More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.13

Awesome: 27.73%
Worth A Look63.03%
Average: 5.04%
Pretty Bad: 2.52%
Total Crap: 1.68%

8 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rabid (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Irishman, The by Rob Gonsalves

Recorder: The Marion Stokes Project by Rob Gonsalves

Kitchen, The (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Whistleblower, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Aeronauts, The by Jay Seaver

Jessica Forever by Jay Seaver

Charlie's Angels (2019) by Jay Seaver

Harriet by Jay Seaver

Greener Grass by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shanghai Noon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"I'm laughing at a Jackie Chan movie... pinch me. It can't be real."
4 stars

Jackie Chan buddy flick. Oh dear. Not another Rush Hour. Thankfully, no, not another Rush Hour. Shanghai Noon is the rarest of rare films out of Hollywood. the action movie that, if you took all the action out, would still be a very enjoyable film. Chinese dignitary is kidnapped and taken to America. Jackie Chan sets out to bring her back, and hooks up with a hapless American accomplice. Okay, so maybe it is Rush Hour after all, except this one is set in the wild west, AND IT'S FUNNY!

That's right, unlike the earlier Chan Hollywood efforts that relied on racial humour, wacky side characters and set pieces so large they were unfathomably unbelievable, Shanghai Noon settles itself down into a nice hum of humour, action and story. That's not to say it's Shakespeare. Hell, Jackie Chan couldn't pronounce Shakespeare, let alone star in it. But with Owen Wilson playing Jackie's partner in crime, the humour is far more edgy than the usual, and more often than not it's right out of left field.

If there's anyone more critical of Jackie Chan movies than I, you'd have a tough time comvincing me of it. I loved a lot of Chan's early non-English audience intended work out of Hong Kong and was disappointed when his US films just rehashed the same old routines he'd done better before. I abhored Rush Hour and it's racially based attempts at funniness. It was rank from start to finish and the ending must have been a joke that we didn't get.

But Shanghai Noon surprised the heck out of me. I enjoyed it. A lot. I even made fun of people I know who didn't get to see it. And that's the sign of a good flick.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1777&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/07/00 15:39:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/08/09 Jeff Wilder Chan and Wilson work well together 4 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Laughed my ass off! 4 stars
5/30/06 Kaitlin Prince I freakn' love these two together! Jackie is physically amazing and Owen is hysterical 5 stars
5/16/06 Ouchy wouchy bang bang funny Fun to watch. If this is the film you like you'll love this movie 4 stars
9/02/05 Tom Burns Very funny movie. Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson make a great team. 5 stars
7/28/05 Quigley one of jackie chan's best. the horseshoe sequence was insane. owen was equally funny. 5 stars
6/02/05 Chris A desent comedy worth a few laughs 3 stars
1/31/05 Paul both main actors are good 4 stars
1/24/05 keithers.. Chan has gone hollywood....(Chan fans...look for Yuen Biao) 2 stars
7/28/04 dick hertz awesome niggar 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Kind of funny. Very weird. 3 stars
5/19/04 John reminiscent of the old Terence Hill/Bud Spencer movies - story taken from RED SUN - cute 4 stars
12/30/03 tatum Wilson and Chan are equally funny 4 stars
9/20/03 JackieChanFan - JACKIE CHAN RULESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS ASK ME IF I GIVE A S*** {JACKIE CHAN IS SO AMAZING. HE IS SO FUNNY. I LOVE JC. 100%JC 5 stars
8/03/03 MJM103171 Excellent! It is cinematic literature. 5 stars
7/27/03 peter cox really good 5 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald Chan and Wilson make an oddly irresistable pair 4 stars
4/01/03 R.W. Welch Imaginative comic actioner, numerous yuks. 4 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Much, much better than expected! Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson together...and it's great! 4 stars
5/17/02 Priscilla Postelthwaite Typical Jackie Chan fare - more zany high jinks than plot lucidity. 4 stars
2/22/02 bizkit252@hotmail.com sweet and a western i like westerns like that one! 5 stars
2/21/02 Xaver Dumb. Cute. See it. 4 stars
12/03/01 Mike Scriven Excellent comedy/western/kungfu/buddy flick 5 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 Lots of fun, Owen Wilson rulz!!!! 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat My brother & I love 2 go see Jackie Chan pics together.This is 1 of our best theater trips. 4 stars
7/02/01 TLsmooth Owen Wilson is fucking hilarious....Chris Tucker and Rush Hour 2 can eat my shit. 5 stars
5/09/01 Jake Not too shabby. Wilson has some classic lines. 4 stars
5/07/01 Meridith owen and Jackie were hilarious!! The bath tub scene was the best!!!! 5 stars
4/26/01 tayyab_shahpk tayyab_shahpkhotmail.com 2 stars
4/19/01 fifu a poor jackie chan movie see legend of drunken master 2 stars
4/14/01 kiren khan very nice 1 stars
3/04/01 bullit17 Not bad. Not great, but certainly not bad. 4 stars
3/04/01 Sytse Faber A very good movie! You should really watch it sometime. The best actioncomedy ever! 5 stars
11/29/00 clark damn that Brandon Merrill(the indain wife) is HOT! and legal too! 5 stars
10/12/00 Richie Cunningham Jackie Chan kicks serious ass, weapons, laughs and some good stunts a big budget chan flick 5 stars
10/11/00 The Bomb 69 the beginning and ending were slow but the middle was awesome and hilarious!! 4 stars
9/04/00 FishieDoc Great movie, I laughed through the whole thing. 5 stars
8/16/00 Larwence G. Allotta A fun movie with lots of silly little twists to the plot that are amusing and entertaining. 4 stars
8/13/00 acestorm_2000 Very,fan & cool movie .I am a big Jackie Chan s fan. 5 stars
8/11/00 Poohtoo I like Jackie, Owen & Lucy, but the movie was so average, I'm a bit disappointed 3 stars
7/17/00 Doctor Collosus Best movie of the Summer. Great action. Great humor. Even had great visuals/cinematography. 5 stars
7/16/00 Roman Those damn asians make me laugh 5 stars
7/01/00 FRED OHH 5 stars
6/29/00 PJ This movie was fucking great, Owen Wilson stole the show, almost. great flick 5 stars
6/27/00 Overserved Any movie with a bar room brawl set to ZZ Top's La Grange is A #1 with me. 4 stars
6/26/00 Clare Much better than it looks in the trailers. 4 stars
6/21/00 Heather Really enjoyed it, but there again I am a Jackie fan! 5 stars
6/17/00 Darren Shea Perfect balance of humor and action for fans of Jackie Chan's films 5 stars
6/16/00 R.A.T It was really good & really funny. 5 stars
6/14/00 Krystal Most enjoyable Chan movie in a long time- both good humor and good fighting 4 stars
6/13/00 JonnyA Didn't expect much, but... 4 stars
6/12/00 michael missos great 5 stars
6/12/00 EWillieL Zeitgeist needs a new handle. Jackie goes bigtime in style. 4 stars
6/11/00 Draugluin Owen has some great scenes. See this if you run out of better movies. 3 stars
6/08/00 Bueller Rush Hour was better. Best stuff was shown in the previews. The Chan man can do better. 3 stars
6/07/00 Zeitgeist Further proof that Average Joe American is mindless...this movie was shit. 1 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez Kick ass funny! 4 stars
6/02/00 siro no reason not to see it 4 stars
6/01/00 PJ oh man this movie is just great, Owen Wilson practically stole the show, funny as hell 4 stars
6/01/00 malcolm very good but not nearly the best of Jackie Chan 4 stars
5/31/00 PhilmPhreak Go see this movie - great entertainment! 5 stars
5/31/00 Derek K. It's Jackie Chan. It's a comedy. It's Owen Wilson. Why haven't you seen it yet? 5 stars
5/30/00 arnold mi:2=just good action shangahi noon=more than good action 5 stars
5/29/00 Captain Highcrime The one movie this weekend where you're supposed to laugh your ass off at the characters. 4 stars
5/28/00 Ryan Great! Very entertaining! 5 stars
5/28/00 Mike Earrp Chan's the man. Wilson delivers his lines really well. It's light-hearted and fun 5 stars
5/27/00 DatherFrawdad just seemed dull even with some nice fights. 3 stars
5/27/00 Makaveli the Don See this movie and not that MI2 crap! 5 stars
5/26/00 Danield definately jackie best state side film 5 stars
5/24/00 Chen Kenichi Deadlands/Doomtown fans will love it =) 5 stars
5/21/00 Cinesuerte Great flick better than Rush Hour better fight scenes, Owen Wilson is hilarious. Jet who?? 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-May-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Aug-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Tom Dey

Written by
  Alfred Gough
  Miles Millar

Cast
  Jackie Chan
  Owen Wilson
  Lucy Liu
  Brandon Merrill
  Roger Yuan
  Xander Berkeley



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast