More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.97

Awesome: 5.56%
Worth A Look47.22%
Average: 11.11%
Pretty Bad: 11.11%
Total Crap: 25%

3 reviews, 18 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Last Days of Disco, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"I love wordy indie comedies... I didn't like this one."
1 stars

I expected something good from Whit Stillman. Then I saw Chloe Sevigny on the poster.

The ex-Kids star was the death-knell of Trees Lounge and she's a bad start to this. Throw in Kate Beckinsale, who could rent herself out as a Parker Posey double, both in character and real life, and you have reason to flee.

I stood at the door and wondered to myself.. "Chloe, or Anne Heche? Disco or Six Days Seven Nights?"

I gave Chloe another try, and I almost wish I hadn't. She's awful. Awful now, awful way back when, and she'll be awful in the future. Retire this wench!

The rest of the cast is a collection of yuppies, none of which you care about, or even enough to dislike, the dialogue is... blah.. and the premise is lame.

Disco is dying, but before it does this bunch of friends does their best to try to get into their favorite club, sleep around and not hate each other.

Bored yet? Me too. Let's end this thing.

Just sucky.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=24&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/13/98 12:59:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/03/14 Ken Laureys OK 3 stars
11/17/09 KingNeutron Whoever gave this movie a good review owes me 2 hours - HORRIBLE acting and dialogue!!!! 1 stars
1/22/09 Kitty interesting and entertaining 5 stars
11/15/05 millersxing Train apartment complexity 5 stars
5/08/05 Indrid Cold Some stilted, sophisticated dialogue, but otherwise a completely mundane drama. 3 stars
7/20/02 Soulis Funny film, sharp dialogue, a thinking movie 4 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden It was Pretty Good. Nothing Spectacular, but Worth A Look. 4 stars
10/19/00 Johnsen The most uninteresting characters ever made this extremey boring 1 stars
7/13/00 Tom Cool film. Chloe Sevigny was good. 4 stars
1/19/00 Big Rich Good flick. Kate B is every annoying girl i grew up with in the '80s. Chloe is sublime! 4 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Crackling dialouge, neat characters 4 stars
4/10/99 Jeff yeuch stinky stinky some hot babes but it still was very bad 1 stars
2/18/99 Bishop I didn't like this at first, but it grew, the characters started seeming real. Chloe rules! 3 stars
1/31/99 Guess? Fuck {{OZ}}!! Parker Posey rocks..Bitch ass punk. 3 stars
1/03/99 Jeff I saw it for free and I still feel cheated. 2 stars
10/24/98 grunter no one on the planet actually speaks in dialogue like this; excruciatingly dull 2 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Kate beckinsdale is a hottie, but Chloe Sevigny is a gump. 2 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Too Parker Posey for me. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Apr-1998 (R)
  DVD: 30-Mar-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Sep-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast