More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.56

Awesome31.71%
Worth A Look: 28.05%
Average: 9.76%
Pretty Bad: 25.61%
Total Crap: 4.88%

3 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, A by Peter Sobczynski

Waves (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Liar Liar
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"How to make an unfunny movie with a dumb story a hit - 101."
2 stars

People drink Coca Cola, not because it's good for you (if anything it's poison), or because it tastes great (the first Coke you ever taste is the worst) but because we're conditioned to accept it as a thirst quencher. The truth of it is that Coca Cola actually dehydrates you. It quenches nothing. But like happy sheep we go fill Coke's coffers and drin ktheir poison because dammit, it's Coke. Liar Liar, and it's subsequent unexpected box office bonanza companions The Wedding Singer, Rush Hour and The Waterboy, are examples of the film industry following the same path.

Make it easy to swallow, sugar it up so it doesn't confuse the consumer, package it in colors they like with the faces they know, and market it to hell and back.

And the plan works. Anyone with an ounce of sense can identify that The Wedding Singer is a bland story with bland jokes... but it's cute. And It has those faces we know. Ditto The Waterboy. Ditto Armageddon. All weak movies with familiar faces and not too much thought.

But somehow Liar Liar cottoned onto something humungous. It caned the field at the box office. It killed. Why?

Was it great? Nah.

Was it hilarious? Not on your nelly.

Was it full of special effects? God no.

Sex? Forget it. One good set of jugs throughout the flick, and they're clad.

So what happened?! How did Liar Liar make the money of a Star Wars flick?!

Well, what happened is the studio found the Coca Cola formula and used it to it's full impact. Heavy marketing. Family orientation for maximum demographic pull. Cast an actor with a big rep amongst the teens to drag them in. Don't cuss. Show the trailer for six months. Cast a ten yr old. Get it all over Entertainment Tonight and Access Hollywood. Suspend disbelief.

So what's the story? Jim Carrey is a lawyer who can't lie for 24 hrs. That's funny. Cos lawyers are all evil and lie a lot.

Apparently.

So you all cue up at Blockbuster and go get your copy and laugh a lot and then the next day forget all about it. They got your money, they don't want you leaving with anything, like a message or deep thought. Cue up, giggle, leave quickly and quietly and take your rubbish with you.

Snooooooooore.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=300&reviewer=1
originally posted: 12/21/98 17:06:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/23/17 Louise Don't know why the reviewers hate it. I love it, apart from the kid's drippy haircut. 5 stars
11/17/13 The Big D Good, clean, Jim Carrey fun with a sentimental ending. 4 stars
2/04/13 PAUL SHORTT STRONG ON PREMISE, SHORT ON PLOT 2 stars
6/30/09 Dr Music Love it. Jim rules. 5 stars
2/04/08 Pamela White it sure would be a different world if we couldn't lie 5 stars
1/18/08 X Wang Pretty funny movie - Jim Carrey is great 4 stars
1/07/08 Aaron Commareri Jim Carey is funny as always, but I rather watch him in something else 3 stars
12/10/07 ceredo great Jim Carey comedy - as only he can do! 4 stars
8/25/07 Ryan Stiles One of the funniest movies ever. Carrey is the funniest man alive. Puts me in a great mood. 5 stars
7/14/07 Vincent Ebriega One of Carrey's better efforts. 3.5/5. 4 stars
1/08/07 Stephen just Jim carrey being Jim carrey...Ok movie 3 stars
11/25/06 Alexander DeVore Legally accurate subplot about divorce. Every man should watch this before marriage. 5 stars
5/26/06 drydock54321 funny funny guy 4 stars
4/03/06 JRE it's pretty funny but the sex jokes are overused 3 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Off the wall humor. Justin Cooper is too whiney, though! 5 stars
7/24/05 C Vega Carrey at his hyperactive best.....the ending though is kinda crappy 4 stars
4/25/05 Quigley i was so tired of the sexual jokes; it expects us to think of it as funny? 2 stars
3/18/05 Dionte' Stewart By far one of the funniest movies ever made 5 stars
2/24/05 DM Predictable storyline, but so many funny moments. 4 stars
12/14/04 goatfarmerinthailand Carrey at his best - could watch it over and over - classic 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G hahahahahahahaha 3 stars
12/21/03 Littlepurch A classic. Laughed all the way through, even after about a dozen viewings. 5 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/24/03 Samuel A really funny movie, if you watch it once...twice at the most!! 4 stars
9/03/03 Dawn For the love of everything good and holy, give Carrey more than one joke per movie. 2 stars
7/24/03 J.S. Hey, Pinkline Jones, go fuck your dog and blow your cat, you fucking idiot! 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby A promising premise squarely developed. Carrey more obnoxious to us than his onscreen foes. 2 stars
3/17/03 Peter Just great! Another role that can ONLY be played by Jim. 5 stars
1/29/03 Hi there Fucking funny. 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones As UNfunny as it gets. Carrey should be shot for this. 1 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig jim carrey's best 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Nothing deep, but funny 4 stars
9/05/02 Chancey Thunderpants Jim Carrey is such an annoying assfuck! 1 stars
7/13/02 Bada Bing Crosby One riotous scene in a boardroom, where he's honest w/co-workers, was great..rest was not 3 stars
7/08/02 Chris Jones WEINER PATROL i love jim carrey he is hot 5 stars
5/26/02 Frances its pretty funny even though carrey can be a little irritating 4 stars
4/27/02 Heather Purplethorne Not enough of a farce for Jim Carrey to shine in it. 3 stars
3/25/02 Jimmy Great Movie !!! 5 stars
1/04/02 Turtle A hilarious, brilliant movie. One of Jim Carrey's funniest! 4 stars
9/29/01 Evil Bitchwoman I think this is quite a good film. Jim carrey is such a funny actor 5 stars
9/23/01 Henry Ginsberg I almost through up watching this film. 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Carrey's funniest since the original Ace Ventura. I can watch this over and over and over 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa This is Exhibit A that proves the Academy Awards discriminates comedies. 5 stars
5/27/01 Marijan Srdic verry funny stuff 5 stars
5/18/01 Bada Bing Crosby Better than some of his, not as good as others. At least its not long 3 stars
2/15/01 lisa carrey's a smartass he made everyone else look stupid. 5 stars
12/28/00 Tom Funny, i was tearing my sides! (danilo you're a moron, sorry) 4 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Jim Carrey is funny as always! 5 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin the weakest of Jim Carrey's films 2 stars
8/30/00 Ant For me, the excessive moralising ruined what could have been a hilarious film. 2 stars
6/01/00 danilo jim carrey's best movie. 2nd only to Truman Show 4 stars
3/31/00 Beth Worrall I think that Jim Carrey is awesome!! So he's a moron. What can you do!! 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers The best of Jim Carrey. He can do anything. 5 stars
1/24/99 Hannah I usually hate these kind of movies, but I really enjoyed this one. 4 stars
11/17/98 Jules I wanted to hate it, but I couldn't... 4 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C I hate Jim Carrey, but I loved this movie...which makes me hate him even more. :) 5 stars
9/30/98 maria i have seen it many times but it still makes me laugh! jim is so great... 4 stars
9/29/98 Johny A couple moments streched into a full length film 2 stars
9/16/98 Chuck-D this movie was funny as all hell. Probably the best Carrey comedy 5 stars
9/09/98 Young Einstein Not like I expected Plato, but why all the hype? What was so good about this? 2 stars
9/06/98 Janine a not-so-shocking disappointment 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Really failed to live up to the hype. Failed. 1 stars
8/24/98 JenniferLorraine Cute & kidable. If you watched it once, thats almost enough. 4 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Not near as good as it's box office would indicate. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Mar-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Tom Shadyac

Written by
  Paul Guay
  Stephen Mazur

Cast
  Jim Carrey
  Maura Tierney
  Justin Cooper
  Cary Elwes
  Anne Haney
  Jennifer Tilly



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast