More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.46

Awesome53.85%
Worth A Look: 41.54%
Average: 3.08%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 1.54%

5 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Hard Core Logo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"The funniest Canadian film since Strange Brew. Find it. See it."
4 stars

Sometimes a great movie is missed by the masses, because the corporate eggheads assume they're not going to have the mental facilities to get into it. Hard Core Logo is a prime example.

This is the tale of a reunion tour of HARD CORE LOGO, Canada's most famous punk band. The members of the band, Joe Dick, Billy Talent, Pipefitter and John Oxenburger, jump in the van to raise mney for Bucky Haight, a big influence of theirs who has been shot in both legs by a crackhead.

Though it's a punk movie, non-fans of the music wont have to sit through much. In fact, other than the first five minutes, there's not much music in the film. But there's a lot of laughs.

Filmed as a black and white behind the scenes documentary of this fictitious band, it's easy to see why the studios and distributors missed this one. It doesn't fit into a category. It's a road movie, it's a buddy movie, it's Gen X, it's comedy, it's drama, it's documentary.

Mostly, it's hilarious. It's done huge biz at film festivals, but distributors ignored it. That is until Quentin Tarantino finally put his Rolling Thunder label to good use and brought the film out of hiatus and into general release.

Put simply, go see this film.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=28&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/14/98 07:53:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Sydney Film Festival For more in the 2005 Sydney Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/16/10 Issac Maez Best movie I've seen with one of the coolest chicks I ever knew 5 stars
6/21/09 cate for five years of my life, i don't think i went more then a week w/o seeing this movie 5 stars
4/27/07 Disco Jim I never wanted to see this movie and after I did I couldn't believe how good it was. 5 stars
3/06/07 suzy Brilliant, poignant study of a man's desperate attempt to regain the two loves of his life 5 stars
12/11/05 TNTO One of the finest movies I've ever seen, with and ending that simply floors you. 5 stars
7/23/05 Duggo* What spinal tap and SLC punk could only dream to bare as offspring 5 stars
12/15/04 toshia murray i loved this movie its one of my favorites! 5 stars
10/05/04 Jackie This was almost totally scripted? Bruce and the boys get it all terribly right. 5 stars
6/26/04 Scott HCL was (for what it is) the best film I've seen in a long while. 5 stars
6/09/04 Mr. X A bore 1 stars
1/25/03 Empress of Misrule Hugh Dillon and Callum Keith Rennie are gods. Nuff said! 5 stars
11/07/02 hindsight brilliantly raw, kickass epic! dillon is awesome. *check out headstones.com* kickass band! 5 stars
8/17/02 roby fabolous 5 stars
8/13/02 Ryan Damn good movie 5 stars
8/07/02 Michael Garrett This, the 2nd installment in Bruce McDonald's "Rock & Road Trilogy" is brilliant !! 5 stars
7/30/02 Shayheyred Relentless and brilliant. Waves of charisma from leads Dillon and Rennie 5 stars
7/27/02 Max Platinum Gripping from start to finish, no low spots 4 stars
4/28/02 Dickie Best ending I have seen. Great acting, dark humour! Trip scene great! 5 stars
4/14/02 The Bomb69 eh, I don't see what all the fuss is about, not real funny 3 stars
11/30/01 door **thud** own this film. you must own this film. this film will fuck you over. 5 stars
11/02/01 Mark Ziebinski Brilliant funny unfuckingbelievable!! 5 stars
6/17/01 Mongi Elegant 5 stars
6/02/01 yep yep 5 stars
5/06/01 Fionnuala Worth watching a few times, here be layers 5 stars
4/20/01 mohd fahmee ismail nothing,just ok! 3 stars
3/27/01 k cletheroe cool movie 5 stars
2/28/01 chrystal this movie is fucked up, if you havent seen it get up off your ass and see it u fuck!! 5 stars
1/05/01 Caitlin Shaw It's so raw it hurts -- especially if you don't know how it ends 5 stars
4/28/00 Jon Cleaver This film is simply brilliant! See at any cost 5 stars
12/07/99 Joe James Hard hitting, emotionally raw and beautiful. A classic! 5 stars
11/14/98 Rick Switzer A pretty accurate depiction of band life 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce If you can handle the music and get the comedy, this is a fucking great film. Hilarious. 5 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee The greatest rock'n'roll road movie since Easy Rider. Funny as hell. See this film!! 5 stars
8/13/98 Pete Amazing flick. Makes 'Spinal Tap' look like a pile of puke. 4 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Great punk road movie. Sound sucks, but it's way cool. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Nov-1998 (R)
  DVD: 25-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-May-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast