More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.14

Awesome44.12%
Worth A Look: 36.76%
Average: 13.24%
Pretty Bad: 0.74%
Total Crap: 5.15%

9 reviews, 82 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Jumanji: The Next Level by Jay Seaver

Black Christmas (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Richard Jewell by Peter Sobczynski

Dachra by Jay Seaver

Little Joe (2019) by Jay Seaver

Knives and Skin by Jay Seaver

Rabid (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Irishman, The by Rob Gonsalves

Recorder: The Marion Stokes Project by Rob Gonsalves

Kitchen, The (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Remember the Titans
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Nuwanda

"It's NOT a football movie! Don't be swayed by the trailers..."
4 stars

I had a conversation with a friend of mine the other day and she brought to my attention that Denzel Washington always picks roles that are somehow inspirational and self-satisfying. I thought about it for awhile, and thought...Nope. Not in this movie.

Remember the Titans is a film that is not about football, but more about what it takes to overcome dissolutioned hate that feeds racism.

Denzel Washington plays a football coach that is hired to train and inspire a mixed group of whites and blacks in a recently de-segregated high school.

His job is a difficult one. Not only does he have the regular pressure of creating a winning football team, but he also has the added pressure of keeping his job. It comes to his attention that he cannot lose even one game. If he does, then he loses his job. One game lost, game over, so to speak.

Denzel, in his role, not only is not inspirational, but he needs to work for our affection. It's not automatic, like his other roles as Steven Biko, or Malcolm X. In this role, his ideology is a little more arbitrary. The viewer dislikes him, then likes him, and at times, both in the same instant.

There are some football scenes, but take it from me...I dislike football with a passion, and this film is not about football. Football is only a vehicle for messages with a way higher meaning. With his tough-love attitude and demeanor, he manages to amalgamate a team of adversaries.

And not just in a civil way. Friendships blossom, comradarie ensues and it's all smiles.

Sounds unreal?

Get this; "Based on a real story". Remember this, if you are inclined to think "this is bullshit"...truth is harder to believe than fiction.

So, jump in...try to have few expectations, and you'll love this film. It's got all the makings for "the feel good movie of the year". But, it is in no way ordinary. It's basis in fact and history are proof of that.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2009&reviewer=116
originally posted: 12/09/00 17:55:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival For more in the 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell boring & preachy 1 stars
6/20/11 pwhite98270 classic movie with a wonderful cast, history of race relations 5 stars
3/23/11 kagomefan4lyfe Denzel Washington is a genius. Kudos 2 him! lol 5 stars
11/06/09 Robert I will say that it intrsting 5 stars
9/11/09 ilovecandy! it was exciting, fun and most of all it was great because of the great actors!! i loved it 5 stars
6/18/09 sexyasshole this movie makes me wet in my panties 5 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 5 stars
9/15/08 PAUL SHORTT AN EMOTIONALLY UPLIFTING TESTAMENT TO THE POWER OF THE HUMAN SPIRIT 4 stars
7/01/08 Huston Gets Cheesier every year I watch it, but I watch it every year 3 stars
3/16/08 ladavies My husband watches this over and over, and I join him. Great movie. 4 stars
2/13/08 michael the ttans rock wooo. 5 stars
11/10/07 Amanda OMG.. Remember the Titans is the best movie. I have seen it at least 7 times. 5 stars
10/18/07 cait how could people say that this movie is bad..its about racism,we need to know! 5 stars
8/27/07 GWB Rocks Totally sucked! can you say formulated boys and girls? Makes Point Break look good. 1 stars
6/08/07 courtney sooooooooo good, puts a smile on my dile. 5 stars
5/09/07 Ant Don't bother remembering these manipulative Titans. 1 stars
5/07/07 ty This is one of my favorite movies. Iva seen it like 10 times 5 stars
4/25/07 yonathan Gonzalez its pretty cool but ive seen it at school like 7 times. Its really a good movie!!! 4 stars
11/10/06 Klaire excellent must see!!! 4 stars
11/07/06 Shei really good movie, has a wonderful meaning see it! 5 stars
10/04/06 melissa perez awesome movie 5 stars
8/31/06 connie daw awesome movie none better 5 stars
6/22/06 Joanie Very gentle 4 stars
6/15/06 Sandy + Stephanie (twins) Our favorite sports movie! 5 stars
5/21/06 William Goss Well acted, but too manipulative for my tastes 3 stars
4/03/06 JRE the best sports movie ever made 5 stars
11/16/05 jenene I really enjoyed this move it is one of my favorite movies. 5 stars
10/27/05 beans stewart good movie 5 stars
10/26/05 Carolyn Rathburn Wonderful movie, wonderfully done 5 stars
9/08/05 zac it sucked 1 stars
8/23/05 Quigley one of the best sports movies made. definitely worth seeing 5 stars
8/04/05 Carolyn Rathburn wonderful movie, loved it 5 stars
8/02/05 JASPER this film is a great movie and should be enjoyed by everyone 5 stars
4/30/05 ally one of the best movies i have ever watched 5 stars
2/06/05 clinger26 my favorite movie 5 stars
1/20/05 Yoshi It's a pretty good movie. 5 stars
12/06/04 Sophie Green best film i have ever seen i can't believe people don't like it 5 stars
12/05/04 Shelby This movie was great it touched me. way to go Titans. :) 5 stars
10/15/04 Eric Great movie one of my favs 5 stars
6/01/04 Nobody Disney just HAD to put in a gay kid 1 stars
11/08/03 Amanda LOVEd it.. could watch it 100 times 5 stars
9/03/03 Alex Go Denzel, Go Denzel, Go Denzel 5 stars
1/08/03 Bob Dong Absolute Classic, one of my faves, makes you fell all warm inside, buy or DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/20/02 Mike Pretty Good, but OZ is right about the piano music in every scene. 4 stars
9/12/02 palaboy101 Another great football movie. 4 stars
8/01/02 I Can't Swim Important message given the Hallmark treatment; movie has much value nonetheless 4 stars
7/01/02 Iris Dementia Praecox Worthy idea backfires because Washington's character is a (self-described) "onery old cuss" 2 stars
10/10/01 Butterbean A good movie, but it's sappy as hell!! They said some of the corniest shit in this movie. 3 stars
9/10/01 Jeff Stryker Ok Film, but some really ridiculous parts. Tries to cover too many things 3 stars
8/17/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
6/28/01 Jennifer Really cool movie. My fav. 5 stars
6/05/01 Jake A realistic look at why football can be a beautiful game. Good study in teamwork. 5 stars
5/26/01 TigerDream awesome movie, all around good feel, and just makes you smile :) 5 stars
5/09/01 Joe Skeates Great movie, just an absolutely great movie. 5 stars
5/01/01 The Bomb 69 simplistic view of race relations in the 70's but good nonetheless 4 stars
4/13/01 Gary Great! 5 stars
4/11/01 Caitlin MacInyytyre I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
2/16/01 jessica really well done. lots of hot guys. 5 stars
2/15/01 viking a feel good movie with a positive and relevant message 4 stars
1/31/01 Monday Morning Denzel definitely takes this film up a few notches. 4 stars
1/29/01 Tom Baddick Every high school student in America should see this film-- especially all sports teams! 5 stars
1/25/01 Zenon This movie ROCKED 5 stars
1/24/01 Megan Fallon This was a real feel good movie and whoever the mighty 'oz' is shouldn't bag it out! 5 stars
1/22/01 Tasha Parks The movie was excelent, I recomend it to anyone and every one. 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 O.k. Denzel steals the movie. 3 stars
12/27/00 Lauren It was awesome! 5 stars
12/12/00 Kook Would have been better if they'd have taken out some of the dramatic score.. eeeuch. 3 stars
12/09/00 Sheddy Celestine Words can hardly describe what I thought of this movie. 5 stars
11/28/00 Scott Rosier Excellent movie for all ages 5 stars
11/21/00 Tdis72 Very good movie! Denzel's performance is powerful. Very funny moments and nice ending too! 4 stars
11/01/00 G. Washington very good 4 stars
10/24/00 mwild so bad i nearly fell asleep, deserves 0 stars 1 stars
10/07/00 Michael Manipulative yet refreshing + wonderful. Only the most hateful cynic could not like it 5 stars
10/05/00 Jacques Strap two words: out-standing! 5 stars
10/04/00 Ground Zero Denzel Washington is the star 5 stars
10/03/00 Politicsman Right Along SIde Field Of Dreams, The Natural, Hoosiers, A League Of Their Own 4 stars
10/03/00 chuckmfh Great movie, touching interplay between characters 5 stars
10/03/00 Paulo What a lousy film...full of cliches, a real champion on the lack of originality category.. 1 stars
10/02/00 thomas k Was incredible, and touching, made me want to play football. 5 stars
10/02/00 Image Without a doubt...one of the best i've seen! 5 stars
9/27/00 The Rock Predictable like only a Disney and Football movie could be....but completely entertaining 5 stars
9/26/00 Joe Gillis Rocks! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Sep-2000 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast