More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.88

Awesome53.16%
Worth A Look: 17.09%
Average: 9.49%
Pretty Bad: 5.06%
Total Crap: 15.19%

1 review, 152 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rambo: Last Blood by Jack Sommersby

Parasite (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Lighthouse, The by Rob Gonsalves

Almost a Miracle by Jay Seaver

Bad Boys for Life by Peter Sobczynski

Cunningham by Jay Seaver

Fast Color by Jay Seaver

Liberation by Jay Seaver

Atlantics by Jay Seaver

Jade's Asylum by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Power of One, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by cheryl_ann

"A powerful movie driven by the struggle to end Apartheid."
5 stars

Throughout my high school education, I was made to watch several movies in history class. "The Power of One" was the only movie that meant anything to me. I mean, how many times have you actually went out and bought a movie that you were shown in a high school class?

The movie begins with the birth of Peter Philip Kenneth Keith, the main character of the story. P.K., the name he is referred to for the rest of the movie, is an English boy born in South Africa.

The first main development of his character comes when P.K. is shipped off to an Afrikaner boarding school. He is the youngest at this school and the most taunted, being that he is English. The Afrikaners beat him, piss on him, and spit in his face on a daily basis. During this time his mother passes away and is left as an orphan.

With no family left to care for him, he is put in the hands of his grandfater's German friend, Doc (Mueller-Stahl). Doc takes him out of the Afrikaner school and educates P.K. himself. Doc teaches P.K. about life in Africa, and the wonders that are cactus planting. At this time WWII is going strong and Doc is forced to live in a prison camp until the war has ended. P.K. accompanies him and it is here that P.K. meets his second mentor, Geel Pete (Morgan Freeman).

Geel Pete, a black prisoner, teaches P.K. the art of boxing. P.K. also learns to speak the languages of all the tribes which are imprisoned with him. Geel Pete insists that P.K. is the 'rainmaker', the one who will bring freedom to the Africans, and end Apartheid.

Years pass and now P.K. (Stephen Dorff) is a year prior to attending University. P.K. continues his boxing and meets his love, an Afrikaner woman, Maria (Fay Masterson). Maria is the daughter of the Afrikaner Nationalist President, who disapproves of P.K. and his "Enligh attitude". Against her father's will, Maria sees P.K. and helps him start a school to teach south africans how to read and write english. This creates problems with the Afrikaner police. P.K. must stand up for what he believes in, regardless of the consequences to come.

I won't talk about the ending, because it's just something that you have to see for yourself. Stephen Dorff does an excellent job as the college bound P.K., strong accent and all. And Freeman is great as always as prisoner Geel Pete. But i think the movie was stolen by the child actor, Guy Witcher, who plays P.K. at age 7. Witcher really helped the development of P.K.'s character with his strong acting abilities, and great screen presence. This is defintely one to see!

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2134&reviewer=29
originally posted: 06/11/99 03:00:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/25/15 Travis Just because the movie gives a good message, doesn't mean it is a good film. CLICHE. 1 stars
9/15/13 Fcuk I would like to see his gf suck my dick. she is hot 5 stars
8/14/13 abdi f it 1 stars
6/02/13 la slut smellyer then an mexicans dirty dik 1 stars
2/13/13 justin beiber I loved it 5 stars
9/08/12 Ongks Inspiring and a powerful idea to inspire others to lead. 5 stars
9/04/12 Dick Twat Sucked an Asian dick 1 stars
7/24/11 B D Lamphere I'll expect an equally raving review of Rocky 17. I hope this isn't your day job. 1 stars
5/21/11 alpha55 it truly was a great movie, we watched it in high school today. 5 stars
3/02/11 incredible watched it as a child was a favourite and just bought it again today incredible film 5 stars
1/28/11 Awesome Awesone!! 5 thunbs up 5 stars
12/05/10 Chinyere A. O. It was too much for me to watch. I did not like how little PK was treated. 4 stars
11/14/10 Sienne very good movie.. very striking. 4 stars
11/04/10 PAUL SHORTT UNCONVINCING AND CRUDE DESPITE GOOD PERFORMANCES 1 stars
5/09/10 bear it's okay 4 stars
4/21/10 karina i loved it 3 stars
3/15/10 TyLeR mehh , its okkayy 4 stars
2/04/10 Jocey I LOVE THIS MOVIE... NICE AFFRICAN SONGS.. ESPECIALLY THE 1 4 MARIA FURNERAL 4 stars
11/02/09 Mr.C I like when the niggers get shot in the back 3 stars
10/20/09 STUPID VERY WEIRD BUT KINDA LOOKS GOOD 2 stars
8/26/09 Vanessa Pretty Average 3 stars
8/14/09 emma I think the movie missed the point of the book. 2 stars
8/05/09 angela hardly like the book at all which really had a huge impact on me in high school. 3 stars
7/20/09 chick.magnet.bartel this movie was pretty good Stephen Dorf is hot as matey!! 5 stars
7/20/09 chick.magnet.bartel this movie was pretty good Stephen Dorf is hot as matey!! 5 stars
6/09/09 Bella Amazing movie!! Haven't read the book thought, Stephen Dorf is soo hot!! 5 stars
2/13/09 Patrick Prommel this movie sucked compared to the book, no comparison 3 stars
1/13/09 cockvjj Daniel craig from james bond is in this. was forced against mywill to watch this in english 1 stars
10/03/08 Michelle Stewart I was in this movie in zimbabwe as an extra when I was 13! 5 stars
9/18/08 Liam Good moive but hardly like the book 5 stars
9/13/08 someone umms the movie was good 5 stars
9/08/08 slim jim this crappy movie id rather shoot myselfy in both arms then eat my penis then watch this 1 stars
9/08/08 slim jim prob worst movie ive ever seen id actually rather watch oprah for 5 hours a day then watch 1 stars
9/07/08 woodnt you like to know nothingg like the book which was okayish but the movies gay.... cept little p.k is so cute 3 stars
8/19/08 Natool ahh, this movie was alright was a bit too violent the killing black people. Overall was ok. 3 stars
8/18/08 Cool Awesome weird This movie was wicked it was really sad at the start. P.S Hi Mum 4 stars
7/03/08 Udranand Bitter Truth, see it for yourself. It will make a difference. 5 stars
6/19/08 Mr Seb Spena TOTAL CRAP. The worst movie I have seen in a long time. Wont rush out to buy this one! 1 stars
6/17/08 Jess Fab movie! Loved it from start too finish. It's really easy too get into! 5 stars
6/06/08 Vicky The movie is COMPLETELY different from the book. 2 stars
6/03/08 ok i watched it in english pretty cool 5 stars
5/23/08 Jim Bob It Was Racist and Hot And the same time 4 stars
5/20/08 doubledeal it definitely made my dad snore...nah seriously 3 stars
4/26/08 Taylor I thoguth this movie was very touching. the moral had great importance behind the story. I 5 stars
4/25/08 blahhh why was it so sad??!?!? 5 stars
3/21/08 Anonymous it had good moral but hard to understand. You people ar e loosers 5 stars
3/05/08 Kurdistan this was a great movie we watched it in our English 30-1 this movie gave me so many ideas 5 stars
2/07/08 hsdfldhf it was cool 5 stars
12/07/07 Avante' it was a good movie it had alot of shockin parts u should see it if u havent 5 stars
12/03/07 Adam Sandler This movie is very real but unfortunatley sucked. 3 stars
11/28/07 unknown it was an ok movie but i thought that they would have sexxxx 1 stars
11/08/07 josh sucked ass 1 stars
10/28/07 DieAfrikaaner Typical-Afrikaaners portraited as racist bastards.The ANC's bombs didnt discriminate eithr 1 stars
10/25/07 shanny its was pretty gay 1 stars
10/12/07 JoE mAmA not a good movie unless you like killing black people 2 stars
9/11/07 not tellin' kinda scary to me but still a good movie 4 stars
8/30/07 hayden the movie was great. the best movie i'v seen all year apart from i now pronuce you chuck a 5 stars
8/27/07 unknown touched my heart 4 stars
8/06/07 unknown it was an awesome film...oi and JO low..learn how to spell...it's bull shit not ball shite. 4 stars
5/17/07 <33 so good! i cried when Mariah died! great movie! 5 stars
4/10/07 princess i LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and its actullay worth a 50000 dollar hooker!!!! 5 stars
4/09/07 Laken i absolutly love this movie ... 5 stars
3/27/07 JO low leave the white guy to save the world give m a break. it was ball shite 1 stars
2/21/07 Vin i watched this film in English class, it was AWESOME!! 5 stars
2/05/07 Daloz This movie was awesome .. i loved it 5 stars
1/22/07 Nique This movie is inspirational. My year 9 students who hate history love this! 5 stars
1/08/07 dora IT SUCKED. have you guys read the book? 1 stars
12/27/06 sharon w. loved it, love little PK and Geel Piet 5 stars
12/15/06 gabriel taylor excellent movie thou it's true does not give credit to the book it shows enough of reality 5 stars
10/04/06 jrsmis This was a great and moving movie .. Guy Witcher stoled the show. 5 stars
9/19/06 frasian lame. ciccas is gay 3 stars
8/07/06 jasmine good film 3 stars
6/08/06 Kiri Kaka An all time favourite. I use this in ESL classes. 2/88 disliked it because of violence. 5 stars
6/07/06 moviemania gr8 4 stars
5/20/06 chienne Total bollocks, no justice 2 the book, don't bother 1 stars
4/17/06 KCobain total cornball melodrama, almost as manipulative as pay it forward 2 stars
3/18/06 Fat Nugget It was a very well made movie with very good cinematography 5 stars
11/26/05 Robert & Laura Burrell Top Notch 5 stars
10/18/05 Mr.MovieMan Good movie. Well acted, and the new Bond is great in it. nice music too, and photography*** 4 stars
8/23/05 Mary It was really moving 4 stars
8/20/05 mace Great movie. It meant something to me, that we take our lifes for granted. 4 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig Endearing drama that really makes a strong point well taken 4 stars
2/09/05 Marlon Umali AWesome 4 stars
11/19/04 Ken McLeod read book saw movie 20 yrs ago again tonight 5 stars
11/16/04 Sarah Anyone who didn't love it was just to stupid to understand it 5 stars
10/28/04 alex it was alright but not amazing 3 stars
10/01/04 bccw this is an amazing story and very inspirational 5 stars
9/13/04 jon the movie was great and very real but the ending wasnt realistic just because he changed th 3 stars
9/08/04 hey cool 2 stars
8/25/04 Shi Ba noon boring 1 stars
8/04/04 Fart A. Lot Really good, at bit hard to understand but its definitly worth alook. 4 stars
7/29/04 Davizzle I movie with a Powerful meaning 4 stars
7/25/04 Sex Bomb COmpletely Shit 1 stars
6/22/04 fuck you it was rat shit ya all 1 stars
5/29/04 niki an inspirational story 5 stars
5/09/04 Valda Triegaardt Thats An excellent portrayal of how it was- I left 25 years ago 5 stars
1/13/04 Christin Johnson I love it, I have watched over a dozen times, without exaggertation 5 stars
7/04/03 Gabrielle Cabouet Excellent movie. It's real and honest 5 stars
5/20/03 Chris This movie ruined the message from the original novel! 2 stars
5/15/03 greg good 4 stars
9/16/02 hey sup really good movie 5 stars
9/16/02 Jack Denisson A truly AWSOME! film.... Go and see it. 5 stars
7/29/02 Soad Boring Crap History Movie 1 stars
6/23/02 Mmmmm great film, very disturbing about what actually happened during the apartheid. 4 stars
5/22/02 Karla Rodriguez I think this movie was great. It's shows things that really happen in life. 5 stars
5/13/02 fifi awesome 5 stars
5/10/02 Ali Hussein very good movie 5 stars
4/29/02 Cara it rocked, it was a very thougth provking film 5 stars
4/08/02 ! KiLLa @(*0*)@ KoALa ! SuX HaRd LiKe A TwO DoLLaR HooKER 1 stars
3/23/02 jax it was a reasonable yet satisfieing movie 3 stars
2/11/02 Kelsey_Bug Omigod!!! I Cried a thousand times and i wanna buy this movie 5 stars
2/06/02 Amanda It was a very good movie 5 stars
11/29/01 Taylor my favorite movie ever 5 stars
11/22/01 percival prim very good movie , i enjoy cheese 4 stars
11/19/01 Maurice. Read the book and appreciate a good story 2 stars
11/09/01 Hangel well, why speak when words can't express what I feel? 5 stars
10/31/01 jill person this movie was great for both guys and girls!! it has a great message!! 5 stars
10/25/01 andrew great realy touching 5 stars
10/16/01 Dominiee Clearwater This movie was allright there was a really hot guy in it so that made the movie even better 3 stars
7/26/01 lance ok 4 stars
7/24/01 C!*$#@ #%$@!*)?>"<":F**kin GreaT 5 stars
6/11/01 Blake Well done! 5 stars
4/27/01 Emy Saw it in Religion class, Started to cry.... Incredibly movie... 5 stars
4/18/01 Richa Superb! 4 stars
3/28/01 nina an awesome movie. it moved me so much, i watched 3 times in about 5 days. 5 stars
3/21/01 gLoRiA just started watching it in class, extremely touching, for those who haven't watched it... 5 stars
3/18/01 meghan superb, very touching movie with a great show put by all actors 5 stars
3/17/01 Cheryl Van Valkenburgh This movie is excellent. The music and images are most powerful. 4 stars
3/16/01 Angie great 4 stars
3/08/01 Elphinstone A powerful statement of the need to struggle against oppression 5 stars
12/15/00 kelly really good 5 stars
10/29/00 Jason Nott It was quite well portrayed and accurate with the events of the era 4 stars
7/19/00 Lwandle I got what I was lookin 4, you'll only understand once u watch it 5 stars
5/09/00 Bocky It's "COOL" 5 stars
5/01/00 Cat Sensational. Deep and Meaningful. Gets a strong point across without a lot of effort. 5 stars
5/01/00 kermet I loved it and I listen to the soundtrack often 5 stars
3/29/00 L.F. Stephen Dorff...swoon, swoon... 5 stars
3/28/00 Teresa Tate I think this movie should not have been made, it should have been left as a novel. 1 stars
3/08/00 Sarah Cobb It was pretty good, watched it at school for a review tes and though it was interesting!!!! 4 stars
2/29/00 harvey bloody alright aye mate 5 stars
2/29/00 H.L. This was a very education yet touching movie I would recommend it. 5 stars
2/28/00 Ken Great movie, shows the meaning, "One person can make a difference" also acts on"PREJUDICE" 5 stars
2/03/00 Jenni The most powerful movie I have ever seen! Awsome! 5 stars
1/19/00 alyson stevenson i love it 5 stars
11/22/99 Kai Great Movie!!! 5 stars
11/09/99 Daniel R Bloody unreal 5 stars
11/08/99 Max Kline Piece of crap. "Oh the White Boy can help the black boys to exist..." PLEASE!!! 1 stars
11/06/99 Anthony Ellis This is movie was a MAJOR disappointment. It was just cliche after cliche. A real shame!!!! 5 stars
10/07/99 Maya Rozinsky An excellent movie that is guaranteed to melt the coldest heart. Definitely an inspiration. 5 stars
9/16/99 Mathew Virtyo It was very gripping and gave alot to me 5 stars
9/11/99 Lana Awesomw movie 5 stars
7/11/99 darby a movie that will surely touch ur heart and say no to racism/apartheid! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1992 (PG-13)

UK
  02-Feb-1993 (PG)

Australia
  02-Feb-1993 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast