More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 24.34%
Worth A Look: 17.99%
Average: 17.99%
Pretty Bad25.93%
Total Crap: 13.76%

11 reviews, 123 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gone in 60 Seconds (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"It's a drag... get it? 'Drag'? Oh, sue me."
3 stars

"Oh no! Our children will become car thieves!" the morally overzealous screamed. But chances are those kids who go see Gone In 60 Seconds will suffer a less criminal fate. Boredom. Nic Cage has turned his thespianically challenged hand to car thievery in this lackluster remake of a 1970's film that nobody remembers, and nobody suffers more for it than those of us who were sick of Cage years ago. Despite a supporting cast that boasts big names like Robert "will work for food" Duvall, Angelina "married to a hillbilly" Jolie, Giovanni "quit calling me retarded" Ribisi, Delroy "bad-ass" Lindo, Scott "implants" Cahn, and Vinnie "learned my acting in the penalty square" Jones, it's all Nic. Nic, Nic, Nic, Nic, bloody Nic.

The attraction of Nic is hard to work out. There are more attractive men on Yugoslavian fishing trawlers. He's a geek. He's balding. He has a nose that makes a viewer feel like they're watching a 3D film. And he does that silly twitching thing when he's trying to be cool. This is not a role model. This is a Model T. Old, useless, but for some reason worth a lot of money.

So the story goes that Cage's brother, Ribisi, is a former god of car thievery. He retired for mom, so that she'd know brother Ribisi wouldn't follow in brother Cage's footsteps. Nic is a sweet guy, see? But brother Ribisi is a punk and gets in car stealing trouble anyway. Wouldn't that mess with your head? You go work on a go-kart track for ten years so your bro keeps clean and he goes bent anyway.. that's gotta hurt. So Nic is called back by a nasty British bad guy (aren't they always?) who tells Nic if he doesn't steal 50 cars in four days, brother Ribisi becomes a cube of metal. Which would work for me.

So Nic goes to old man Bobby Duvall to get a team of thieves together, Jolie is the token chick, Jones is the Silent Bob who says nothing all film and then speaks wisdom at the end, Cahn is a barrel-chested goon and Lindo is the badass who's gonna catch them all.

If there's a high point to proceedings, it'd be that there's a bit of car action. If there's a downside… well, if there's many downsides but only one is to be mentioned, it'd be that said car chases are boring, contrived, cliché and uninspiring. This isn't Ronin, that is for certain. The action scenes that don't involve cars are too cliché for words. Can we stop with the 'chasing the bad guy through a metal foundry, bullets ricocheting off handrails' cliché please? It's been so overdone.

So who brightens things up? Well, Lindo is serviceable, almost dimming those harsh memories of him in A Life Less Ordinary. His off-sider, Tim Olyphant (the drugdealer from Go) does good work but is wasted in the role. Jolie pulls off 'junkie' real well, though whether she intended to or not is another thing…

All in all, a substandard effort from senor Bruckheimer, who seems to be churning them out like donuts lately. The promise was there, and surely anyone going to see this film was never looking for a life changing message, but the cupboard was just too bare.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1808&reviewer=1
originally posted: 07/20/00 17:26:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell will be gone from your memory in 60 seconds 1 stars
6/22/15 David Hollingsworth not the way to make a movie 1 stars
7/24/10 bagwell5 A guilty pleasure of mine. Cool cars but way over the top action. 3 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Cage makes some awesome films. 5 stars
6/10/08 PAUL SHORTT A FILM THAT ENTERTAINS WITHOUT BEING ANY GOOD 2 stars
2/04/08 Pamela White Watch it for the cars not the plot 3 stars
1/23/08 Chase Exciting. Eventhough it had down parts, it was a good movie. And Angelina with blonde hair? 4 stars
10/08/07 KNurse worth the watch 4 stars
9/18/07 Bojan Marjanovic Its awesome and you know it!!! 5 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Gone in sixty seconds. I dont mean the film, I mean me. To sleep. 1 stars
11/09/06 NEWTON d art of boosting cars is shown cars are magnificent. True car boosts meet the situations. 5 stars
10/19/06 David Pollastrini better than the original 4 stars
9/05/06 Jarkko Perälä Watch the original instead - At least it had exciting car chases 1 stars
9/01/06 Michele fun 3 stars
8/10/06 S281-E Watch it for the 1967 Shelby GT-500 5 stars
6/27/06 Ashley Hinz Odd, Very, Very, Angelina Odd 3 stars
5/31/06 tatum Not that bad! Some laughs, some action, unclench for two hours and enjoy 4 stars
4/27/06 Anthony Feor I don't think Cage was even acting in this movie 1 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Another bad "heist" remake to reassure the audience of its masculinity. IT SUCKS!!! 1 stars
10/24/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
8/25/05 ES 'would you rather have sex or steal cars' = I'd rather turn the movie off 1 stars
3/07/05 Rock-Steady I though it was a porno, done in 60 seconds? 3 stars
2/05/05 Alice Colwell boring 2 stars
1/28/05 Charlie Another good remake! 4 stars
11/12/04 David Cothern Jr. It Is Something That You Would Want To Watch Over and Over Again 5 stars
10/07/04 Jorge Rivero The 67' shelby mustang gt 500 is badass 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody See this instead of Fast and Furious! 4 stars
5/22/04 john bale How did Cage Duvall and Jolie get mixed up in this petrol heads bonanza ? 2 stars
5/12/04 Nevz great 5 stars
3/17/04 Brando Okay, "Yea"...itz not. Jackass. 1 stars
1/10/04 Yea da movie was good..how can ya say itz not 5 stars
12/22/03 john yeah let's make a car chase movie with no real car chases - abyssmal!!! 1 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Better than either of the 'Fast and The Furious' films and much more believable as well... 5 stars
11/08/03 Lance 1967 Shelby GT 500...what more is there to say. 5 stars
9/13/03 The real Helen Zass After taunting poor constipated Daisy to death, Here's Angelina's turn to be constipated. 1 stars
3/30/03 Cathy ter Plugg Apparently GIRL INTERRUPTED was a one-time charm for Angelina Jolie. 1 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby A grade-A cast slumming for easy paychecks. Artistically deplorable. 1 stars
1/20/03 Allen This is like a bad episode of "The A-TEAM". 1 stars
11/20/02 buzz 20010 fucking amazing peice of ganga leaves 5 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 A great lineup of actors and cool cars makes this movie the best I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/18/02 BITCHSLAP WOW 5 stars
7/12/02 snowconehead best car chases around 5 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn The 1967 Shelby's only thing worth in this film. Just the car. Just.... the car. 2 stars
4/29/02 David A. Mediocre dud about auto thieves. It spawned pathetics like Ocean's 11 (2000) and Heist. 3 stars
3/13/02 craig very good 4 stars
3/10/02 jennifer cheek i love this movie nicholas cage is a great and sexy actor, the dvd sure is in my collection 5 stars
1/27/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst What a waste of Angelina Jolie after GIRL, INTERRUPTED 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. One of those predictable, contemporary science-of-being-a-crook things--blah 2 stars
12/26/01 Phil M. Afficianado Why bother to make a film like this, let alone sxpect people to see it. Yawn. 2 stars
12/15/01 seldom scene LAME STORYLINE, GREAT CINIEMATOGRAPHY 2 stars
12/13/01 Dominik Duprelle Jerk-to-Video crud. The Carpenter is about as menacing as a cheese sandwhich. 2 stars
11/09/01 Mark Great casting, along with great acting. Definetly one of the best of 2000. 5 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix A car chase movie that doesn't deliever one decent car chase. 1 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Thank goodness it was fast paced. Watch "The fast and the furious" instead 2 stars
8/21/01 P.Rodriguez F&*^ Shit-----Rank Hardcore Tripe-----There should B a SUCKS ALL ASS & DICK CATEGORY 1 stars
8/06/01 ted v. the poster was GOOD! the film was PRETTY LAME! 2 stars
8/02/01 JoseFlores Its a very awesome 5 stars
7/12/01 braden h kicks fucking ass 5 stars
7/06/01 SeStA THIS IS A KICK ARSE FILM! Nicholas Cage rox as well as Angelina Jolie, go see it go go go!! 5 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth How in the fuck did that ugly-ass bitch Nick Cage become a fucking star? 1 stars
6/10/01 edgar the best movie ever 5 stars
6/06/01 Julia Somit this is the best movie i love the cars and i love the chase scenes 5 stars
6/06/01 Katrina This movie was the best. Whats wrong with you people 5 stars
5/22/01 Jordana Bernall This movie kicks ass! 5 stars
5/15/01 P.Rodriguez GEEEZZZ Seem Like Hollywood is short on orginal and decent ideas..............very short. 1 stars
5/14/01 Basil stupid movie. 1 stars
5/04/01 Mamdouh M. Mehaimeed not what i expected,,,, 3 stars
4/26/01 Dom Corleone Absolutely pathetic - insulting hollywood trash 1 stars
4/23/01 Dave B Mathew Bartley..fuck you!!..the shelbyGT 500 makes the movie the BEST EVER!! 5 stars
4/02/01 Jesse L Angelina Jolie is a horrible actress but Cage makes it happen... 4 stars
3/20/01 johnny 1 That 1967 shelby is fucking some nice shit 5 stars
3/14/01 andrew it was the best movie ever 5 stars
3/13/01 David Best movie ever 5 stars
3/08/01 jeremy i love the part with the 1976 shelby mustang gt 500 theat part is aswome i wish i had one. 5 stars
3/03/01 Ariel Bradford AWESOME! plus the cars rock and Nick is hott! 5 stars
3/01/01 HyDRo The best fucking movie I have ever seen 5 stars
3/01/01 Wesley Olvera it's a very good car movie 4 stars
2/22/01 Monday Morning Nic rocks, action trucks, Ribisi sucks. This is a hip flick overall, tho'. 4 stars
2/18/01 Anderson Excellent for car fanatics!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/01 Steven Armet WOW this was awesome 5 stars
2/14/01 Paul AMAZING 5 stars
2/13/01 adf sweet as all fucking hell 5 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Give it a minute & you'll forget it. 2 stars
1/25/01 dog a kick ass movie only a car guy could appricate 5 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl Phfff! Dissapointing-should have been a lot better with more action less crap chat. 3 stars
1/06/01 Steve This movie has the best looking cars,not to mention Angelina Jolie................... 5 stars
1/02/01 FrayLo I don't understand how anyone can like this movie...carchases==cheesy, just plain sucks 1 stars
12/12/00 Dan Shaw The film is one of the best i have ever seen and the best film of the year 5 stars
12/10/00 Erik Koenig I really enjoyed this movie. Both the cars and the story line were hot. 5 stars
11/05/00 Gray Cage, Jolie and Ribisi have no chance to act. They only characters in this were the cars. 1 stars
10/26/00 Dave Jackson Bad. Really Really Bad. Bad Acting. Bad Direction. Bad Edit. Bad Script. Bad.... 1 stars
9/08/00 Richard Wright ,Saw it, thought it was O.K don't remember anything about it now, don't wanna see it again. 3 stars
9/04/00 nick it was the best 5 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer Sweet-Ass Folow-Up to The Rock, Con Air, Armageddon, and Enemy of the State; Great Movie. 5 stars
8/30/00 Eran nice,I enjoyed watching it ,while taking all the time about everything 4 stars
8/25/00 goran awesome 5 stars
7/25/00 Charley Sigler I thought it was a very good movie with great action sequences. 5 stars
7/21/00 Jokko Not worth a rental. Good chases? HELL NO. Boring movie with lame "action", bad performances 1 stars
7/08/00 Zaw check it out. 5 stars
7/06/00 Olyphant The 1st Cage-Bruckheimer actioner that bored me. So many cool actors, so little acting. Sad 3 stars
7/01/00 Belinda Rental 3 stars
6/30/00 Mr J M HARWOOD Sick, did not see enough of ANGELINA JOLIE 5 stars
6/29/00 PJ a great chase scene does not a movie make. MTV crap, pointless, Cage should be ashamed! 2 stars
6/28/00 lina so what if it was predicatable... it had great action ...awesome car chases ... 5 stars
6/28/00 furtively The title IS the review. Gone in 60 Seconds. 2 stars
6/27/00 Paige Pretty lame. Good rental for a rainy Sunday. 2 stars
6/26/00 Pierce Lanson Plot full of holes, (why'd they let brother go??) absolutely predictable, crap. 2 stars
6/26/00 Bubby I kewpt looking for something to slit my wrists with! 1 stars
6/25/00 Mike Better then I had expected... but not as good as The Rock or other cage films 4 stars
6/24/00 malcolm not nearly enough chases for a car thief film. Giovanni Ribisi grossly underused 3 stars
6/21/00 Mortis I felt fully manipulated and I LOVED IT!!! Cage rocks! Angelina rolls! 4 stars
6/16/00 Will yawn. 2 stars
6/14/00 Joe Richards A car chase movie with 1 car chase? 2 stars
6/13/00 PJ Great car chase scene at the end, that's pretty much it, mtv crap with some good parts 3 stars
6/13/00 Obi Wan Expected to see some crazy car chases, mad action since this was Jerry Bruckheimer..SUCKED! 2 stars
6/13/00 Heather Keith Expected plot twists, but actually done well. I'd certainly never call it boring! 4 stars
6/13/00 PhilmPhreak Pretty lame. 3 stars
6/13/00 Captain Highcrime I guess the high price of gas affected the number & duration of chases, stays in PARK a lot 3 stars
6/13/00 Simon Better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick. 3 stars
6/11/00 "Persnickety" it's cool if you like car chases and cage, other then that it was ok 4 stars
6/09/00 The Rock This is what I wanted out of MI-2..a mindless action, high energy movie 5 stars
6/09/00 Jokko This guy's wrong -- this movie sucked beginning to end. Chases are boring. Acting is awful. 1 stars
6/05/00 D. Simpson Cage is back where he belongs. The cast is dynamic all the way, & extraordinary car chases! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jun-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Jun-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast