More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 19.15%
Worth A Look29.79%
Average: 12.77%
Pretty Bad: 21.28%
Total Crap: 17.02%

2 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Rugrats Movie, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Standard TV adaption fare. Bored me silly. Really silly."
2 stars

If you haven't seen The Rugrats on TV, well you're not missing a whole lot in my opinion.

There are good moments, but basically this is a show aimed at I don't know who.

The movie, perhaps two years too late to catch the Rugrats phenomonon at it's peak, is more boring than the TV show.

The deal is, the kids have a new addition. A new baby brings a certain kind of hell to the existing bubs and amidst it all, the new bub escapes and the kids go a-searching.

They find themselves in the forest and cut off from home and yada yada. This is just an elongated TV episode. There's no reason for it to be. There's no raising of standards. It's just the same ol' same ol'.

Remember when the Beavis And Butthead movie made you say "the TV show was better.." ? Well, welcome back.

After a half an hour of listening to these shrill voices, you'll be thinking up excuses to pry the kids away. The kids will be thinking about power rangers. People will be rustling candy bags. Why? Because they're bored.

Now, if they'd have made this a live-action project with the original voices dubbed over the kids a-la Look Who's Talking.... well it still would have sucked gritty bits. But at least there'd be some reason to go.

As it is.. there's none.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=188&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/22/98 19:38:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/08/16 Dane Youssef Really a let-down. Some inspired things, but too obvious padding. Sequel salvaged it. 2 stars
11/17/13 dr.lao Good, if you resist the tempatation to compare it to the genius that of the TV show 4 stars
7/23/12 cr a good cartoon movie with enough laughs even for a adult. 3 stars
5/25/08 PAUL SHORTT THE RESULT IS A HAPPY BLEND OF SMART-ALECK HUMOUR AND WACKY ADVENTURE 3 stars
9/04/04 T.B. Cute story 3 stars
7/21/04 James Bond A star better than Rugrats in Paris: the Movie 2 stars
9/25/03 jimmy d thos movie was so bad i went home and poked my right eye out. 5 stars
9/01/03 Kitty B. wake up and smell the shit-BBAADD 1 stars
6/17/03 Ghetto Smurf Of course it sucks you fuckin retards...IT'S MEANT FOR 3 YEAR OLDS! 1 stars
5/26/03 Valerie Cameron I like RUGRATS a little better than Catherine Tramell does! 2 stars
5/20/03 Jon Lyrik Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...stop torturing me... 1 stars
12/17/02 Charles Tatum Which Jeremy ID are we supposed to answer to? 4 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi come on jeremy, i think ur too harsh, i didnt (L) this movie as much as the 2nd, but.... 4 stars
12/11/01 Andrew Carden I Had Alot Of Fun...A Real Surprise. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Lots & lots & lots & lots & lots & lots & lots & lots & lots & LOTS o' fun! 5 stars
4/25/01 J I agree with LiL this rapid hatred is sad. 5 stars
4/13/01 LiL Well, to all those who hated this, I suggest you see your doctor. 5 stars
2/02/01 Bob Barker Oh my God! Could this be any more boring? No!!! If you watch this you must be blind and gay 1 stars
12/27/00 Turtle The Rugrats leap to the silver screen didn't backfire like it might have. 4 stars
9/08/00 Jed It is a 5-star occultic classic although it is tad too short. 5 stars
7/11/00 Jed An almost 5-star occultic classic it was a tad too short for its own good. 4 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers It was pointless! 1 stars
4/01/99 Ah Dooey TV series was better. 3 stars
2/28/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! songs are fuckin shit (put it that way),what a waste of time. 2 stars
1/25/99 Cool thing Not bad, nothing special 3 stars
1/05/99 Blotman Great 'family' film, loved it as much as the show, my little sister too! 4 stars
12/20/98 pounder smug and annoying; more dumb "references" to other movies 1 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Makes the transition from TV to big screen intact. The kids will love it. 5 stars
12/04/98 Jack Deth not bad, for kids any way, about 20 minutes too long...and whats with all those monkeys...! 3 stars
12/03/98 Rowelentless This flick really sucked a fat ass! 1 stars
11/27/98 Ty :) The Rugrat movie was awsome! 5 stars
11/27/98 EvilGas OMFG! Please Kill Me. 1 stars
11/25/98 ryan your wrong 4 stars
11/21/98 Quentin Rowe Excellent for anyone who has been a fan. Fast moving and exciting. 4 stars
11/05/98 Christine Shumock This movie took me by surprise! Incredibly funny and moving. A really heartfelt experienc 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Nov-1998 (G)
  DVD: 08-Jan-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Apr-1999 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast