More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.32

Awesome: 20.42%
Worth A Look33.1%
Average: 18.31%
Pretty Bad: 14.08%
Total Crap: 14.08%

8 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Executioner's Song, The by Jack Sommersby

Come Play by Peter Sobczynski

Blind Fury by Jack Sommersby

Craft, The: Legacy by Peter Sobczynski

Forbidden World by Jack Sommersby

Joysticks by Jack Sommersby

Exterminator/Exterminator 2, The by Jack Sommersby

Doorman, The (2020) by Jay Seaver

Postmortem by Jack Sommersby

Warrior and the Sorceress, The by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Prince of Egypt, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Impoverished retelling of a classic Hebrew myth"
2 stars

So gimmicky its almost a waste of time. It will definitely hold the attention of young ones who have been conditioned by the Disney formula. It glosses over the real structure and meaning of the Moses story and we get some pithy cartoon version instead.

For a story that is the cornerstone of three of the world's major religions you would think they would have given a little more attention to meaning. Instead they focused on formulas and gimmicks and left the force of the story in the catering truck.

There are two good reasons to see this film. The tenth plague of the death of the first born and the parting of the Red Sea.

One last thing. Ra isn't even that important in Egyptian mythology. And Pharoah's wife is his sister. That is why he is the pharoah, because divine rule passed through the female, not the male. In order for Ramses to become pharoah, he must marry his mother's daughter, his sister. Not be crowned upon the death of his father, as Prince of Egypt would have it be told.

Get the facts right. If you are going to try to be historically accurate, make sure you get the whole story.

Some of the plot embellishments do nothing to get the emotional buy-in they were after.

One thing I did think was interesting about Moses in Prince of Egypt is how multi-cultural he was. Ethnically Hebrew, culturally Egyptian and married to a Midianite. Politically, he was several millenia ahead of his time.

Prince of Egypt is a bad batch of cultural mythology cut with a large percentage of airy embellishment. It won't get you high and is just a waste of money.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=186&reviewer=67
originally posted: 12/28/99 23:23:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/10/15 WALTER Jeffrey Katzenberg was responsible for such films as THE LITTLE MERMAID. 5 stars
10/08/15 A Historian The pyramids weren't built with slave labor. 2 stars
11/21/10 mathias the fact they sing about dead kids is kind of fucked 2 stars
4/08/09 namra humayun its a very good film 4 stars
2/18/09 Sally Sundeen I am a sucker for animated films...but I love this movie. I think that it is wonderful! 4 stars
9/28/08 Little Buddy Released after Mulan and Anastasia. 5 stars
5/24/08 PAUL SHORTT SINCERE, RESPECTFUL AND VISUALLY SUBLIME 5 stars
1/28/08 Pamela White almost biblically acurate and kids learn history 4 stars
6/24/07 Austin Wertman Powerful 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega One of the best musicals I've watched. 5 stars
11/26/06 pffgg bla 1 stars
4/03/06 JRE incredible graphics. and followed the bible pretty well too 4 stars
2/04/06 Quigley the movie has a real sense of wonder and power to it unachieved by traditional animation 5 stars
1/03/06 Wiseman wohh guys common this movie was great. 5 stars
8/30/05 ES 'There must be more than this provincial life...' whoops, wrong movie 3 stars
5/11/05 Katie Malone It really says something when an atheist is moved by this deeply religious film. 5 stars
1/14/05 KingNeutron Worth seeing more than once. 5 stars
12/23/04 Daveman Gorgeously animated but too sentimental for my tastes 3 stars
10/18/04 Amber Laplante I love this movie. I think it is a great leason. 5 stars
5/17/04 DM I really like the songs, but something isn't right 4 stars
5/15/04 Sean Scanlan Umm.... 3 stars
11/07/03 Kyle I hate religion, but I've read Exodus, this is a terrible adaptation. 2 stars
10/04/03 louis thornton jr i love it show all the things that he done 5 stars
10/01/03 Esotla Lativa the facts were totaly wrong - 1 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Disney needs to worry 5 stars
10/24/01 Andrew Carden I Couldn't Really Find This Entertaining At All. Lacks Good Scripts. 3 stars
9/10/01 I love movies great film but Jeff Goldblum's voice was wasted 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary Great flick! The animation is much better than Disney and the storyline is powerful! 5 stars
2/25/01 Stephanie P The wonderful vocals, amazing animation and timeless tale make this movie one of the best. 5 stars
2/06/01 Turtle It's a fine adaption of the classic life of Moses, but it isn't great. 3 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla what waste of time, watch the ten commandments instead of this stupid turkey 1 stars
10/22/00 Jed &uck the jimmy jam. This is a good movie. *uck all you anti-animation people. 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski I loved it. And yes, I really am a Jew. 4 stars
11/13/99 Joanna Spurbeck This movie was the best reinactment of this particular story from the bible. 5 stars
11/11/99 Ralf Behet Not without flaws, but still impressive. On par with many Disney films. 5 stars
9/21/99 JED A great but a tad bit odd animated film based on the story of moses (Great cast especially) 4 stars
4/20/99 bb hooey! 1 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam It was not very good. But then again it's a fuckin' cartoon. 2 stars
3/25/99 Michael Prince A great piece. For once, GOD was shown as more than just background. 5 stars
3/21/99 Monky The music, animation, voice casting, just incredible. I'm 26/M, seen it twice already! 5 stars
3/21/99 Zandman Technically, a PERFECT film - so what if its sentimental crap + shitty songs? 5 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey Anyone smarter than Tellurium (below) knows this movie is a masterpiece! 4 stars
3/08/99 tellurium The fucked up the story, they left out to much important stuff 1 stars
2/19/99 The Graduate Very moving story, and rich characters. Plus, it looks stunning! 5 stars
2/05/99 Bob, Lord of Evil I think this was hands down the best movie of 1998! 5 stars
2/04/99 Michelle Me Belle didnt even really follow the bible's story, but some of the effects were cool 3 stars
1/25/99 Meepos. If not for the songs, would have got five stars. 4 stars
1/24/99 Slugmuffin I have seen this movie 3 times now, and it keeps getting better and better. 5 stars
1/23/99 Goofaloo As a spectacle it was awesome. As a story, well we all know how it goes. 4 stars
1/23/99 Dread Pirate Roberts Half the songs were worthwhile, the animation was awesome, and the "acting" was great. 5 stars
1/22/99 TB animation was cool..... but being boring as shit for the first 30 minutes is unforgivable. 2 stars
1/20/99 Jason Stein Animation was awesome, but Steve Martin and Martin Short's charcters seemed too "Disney" 4 stars
1/20/99 Chronically hip I enjoyed it. The characters looked weird, but overall it worked. 4 stars
1/19/99 Odd Pieman(tdiamond@osf1.gmu.edu) How could God allow Val Kilmer to do his voice? Blasphemy! 2 stars
1/19/99 Binky Solid effort, but like Mulan it went from visually superb to patchy. 4 stars
1/17/99 austin pretty good, though could have waited for video 4 stars
1/12/99 Miss Scarlett Yer playin' with the big boys now! 4 stars
1/12/99 Doobie Boy A bad premise (remaking a classic) but executed well enough. Worth a matinee ticket. 4 stars
1/08/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! its funny how a movie with a REAL plot gets dissed,AWESOME,MOVING & OSCAR MATERIAL!! 5 stars
1/07/99 buddy "Spork Girl" Disney?!?! Get a clue!!!!!! 2 stars
1/05/99 Willy Wonker Dude Huh, huh, huh, this s*cks. Huh, huh, huh. Change it Butthead. 1 stars
1/04/99 Noreen Can't understand how anyone could call this a masterpiece. A for effort, C- for results. 2 stars
1/04/99 Lindsay It was good, I enjoyed it, beautiful animation, good music. 4 stars
1/04/99 Jason Landru and One Hung Low, you gents really have this one nailed. 1 stars
1/04/99 Landru This film blows. I've seen better animation in commercials. 1 stars
1/03/99 Shana I like Val Kilmer better in live action. He looks much better than that scrawny cartoon guy 1 stars
1/03/99 Critic Deluxe Contrary to all of the praise, POE is an average film in most respects, including animation 2 stars
1/03/99 One Hung Low It gives the word "tacky" new meaning. The soundtrack is an insult to the subject matter. 1 stars
1/02/99 Louis XIV Dreamworks paid plenty of critics to hype this film. I found it to be mediocre at best. 2 stars
1/02/99 John Pindick of Egypt. Lame. Trite. Boring. Tedious. Stupid. Poor animation. 1 stars
1/02/99 Oscar Goldman Prince of Egypt is a trite, cartoonish remake of a classic. Soundtrack (bad) is CWTV & MTV 1 stars
12/31/98 Austin good, not great, serious theme 4 stars
12/30/98 MilhousFan Are you people on crack? This movie was amazing! 5 stars
12/30/98 Peter Fitswell Reamworks has produced a film that can make you yawn and vomit simultaneously. 1 stars
12/30/98 Sylvia Jeff Goldblum's geekiness taints any serious film. Subject was too serious for a cartoon. 1 stars
12/29/98 Hugh Jass POE (acronym is an insult to Edgar Allan) has mediocre animation and a weak script. 1 stars
12/29/98 PyThomas Brilliant animation. Best of all, no cute talking animal sidekicks. 4 stars
12/28/98 Mercury Hayes How Dreamworks got 3200 screens for this dog is a tribute to SKG's pull. 1 stars
12/27/98 Katsat Crude mix of CGI/traditional animation. Leaden, plodding, boring. Aimed high & missed badly 2 stars
12/27/98 Thing Music was the pits. Animation was like a Saturday morning cartoon. 1 stars
12/27/98 Clint Beastwood My niece and nephew hated the film. They thought it totally blew. Barf city. SKG blows! 1 stars
12/25/98 Louis Munro popo, do you work for PDI? Kind of like asking a father if is daughter is beautiful. 1 stars
12/24/98 popo Beautiful, moving. Fantastic. Thanks to Dreamworks for taking animation to new heights! 5 stars
12/21/98 jlgallardo I hated te animation of the people, they don't stand up Disney's. Nice special affects. 3 stars
12/21/98 Freyja An enjoyable enough cartoon (not quite animation in my book). Despite the music. 4 stars
12/21/98 buddy Jerky animation, just like Anastasia, boring, horrible songs, CG that doesn't mesh. Yuck. 2 stars
12/20/98 Mr Showbiz visually breathtaking, but follows it's Disney forebears too closely. 4 stars
12/20/98 Louis Munro The animation is no better than any Disney film. Trivialization of 10 Commandments. 2 stars
12/19/98 Jason Stein This is the most spectacular animation i've ever seen! DreamWorks scores BIG! 5 stars
12/19/98 Carole Whitehill Breathtaking, magical, spiritual achievement. This year's "Titanic" Go see it! 5 stars
12/05/98 Jerry Wake me up when it's over 1 stars
11/23/98 Martin Restin some nice effects, but uninvolving characters and story. would bomb if a live action film. 2 stars
11/08/98 Mr. Spock of Vulcan Nice animation. Soundtrack is Nashville meets Soultrain. Katzenberg is devoid of ideas. 3 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee superb animation and effects, celebrity voices and the tale of Moses. Very Disney. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Dec-1998 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Sep-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast