More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.79

Awesome: 14.04%
Worth A Look: 26.32%
Average: 17.54%
Pretty Bad: 8.77%
Total Crap33.33%

3 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mafia!
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"If I can help one person avoid this film, I'm happy."
1 stars

It's not funny. No you don't understand. It's not funny. No. Seriously. It's just not funny. Like, at ALL!

I wish I could say something good about this film. I always considered Christina Applegate fine spank material, and always thoguht of Jay Mohr as potential comedy genius...

But this film is really unfunny. In every way possible.

The only funny line in the film, is in the commercial. If you've seen the commercial, it's all downhill from here folks.

To be fair, there is humor in this film, but it comes from the Production Designer, not the actors or script. Every set has something funny in it. Every line of dialogue has nothing at all of merit.

I seriously tried to make this the first film I've ever walked out of, but my vomit had dried and my feet were stuck to the floor. I guess I could have ditched my shoes and barefooted it out of there, but they cost me eighty bucks.

I endured, not like many who left, and I can say I'm stronger for the experience.
Well at least my stomach is.

What a pity Lloyd Bridges had to end his career (and fine life) with a complete fucking stink-bomb like this. Perhaps it's what killed him. It nearly did me in.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=19&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/13/98 07:39:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/25/10 zenny underrated stupid fun 4 stars
5/01/10 PAUL SHORTT LOPE ALONG AIMLESSLY, SQUANDERING MOST OF ITS BEST IDEAS IN ITS FIRST HALF-HOUR 2 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog Anyone who laughs at old lady farts that blow up buildings is a stupid fuck 1 stars
10/22/04 jmsynth Lame in places, but much funnier than it's reputation 4 stars
4/22/04 Casey G This with "Dirty Work", "Loaded Weapon", and "Office Space"=hilarious movie night 5 stars
3/01/04 Kev I laughed, but not for the right reasons... 1 stars
12/14/03 Shelly Howard C'est eine pelicula tres vyelikyaya. 5 stars
11/23/03 John Bale Mainly nonsense - but clever slapstick gets a laugh or three 4 stars
3/31/03 Peter I realy love this movie. This is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
2/04/03 john its good shut up u hatas 5 stars
9/07/02 Agglepraxis Lowball laughs-I guess I'm just a spoof sucker. 3 stars
8/23/02 ! It's a blame for the godfather, but its quite funny 4 stars
8/21/02 I Can't Swim Loads of fun for those 11 or under; all others will be forced to make a face 1 stars
5/28/02 Carla Metzger Whole cast kicks ass; Olympia Dukakis does still more therewith - what a blast! 5 stars
5/15/02 Heather Purplethorne Hit&miss fun, but I doubt Jane Austen had anything to do with it!! 4 stars
4/13/02 oldgoatmon I demanded my money back. I shoulda asked for more. 1 stars
2/11/02 Shelly Howard C'est eine pelicula tres vyelikyaya. 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden Underrated and Quite Imaginative Spoof On The Mafia. 4 stars
8/26/01 Brian Jacobson MASSIVE GODFATHER RIP-OFF. 2 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat Not that funny, but pretty funny. 3 stars
7/28/01 Steve Some really funny shit, but almost fell asleep between the jokes. Senseless, no plot 1 stars
6/15/01 Andreas Mafia! Is the funniest video i have seen. 5 stars
1/26/01 Nicole Sure there wasn't humour in some bits but it was the best movie ever,. 5 stars
12/02/00 Mitja Podgajski One of the worst comedies I have ever seen... 1 stars
8/10/00 Bender Underrated. Come on, there's plenty of funny gags in it. 4 stars
10/29/99 Lame-Oh I hate that girl from Jesse 1 stars
4/13/99 Go Swans If they'd put Leslie Nielsen in it, it could well have been the worst film of all time. 1 stars
3/25/99 Viral Messiah shit shit shit shit shit shit shit shit 1 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey sucked. Worse than the movies Leslie Nielsen starred in. 1 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island A comedy in search of laughs. One extra star for the "El Nino" gaga, and that's all. 2 stars
9/24/98 Milhouse Faqw A surprise. If you love spoof movies, you'll LIKE this. But Bridges was way past Airplane. 4 stars
9/21/98 MR HOLLYWOOD A comedy with not much to offer,little giggles here and there ! 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor This shows how the parody genre has run-out of ideas. 2 stars
9/05/98 Mike Lancaster Not one funny moment. The audience sat in stunned silence for 90 mins. 1 stars
8/25/98 Puppy78 (not the golden reciever) mmmm...parody film, with a big red assed baboon on its head. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Reeeeeeeally bad. Applegate will need a comeback for her comeback after this. 1 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee The end of the line for this type of comedy. The genre is dead. 2 stars
8/17/98 Pythomas I guess the A-Z-Z team needs to reunite to make something of Airplane!-caliber again. 3 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Complete waste of time. I snuck in and I still feel ripped off. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Jul-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 21-May-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Aug-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast