More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.33

Awesome59.92%
Worth A Look: 25.29%
Average: 7.39%
Pretty Bad: 2.33%
Total Crap: 5.06%

15 reviews, 167 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, A by Peter Sobczynski

Waves (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


O Brother, Where Art Thou?
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A Coen movie is always an event, but this won't be held as their best."
4 stars

It's said by some that even a crap Coen Brothers movie is something to look forward to, and I'm not going to oppose that theory in any way, shape or form. The simple fact of that matter is that the Coens bring an original flavour to American cinema that makes them not just enjoyable to watch, but usually a good cinematic education to boot. In O Brother, Where Art Thou, all the trademark Coen dialogue, wandering narrative and obsession with Americana is present, along with a surprisingly big performance from one G. Clooney. But something important is missing... a point to it all perhaps?

Now wait a second, Coen fans, don't bust out your lynching ropes just yet. I'm not putting the seal of death on OBWAT just yet. There's plenty to enjoy. As stated above, Clooney is fantastic. He just launches headlong into a slapstick characterization that could o easily have been over the top or just unfunny, and what he comes out with is a character drawn from the movies of the 30's. He's a wide-eyed freak, talking just a speck too fast, jerking about with a panic that makes him impossible to take your eyes off.

The film looks just sumptuous. The Coens have a real feel for old Americana and this is no exception. Even The Big Lebowski had an underlying 'tumbling tumbleweeds' backdrop to it, as did Raising Arizona and Blood Simple, and here you certainly get a feel for the time, the music, the styles.

But it's the story that really leaves the affair coming unstuck. The film is about three prisoners, all of individual levels of boneheadedness, who have escaped the chain gang and are out to find the treasure Clooney stashed away before he was imprisoned. On their tail are a bunch of nasty cops, and while they travel along escaping their foes again and again, they encounter weirdo folks and bizarre situations. And that's it. Cops chase prisoners, prisoners meet weirdos. It ain't much of a damn story, folks.

But where this film works is in it's characterization. Clooney is a constant giggle. His role here will reinvent him as a genuine comedy talent. Trust me when I say, this is not a 'George Clooney' movie, it's a Coens flick, and just as Raising Arizona was far from a 'Nic Cage' movie, Clooney hits similar territory in his passionate portrayal of a complete doob. Coens ever-present John Turturro is not far off that level, as he drifts into his dumbass character just well enough for him not steal any thunder from Clooney, while Tim Blake Nelson brings a bit of heart to the show as a dumber'n'dogshit #3 for the group.

The music is bizarre in itself. Not something you'd ever consider buying a soundtrack of, but strangely compelling even though it's made up of old time bluegrass numbers. When the three leads bust into song, you're witnessing what's not far from the funniest scenes of the film.

I dunno, I had a great time watching the flick, but so much of that was because it was an event for me. Leaving afterwards I was struck by an incredible realistion that if this weren't a Coen brothers film, and if Clooney hadn't stolen the show, I'd probably have called it a two star affair, at best.

With certain characters and storylines showing up sparingly throughout the film, you do get the impression that there's a half hour of this flick out there somwhere that we're not privy to, that would have made the story all come together and made this a real experience. But until the DVD comes out and shows us what got cut, and why David Caruso only has two minutes of screen time for what seems like it was supposed to be an important character, we'll just have to deal with some great Clooney one-liners, some fantastic Coen Brothers weirdos and one song in particular that will sit in your head for an annoying amount of time.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1828&reviewer=1
originally posted: 10/24/00 00:39:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/25/18 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
8/31/15 FireWithFire EVERY Coen brothers movie pisses on Whites, this one White Southerners ,before the 196660s. 1 stars
2/15/12 Ron Larson great characters, fantastic music 5 stars
10/05/11 Quigley A highly enjoyable film. One of the Coen's best. Loved the Siren scene. 5 stars
11/24/10 JTBrandt.com I don't get what people like about this movie. Jokes were stupid; soundtrack was annoying. 2 stars
6/02/10 User Name The Southern version of the Odyssey. And, suprisingly, it works. 4 stars
1/19/09 mr.mike Virtually unwatchable. 1 stars
9/17/08 Stu Moments of genius but also slow in parts. Not as good as youŽd expect from the Coens. 3 stars
6/14/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ELLECTIC AND ENTERTAINING MIX 4 stars
2/09/08 Samantha P i loooove this movie, and the music is awesome, and i hate country music! so entertaining! 5 stars
10/30/07 JeromeBoch Shit smells better. 1 stars
10/10/07 john-paul moore its the best film out 5 stars
3/01/07 Crantor D. Smithen Good premise, painfully rushed and awkward at times. Clooney saves the movie. 3 stars
1/26/06 Jerome Bosch As entertaining as am infomercial, hated the music. 1 stars
12/30/05 Agent Sands One great bit of entertainment. Hilarious, exciting, different. 5 stars
11/11/05 Vina W.O.W 4 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley constant sorrow... 1 stars
8/25/05 ES Kind of a cool song, kinda of a bad movie 2 stars
3/27/05 Jeanne George Clooney's Best - "But you ain't bona fide!" 5 stars
1/21/05 DM Funny shit. "The best thing you ever did for them gals was get hit by that train!" 4 stars
11/26/04 alien assassin the coen Brothers' masterpiece 5 stars
9/26/04 Ken One of the best american movies I've ever seen. Great casting, great musics, wonderfull! 5 stars
9/02/04 Ice Queen Loved it. Hilarious. Great casting. 5 stars
7/09/04 Gray I've been told only a "white male could enjoy this movie" 5 stars
5/30/04 Lindsay Great songs and hilarious, lovable characters! I LOVE it! 5 stars
5/25/04 John they sing a great and bizarre song - the rest is dull and slightly pretentious 2 stars
5/07/04 Ross I bought the soundtrack. 4 stars
5/03/04 Shanette N. Jones different; but great! 4 stars
4/06/04 Uni Girl This is one of many favourite movies for me and all my friends 5 stars
4/06/04 Robin Its awesome.I love that song:im a man of constant sorrow 5 stars
4/05/04 Miss Julie Damn, I love this movie! The Coens deserve a Pulitzer, never mind an Oscar. 5 stars
3/26/04 bikehorn Loved the parallel to the story of Odysseus. Brilliantly written and filmed. Great sndtrk. 5 stars
3/24/04 Kat Bailey Loved it, you have to be a true Southerner to get all the minute references, hilarious! 5 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley O brother how over-rated and annoying art thou? 2 stars
12/18/03 * An Idiot Who Loves George Clooney* AWSOME GEORGE CLOONEY AT HIS BEST GREAT MOVIE IT FUCKIN'ROX! 5 stars
8/24/03 John Bale A wild happy visual ride with the Coen Bros. Top script and cast 5 stars
8/21/03 Matt Wonderful! A breath of fresh air. Quite infectious. 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese dumb 2 stars
6/22/03 Ashley I loved it ... I love George Clooney ... and hes a Dapper Dan Man!!! 5 stars
5/29/03 Jo Ellis excellent, could watch it over and over again 5 stars
5/17/03 George Jung Anyone who doesn't like this movie can R-U-N-N-O-F-T...or go fuck themselves...whichever. 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Overstated, obvious, and obnoxious. 1 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon I saw this movie while doped-up on cough medicine. I think I was in some sort of trance. 5 stars
1/29/03 Christopher M. Domenick We need this movie. 5 stars
12/31/02 Bob Hardcore Great cinema. Clooney is amazing here. 5 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig highly sophisticated slapstick 5 stars
11/28/02 R.W. Welch Not up to "Arizona" but still an enjoyable screwball comedy. 4 stars
10/15/02 Elizaveta we're in a tight spot! 5 stars
10/12/02 andria this movie rocks! absolutely love delmar!! 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock I didn't realise Clooney could act. 4 stars
9/03/02 brien George Clooneys best performance since Dusk till Dawn 5 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol I'm wary of any kind of "updated" classic, but this really hit the mark. Truly amusing. 5 stars
6/10/02 JesseL Excellent. If you know just a little about 'The Odyssey' it means more. 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris Just watch, don't ask questions or think. You'll enjoy it more trust me. 4 stars
4/28/02 Butterbean It's not "The Big Lebowski", but it's visually a treat. 4 stars
4/04/02 Edfink Lombardo Brilliant film with an equally wonderful soundtrack to boot...A true gem of a film 5 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto Excellent picture 5 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy Kick Ass little movie. 4 stars
3/31/02 Film Dude God damn, I never expected this to be so good. 5 stars
3/14/02 Rockitman007 This is one of my all time favorite movies!!!! 5 stars
2/26/02 Crusty For people who have a wandering soul. Funny, feast for the eyes, heartwarming. Top film. 5 stars
2/22/02 Kristi Good Movie! Gotta Love the music too! 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Great music. Fun. A little confusing at times. 4 stars
2/01/02 Dar Mulhall Fucking Awesome - soundtrack to match 5 stars
1/23/02 John Wilner It's pure bloodhound shit; another Hollywood lynching of southern white culture. 1 stars
1/16/02 george fountas A superb musical from coen brothers. 5 stars
11/24/01 Andrew Carden Just Not Very Funny, Good Premise Wasted. 2 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Really funny and cool. 4 stars
10/10/01 Kooler Go for the depression-era detail alone. Bonus: Clooney lampoons his own narcissistic image! 4 stars
9/30/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Thought I would hate this movie, but I liked it. The slow witted guy was brilliant 4 stars
9/19/01 JLH One of the best movies Ive seen in a long time. Music, story, atmosphere were great. 5 stars
9/17/01 Bri Loved it. Good music. Wacky. Watch on dvd! 5 stars
9/05/01 Amy Nothing annoys me more than a southern twang and music to match yet I adore this movie!!!!! 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Clooney at his cinematic best! Great cinematography! 5 stars
9/02/01 Tory Loved it 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Saw this the day I found out I didn't have cancer. Talk about in the mood. 5 stars
8/19/01 phil m. afficiando Awesome(-) or Worth Look(+); different and emininently entertaining; fun twists/turns 4 stars
8/09/01 moviegoer I thoroughly enjoyed this film and hope to add it to my collection someday. 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa I've seen a lot of bad movies in my life.....but this was AWESOME!!!!! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Clooney's best role,Tim Blake's a riot, Turturro's the man, Coen's win again and again... 5 stars
7/28/01 richy c hey gizzy! maybe you were just suffering a mild stroke? i'm concerned about you. 5 stars
7/22/01 Will that was really good. 5 stars
7/22/01 john klepper loved it 5 stars
7/08/01 R.W. Welch Imaginative road pic with some surreal twists. 4 stars
7/08/01 the scarecrow shutup Gizzy, this film kicks ass 5 stars
7/07/01 Indelusia A great movie. Cohen brothers classic, and George Clooney at his best. 5 stars
6/24/01 marilyn ITS A HOOT AND OL' GEORGE KNOWS WHAT HES DOIN WHEN HE "SINGS" 5 stars
6/22/01 Steve Ok... 4 stars
6/22/01 MacShogun Watched it numerous times still great! 5 stars
6/21/01 Gizzy I almost dozed off - it's that bad 1 stars
6/19/01 Monday Morning Fresh, totally original and well done. I also like the slightly dark edge. 5 stars
6/17/01 matt I loved this movie!! It was very well written and directed. 5 stars
6/17/01 liam myers nice feel to it 5 stars
6/17/01 I love movies it is beyond my power of comprehension how anyone could EVER find ANYTHING good about this 1 stars
6/14/01 luket anything that makes fun of the kkk is fucking awesome in my book 5 stars
6/11/01 King Jackass The best movie of the year. 5 stars
6/08/01 e j and Roy Smith are gay together THIS MOVIE RULES!!!!!! 5 stars
6/05/01 MM Did you notice the people who didn't like it can't spell worth a damn? 5 stars
6/04/01 e j Sucks all ass is a sever understatement!!!!! 1 stars
5/28/01 Rudy Lupinski Clever and really enjoyable. 5 stars
5/24/01 W.P.G. It was great! 5 stars
5/08/01 jon graham Best film I've seen in years and the music is addictive. Don't miss it on the big screen !! 5 stars
5/07/01 Mikko Salminen Enjoyable, but not amazing in any way. 3 stars
5/06/01 Roy Smith This movie is proff the Coen Brothers signed a pact with the Devil. 1 stars
4/14/01 Blacker than You Good soundtrack 4 stars
4/06/01 Peeters Valentijn Brothers C rule 5 stars
4/02/01 Maja Fantastic !!! 5 stars
3/26/01 Lim Unn How Meaningful! 5 stars
3/23/01 Kyra J. what can i say, damn, we're in a tight spot for not getting this soundtrack yet 5 stars
3/23/01 JB It cute and funny and sometimes hardcore. 4 stars
3/20/01 vpitman I'm a Coen Bros. fan, but my wife isn't, and we both thought it was great. 5 stars
3/15/01 Big John Holmes A picture that doesn't insult the intelligence or imagination of the viewer. 5 stars
3/09/01 Josue The Insultor This was a superb film. 5 stars
3/08/01 Emily It was very random, but that's what made it so hilarious. Geroge is the best part.mmm.sexy! 5 stars
3/07/01 hum best i have seen for some time for so many reasons 5 stars
3/07/01 Soggy Bottom I havent laughed so hard at a movie in ages one of the coens best 5 stars
2/27/01 Monika Frisby Awesome, very funny 5 stars
2/22/01 weird andy A hoot and a half! 4 stars
2/22/01 sjc two thumbs way way up 5 stars
2/21/01 HughK A charming movie, reminds me a little of the Big Lebowski, but even more episodic! 4 stars
2/20/01 Christopher Novak Best movie in the trailing twelve months 5 stars
2/20/01 Roy Smith I hopw there is a God because now I believe in the Devil 1 stars
2/18/01 dan coen-eriffic 5 stars
2/15/01 www.robotocracy.com The smartest, funniest, most thoroughly enjoyable movie I have seen in a long time. 5 stars
2/14/01 J SOLO A CLASSIC THAT COULD BE A CULT FAVORITE. 4 stars
2/13/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi I was sorry when it ended. 5 stars
2/12/01 Brian Genius. Coens' most entertaining film to date. Much better than TBL. We're in a tight spot! 5 stars
2/08/01 ObiWan Not the normal Coen Bro. stuff, but very entertaining. One of the year's best. 5 stars
2/06/01 Frog-Butt Absolutely Genius, Brilliant, and.... Well there be frogs in there :-) 5 stars
2/06/01 Wafer This movie just makes you feel good watching it 5 stars
2/05/01 neil bartlett Refreshing change from most Hollywood crap. Clooney surprisingly good 4 stars
2/04/01 Mike Goodpaster Fantastic. The music was great and so was the show. Hollywood needs more of this. 5 stars
2/03/01 Ericka Lindstrom I'm going to have to read Homer's Odyssey. This movie didn't make any sense to me. 3 stars
2/03/01 john d(THE DUDE) The Coen bros, are movie making gods but it's going to be hard to top THE BIG LEBOWSKI 3 stars
1/31/01 Soggy Bottom Bitch George Clooney, his hair and the double-takes were hilarious, & the music worth downloading 5 stars
1/31/01 Ludolecorse The Apology of freedom 5 stars
1/30/01 Marie This film is so kick ass!! No wonder George Clooney won the Golden Globe for this!!! 5 stars
1/28/01 skye ah'm with you fellers 5 stars
1/28/01 R Kramer This was not Clooney's finest. 3 stars
1/25/01 Kirsten Appreciated it on an intellectual level. Didn't make me laugh out loud, though. 4 stars
1/23/01 Soggy Bottom Boy This is by far my favorite Coen Brothers flic, finally over-throwing Barton Fink! 5 stars
1/23/01 Peter Burris superb romp through meshed iconography! 5 stars
1/23/01 Peter Smith STUNNING! 5 stars
1/22/01 Coen fan Fan-fucking-tastic! 5 stars
1/22/01 MC Cheese The music really makes it! A feel good Coen movie! 5 stars
1/18/01 Thor-Leo Weakest Coen Bros. film yet. Clever dialog but a very long setup for a meager payoff. 3 stars
1/18/01 loser funny saw it 3 times 5 stars
1/18/01 Heather Original, quirky movie, loved the music and cinematography. 5 stars
1/17/01 Dee Please, go and see this film 5 stars
1/16/01 Kip George Clooney is great.. definately a good movie. 5 stars
1/14/01 Phil Some people wont get it, other say it's awesome! 5 stars
1/10/01 Ida Kern Clooney is great in this! A musical and a comedy all rolled in one. 4 stars
1/10/01 Blubberbot me like 5 stars
1/03/01 tnt Boring..painful...and pointless...worst movie Ever!!! 1 stars
1/03/01 Mr. X Funny! Great music! Loved it! 5 stars
12/30/00 frankko dialogue, music, cinematography... all perfect 5 stars
12/29/00 matthew smith quirky and strange, but worth a look 4 stars
12/29/00 El_Duderino Can the Coens ever do wrong?? Seems unlikely. 5 stars
12/15/00 Lorenza Venturi Intelligent, ironic, great music 5 stars
12/13/00 Mr. ZmoXz Great characters!!! 4 stars
12/12/00 cooljo coooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/02/00 Sebastian Corral This movie is the best comedy I've ever seen! 5 stars
11/03/00 Maria Dolores Valdivia Armental The best film this year, great. 5 stars
10/26/00 Sven Siegle Easy, cool, funny, fantastic! 5 stars
10/26/00 Jens A. Czaplo ... great pictures, great music 5 stars
10/26/00 Schmitt Dirk ... best Odysse in an movie I mind 5 stars
9/26/00 Robin Cooper If you liked The Big Lebowski.... you'll love this 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jan-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast