More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.07

Awesome: 26.76%
Worth A Look59.86%
Average: 9.86%
Pretty Bad: 0.7%
Total Crap: 2.82%

7 reviews, 100 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Charlie's Angels (2019) by Jay Seaver

Harriet by Jay Seaver

Greener Grass by Jay Seaver

Two Tigers by Jay Seaver

Dare to Stop Us by Jay Seaver

White Snake by Jay Seaver

Knives Out by Peter Sobczynski

21 Bridges by Jay Seaver

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, A by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Galaxy Quest
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Improv King

"A good satire of that show about the ship with the thing..."
3 stars

If you are one of those people who laugh at die-hard sci-fi fans who analyse every detail of a series as if it were Talmudic scripture, go see Galaxy Quest for a good laugh. If you are one of the die hards, still go. And lighten the fuck up.

Galaxy Quest is a cute little farce about the cast of a late 70's TV show by the same name, now reduced to attending fan conventions and cutting ribbons at store openings. Some naive aliens, however, think the show is real, and so abduct Tim Allen and his motley band to help them fight their mortal enemies. The usual laughs, as the band of actors try to live up to their onscreen reputations, ensue.
You can tell the cast had a lot of fun with it, especially Sigourney Weaver, playing against type as the dumb blonde with the perky bosom. Too bad she doesn't get a little more to do. (But then, her character on the fictional series didn't either.) Tim Allen manages to convey the swagger and ego of a William Shatner, without resorting to obvious mugging. Tony Shalhoub and Alan Rickman are both hilarious while UNDER-playing their roles. And check out the expendable crew member.

It's not a great film, but it's not trying to be Schindler's List, is it? And if you're a die-hard sci-fi fan (like my girlfriend), you'll spend at least an hour after it's over figuring out which elements were ripped off from which series (like she did).

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1779&reviewer=114
originally posted: 12/27/99 08:57:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/17/18 Ajpwales Better than new star trek. 4 stars
3/23/18 Suzanne I've enjoyed this movie movie times than I care to admit. 4 stars
4/02/16 David Hollingsworth Engaging and funny 5 stars
11/02/14 dr.lao This movie is really fun to watch 5 stars
10/28/13 Sissy Gifford Had me laughing the whole time. Definitely worth watching. 4 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC Excellent Space/Sci-Fi comedy... 5 stars
8/12/11 Bobster Funny! 4 stars
6/09/10 Harvey Scott Fun, Fun, Fun. Space Balls for the 21st Century. 5 stars
12/19/09 Jeff Wilder Quite funny. The one worthwhile Tim Allen movie. 4 stars
11/22/09 kitfo1 I didnt think I could like anything with Tim Allen, but this was clever 4 stars
2/07/09 Gella Wicked. I watch it over and over and I alsways find other bits to laugh at 5 stars
7/28/08 The Dork Knight Funny and (sometimes) moving. Good movie 4 stars
5/17/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ENJOYABLE, CLEVER AND SLICKLY COMMERCIAL SCI-FI COMEDY 3 stars
2/06/08 mb Really Dumb 1 stars
8/15/07 mike g Brilliant. Made me laugh out very loud. A good, fun film for sci-fi fans. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Perfect, faithful parody. Fantastic in this or any galaxy. 4 stars
1/03/07 del I was surprised at how much I liked it. 4 stars
5/26/06 Kimberly Dull This movie is hilarous! But you do have to have an idea of this genre to get this movie. 5 stars
5/09/06 Anastasia Bishop Absolutely hilarious. One of my favorites. A little slow at first, but stellar as it goes 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Tim Allens best movie! 4 stars
12/30/05 paolo enea after all the crap of star wars, etc., I realy enjoyed this movie 5 stars
12/30/05 tony If star wars and star trek were like this movie, i think i would watch them 4 stars
11/02/05 Phil M. Aficionado As a non-sci fi guy, I STILL enjoyed the humor & casting; cute story. See it for yuks. 4 stars
8/27/05 ES Tim Allen's best movie, good for a giggle everytime 4 stars
7/27/05 Indrid Cold Nifty idea and well done. Quite a ways from a classic though. 4 stars
5/02/05 sbpat21 very funny 4 stars
9/24/04 Aaron Smith Hugely entertaining, one of Tim's better films. 4 stars
7/12/04 X Thank God William Shatner wasn't in this movie 5 stars
2/10/04 White Eagle I renjoyed the film as it had so many of the needed cliches in it to make it funny. 5 stars
6/30/03 Ken Holds up well to repeated viewings. Funny and well acted! 4 stars
4/23/03 Mystique good 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Good Special Effects, but Uneven Screenplay and Forced Performances. 3 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Pants-pissing jokes, good story, fun characters. Surprisingly, a really good flick. 5 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper This movie has everything. Even Allen couldn't ruin it. Worth a sequel. 5 stars
2/08/03 y2mckay George, fuck you very much for reading! Nice to have fans. 4 stars
1/06/03 George Overall a good movie, but Y2McKay - you're an idiot. 4 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby As desperately unfunny as its leading man. Dreadful. 1 stars
11/08/02 R.W. Welch Nifty premise and some clever bits but generally overdone. 3 stars
6/19/02 Charles Tatum Great idea, no laughs 3 stars
5/22/02 Anne R. Key OK, but Improv King, I prefer leaving fuck ups heavy. 3 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean This movie is so cute! Show this to the kids 4 stars
2/20/02 Bertha Venation The sky is falling, I love a Tim Allen movie! I LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
1/26/02 murat Full of witty humor,dazzling action and mathesar! even more ;watch it. 5 stars
12/21/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Boring, but May Appeal To Fans Of Corny, Stupid Humor. 2 stars
11/25/01 Smoogles Clever flick, if you like Star Trek, you'll like this 4 stars
8/06/01 badfish This is one of the greatest movies ive ever seen.The whole cast was perfect! 5 stars
8/02/01 KC Au I hate Tim Allen! I laughed only ONCE through the whole film! Cheap parody of "Star Trek" 1 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen I thought it was going to be utter shit, but it proved me wrong. 5 stars
4/11/01 Hawkeye The best sci-fi parody I've seen yet. If you're a Trekker, this is right up your alley. 5 stars
2/25/01 Jake What a treat! 5 stars
12/20/00 Elvisfan about 700 times better than i had expected it to be 4 stars
11/24/00 Shawna really really love it 5 stars
11/02/00 viking light years ahead of "Deep Space Nine" and "Voyager" !!! 4 stars
10/17/00 Jed Though it is not strictly for eggheads & such. It was a spaceballs for the intellectual. 4 stars
8/02/00 Delusia Very, very funny 5 stars
7/30/00 Digitalus Star Trek on ludes 4 stars
6/08/00 Monday Morning Sci-Fi on rye. Very funny 4 stars
5/26/00 Gremlin Star Trek SUCKS! This movie was good for making fun of it. 4 stars
5/21/00 Blackbird Combines Pretend-TV-Cheesyness and CG Reality well. Kept me laughing throughout the movie 5 stars
5/19/00 ntwrage this movie was outstanding, Tony Shalhoub is strait up comedy. 5 stars
5/13/00 Add A very funny film but a real gut buster if you like Star Trek at all. 4 stars
5/08/00 Jed Despite the storyline this is basically the "Spaceballs" of the 90s. 4 stars
5/07/00 The Bomb 69 great entertainment, very funny 5 stars
5/04/00 Matthew Bartley Yeah it's fairly funny. A bit sad at times as well 4 stars
5/03/00 TIGGER It was fabulous! Best movie eva! 1 stars
4/29/00 Pansy fun movie, great aliens and spaceships execpt Tim Allen's acting (ugh) 4 stars
4/28/00 G2 Loved it, funniest film i've seen!! 2 thumbs up! 5 stars
4/16/00 Frank Curigliano hilarious, moving 4 stars
4/16/00 Paul Great 4 stars
4/11/00 Pierce Lanson Very funny, Sigourney's gorgeous, effects are brilliant. 4 stars
4/08/00 Mic Successfully, though stereotypically, combined humour with sentiment. 4 stars
4/07/00 Daria Very funny, and surprisingly affectionate 5 stars
3/11/00 David Rogers Huge imrovement over the Santa Clause. Very, very funny. 4 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Finally someone had the guts to make fun of Star Trek. 4 stars
2/21/00 bullit17 Eh. It had its moments. Nothing special. 3 stars
2/08/00 Porkdog Great satire. I was very pleasantly suprised. 4 stars
2/07/00 jenn "Blu Smrf" hilarious! great cast that keeps you laughing the entire time! 5 stars
2/02/00 mr. coffee Great spoofs! 4 stars
1/31/00 Crewman #5 Lots o' laughs, great adventures, and a wonderfully underrated cast 5 stars
1/24/00 Cibeus I'm going to see this movie again. 5 stars
1/24/00 Suzanne I loved this movie. 5 stars
1/17/00 Carl Take your 10+ kids to it, but don't expect great movie making. 4 stars
1/16/00 Zatoichi Trek dorks will love it. 4 stars
1/13/00 voyant The funniest movie of the year.. a must see for even the occasional Trek viewer. 5 stars
1/11/00 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules!!! The one about the snowman that killed people was better 3 stars
1/10/00 Linda Much better than anticipated! 5 stars
1/07/00 Jo Hilarious! I was laughing the whole time! 4 stars
1/07/00 PhilmPhreak Very funny - the best special effect was Sigourney Weaver's cleavage! 4 stars
1/06/00 meg Wonderfully silly and good-hearted. 4 stars
1/05/00 ScottA2001 Great story but flat acting made it less funny than it should have been 4 stars
1/03/00 Richard Hendricks Funny as hell. Great for an ex-Trekkie, now B5'er 4 stars
1/02/00 Pope Gonzo XIII hell yeah you should see it! It's funny and will strike a chord with other actors. 4 stars
1/02/00 Adam Really funny. And someone convice Sigourney to take these kinds of roles more often. 4 stars
1/01/00 Lame-Oh Not your typical sci-fi flick, but some of the jokes can be irritating. 3 stars
1/01/00 sophia866 Go see Trekkies before this, but Weaver's bosom is worth a matinee. 4 stars
12/31/99 marmoset Good fun, consistently funny. 4 stars
12/29/99 Crystal Great Fun! Silly but not Stupid! 4 stars
12/28/99 RadarDan The audience I saw it with laughed uproariously. 4 stars
12/28/99 joechip I laughed the whole time 4 stars
12/27/99 Magyarpoet Good for a few laughs. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Apr-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast