More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.32

Awesome62%
Worth A Look: 14%
Average: 20%
Pretty Bad: 2%
Total Crap: 2%

2 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ten Commandments, The (1956)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by John Smith

"That's 'De' for 'Deity'."
5 stars

1) Thou shall listen to the Vader-voiced narrator, as he gives you a primer on a thousand years of biblical history, with a thrilling tingle of excitement, as you know this is the sound of "The Ten Commandments" getting underway.

2) Thou will not question Charlton Heston's believability as "Moses"

3) If thou does, thou will be corrected at least once every three minutes by a character addressing him as "Moses, Moses!", and sometimes even "Moses, Moses, Moses!", every time he appears on screen.

4) Thou will pretend not to notice a Hebrew slave wearing a wristwatch, and countless other eye-popping errors.

5) Thou will enjoy the film as thou would a trip to a theme park, waiting patiently for the main attractions, like the river of blood, the parting of the Red Sea, the tributes of the tribes, and the reappearance of Moses from Mount Sinai, aged three hundred years.

6) Thou will marvel at how 1950's sexual morality, and female make-up and grooming fashions, seem so appropriate in the film's Biblical setting.

7) Thou shall laugh out loud, preferably devilishly, when the old lady gets trapped behind a pyramid brick.

8) Thou shall wait anxiously for Anne Baxter to say "Moses, you call yourself a son of God, but I know you better than that!

9) Thou will go and rent "Ben-Hur", "Cleopatra" and every other Hollywood BC classic, but shall be disappointed, for this is the one and only great of that genre. For variety, visit "King of Kings", this film's one and only true son.

10) Thou will worship this unique classic on television every Christmas time, as I do, losing yourself in the all-afternoon (with commercial breaks) running time, and knowing it is the real highlight of the otherwise over rated Festive season.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2447&reviewer=305
originally posted: 05/23/02 14:01:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/28/16 Anne at times overdone, yet the message is clear 4 stars
4/07/12 Rosey Posey Saw this pc when I was a kid, thought I would be a senior citizen by the time it was over. 2 stars
2/22/10 Steve Hock Watch every Lent / Easter & be nice to folks! 5 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White Bible at its best Heston great 5 stars
2/05/08 Paul Shortt Outstanding spectacle of epic grandeur and great vivid storytelling 5 stars
1/26/08 paul wonderful epic, highly enjoyable and striking storytelling with marvellous grandeur 5 stars
1/08/07 action movie fan a true classic!! parting of the red sea is awesome 5 stars
12/11/06 R.W.Welch Anything that holds up this well over half a century rates 5 sporks. 5 stars
12/31/05 Michael Off base a bit 3 stars
4/10/05 dwarzel not bad...and that elderly Vulcan lady from Star Trek 3 is in it! 4 stars
12/01/04 priest best bible movie ever! 5 stars
11/17/04 trixy good i quess 4 stars
6/20/04 Gray I couldn't help but watch it mst300 style ie the kid's corpes must have reeked after a week 4 stars
5/16/04 DM Hilariously overblown and overacted - I love it 5 stars
4/11/04 tony montana Only worth watching for the music. The best movie music ever. 5 stars
1/14/04 MetallicA overlooked masterpiece 5 stars
12/10/03 moses watch it again if you havent noticed the brilliance of it 5 stars
12/05/03 john interesting in terms of film history but it's just not that good! 3 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox Xtian myth filmed with gaudy, over done costumes and white folks playing middle easterners 1 stars
8/02/03 Lucas one of the best movies ever! (no argument) 5 stars
1/30/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Good for its time, but doesn't trip my trigger to five-star status. 3 stars
1/26/03 Nicole I have loved this movie since I was a little kid 5 stars
8/26/02 TIM SCOTT I marveled at this film as a child. It is still an all-time favorite. 5 stars
5/24/02 Charles Tatum As good as "Dogma" 4 stars
2/16/02 Adam Gauvin His God is God! Heston and Brynner both make the Bible better. 5 stars
12/10/01 Katrine Muradyan Very good 5 stars
8/17/01 the scarecrow Tell me, am I the only person who still likes Charlton Heston? 4 stars
7/03/01 J It is good but it did not exactly feel "classic" to me. 4 stars
7/03/01 Boomshanka "Let... my... people... GOOOOO!" Hate Heston as a person, but this is a great flick. 5 stars
4/14/01 Catherine This is the kinda movie I can suggest to anyone! 5 stars
4/09/01 Al Steuart Good, not great 3 stars
11/01/00 Ron Miller Studio system at it's finest. Still impressive after all these years. 5 stars
9/20/00 Israel Maldonado Bible stories are powerful 5 stars
9/06/00 Monday Morning Bull-bitchin', ass-kickin' moviemakin'. 5 stars
6/30/00 mathew Excellently authentic film, in story and appearance 5 stars
5/30/00 todd Incredible 5 stars
4/17/00 Nolan Wrage by far the best movie that Charlton Heston has ever made 5 stars
1/26/00 Chuck Fisher "Still the Greatest Event in Motion Picture History!" 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Oct-1956 (NR)
  DVD: 29-Mar-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast