More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome55.08%
Worth A Look: 26.27%
Average: 4.24%
Pretty Bad: 7.63%
Total Crap: 6.78%

5 reviews, 88 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lilo & Stitch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by DrChumley

"One of Disney's stronger showings in recent years"
4 stars

In recent years, Disney Animation department’s output has been very hit or miss—at once creating wonderfully funny movies like The Emperor’s New Groove and massive stinkers like Atlantis: The Lost Empire. With Lilo & Stitch, Disney's latest offering, they managed to get it right in nearly every way.

The film begins at the trial of Jumba (David Ogden Stiers), a mad scientist (‘AN EVIL GENIUS!’) who has manufactured a creature with incredible strength, intelligence, and a drive to maim and destroy. Jumba is convicted of his crime and his creature, 626 (voiced by co-director Chris Sanders), is imprisoned. 626 escapes and steals a spaceship, ending up in Hawaii.

Meanwhile, in Hawaii, precocious youngster Lilo (Daveigh Chase) is going through difficult times. A lonely girl, Lilo hits her ‘friends’ and lip-syncs to Elvis songs when she’s depressed. In a last ditch effort to get Lilo to cheer up; her sister Nani (Tia Carrere) takes Lilo to the pound to adopt a dog. There she meets 626 who is hiding from Jumba and an “Earth Expert” named Pleakley (Kids in the Hall’s Kevin McDonald). Playing the part of the bumbling villans, Jumba and Pleakly try, unsuccessfully, to capture 626 and return him to his home planet. Lilo immediate falls in love with 626, who she names Stitch, and decides to adopt him.

Unlike so many animated films--and especially Disney animated films--Lilo & Stitch relies heavily on the growth and change of the characters to tell its story rather than the story itself. Before we’re 10 minutes into the film, we know how it’s going to end. The joy of this film is not the resolution, but rather the pain, conflict, and eventual peace found throughout the arc of the characters. It is heartbreaking to watch Stitch act on his programming only to find unhappiness. One can’t help but smile at Lilo’s childish antics of depression. And the various dénouement of each character are handled with depth, sensitivity and aplomb. The result is a Hollywood rarity: a character-driven story that actually allows the audience to care about the characters.

In fact, the film’s only flat spots are when directors Chris Sanders and Dean Deblois get away from the character development for the requisite bad guy vs. good guy chase scene at the end. Otherwise, Lilo & Stitch is a moving story about Disney’s stock and trade: the outcast.

Visually, Lilo & Stitch returns more to Disney’s traditional roots. The animation style is a little rougher than the ultra-polished products we’ve come to expect from the Disney Studios. The computer-generated effects increasingly found in animated films are muted here and flow seamlessly with the traditional animation. The result is surprisingly effective. The main characters’ lives are anything but glossy and saturated with happiness, so the animation style fits superbly. Additionally, the Disney animators have largely managed to capture the feel of the location.

A superb score and songs from Alan Silvestri enhance the animation and story of the film. Robert Zemeckis’ go-to guy has written a score that compliments the animation and story, drawing attention to itself only when it should. Silvestri manages to incorporate beautiful character motifs with a native Hawaiian flavor.

All in all, Lilo & Stitch is one of the best films to emerge from the Disney studios in recent years. While far from the classics of the early 90s, Lilo & Stitch still manages to entertain with honest, heartfelt emotion and loveable characters.

Is it worth going? Definitely. This movie is truly entertainment for the whole family. Kids will enjoy the story and adults will enjoy the more mature humor and solid story.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1959&reviewer=311
originally posted: 06/26/02 07:17:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell cute film 4 stars
10/20/11 Magic One of the very best Disney 00's movies. Stitch is well-animated and the style is appealing 4 stars
11/24/08 2008Disney Disney's most overrated film. A weak story, despisable characters and a bad script. 2 stars
11/04/08 Dominic Lilo And Stitch is the best since SNOW WHITE,SLEEPING BEAUTY,PINOCCHIO and FANTASIA. 5 stars
10/12/08 PAUL SHORTT WITTY, TOUCHING, COLOURFUL AND WELL-PACED 4 stars
4/16/08 Stitch Wife Lilo & Stitch was the BEST movie of 2002 5 stars
4/25/07 lenique the only thing more exciting is EVERYTHING 1 stars
2/09/07 Soranos I thought this movie was pretty good actually, when compared to other movies I've seen. 4 stars
8/15/06 Gabrielle Mangan I've seen Lilo and stitch movie often 5 stars
8/06/06 Pawe³ Mikulski This is the best American film for child when i see,i want more please!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen "Brattiness is cool!" What Dinsney meathead thought that was a good lesson for kids? 1 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Overly saccharine, but a winner for young families. 5 stars
12/07/05 daniel smith it was ok 5 stars
8/30/05 ES Liked the movie, should have loved it but couldn't help feeling something was missing 4 stars
7/09/05 Alexandra Trad it is great 5 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell funny 4 stars
3/12/05 crandall101 I loved it! 4 stars
3/10/05 Caen Lilo and Stitch was a great movie, one of the top new Disney Icons 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey crap 1 stars
7/07/04 michaelb14 Great Movie! 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Too much elvis, but better than most of the crap disney puts out nowadays 4 stars
5/13/04 Yasu Disney's BEST! I LOVE IT! 5 stars
5/11/04 Sean Scanlan Okay 3 stars
4/08/04 LILO&STITCH FANATIC! THE BEST! The series is awesoeme to! 5 stars
3/11/04 Pirka The best ever! seen the sequel? 5 stars
2/27/04 Tiffany I luved this movie stitch is so cute 5 stars
1/26/04 HorrorScribbler Not your typical cartoon! 5 stars
11/28/03 Joseph Gay 1 stars
11/11/03 Nathan My fave Disney movie since Beaty and the Beast! 5 stars
10/11/03 Princess This movie was Excellent!!!:) 5 stars
10/07/03 Kitty This movie is so adorable! Lilo is such a cute kid. 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice Cute ! 4 stars
4/13/03 Mystique sweeeeeeet 5 stars
3/21/03 Mandy absolutely fantastic 5 stars
2/25/03 Ken That was Disney? But it was more funny than sappy! 4 stars
2/04/03 laura best disney cartoon ever 5 stars
2/01/03 Mike the best disney movie ever 5 stars
1/22/03 Timur BEST DISNEY's MOVIE - IT'S GREAT !!!! STITCH , I LOVE YOU :-) 5 stars
1/03/03 Caitlin It's an engaging, hilarious film with an original plot line. It's worth the money! 5 stars
12/18/02 Cuthbert H. Perez It was Hilarious,and very Creative, I love the mesage and the warmth 5 stars
11/23/02 Andrew kicks ass! even this is better than clones! 5 stars
11/02/02 daniel brisascall Brilliant 5 stars
10/19/02 Chance Lilo is too cute. Loved this movie. 5 stars
10/11/02 GABBY best iv ever seen of cartoons. i LOVE IT!! 5 stars
9/28/02 Sophie Williams Fantastic! you MUST see this! 5 stars
9/10/02 John McNew The funniest family movie since 'Shrek' 5 stars
9/02/02 Eryn Pluim This is a WONDERFUL movie! Don't believe anyone who would say different! 5 stars
8/21/02 faye one of the best films i've ever seen 5 stars
8/20/02 Marian Valdez It's Great! I have fun watching this movie 5 stars
8/08/02 effendy is good 1 stars
8/03/02 Sara Cross Excellent film, wonderful story and gorgeous colors in the animation, a sweet film. 5 stars
8/02/02 Stephanie Luong and Brent Cadavona The best animated Disney movie ever! 5 stars
7/26/02 Turtle Funny, sad, cute, and charming. Believe it or not, I've just described a Disney movie. 5 stars
7/25/02 J. Jones Hilarious, touching, and gorgeous. Hail to the King, baby! 5 stars
7/23/02 Bueller Right now, somewhere, Walt Disney is scratching his head, and asking "What the...?" 3 stars
7/20/02 ! Just 4 tha kids! 5 stars
7/09/02 zach you people who didn't like it are idiots. Great movie. 5 stars
7/09/02 orpy who dreams this shit up??!! 2 stars
7/09/02 iambubby Introducing... crap-mation! Sucked. Hard. 1 stars
7/02/02 J.J. Pearce Too weak for adults, too scary for kids. 2 stars
7/01/02 Robert Mr. Weinberg, get a clue. If you weren't entertained by Lilo and Stitch, check your pulse. 5 stars
7/01/02 J This film deserve's as much praise as it could possibly get. 5 stars
6/29/02 Freyja Cute and touching and genuinely funny. 5 stars
6/29/02 Rampage better than the crappy Hey Arnold! movie 4 stars
6/29/02 Cris Awesome--funniest disney movie I can remember, and one of the best animated in years. 5 stars
6/28/02 Stephen Smith Cool film 5 stars
6/28/02 Tracy I thought the movie was cute and funny. Another good job for Disney. 5 stars
6/27/02 Mario Cheap laughs? Hardly. So what DO you consider good Disney. 5 stars
6/27/02 Zman Bad. Another case of Disney trying to get a cheap laugh out of five year olds. 1 stars
6/25/02 Shark Cute and funny! The ending is satisfactory, but don't let that stop you! 5 stars
6/25/02 Brian Easily one of the best in years. See it for yourself, and you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
6/25/02 Adriana Collado Not like other Disney films 3 stars
6/25/02 bud Love it so much I cried. 5 stars
6/25/02 JesseL The kids will love it. Not too hard on the adults. 4 stars
6/24/02 Veronica Cute film, but not as outstanding as previous disney films. Sappy ending. 3 stars
6/24/02 Mario Disney employees my foot. You obviously have no heart or sense of wonder. 5 stars
6/24/02 PineappleClock look at all the IPs... these are disney employees reviewing the movie! CAUGHT LOL 1 stars
6/24/02 Reese first time i've laughed so hard at a disney film 5 stars
6/24/02 gene The best Disney movie I've ever seen 5 stars
6/24/02 Dean Best animated film, from anybody, since JUNGLE BOOK! Superb character animation. 5 stars
6/23/02 Bob Very entertaining with a solid message 5 stars
6/23/02 sfg this movie was plenny good fun 5 stars
6/23/02 Mario Get a life, you freaks. This movie rocked. 5 stars
6/22/02 The Bomb69 i laughed a lot, ending was kind of muddled though 4 stars
6/22/02 max zhang Fun -- but a porn flick with Snow White is better. 3 stars
6/22/02 Frank Sanders One of Disney's best animations ever. 5 stars
6/21/02 Stephanie A sweet and hilarious movie. 5 stars
6/21/02 Cool LAd THIS MOVIE IS DA BOMB 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jun-2002 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Sep-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast