More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.28

Awesome57.69%
Worth A Look: 29.81%
Average: 2.88%
Pretty Bad: 1.92%
Total Crap: 7.69%

3 reviews, 86 user ratings


Latest Reviews

We Are Not Princesses by Jay Seaver

Hustlers by Jay Seaver

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Killer Klowns from Outer Space
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Killer Clowns . . . from Outer Space? Ho-ly SHIT!"
4 stars

Know first of all that this is campy B-movie shlock. If you are troubled by cheesy effects, mediocre production values, sets that are composed of plywood that is held together with spit and paint, and atrocious displays of "acting", this is not for you. That being said - IT'S GOT CLOWNS! FROM OUTER SPACE! AND THEY'RE KILLING PEOPLE! What's not to like?

It all starts when a big yellow "comet" flies over the local lovers lane of a small American town (An effect handily achieved by shining a yellow spot on the faces of the cast who look up and go "Oooh" as it passes by). It crashes in the woods somewhere nearby, and a pair of curious teens decide to go look for it, rather than just shrug and go back to fucking like real teens would. Oddly enough, they find a huge circus tent set up in the woods, glowing eerily from inside. Of course, they soon discover that this is no normal cicus tent, but a UFO that merely looks like a circus tent. Inside, hostile clowns are cocooning people in cotton candy as foodstuffs for their long interstellar journey on the circus tour of teror (One of the best running gags in the film occurs as the heroes try to convince everyone in town about the killer clowns and their "Cotton-Candy Cocoons" -say that 10 times fast!).

Soon enough, clowns start showing up on the streets, performing tricks and gags to delight their onlookers, fucking with their victims a little before unleashing mayhem. Meanwhile the teens and a rookie deputy try to foil the clowns, recieving no help from the senior police officer on the scene, who is played by veteran character actor John Vernon (who had the best line in THE OUTLAW JOSEY WALES - "Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining!"). Vernon, in fact, is the only recognizable actor in the film, nay, the only person in the film who could be classified as an actor at all. He seems to be enjoying the silliness of it all, playing the gruff asshole deputy who is so ignorant and paranoid, he believes the killer clown epidemic is a practical joke being played on him by everyone in town. He does, however, get some of the funniest lines in the film (lines that were INTENTIONALLY funny, mind you, unlike everyone else's), including the tag line of this review.

Even at a mere 85 minutes, the Killer Klown experience drags on a bit too long. However, there are laughs a-plenty to be had. This is the kind of movie that was made to be enjoyed at a drive-in theater as the midnight showing in an all-nite campy horror-movie festival. Don't expect too much, and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2986&reviewer=258
originally posted: 02/25/02 18:25:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/08/16 David Hollingsworth A cult 80s classic of very cheesy fun! 5 stars
10/30/13 JNagarya May be intended as a comedy, but even if you keep reminding yourself that it's only a film. 5 stars
10/20/13 patrickpackham@hotmail.com unforgettable - in a good way. Laughs aplenty if you're not a pedantic clown yourself. 5 stars
3/11/11 Monday Morning I quit watching when they shot some kids with a popcorn gun. 2 stars
1/12/10 Jeff Wilder A grade Z movie that makes no apologies for being a grade Z movie. 4 stars
10/08/09 Roger It's been years since I laughed so hard at a movie! 5 stars
9/09/09 DJ Fitzgerald What a Great D Movie! 1 stars
3/22/09 james obrien very very funny 5 stars
4/11/07 Asep The best "evil clown" movie ever made...NOT a horror movie, though...a weird, wild romp.... 4 stars
3/20/07 Abs Load of crap. what a waste of time and bandwith downlading and watching it 1 stars
11/28/06 Tim My favorite part from the movie is when the klowns put the girl in a giant yellow balloon. 5 stars
11/14/06 poppy seed funny as hell. 4 stars
7/17/06 mark I stain my underwear everytime I see cotton candy 3 stars
3/23/05 Killer Bond It's a pretty good movie!! 5 stars
1/20/05 Tammy edwards I't was really good, it made me jump the first timeI watched it. 5 stars
1/06/05 frank fields i love this movie funny funny 5 stars
12/13/04 mrs ishy best ever! 5 stars
12/08/04 Adam A very hilarious movie. I am a true fan, I saw it last night, and went out and bought it. 4 stars
10/26/04 Books bad ass 5 stars
9/08/04 Dillon Hastings It a bunch of bull-shit 1 stars
8/21/04 luke hilarioud 5 stars
8/07/04 G-man never go to the circus, lol 5 stars
7/27/04 Samuel A really great film. 5 stars
7/23/04 jack could be a true story 5 stars
7/19/04 coy this movie is hilarious! 5 stars
7/11/04 Adam A classis B-movie !! 5 stars
6/27/04 jack scare this movie sucks 1 stars
6/22/04 Dick Logan Another door!! Another door!! Another door!! Classic cheese!! 5 stars
6/21/04 the legend the greats movie ever 5 stars
5/08/04 American Slasher Goddess A great B movie 4 stars
4/22/04 Lord Durvok 2 This is what B-movies should be... 5 stars
4/17/04 Chudrow I Likee Movie Much 5 stars
4/17/04 Buttsavage Amazing 5 stars
2/06/04 btory man it seems so stupid, but hell its funny 3 stars
2/05/04 Evan "pothead" Kruger Who watched a movie like this for "substance", fuckin ass, this movie is awsome, 5 stars
1/10/04 HorrorScribbler Killer clowns from outer space? Holy shit. -- Dean Wormser 4 stars
12/05/03 Derek If you don't like this movie, eat a d!ck 5 stars
11/07/03 John Heick This movie is actually fairly amusing, but only if you dont care about how cheesy it is. 5 stars
11/04/03 phil this was horribe! i was bored from the get-go! this movie had no substance! boring! 1 stars
10/25/03 emily cress killer clowns rock. i love that movie 5 stars
10/19/03 Alan Hit and miss camp. Had its moments, but I'll soon forget it for the rest of my life. 3 stars
10/16/03 james clean family fun 5 stars
9/18/03 Lord Durvok II Definately a fun - and creepy - flick. "What're you gonna do with those pies boys?" 4 stars
8/23/03 Michael Baum Late night laughs! 4 stars
8/06/03 Andrea That movie sux, whom ever decided to write this should run and hide from all humanity. 1 stars
8/03/03 Frank Bliss Awesome movie! 5 stars
7/14/03 Matthew Truelove Movies like this made me a horror movie fan as a kid! Excellent example of goofy horror! 5 stars
7/04/03 raVen kicked ass 5 stars
6/21/03 Phil Ross Awesome and Campy! 5 stars
5/31/03 Allison Like most corny 80's horror movies I loved it! 5 stars
4/02/03 Gray utltra campy horror and they wanted it that we 5 stars
1/10/03 Joshua Noel Good B-Grade Movie 5 stars
11/01/02 Art Campy horror fun 5 stars
10/31/02 Tellosamatokillavrillavigne B-Movies are the BEST movies. And this was funny shit. 5 stars
10/23/02 neil the punk this film rules the dickies soundtrack makes it 5 stars
10/02/02 me this movie is so awsome... the only problem is i can't find it anywhere!!! 4 stars
8/16/02 Shaun the filmakers knew what it was, I knew what it was, and its great! 5 stars
7/20/02 Kyle Ho-ly shit! 5 stars
4/18/02 sandman Solid 1 star movie!!!!!! 5 stars
4/02/02 Film Dude Not bad as one might think. 5 stars
3/26/02 Scarecrow god, i hated this movie 2 stars
3/24/02 Alex A waste of two hours of my life! =( 1 stars
3/23/02 Butterbean I laughed my ass off here! 4 stars
3/14/02 RAPP81 dot Com Saw this when I was 7 as well... DVD's a good value for what's on it for $10. 5 stars
3/11/02 KevinS KICKS ASS!!!!! 5 stars
2/02/02 Judith Latham PURE CHEESY WONDERFUL CAMP!!!! 5 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Cult Classic Alamo! 5 stars
10/14/01 E-Funk I saw this when I was 7,still awesome after all these years. Chiod bros rock! 5 stars
6/08/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Frightening but campy and thoroughly executed horror film! This guarantees good fun! 5 stars
5/30/01 Sean Callahan My little brother is now scared to death of clowns 5 stars
5/15/01 Melanie Awesome movie, its my favorite!! 5 stars
4/29/01 joey obnoxiosu my all time fav!! 5 stars
4/17/01 lisa Love the short one! 5 stars
3/02/01 Ali I want to see 5 stars
2/16/01 Godzilla King Kong Mediocre in ways,but quirky fun,creative,sometimes scary,as Dave returns to jail,Moody dead 4 stars
1/11/01 Harold M. Good clowns gone bad, way bad. 4 stars
1/08/01 scarious It's my favorite movie and one of the best movies ever made. 5 stars
1/05/01 Hihihi15 This movie is amazing. They're killer klowns!!! 5 stars
11/26/00 cravertx This movie is so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/22/00 Lovebug This Movie was more fun than a barrel of Monkeys. It is a great drinking movie!!! 5 stars
9/18/00 D SILK E 1 this is the ultimate underground 80's movie classic 5 stars
7/09/00 Andrew Freeman One of the best movies 5 stars
3/18/00 John Lindsey cool, i recommend this Movie to anyone who likes ID4, Mars attacks or Toxic Avenger, 5 stars
3/02/00 Rob Humanick Hilarious, campy fun for any sci-fi fan who doesn't care about a bad plot or awful acting. 4 stars
12/18/99 The King of the Bros This movie fucking rocks, go see it now you piece of shit! 5 stars
11/08/99 Fan of 80's nostalgia. Lame campy movie of alien clowns should more go to MST3K! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-May-1987 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast