More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.72

Awesome: 19.81%
Worth A Look48.11%
Average: 18.87%
Pretty Bad: 10.38%
Total Crap: 2.83%

8 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Wild Goose Lake, The by Jay Seaver

Irishman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Paradise Hills by Jay Seaver

Terminator: Dark Fate by Jay Seaver

Motherless Brooklyn by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mask of Zorro, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Antonio surprises - the film doesn't suck as expected."
4 stars

Oh God. Not another unoriginal Hollywood film. Oh, geez. Antonio Banderas. WHY? WHY? WHY? .... Hey... this is pretty good!

I never saw the trailer to this film without hearing people in the crowd saying "that's one to miss", so when I left the theatre vomitting after Mafia!, took refuge in theatre 3 and saw "ZORRO" on the screen, my first urge was to propulsion vomit my way out the fire exit.

But then something happened. I realised that unoriginal idea or not, this was actually not a bad flick.

It's funny - something I didn't expect, and it's compelling - something I would have bet against, and it's gooooood - something I would have laughed at if anyone else had told me beforehand.

It's not the movie of the decade, year or even summer, but Zorro has enough going for it to keep you amused and into the story.

Catherine Zeta-Jones is a stand-out. She's gorgeous and heck she can act. Hopkins is well, Hopkins. No Norm McDonald's here, the boy can act. And Banderas... I almost forgive him for Evita.

The ending is kinda... well... expected, but all in all Mask Of Zorro doesn't suck anywhere near you expect it would. And I guess in these days of movie disappointments, that counts as a plus.

There'll be a sequel, you know there will be a sequel and it will be God-awful, but for now enjoy Zorro. It's worth admission.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=18&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/13/98 07:31:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/12/09 Slapper Stinking suck-fest..! 1 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT A ZESTFUL REVIVAL OF THE SWASHBUCKLER FILM THAT CARVES A MARK IN YOUR CONSCIOUSNESS 4 stars
10/05/06 R.W.Welch Borderline brilliant at times. Could have been tighter. 4 stars
6/22/06 TB Hopkins was the only one, who was the best Zorro 3 stars
5/19/06 chienne Loved it. Harmless fun 4 a story we all know 5 stars
4/21/06 Becky I liked it quite a bit. Banderas kicks ass and looks good doing it. Same for Zeta-Jones 4 stars
2/14/06 ES Suckiedy, suck, suck. Suckiedy, suck, suck, look at Zorro blow 1 stars
11/26/05 Estefilla yay 5 stars
10/16/05 Quigley banderas and hopkins are awesome as usual, but they can't save this really dull film 3 stars
10/07/05 Wisamane Fucking "A" 5 stars
11/04/04 John a slick package and entertains in parts but in the end feels very uninspired 3 stars
10/01/04 Aaron Smith Quite fun, Hopkins, Zeta-Jones, and Banderas are charming. 4 stars
9/05/04 DM Zorro 4 stars
8/19/04 courtney banderas will still the hart of every woman that watches it 5 stars
5/14/04 Agent Sands A overall great burrito western. 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Great action movie, Strong performances, a very good movie!! 5 stars
10/11/03 SuperBarbie2003 This is a fantastic movie. Definately worth a look!!! 5 stars
3/27/03 Jen I liked this movie, but the sword fight scene in the barn was just totally unnecessary. 4 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum Very good action 5 stars
7/21/02 KMG Interesting: all three leads are sexy and the colors are vibrant...OLE! 4 stars
7/11/02 Frances not to be watched more than twice but a good story, banderas is nice apart frm the afro 5 stars
4/04/02 cat This movie was the highlight of my high school career. CZJ turned ordinary extraordinary! 5 stars
1/12/02 Faith Benz The MOST AMAZING FILM ever to be created in this world! and Banderas is stunning! 5 stars
11/30/01 Andrew Carden Movie That Even Zeta-Jones Can't Help. Fair Scripts and Acting. 2 stars
10/27/01 Connoisseur typical big Hollywood production-- too overblown and not as exciting as old swashbucklers 3 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Zorro is no gay blade. 5 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Good Movie. 4 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin a lot of action scenes, but a lot of plot holes. 4 stars
8/11/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good actioner; Zeta-Jones brightens up the screen. 4 stars
6/24/00 Naushad Khanji Not Swashbuckling enough.Tepid story.Where is Richard Lester?. 2 stars
2/10/00 Richard Wright Decent swashbuckler with well choreographed sword fights and a refreshing sense of humour. 4 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler very good movie 5 stars
1/14/00 henry hill a very well done and entertaining film 5 stars
10/27/99 Katherine Catherine Zeta and Antonio Banderas are just great in this movie! NICEcouple 5 stars
8/12/99 Merry It 2 stars
7/27/99 Eric Entertaining in the first half, but gets boring and repetitive in the second half. 2 stars
7/08/99 Scott Predictable, but Catherine is dreamy. *sigh* 4 stars
6/03/99 Matthew Bartley Catherine Zeta, Catherine Zeta, Catherine Zeta... 4 stars
4/24/99 lucas jackson Matilda,funny,exciting,action packed and full of thrills,the best part made for all ages 5 stars
4/04/99 Albert CZJ makes the tip of my sword quiver. Strange, so does Banderas. Hmmm... 5 stars
1/10/99 Diogenesnutz Not terribly innovative, but a lot of fun. 4 stars
1/08/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! A dull action movie!,Hopkins looks lost,Banderas LOVES himself alot & Zeta-jones is sexy!! 3 stars
1/06/99 famillier The Spanish babe (no, not Antonio!) makes it worth the ticket. 5 stars
1/01/99 Lindsay Had it's moments, but all in all, just average. 3 stars
12/31/98 JDC It's about time we had high adventure without corniness. Zorro delivers. 4 stars
12/30/98 Jules Entertaining but tiresome as well. Just too much rediculousness. 3 stars
12/28/98 Lucy B. Not that original but surprisingly entertaining. Worth seeing for Hopkins performance alone 4 stars
12/01/98 Kirgo why could zeta-jones character not understand SPANISH???? 4 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Cath Zeta-Jones should be the next Lara Croft. She is just awesome in this film. Good film 5 stars
10/18/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Doesn't suck much, well worth it. 4 stars
10/01/98 katherine i got dragged to see it, and im glad i didnt refuse! this is 1 action movie that i like! 5 stars
9/26/98 B.O.B Could have been better - ALOT better! 2 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Like Dark Knight Returns, only not as good. Anthony Hopkins was nifty as the old Zorro. 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor BAD LEAD ACTOR AND THE ONLY FIGHT HE'S PUTTING UP IS AGAINST THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE. TOO BAD. 1 stars
9/04/98 Badass i liked it when I saw it. But now I'm having trouble remembering it. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Really, really enjoyable. Really. 5 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet A good movie. Forget Hopkins' awful make-up early on. Zeta-Jones is luscious. 4 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Didn't suck much at all. Surprisingly enjoyable 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jul-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast