More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.79

Awesome36.45%
Worth A Look: 28.04%
Average: 18.69%
Pretty Bad: 12.15%
Total Crap: 4.67%

3 reviews, 89 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


From Dusk Till Dawn
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Self indulgent, patchy, and all over stupid."
2 stars

Tarantino was on my wall. Well, not Quentin himself, but a huge Pulp Fiction theatrical release poster, mint condition, framed and behind glass. It had cost me a lot, but it looked hellacious and sat next to "The Kramer" taking pride of place and marking utmost respect for a fantastic film and the coming of a new directorial icon... and then I sat through this piece of shit.

Not strictly shit. In fact, for the first half hour I was right there, enjoying the ride and even ignoring that Quentin was using his sudden fame to push himself into prominence as an actor. But then... I don't even know what happened. One minute I was enjoying a crime/thriller/road movie and digging the fact that George Clooney could pull off "bad ass", and the next vampires were jumping out from everywhere and people were pumping Holy water into supersoakers and everything had all the hallmarks of The Goonies meets the Three Ninjas.

Harvey Keitel knew he was in a piece of shit. You can see it in his slump. You can see it in his brow. You can see it in Full Tilt Boogie - the film of 'the making of From Dusk Til Dawn'.

Juliette Lewis probably had no idea she was in a piece of shit, because she's *usually* in a piece of shit. She has a worse script selection record than Giovanni Rbisi and Dan Aykroyd combined. She's like a female Matthew Lillard, except Matthew Lillard sold his soul to satan. Juliette sold hers to Miramax.

Hmm, maybe there is no difference after all.

But I digress, Clooney and Tarantino are nastay. On the run from the law, ripping down the highways of the south, shooting and letching and heading for may-kee-ko. How will they get over the border? They hijack a faithless preacher (Keitel) and his campervan kids (Lewis and a kid who'll never be in anything else, so he doesn't need to be named. Deal). So the hapyy extended family now have to cope with each other as they ride down to the border, as Quentin hallucinates, Harvey bitches about God, Clooney tilts his head, Lewis rolls her eyes and the fat kid... just pisses me off for some reason.

In itself, decent. But then Quentin goes B grade. And you've gotta think this had to be his intention from the git-go, otherwise why ruin a perfectly good gangster flick?

Salma shows some leg, which is good. Very good. But it's tough to get wood over that when her head transforms into something akin to Roseanne sans make-up.

Tarantino fans will already have seen it and be planning my death, but film fans in general should be shaking their head about halfway through, hitting eject and going out bowling for the night. It just goes downhill too damn fast.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2175&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/11/99 01:26:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/20/19 Matthew Dalldorf Gore-soaked, tongue-in-cheek vampire madness! 5 stars
1/28/15 PAUL SHORTT GORY, UNEVEN AND TRASHY 2 stars
6/19/12 Ionicera probably a movie not meant to be watched sober 3 stars
3/06/11 Bob the builder What a complete load of rubbish . . . . Avoid at all costs. Colony is still a star but why? 1 stars
6/01/10 User Name Distastful and insipid, and it only gets worse when the vampires come into play. 1 stars
2/15/10 Joe Smaltz Pretty shitty, can't believe all these big names in a crap film. 1 stars
10/04/09 Jeff Wilder Tarantino and Rodriguez on an off day. Loads of fun. 4 stars
6/23/09 Quigley Vile, offensive, and a huge black hell-hole in the careers of all involved 1 stars
6/18/09 brian Classic Tarantino flick 4 stars
12/20/08 gc The most original/unique horror movie ever made.Clooney rules in this.Avoid the sequels! 5 stars
5/24/08 Karrie Millheim Oh this movie rocks, vampires galore, nasty ones too 5 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann Tired of Tarantino's foot fetish. Nice watching Clooney trying to butch it up, though. 2 stars
8/13/07 J Brilliantly different, has comedy moments, gore, sex, and is a bit warped. Great. 5 stars
7/21/07 fools♫gold Scary "exaggeration" of all the evil cheating that happens over here. 5 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini great action, great gore 5 stars
12/05/06 Shaggy Sex, humor, and mindless blood and gore. What more could you want? 4 stars
10/05/06 Booksworm Saw it on a movie channel; John Carpenter does better vampires, though. 4 stars
3/19/06 MP Bartley Two movies for one: both are great. 4 stars
1/07/06 Clubber lang The first half is a pretty solid crime thriller, the second half is messy, so-so gorefest. 3 stars
8/06/05 Zack Great film from two masters! 5 stars
7/07/05 Isaac Baranoff Great! 5 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli good for a stare & drool movie. Entertaining, but retarded. 3 stars
6/17/05 Janeywaney I liked it so much, I bought the video! 5 stars
6/14/05 Agent Sands Indrid Cold is right. It's good and riveting until Salma Hayek turns to a fucking vampire! 4 stars
5/05/05 Indrid Cold First half is surprisingly good, even for a Tarantino-hater like me. The rest is terrible. 3 stars
3/29/05 Lyn bloody excellent 5 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton The film's biggest problem is that it tries to be two movies at once ... 3 stars
10/13/04 ahmed zidan nice 3 stars
8/28/04 KingNeutron Clooney 0wn3d this film. And Salma was awesome. 4 stars
8/13/04 McGraw Corny and bizarre, but a fun ride if you turn your brain off. 4 stars
8/11/04 howdinski FANTASTIC one of my favorite films ever. what more do u need tarantino , clooney , keitel. 5 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the better vampire movies in the last ten years. 4 stars
7/24/04 axe sex machine wields the ballsiest weapon of all time 4 stars
6/21/04 Stab Wounds It's got blood. :) 4 stars
5/26/04 Kyle Neuer Everything I was ever looking for in a drive-in movie as a 17 year old. Loved it!!! 5 stars
4/18/04 valerie hart great action with bloody horror and alot of gory scenes 4 stars
3/19/04 john rather tasteless drive in type movie with no real spark - good cast though! 2 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Hot 5 stars
1/17/04 J Clooney and Quarentino are great as criminals! *** 1/2 5 stars
12/10/03 Tommy good character development, but the vampires are a little silly... 3 stars
12/03/03 Agent Sands Really fun, except for the numbing overflow of sometimes cheesy gore. 4 stars
11/25/03 homer J. Simpson look at those breasts on selma hayek, she could fucking bite me any day 5 stars
10/31/03 Sophistos It's 2 movies, with a surprising switch (Salma becoming a monster). 3 stars
10/30/03 Moparman Amazing flick! Cheech Marin's speech is too funny. Tons of violence. Awesome!!!! 5 stars
10/06/03 Jack Sommersby A rollicking good time. Bogs down near the end, though. 4 stars
9/10/03 Jim Clooney holds the film together 4 stars
8/28/03 Mr. Hat Some of the BEST talent in the world, but near the end, it starts to get a bit ridiculous. 4 stars
8/18/03 Nicole Not my kind of movie 2 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus Clooney and Tarantion are the men!!!Awesome movie very entertaining!! 5 stars
7/01/03 AD fuckin mint 5 stars
6/24/03 candy Violence, Violation & Vampires - VaVaVoom 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese Two words - Salma Hayek. I love those legs baby, gimme some! 4 stars
10/02/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa fuckin awful! Tarrentino and Clooney=mean/unsympethetic second half is okay in b-movie way 1 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound Robert Rodriguez and Tarantino are the shit! 5 stars
8/03/02 Kino this was the first R rated movie I had ever seen (at est 5 years ago). first titties too. 5 stars
7/27/02 murat great second half but gore goes a bit much and why did they kill that chinese boy? 4 stars
7/26/02 sdjfsdkjf loved it as much as pulp fiction. Clooney's got that whole asshole thing down pat. Great. 5 stars
7/20/02 Film Guy the first half wasnt to good and the second half it got better but not much 3 stars
4/25/02 bront first half was awesome, butwent downhill from there 3 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Vampires, tons of blood and gore and Salma Hayek dancing in a bikini.What more do you need? 5 stars
2/09/02 Jay Fox Quentin Tarantino's dialogue and action scenes are brilliant. "Everybody be cool." 5 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden Dumb and Stupid Horror Movie. Only For Those Who Like Cheese. 2 stars
12/06/01 north they forgot gorey PUSSY 5 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat Quentin Tarantino has, does, and always will kick ass!!!!!!!! 4 stars
10/05/01 Mark Conway This is the greatest movie i have ever seen, the twists and thrills are exceptional. 5 stars
10/04/01 Mark Conway this is the greateast vampire movie ever made, the plot twists are simply, pure genious. 5 stars
9/27/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This movie is very voilent while it's gory effects really suit it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/20/01 Ranzom It gives you what it offers. Don't expect more. Kick back and enjoy. I did. 5 stars
5/06/01 Vincent Vega Clooney's best film ever! 5 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon one of robert rodriguez's best 5 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L GREAT FILM!! This flick ROCKS!! 5 stars
3/08/01 Sanja it's so stupid, but I love it! Fantastic crap! 5 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl The first 15 minutes is good but the rest is a joke, pure schlock. 2 stars
11/20/00 Finity this movie is funny, stupid and has some great action. i love it 4 stars
10/07/00 Johnny Figaro Relentless energy. Smarter than you might think; Keitel underappreciated 5 stars
8/06/00 Alce Savini's gun is really great! 3 stars
4/26/00 Leo a really cool movie 5 stars
2/21/00 arnold really fucking awesome movie 5 stars
2/16/00 Jedi the movie rocks but, why didn't tarantino direct it? 4 stars
2/14/00 stan Entertaining, but too violent in some parts 4 stars
2/09/00 Ed Wood did not like it 2 stars
1/26/00 john too bloody 3 stars
1/26/00 Jericho I would love to eat juliette lewis' pussy 4 stars
12/23/99 PervertedPixie Sleek thriller and gross out, ham-horror flick in one! Rodriguez + Tarantino kicks ASS! 5 stars
10/29/99 Adam Hutton I think Kate should have gone with Seth Gekko in the end. 4 stars
8/20/99 PhilmPhreak IT'S THE SHIT - WHAT ELSE IS THERE TO SAY? 5 stars
8/17/99 Tracette Tarantino doing a parody of a Tarantino movie. I thought it was hillarious! 3 stars
8/02/99 Physh "It is no Pulp Fiction, but Dusk is a kickass attempt for Tarantino to try horror." 5 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan The movie was coming along fine...then vampires pop out?!?!?! Salma Hayek Rocked!!! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Jan-1996 (R)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2011

UK
  31-May-1996 (18)

Australia
  02-Jul-1996 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast