More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.58

Awesome: 21.98%
Worth A Look: 29.67%
Average35.16%
Pretty Bad: 10.99%
Total Crap: 2.2%

8 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Opposite of Sex, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"You won't be offended... unless you're an idiot."
3 stars

The poster says "You will be offended". You won't.

It's well written, well acted, Ricci is the shit as per usual, but if you go to this to be offended, oh please.

The poster should say "if you're a member of the religious right, or you're a miltant gay, you'll be offended".

Ricci is a teenager who has decided life is about what you can squeeze out of people. She's a minipulator of the highest order. So when she moves in with her gay half brother, well you kinda know she's going to try to swing his boyfriend back to the hetero way. No reason, just something to do.

This is a movie that will strike a chord with some, not with others. It ain't all that, but it will keep you thinking. The audience I saw it with seemed to be evenly divided.

In short, if you dig Ricci, go bananas. If you wanna be offended, try Dirty Work instead. If you're bored on a Sunday, see if this is playing at the dirt cinema.

Oh, and if you really wanna be offended... Roxann shat a fetus. Swear.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=23&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/13/98 12:50:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 CineVegas Film Festival For more in the 2006 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/21/10 PAUL SHORTT TOUGH AND BOLD 4 stars
6/28/10 art it remind's me of LINDSAY LOHANS "GEORGIA RULE' from 2007. 3 stars
1/17/10 Anonymous good and unique 4 stars
1/08/09 Shaun Wallner Ricci is Hot!! 5 stars
2/16/08 art A TWISTED COMEDY CHRISTINA IS THE QUEEN OF MEAN 3 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold A forgotten 90's masterpiece, much like Twelve Monkeys is. 5 stars
2/15/07 keep silent I just feel like to cry and laugh...what more need to be said? 5 stars
5/28/05 pvtvinay nothing 1 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt A funny, outrageous, wicked, and entertaining film! It has some highly quotable dialogue! 4 stars
3/19/04 john makes obvious points and tries to sell them as modern wisdom - boring and somewhat cynical 2 stars
2/05/04 mansour sima 4 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 Well worth watching, funny 4 stars
12/10/02 Breakwind Sharp, witty dialogues with some superb acting from Ricci and Kudrow. 5 stars
10/11/02 Chancey Sugarpants The Opposite of Sex, Indeed. Sex is fun... this is not. 1 stars
12/09/01 Keith Christina Ricci gives a very good performance. I kinda like it. 4 stars
3/29/01 Monday Morning Some of the finer one-liners in movie history. CR is outstanding too. 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright I LURVE the central idea,why the confused treatment?Riccis wonderful performance is wasted. 2 stars
10/16/00 Dan Ricci is excellent and Lisa Kudrow really surprises. Very well acted, colourful comedy. 5 stars
10/05/00 Spetters Everyone is great in this film and it has some of the wittiest oneliners since many years. 5 stars
8/26/00 M Finke Much better then most rentals. 4 stars
2/26/00 Paul Really worth a look 4 stars
11/02/99 Bozo there's alot going on here; ricci is great & so is ivan segei 5 stars
8/17/99 Ramsay tries too hard, didn't hold my interest 2 stars
6/28/99 The Bomb 69 take it as a comedy and not a drama and it kicks ass!! 5 stars
6/26/99 David It works, real funny dialogue...too bad it's not cinematic 4 stars
4/13/99 Jon Jackson Damn witty Skippy! 4 stars
3/09/99 Go Swans One of the funniest, original films in years. Ricci isn't Wednesday anymore. 4 stars
2/01/99 Vick Di Brecci Didn't really go anywhere. Don't find Ricci particularly sexy. 3 stars
1/07/99 bizzy i can't decide whether i love it or loathe it 3 stars
12/10/98 George Morgan Highly entertaining performance by Lisa Kudrow. She steals the whole movie. 4 stars
11/24/98 roxy i hate christina ricci 3 stars
11/20/98 Evil Buffy drak offensive comedy. but funny. thought the characters + storytelling make the film. ivan 4 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Ricci has been lucky with her roles, but I just don't know if she's gonna step up. Good. 4 stars
11/05/98 Nate Dogg Kick ass.... if only they would have shown Ricci's beautiful cans... 4 stars
10/23/98 Christ Monkey Good dialogue and interesting narration device, but kind of silly. It left me immediately. 3 stars
9/21/98 MR HOLLYWOOD KOOL!!,Riccis excellent,silly plot,bit slow BUT harmless FUN ! 4 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein Ricci doing the wildd thing was worth price of admission. Average movie. 4 stars
9/06/98 Gary Great / Ricci's narration was excellent 4 stars
9/04/98 Badass A mess. Ricci was good, but the story contridicts itself too much. A very poor script. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball "I'm not gay, I'm bi." "I've been to a bar mitzphah, that doesn't mean I'm Jewish!" 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Ricci is hot. I take it all back. She's hot. 4 stars
8/16/98 Johny Some parts worked, others didn't. Average. 3 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Signs of cool, not overlty offensive, funny enough 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Apr-1998 (R)
  DVD: 17-Nov-1998

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Aug-1998 (MA)


Directed by
  Don Roos

Written by
  Don Roos

Cast
  Christina Ricci
  Martin Donovan
  Lisa Kudrow
  Lyle Lovett
  Johnny Galecki
  Ivan Sergei



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast