Australian politics-very funny in parts 5 stars
2/18/99 Piz wow, what a lame, boring, farce of a movie. Zzzzz! 2 stars
10/10/98 Bluntman Badboy Beatty bustin' about THE MAN. DAAAAAAAAAMN! 4 stars
9/27/98 katherine it was pretty funny, ad i luv the soundtrack. 4 stars
9/14/98 Smalltown Possibly the best film of the summer. Kill the white man. 5 stars
9/09/98 f*r*o*s*t*y It was worth the cash to see Beatty "throw up the dub." 5 stars
9/01/98 pooky the bald can't dig the white old rap thing. not funny 3 stars
8/17/98 Johny Old white guy raps, do you need more reason to watch!? :-) 4 stars
8/17/98 Hank this movie is a big fuck you to our whole political system and media. GO SEE IT!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-May-1998 (R)
  DVD: 01-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Feb-1999 (M)


Directed by
  Warren Beatty

Written by
  Warren Beatty
  Jeremy Pikser

Cast
  Warren Beatty
  Halle Berry
  Don Cheadle
  Paul Sorvino
  Jack Warden



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast