More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.26

Awesome: 23.38%
Worth A Look25.97%
Average: 16.88%
Pretty Bad: 20.78%
Total Crap: 12.99%

5 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

Riot Girls by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Replacements, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by nostradamus

"Brett Cullen and Keanu Reeves - yes, Yes, YES!!!"
4 stars

What is it with so many reviewers (on e-critic and elsewhere), taking "The Replacements" so seriously? Is is because it was based on a quasi-historical account of successful scab players for the sacred American football? Is sport our new ineffable God? Get over yourselves - "The Replacements" is a feel-good comedy about losers coming good for a brief, and hence the more sweet, success. It does work as a slapslick comedy, much like the Naked Gun series, and NEVER claims to be more than a comedy. Hello, do we ever laugh at ourselves anymore?

The scenes with the lapdancers cum cheerleaders used as a weapon to win the game is fantastic, a chat up scene with a less than reluctant reporter, and a lot of great one-liners keep us entertained. Football is background to the comedy, and is utilised as the base for the familiar story of losers finding success.

Not only is "The Replacements" a comedy that works, it also boasts two hunks of American cinema, Brett Cullen as the evil Martel, AND Keanu Reeves in his most believable role yet, as the scab quarterback star, Shane Falco.... Yeaah BABY!
Who could ask for more? Add the delectable Brooke Langton, Gene Hackman and Rhys Ifans, you've got some great actors and enough eye-candy to keep it interesting. The only problem is some of Brett Cullen's scenes got cut, and his character was not developed enough into a three-dimensional villain.

Yet in the end, who cares as long as we enjoy ourselves with some harmless fun. Beats psycho-sicko movies like Silence of the Lambs and the Cell any day.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1962&reviewer=144
originally posted: 11/16/00 11:05:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/21/16 Jamie Funny, predictable,feel good.Great cast! Scenes with lapdancer/cheerleaders hilarious! 4 stars
7/31/07 ravenmad Loved it, laughed my ass off. 4 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Such a terrific movie. I really enjoy watching it. One of the few DVDs I actually bought. 5 stars
6/11/06 Jeff Anderson A "BEEN THERE, DONE THAT" kind of film, but it's fun. Langton however, is great EYE CANDY!! 3 stars
5/28/05 critic I usually hate these movies..especially Keanu Reeves movies, but I liked this one 4 stars
11/24/04 Hitman Best Movie I have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!! Football Rules! 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot Its different and easy to watch,you cant complain about harmless fun like this! 4 stars
1/10/04 kaz a nice,funny movie 4 stars
4/17/03 Jack Bourbon Clip. Holding. Clip. Clip. Clip. 3 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Good fun. 4 stars
2/05/03 natasha_theobald I think it's funny and I don't care who knows it (shhh) 4 stars
2/28/02 Gracy Lionheart As a comedy, this is pretty funny. I love the tip-toeing vomit scene. 4 stars
2/01/02 Geo7654 Tired sports comedy about a much of has-beens and weirdos playing football. 2 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Funny, sweet 3 stars
7/26/01 Janet Griffin I loved it it was hillarious 5 stars
7/17/01 Piz One of the best funny football movies with a little heart to go with it. kick-ass soundtrck 4 stars
7/04/01 TLsmooth I love football, but football movies suck giraffe cocks. 2 stars
6/15/01 Katie Zayed AWESOME!! FRIGGIN AWESOME 5 stars
6/12/01 Bada Bing Crosby I think Moses and John the Baptist did the first version of this story 1 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon another keanu reeves great 5 stars
4/08/01 azizul fucking good movie 5 stars
4/02/01 moviegoer it was okay, acting was a little worse than it could have been, funny 4 stars
3/18/01 thomas noviello the movie was awesome. keanu is fuckin awesome as shit 5 stars
1/21/01 dog was a good film however would have like to see what happend in the playoffs. 4 stars
1/09/01 Keanuette I liked it! KEANU as a quaterback? Yes Please. Can't wait for the sequels!!! 5 stars
1/03/01 sandy Brett Cullen as the arrogant, yet sexy pro quarterback Martel rocked & Keanu didn't suck! 4 stars
12/05/00 Monday Morning Appealing characters but we've seen exact plot formula at least a million times. Ergo... 3 stars
12/05/00 The Bomb 69 very entertaining but had plot holes the size of Texas 3 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head IT WAS LIKE WATCHING A BOWL OF DIARRHEA DRY 1 stars
11/20/00 Elin Farrington this movie totally kicked ass and keanu was a great quarter back 5 stars
11/19/00 chelsea ROCKED 5 stars
11/19/00 sandra the movie was great and Keanu looked good ,as always 5 stars
11/18/00 irene franco i liked it a lot! 5 stars
11/18/00 Jupiter Keanu is soo sexy but I hate the "F" word being used to describe it 5 stars
11/18/00 NATALIE I LOVE KEANU,I LOVE THE MOVIE!!!! 5 stars
11/18/00 Lida Was pretty good 4 stars
8/28/00 Captain Highcrime Keanu: pushing 40 and looking every bit of it. 3 stars
8/24/00 KAM This movie was so funny 5 stars
8/20/00 JonnyA the first movie where I actually fell asleep in the theater 1 stars
8/20/00 The Gipper Mega disappointing. So ordinary & crappy, but Brooke Langton is fine, and Keanu is cool 2 stars
8/15/00 Clarance If you are looking for some awesome laughs and a good time! A MUST SEE!!!!!!! 4 stars
8/15/00 Chickiepoo I was disapointed. Girls will hate this trashy film. 1 stars
8/14/00 TimmyToday Best flick this summer!! 5 stars
8/13/00 chuck Fun time, laughs and pretty women 5 stars
8/13/00 JonnyA poopie 2 stars
8/12/00 DatherFrawdad no stripper chearleaders in the mighty ducks, bitch! 5 stars
8/12/00 Justin it's mighty ducks playin football, sometimes funny, keanu stick to dodging bullets!!!! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Aug-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Nov-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Howard Deutch

Written by
  Vince McKewin

Cast
  Keanu Reeves
  Gene Hackman
  Jon Favreau
  Jack Warden
  Brooke Langton
  Orlando Jones



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast